Book Now: The Manhattan Hotel at Times Square

Good
From 424 reviewsSee what guests said
6.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (424)Booking.com Reviews (8573)
6.8
Good
From 424 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.2
Facilities5.8
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality6.5
Service6.8
Value for money6.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
简体中文
more
Room type
Deluxe King Room
Standard King Bed
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 301 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Anuvinder from India
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Good Hotel”
Perfect Location, Good hotel
Reviewed November 16, 2017
7.2
Very good
Chung from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 9 nights in October 2017
near subway , time square area n central park very easy to move to any place in mid and downtown at Manhattan area”
when we check in hotel why we have to pay another facility fee $30/day ?
Reviewed October 27, 2017
6.0
Dandan from China
Couple
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Bad”
not good,I booked the delux king bed but they give us two beds room,and they didn't tell us it will charge me $50 per night till I realize that I paid $460 deposit,and I don't know why they charge me those money,finally they told us it gonna be charge $50 per night and they said there were no Delux room ,and we cannot change !!! Just felt cheated by them!!!
Reviewed October 18, 2017
4.8
Brittney from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Acceptable”
The room I was initially checked into was not cleaned at all. The sheets were on the floor from the previous occupant, the towels were strewn about the bathroom. There was toothpaste and someone's toothbrush on the bathroom counter as well. The staff at the desk sought to rectify this by upgrading the room which was very nice. However, the bathroom in the executive room I was moved to hadn't been properly cleaned. There was a wet towel in the shower and the toilet had not been flushed.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
3.2
Louise from Canada
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Hotel is old dirty and dingy ”
First impression when we entered the hotel lobby was nice, and check in reception was good, from that point forward the experience was poor. We were on the 14th floor, hallway walls were dull and dark , when we opened the door, sheets were dirty, called once, than went down to reception before someone came to change them.. The carpet and furniture was so dusty, they were white from not getting cleaned properly , bathroom ceiling paint cracking ready to fall and leaky faucets. We travel frequently and both agreed this was the worst hotel experience. We paid the average price for NYC, Time Square, so it wasn't cheap, for the some price or few dollars more stay somewhere else.
Reviewed October 02, 2017
5.2
Danny from United Kingdom
Group
Standard King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Looks great in public areas but decrepid when step out of the lift”
The public areas for this hotel and view from the outside is great. However once you step out of the lift onto your floor the muddy brown carpet and peeling old stained wallpaper is depressing. The rooms seem clean enough, but it is very old. The aircon unit make loads of noise and the lights flicker as they are so old and the starters in them need replacing. Needs an overhaul. You dont get the same condition room you see on the web. Elsewhere you would say you were mis-sold but I dont think this is possible with hotel rooms, also where else will you get a room in the same location so forced to stay.
Reviewed October 02, 2017
6.0
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Tired, run down, neglected, the only positive thing about this hotel is it's location.”
Stayed here about six years ago. At that time it was "tired" and it need of refurbishment. Since that time nothing has been done. The common areas have deteriorated. Our room had peeling wall pater, mould in the bathroom and leaking taps. The room felt dirty. I would never stay here again unless a complete refurbishment had been carried out. I do not believe it deserves a three star rating.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
6.0
Lorna from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Above average”
This was not the standard of a 4* hotel, it is badly in need of refurbishment, its sad and tired. I prefer the Lexington or Warwick which I have stayed in before which have more luxury for less price. I chose this hotel for the location expecting the same standard as the others, but was disappointed, especially as this was a special occasion. We didn't let it spoil the holiday though as we only stayed in the room to sleep an change and to eat out. The room needed a good deep clean, the curtains replacing as they were coming off the rail, the carpets a thorough clean, round the beds hadn't bee hoovered, and when looking for a plug socket found bits of rubbish left from previous occupants.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
YOUNGIK from South Korea
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
A reasonable price”
Pros : location, price cons : old
Reviewed September 21, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Anggreani from Indonesia
Group
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Nice VIP's room”
I got the VIP Room and it has the own VIP elevator so you don't need to queue. It's really comfortable. The location is strategic too.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
7.6
Very good
Carol from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
Very good”
Location is perfect.
Reviewed September 01, 2017
4.4
Fandy from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Bad Service & Bad Management”
I booked to stay at this hotel for 3 days, when i check-in i was told to stay for 1 night at a room and had to check-out the next day at 12 pm and check-in again at 4pm because the room that i booked is no longer available. In my understanding, when I have booked a hotel room, I have paid for that specific room for 3 days and shouldn't have to be moved to another room during my stay at this "Bad Management" hotel. This happens while the check-in lady was also being rude, advising me to not bring our bags to our room on the first night so that it would be easier to check-in again the next day without moving our bags. I replied furiously to the lady that I would of course need my bags to change and wash up before sleeping at the room. Another reason is the bell boy was being rude, when i have to move rooms during the second day of my stay at the hotel. The bell boy demanded a tip for a dollar per bag. He was complaining about how heavy my bags are and says that even if I have given 5 dollars for a tip, he demanded that i give 8 dollars because i had 8 bags to move. After I told the bell boy that 5 dollars is all I have, HE replied by saying that there would be change available at the lobby. as far as I'm concern, tips are up to me how much I wish to give. NOT demanded by the bell boy just because I'm a tourist from far away. I will never ever go back to this hotel again. Highly NOT recommended.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
4.4
Ahmed from United Arab Emirates
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Not recommended.”
pros: location cons: old and dirty, not helpful staff The pictures of the rooms online is misleading. The real rooms are outdated and dirty. in addition they don't have two beds in the rooms only one small queen bed.
Reviewed August 05, 2017
4.0
Jason from United States
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Completely Disappointing”
Had reserved a King bed only to find out that I didn't have one and would have to pay an additional $40 in order to guarantee one. Drain never worked in our bathtub the entire time despite daily calls. Had to take incredibly short showers as a result and deal with standing water. I guess that is what the $132 resort fee for 4 nights covers!?!?!?
Reviewed August 03, 2017
6.4
Good
Jose from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
We had a good stay”
Everything is fine. The staff are approachable. The room was good.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
3.2
GUSTAVO from Mexico
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in July 2017
I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL”
The hotel facilities are old, the carpets in the rooms and in the corridors are very dirty, stained and the smell is unpleasant. Since my arrival at the hotel, there were several problems: As my flight arrived in New York at midnight, I sent an email notifying me of my late arrival; My flight was delayed and I arrived past 2am and when I tried to check in, the only person who was at the front desk, named Linda, told me rudely that I could not do it and that I would have to wait An hour and a half to be able to check-in because their system was "down" and I could sit and wait or go out and return at that time. It is necessary to indicate that when I arrived I asked, to that person called Linda, what if he spoke Spanish? And I indicated that yes, so everything I comment on in Spanish. I expressed my displeasure to consider that the problem was of the hotel and not mine besides to say that its attitude was not the suitable one for us, she said of an even more coarse form, that no longer speak Spanish, reason why I asked that it would call to the Manager to express my complaint. After talking to the manager, I think it's called Darryl, and SO ONLY IN 10 MINUTES, I was able to check-in and not in an hour and a half as I had been told. Upon check-in, I was advised that upon check-out I harmin a night charge of 32.67 USD for services such as internet, international calls and things like that, SOMETHING IN ANY HOTEL IN THE WORLD I HAVE STAYED IN, I HAVE BEEN OBLIGED TO PAY FOR SOMETHING I DO NOT USE AND I DO NOT ASK. THAT CHARGE, I THINK, IS A ROBBERY. Once registered, I was assigned a room with damaged entry and bathroom doors, dirty and stained carpet and bad smell. I spoke directly with AGODA staff and asked to HELP ME CANCEL (with a refund), I emailed the photos that checked the situation of the room and communicated with the manager, who offered me a room change "in a Recently remodeled area "and, despite my discomfort, I agreed. The "new room", although it
Reviewed July 28, 2017
4.8
Choudhury from India
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in July 2017
7 nights in Manhattan Hotel in New York”
Staffs do not have patience to listen or talk to customers! Extremely arrogant in responding even you ask anything very politely. Will never think of staying there!
Reviewed July 21, 2017
4.8
ABHIJIT from India
Family with teens
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Not recommended ”
Great location no doubt - walking distance to the Times Square and very close to the 49th st underground . However disappointingly dirty carpets and floor corners teeming with dirt.. bathrooms need a make over too..reception staff less than warm.. however concierge was very helpful.. gym is not bad given this is a tourist hotel..
Reviewed July 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Nir from Israel
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 10 nights in July 2017
Exceptional”
Great location , very clean , one things that they have to change that not ref
Reviewed July 18, 2017
4.0
Swarna from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Super duper OLD hotel”
Agoda rate this as 4 star hotel, but I think this should be 3 star or lower. The hotel is EXTREMELY OLD. They really need serious upgrades!! Our bathtub tap was leaking whole time (I don't have to pay extra for the leak but it is just annoying to hear the sound). The bath-tub was breaking apart and rusty. Carpet was old. Walls need to be changed. They simply need to upgrade their furniture and design. Some receptionist are just as grumpy face as you could imagine, while some receptionist staff are friendly. I guess they need some kind of training to get the 4 star hotel standard. The hotel security staff was quite responsible though. We left our iphone there and we called the hotel to secure the room. When we came back, the room was secured with double lock and the iphone was there (even though the cleaning lady came and clean the room already).
Reviewed July 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Danilo from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
Great place to stay in NY times Square.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
5.6
pannapat from Thailand
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good Location but old style.”
Good Location but old style , bathroom too old
Reviewed July 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Valerie on reception is the best ”
On reception the lady Valerie was very kind. She was very helpful and gave us some good information about the city. Nice to be treated with such care and respect.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
6.0
Cindy from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good location but over-priced”
Perfect location if you wanted to stay closed to Times Square, but the hotel is very old, water drainage problem at bathroom, one side of the bed is tilted and it's really not worth the money.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
6.4
Good
nuraida from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Good”
The bed sheet is not clean and there is many dust in the carpet
Reviewed July 10, 2017
5.6
Michael from Ireland
Family with teens
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Nice reception & staff but not 4 star, needs serious makeover”
Lobby very nice but rooms disappoint. Great location and service but corridors very shabby. Rooms clean but tired and worn, peeling paint on bathroom cieling, cracked tiles, etc. Overall disappointing. Would defintely not rate this 4 star. Would only consider in future if modernised.
Reviewed July 06, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Michele from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Love the location!!”
Location and staff are friendly.
Reviewed July 03, 2017
3.2
olivier from France
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Acceptable”
The pictures we can see on the hotel presentation are nothing to do with the reality. Nothing has been done in term of facilities in the room probably for decades....seldom see such a lousy ratio price/ quality
Reviewed June 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Felix from Indonesia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Good Location”
Clean, comfort, nice service
Reviewed June 26, 2017
8.8
Excellent
JANET from United States
Group
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Great location”
Great location attendants were wonderful🙂
Reviewed June 25, 2017
6.8
Good
Mylene from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Very near times squaare”
This is so walking distance Times Square easily accessible to everything from shopping to foid
Reviewed June 22, 2017
3.6
David from United States
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
DIRTY”
There is old and dated, and then there is DIRTY. Stay away from this place. Disgusting rooms.
Reviewed June 20, 2017
4.8
CARMEN from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Acceptable”
I PAY EXTRA MONEY TO BE IN A BETTER ROOM I WILL NOT COME BACK
Reviewed June 08, 2017
6.4
Good
Jane from Singapore
Group
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Good and Bad”
The location is great as it is only 3 blocks away from Times Square, the most happening area. I booked 2 regular rooms (maybe it varies from the rooms of better grades); it has no toothbrush provided, the rooms are pretty run down and lighting was poor. I will definitely stay at a more comfortable hotel but away from the prime area/ few subway stops away to get a better service.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
3.2
Saugat from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Worst hotel ever”
I booked for 3 nights and On the first day of my arrival, room was smelling like sweat. Bed sheets were ripped off and there was a dead bed bug sticking on the ceiling. On my 2nd and 3rd day, nobody did housekeeping on my room. I have been travelling so frequently and have stayed in multiple hotels. And i had never got any experience or service like i got at manhattan. The responsible department should really take care for what is going in the hotel . This was first time and it will be my last time in this hotel.
Reviewed May 20, 2017
5.6
Willie from United States
Group
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Per my clients they were very disappointed in room size and the decor. Upgrades needed. ”
Pros was that it was located in a great part of time square. Con the resort fee was charged twice or over the amount they were told it would be. They had to call their bank and agent to see why the extra charge. Hotel said they would look into the charge. Not resolved yet.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
5.2
Heather from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Above average”
While the rooms shown on the website look the same, they do not accurately show what the room truly looks like. We were put on the 22nd floor and while I don't mind that, out room was truly awful. We were right across from the housekeeping areas, had towel and sheet carts outside our room all evening/night long. The walls are very thin and we had an adjoining door to some extremely rude and noisy neighbors. You could even hear the bell on the elevator. The carpets are old, the wall paper in our room was peeling, there was food in the vents of the heat/air conditioner which didn't really work well at all. The curtains were damaged and they were pulled away from the window, there was a rusty panel for I assume the water shut off that wouldn't shut so it was open all the time. The furniture was old- dents, dings, scraps, etc. There was rust painted over on the door jam in the bathroom and rust under the light above the bathroom sink. The sheets didn't even fit my bed..... Towels were small and old. Extremely disappointed in what we got for the cost. Will not ever go back to this location. Only good thing was that it was right around the corner from the theater we chose for the show and you could walk to Times Square, Central Park, Empire State Building, Radio City, Rockefeller Center and other locations. However, all of that did not make up for the horrible room for the price that I paid.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
CHIHWEI from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Amazing price !”
Good location .
Reviewed May 15, 2017
2.0
SD from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Worst 3 Hotel in my life”
What's the mandatory fee? Free wifi, free local phone? I don't need. They took my additional money. Also they tried to charge lounge service but mine. Somebody used my room No. but I still wonder... Who is the somebody? Is it just accident?
Reviewed May 10, 2017
4.0
Mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
They name it a hotel but actually feels like a motel ”
Charge you $35 for internet and bottles of water , and you must pay it. "Wasn't mentioned in Agoda"
Reviewed May 01, 2017
4.8
Helen from United States
Couple
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Not a good place to stay”
This hotel is very old. The hallways have peeling paint or wall paper, needed to be vacuumed. The first room we got was not clean. However, I must say the staff was very pleasant and willing to help. They gave us another room that was much cleaner and acceptable for the night. I will never stay at this hotel again though.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
6.8
Good
Altaz from South Africa
Family with young children
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Great location but travelers to understand that you have to pay additional facility fee at the hotel”
Location was great Bathrooms need an upgrade. Room also needs a bit of upgrade People to understand that additional to having fully paid for ur room on agora u are charged 30 dollars per day for a facility fee. This is quite hefty
Reviewed April 21, 2017
5.2
Robert from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Hidden cost”
When booking there was no mention of the $42 a day facilities charge. If had known prior to booking would have chosen another hotel.
Reviewed April 09, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Yulia from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Excellent”
They not clean the rooms
Reviewed April 07, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Kasun from Sri Lanka
Family with young children
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017
Best Place to visit Times Suqare”
Staff was very helpful. Allison at the front Desk was a Super Helpful and Friendly. Bell Desk Staff is also very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed April 07, 2017
4.8
Robert from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard Double Double with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Hotel fee is just not make sense”
We were charged $100 for 3 nights stay. they called it hotel fee. meanwhile I dont think there is another extra services we get.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
6.8
Good
amier from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good location.”
Good location, near times square.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Donald from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Bathtub!!!”
Water with dirt, back-flows inside the tub after taking shower..,
Reviewed March 07, 2017
8.8
Excellent
CATHERINE from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Best choice for ball drop”
Was able to see the ball drop without standing outside with the crowd for a long time
Reviewed February 19, 2017
5.2
Alisha from United States
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Cold ”
No heat in my room and no one was able to fix it. Receptionist at the time was rude and told me if I wanted a better room I would have to PAY! Hotel lobby is nice it's deceiving the rooms are old the hallway walls could be painted as well! Location good but that was it.
Reviewed February 13, 2017