Book Now: The Resort on Mount Charleston

Very good
From 56 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (56)Booking.com Reviews (216)
7.1
Very good
From 56 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.1
Facilities7.4
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality6.8
Service7.1
Value for money6.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
日本語
繁體中文 (台灣)
Room type
2 Queen Beds
King Room
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Standard King Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 54 verified guest comments
4.7
kevin from United States
Family with young children
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Be prepared for barking dogs”
location, weather, views
room was dirty and needed updating/repair. Most rooms had dogs so it was a bark fest all the time...including midnight.
Reviewed July 09, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Bumsuk from South Korea
Couple
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Great place with the nature”
Location, beds and quiet atposphere
I will visit there again if I go to Vagas
Reviewed July 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Erica from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
rhe best of both worlds ”
I loved how close we were to the mountains & all the trails. Fresh clean air & only a 40 minute drive to the strip.
Our stay was awesome! Imust admit we were a little scared to book this resort with a lot of bad reviews on yelp. We decided to take a chance and boy are we glad we did. Just goes to show you could never believe what you read. This place is a gem. Especially if you're trying to get away from the crazy life of Vegas. We were in town to visit my dad in the hospital but didn't want to stay in town. We enjoyed the fresh air and hiking while still being able to drive down and see my dad daily.
Reviewed March 24, 2015
7.0
Very good
Wolfgang from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Vegas”
nice place, good for skiing, close to the montains
Nice
Reviewed March 20, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kyler from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Not a resort but a decent hotel.”
Location, Clean, Cable Tv
I took my wife here thinking there would be some things to do around the hotel, but we were surprised with the lack of activities. They offer a bar with some video poker machines and one pool table. There isn't much to do other than the bar. Basically this is a motel 8 with a nice bar and a friendly staff. You will have to drive 15-20 more minutes up the mountain to find something to do. The rooms were clean and the staff was freindly just don't expect to be entertained around the hotel. We ended up relaxing and watching tv.
Reviewed March 14, 2015
7.0
Very good
christa from United States
Family with young children
2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Nice hotel, great views!”
The View, comfortable rooms, and clean
Stay was fine. WE decided to not stay the second night, only because there is no where to eat. The only place is the dining room, and to be honest we were not impressed at all, for the price. The service was o.k. the food was just o.k. but the fact there is no where else to go unless you go to Las Vegas area to eat, just something small is not good. And the fact that everything is way over priced because of it. We live in the Las Vegas area so we just came back home stopped and a great restaurant and had a great meal for less than the night before at the restaurant you provide.
Reviewed December 27, 2014
6.7
Good
Michael from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
n a”
n a
Reviewed December 16, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Rayna from United States
Family with teens
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Nice stay”
Location, price, comfort
Reviewed December 10, 2014
5.0
Elizabeth from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Dinner was a terrible experience. ”
Location
Dinner was terrible and the wait staff seemed unconcerned. The front desk gentleman was a bit rude and unconcerned. The fire place was so delightful. The resort would have been delightful if the personal was.. .
Reviewed November 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Yip from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Close to snow mountain ”
Clean, food good, near to ski mountain
Very good, just not enough days spent skiing
Reviewed August 06, 2014
4.7
Linda from United States
Couple
King Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Disappointing, frustrating and overpriced.”
Weather due to location. Bar due to a great happy hour and bar tender. Very comfortable king bed.
Mt. Charleston Resort Our room was on the 3rd floor. No elevator so got plenty of exercise. Had to re-code room keys daily, would not work in the afternoon. Breakfast on 1st day was garbage. Eggs were way overdone as well as the potatoes which were tasteless. Eggs were replaced with over easy and were acceptable. Almost no customers for breakfast but meal took 35 minutes to be served. Did not eat at the resort again. In general the facility looks great on the website but is very rundown. It needs some serious remodeling. The carpet in the dining room was disgusting. Vending and ice machines needed cleaning. The carpet in the room needed replacement or at least shampooed. The rest of the room was comfortable and clean. At checkout the desk staff member did work with me and discounted my final bill. A nice gesture but too late. Unless I see or hear of changes made to the Resort, I doubt that I will stay there again.
Reviewed July 22, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
ciara from United States
Couple
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Very relaxing”
ambiance, service, cleanliness
terrific
Reviewed July 14, 2014
6.0
Fernando from United States
Family with young children
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
A bit frustrating”
Clean, comfortable, great price offer
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Needs to improve in customer service. No wifi available or phone service. Needs more staff.
Reviewed July 08, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Rick from United States
Couple
King Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
SUPERB!!!!”
LOCATION/SCENERY/AFFORDABILITY
It was amazing!!! The staff was super friendly! From check in to check out! The views were amazing. I found my new place to stay for my Vegas trips.
Reviewed June 25, 2014
7.0
Very good
Chamira from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Great ”
Clean Affordable Quiet
Great...no complaints. Very quiet, easy to relax and enjoy scenery
Reviewed June 22, 2014
4.7
srikar from India
Solo traveler
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
good. But no WIFI”
Nice location
Reviewed May 19, 2014
2.7
Abdallah from United States
Family with young children
King Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
worst hotel”
nothing
very bad experience
Reviewed April 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Andrea from United States
Family with teens
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Quaint and relaxing”
Lounge was so much fun! Beautiful interior. Staff was amazing.
We just went up for a night. Didn't check in till 8:30 pm. We had soooo much fun with Mike in the lounge. Played pool and listened to the jukebox. Great evening!
Reviewed April 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
Gordon from United States
Business traveler
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
ok”
location. staff. bar.
ok. your request for lengthy text is too self serving.
Reviewed March 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
MERCEDES from United States
Family with young children
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
it was 80% ok”
quiet, the view, the decoration
our stay was ok. service at the restaurant wasn't all that great nor the food. they seem to have reduce the menu from last time that we were there. Also everything we seem to order they had no more off. but other than that everything else we enjoyed
Reviewed November 21, 2013
5.3
Lemuel from United States
Business traveler
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
From bad to worse!”
Nachos appetizer and employee who made me welcome. She was the only redeeming value.
My first encounter with the hotel staff was a clear unwillingness to meet reasonable customer needs. Employees at front desk and wedding planner emulate the attitude of GM as well as the front desk manager. Hotel has structural problems and system management problems due to lack of follow-up, no inspections just waiting for guests to complain then problems band-aid not corrected. GM adopts "jack of all trades" unfortunately master of none..this may pose a serious problem in safety. GM unprofessional in attire, sweat shirt, no name tag..cannot differentiate GM from a maintenance person. Excuses given rather than effort to find problem and fix problem. If there are more than one legitimate problems reported GM, front desk and wedding planner seemed to villlainize that guest. Specific experience problems were..grocery bag of old fruit left in drawer in room when I checked in..Front desk manager said that's not a real problem..No iron or ironing board in room and Front desk gave excuse we don't have the inventory to provide each room with an iron and ironing board. Another experience problem was a leak directly over the commode that drips on guest and manager said just lay bath towel under area that should suffice. Internet cuts on and off or not on at all..GM said can't do anything about it because of the mountains instead of saying "that's unacceptable I will get to the bottom of it." If the problems are worked out managerially and structurally the resort would be a great place.
Reviewed November 09, 2013
4.0
Alice from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Not very good”
Position
Non existent internet and poor customer service. Asked for copy of hotel bill for insurance claim and was refused even though extra resort fees were added.
Reviewed October 28, 2013
4.0
Gary from United States
Solo traveler
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
overpriced food, cold showers, doors did not lock ”
At checkout hit with"Resort fee" of $10 a day over room price on priceline
This is an old rundown hotel that is being represented as a resort. There are no ammenities that would make it a resort. Plus, they hit me with additional fees over the priceline price.
Reviewed June 29, 2013
8.0
Excellent
James from United States
Couple
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Had a good night sleep and a good breakfast.”
double sink in bathroom
Reviewed June 11, 2013
4.7
Sonja from United States
Solo traveler
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
To expensive for what you get.”
Mountain View
Reviewed April 12, 2013
5.7
mollyn from United States
Family with teens
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
great location;inadequate hotel staffing ”
great fireplace !
great fireplace to offer warmth to its guests but the warmth stops there. front desk staff was not very accomodating, no one answered room service. restaurant service was slow and mediocre. i wish i could say the same about the price of the food items. will not rush to go back anytime!!
Reviewed January 13, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
sharnay from United States
Solo traveler
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Warm and friendly”
Being up in the mountain away from the city
I needed to get away and the drive was only an hour away from Vegas. Others quiet and calm. Relaxing. If your looking to stay secluded in your room this isn't the place because they don't offer room service.
Reviewed November 15, 2012
7.3
Very good
Christine from United States
Couple
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Cozy and friendly”
Location was great
My boyfriend and I decided to stay at Mount Charleston to get away from the city for a "couples retreat" for some quality time together. It wasn't too far, but still far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the city. The front desk clerk, as well as other staff, were friendly and courteous. The room was comfortable and cozy. We enjoyed our stay and both agreed we'd like to go back when it begins to snow.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
5.3
Nicole from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Bad experience.. ”
good location
Friendly staff, mediocre rooms, terrible accommodations. Restaurant was out of half of the menu, so make sure you arrive with a full stomach with no intentions of eating. Movie rentals are available in the room, with the newest release dating back to 2003.
Reviewed September 07, 2012
6.0
Linda from United States
Couple
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Lovely setting; unlovely facility”
Location, view, weather
Mt. Charleston is not a resort. It is tired and dated. Common areas need paint, new furniture and carpet. In the bar, the leather seats on the bar chairs was torn and badly worn. The carpet was filthy. Our room was partially furnished--no table or chair, no bed cover or comforter. Housekeeping said they would bring up the furniture, but they didn't. Coffee makers have been removed, requiring one of us to get dressed and get coffee, which we then had to drink in bed. The room was very tired. Lamp shades suffered burns from hot bulbs, and there were inadequate outlets to plug in floor lamp. We had to unplug tv to use our laptop, and the wifi did not work. On the positive side, staff was friendly, food in the dining room was tasty. We only had salads. Overall, this is one step above camping, but the occasional rain would have cleaned the carpets, somewhat. We paid for our king room, but even at that price, it is overpriced.
Reviewed August 17, 2012
6.7
Good
angela from United States
Family with young children
Standard 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
nice room, restaurant not great”
near hiking trails
a short drive to trailheads. the restaurant staff member that helped me with takeout, had no idea how to operate the computer to transmit my order. when my over priced and "just ok" meal arrived- one of the dishes was not even what i ordered. it took so long to arrive, i didn't even bother to go back and have it corrected.
Reviewed August 24, 2011
4.3
Reihard from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard King Room
Stayed 7 nights in March 2015
grotten Schlecht”
innerhalb von 7 Tagen nur 2 x Zimmerservice,Sauberkeit katastrophal,Stromausfall,dadurch kalte Zimmer,Das WLAN Problem ist schon länger bekannt ,das es keins gibt ,aber immer noch nicht behoben.An Wochenenden nicht zu ertragen zu Laute Partygäste.
Reviewed March 12, 2015
7.0
Very good
TOSHIYUKI from Japan
Business traveler
Standard King Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
広大な自然の中にあるリゾートホテル”
静かな環境、リーズナブル、良い雰囲気
ラスベガス郊外から、車で30分以上掛りますが、大自然の中のリゾートホテルで、静かな時間を過ごせました。ありがとうございました。
Reviewed June 23, 2015
5.2
KUANG-De from Taiwan
Group
2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
住宿、餐廳有些失望!”
住宿、餐廳有些失望!
Reviewed July 18, 2016