Book Now: The Westin New York Grand Central

Excellent
From 72 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 95% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (72)Booking.com Reviews (1040)
8.2
Excellent
From 72 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.1
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service7.7
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
日本語
简体中文
more
Room type
Standard
Executive Double Bed
Executive
Deluxe
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 54 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
SUSANNAH from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2010
weekend stay 2-6th sep 2010”
staff were very polite and helpful
the door keys continually failed to open the door
The hotel is ideally located for seeing most of the attractions, walking distance from Times Square, very close to Central Station. Getting there from Newark was easy on the shuttle bus as it stops a short distance from the hotel (41st street I think). The rooms were clean and nicely presented - being British I had assumed that tea and coffee making facilities would be in the rooms, but learned that this rarely happens in USA. Overall our stay was excellent and I would certainly consider this hotel again.
Reviewed September 20, 2010
7.7
Very good
MICHEL from Belgium
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2010
The New York Helmsley Hotel”
good location,nice room,bar lounge
Overall very pleasant,good location,good hotel,staff at reception helpful,bellman alert,pity WiFi is not free of charge in the room or in a special area of the hotel/breakfast is well supplied,bar lounge is nice and snacks are of quality and sufficient in quantity.check in and check out very smooth. Maybe check out time could be more flexible 11am is early/for travelers to Europe.A nice experience we ll be back...
Reviewed August 31, 2010
7.7
Very good
kok from Australia
Couple
Executive
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
The New York Hemsley Hote”
Centrally located
No tea or coffee in the room
What we like about the Hemsley hotel is that is centrally located and could walk to most places like time square and broadway. Subway station is also near to the hotel and the central staion too. Check in staff is friendly and the doorman too and also helpful.Will come back to stay when the hotel offer good rates but location wise yes.
Reviewed June 10, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Michael from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
New York Helmsley Hotel”
Location.
Room could use a little updating in decor.
Location is fantastic. Clean rooms that have wonderfully comfortable beds and even cushy bathrobes. The room was very quiet. When we asked for additional glasses they were up to us in minutes. We did experience a problem with hot water one morning but this was a temporary condition. Huge cushy bath towels. The lounge chair in the room requires an additional seat cushion - it is simply to low to the floor. It was odd that there was no bar fridge in the room. Good-sized flat screen television. Nice to have a small programmable safe in the closet as well.
Reviewed May 28, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Allen from United States
Couple
Executive
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
2nd Stay and I will come back again”
Off street loading and unloading; Very friendly staff; very comfortable beds and bedding.
A TV program guide would have been helpful.
Room was good size with very nice furnishings; excellent bed and bedding, very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. This was my second stay and the Helmsley, and I will definitely return again. The location is well located in midtown Manhattan, near some very good dining and other services, such as banks, drugstores, transportation, office supplies, etc. The lobby is of good size with ample seating.
Reviewed May 27, 2010
7.7
Very good
Elad from Israel
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in April 2010
Very good hotel”
clean room good service
overpriced
nice and clean hotel, great location but i think it's overpriced for what you get.
Reviewed April 27, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
damian from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 4 nights in March 2010
superb”
staff, service, very nicely done up preaty much the hole hotel was perfect.
no fridge in room
the staff was very friendly and helpfull, the holel inside has been superbly decorated to a very high standard it looks posh but its a relaxed atmosphere. the rooms were very clean and quite didnt hear a thing the hole time i was there, they were spacous and very comfy could of done with a fridge but apart from that the best holel ive stopped in and excellant value for money.
Reviewed March 29, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Paul from United States
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
Helmsley on 212 E 42nd St”
The bed linens were very good quality and the robe is a nice touch. The flat screen TV with Showtime was nice on one of the days where it rained all day. The toiletries were very good quality. The hallway was nicely decorated. The elevators were really fast. Location is fantastic. 2 blocks from Grand Central and there is a CVS, Starbucks, tons of restaurants right across the street.
The room was just a little above average on the hotel scale. I expected the bathroom to have marble, but it was just like a Holiday Inn Bathroom. The chair in the room was really old. NOTE** they are doing construction in the lobby and it is not a pretty sight, but we were not in the hotel that much. It just took away from the ambiance. Get a room as high as you ca as the windows have larger gaps in between them so no sound proofing at all. We were on the 32nd floor and we still heard quite a bit of noise. I take wax earplugs so I did not hear a thing.
See pros and cons. If you can get a good deal on this hotel, then it is worth it, but do not pay more than $250 a night.
Reviewed December 10, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive
Stayed 4 nights in September 2009
Helmsley Hotel”
Very friendly staff. Location great. Room comfortable.
Traffic noise. no coffee making facilities in room.
Traffic noise still bothersome on 35th floor. Okay, so this was central New York, but we had just moved from another nearby hotel on an equally busy street following the end of a conference and there had been no traffic noise in our room there. Maybe you have to try to get a room not facing on to 42nd Street. No drink-making facilities in room. The shop next door to the hotel seemed to be doing a roaring trade in guests bringing coffee to their room from there. Quite surprised that a hotel of this star-rating doesn't provide drink-making facilities.
Reviewed September 24, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
Victoria from United States
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2007
Two Thumbs Up for New York Helmsley Hotel New York”
Wonderful Staff, Size of Room, Location
Absolutely None!
Two Thumbs Up for New York Helmsley Hotel New York. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel to the moment we left the staff was gracious, courteous, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are a very nice size even by New York standards. We even enjoyed the quick wit of the staff. All in all the staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay thus making us feel right at home.
Reviewed September 23, 2008
7.7
Very good
Helene from France
Family with teens
Executive
Stayed 1 night in May 2010
bel hotel/bien placé: accueil deplorable”
situation de l' hotel/ propreté/confort/amabilité des portiers/
personnel indifférent aux souhaits particuliers/ brusque et peu avenant...malgré les pourboires (à l exception d'Anthony)
Contents d'avoir choisis cet hotel,confortable et bien situé, nous avons été très déçus par son personnel. Pour un hotel de cette gamme, il nous a semblé regrettable que le petit déjeuner ne soit pas compris dans le prix de la chambre
Reviewed May 21, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Fabio from Germany
Couple
Stayed 9 nights in September 2010
Super Hotel in bester Lage um New York von allen S”
Lage, Preis, Anzahl der Stockwerke, freundliches & sehr hilfreiches Personal
Laute Wasserleitungen, Verkehrslärm
Wir würden das Hotel jedem nahezu bedingungslos weiterempfehlen. Als zentraler Teil unseres Urlaubs haben wir es genossen in den sauberen großen Zimmern zu wohnen und sowohl nachts als auch Tagsüber den Blick auf das ChryslerBuilding aus dem 26. Stock zu genießen. Bis zur CentralStation ist es nur ein Katzensprung und so kann man von dort aus ganz New York erkunden. Bei Fragen aller Art kann man sich vertrauensvoll an den Concierge wenden, der einem von Shoppingtipps bis zur Buchung für die Rückreise zum Flughafen eigentlich bei allem helfen kann und das auch gerne tut :-) Die genannten Nachteile sollten nicht unbedingt ausschlaggebend sein um dieses Hotel zu meiden. Verkehrslärm wird man gerade in Manhattan wohl immer haben, erst recht wenn man so zentral Wohnen will - hier bedingt das eine einfach das andere. Denn auch der TimesSquare+Broadway sind in 10min zu fuß zu erreichen. Die Lauten Wasserleitungen sind aber doch speziell. Ich kann aber nicht beurteilen wie es in anderen NewYorker Hotels aussieht, vielleicht liegt das auch an der generellen Bauweise dieser Hochhäuser. Auf jeden Fall hört man ein Wasserrauschen wenn in näherer Umgebung jemand die Dusche anstellt oder ähnliches, aber das geht ja auch sehr schnell wieder vorbei und dauert nicht bis derjenige fertig ist sondern wohl nur bis irgendein Wasserspeicher wieder aufgefüllt ist - also durchaus nicht so tragisch :-) Ein weiterer sehr großer Vorteil ist der Frühstücksshop direkt beim Hotel (Pax) - hier gibt es von Pancakes, Waffeln, über Cornflakes bis hin zum Obst alles was man für ein Frühstück braucht. Ebenso natürlich den obligatorischen Kaffee oder so ziemlich jedes andere Getränk was man sich vorstellen kann. Direkt auf der anderen Straßenseite befindet sich dann ein Supermarkt wo man alles andere einkaufen kann was man für den täglichen Bedarf so benötigt. Schade ist nur dass es, zumindest auf unserem Zimmer, keinen Kühlschrank gab, aber es ist ja auch nicht sinn solch eines Hotels das man d
Reviewed September 25, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Christian from Germany
Group
Stayed 3 nights in July 2010
Klasse Hotel im Herzen NYC”
Super Lage, angemessener Preis, komplett renoviert, freundliches Personal, saubere und gemütliche Zimmer
Das Hotel liegt in Midtown East und ist daher sehr gut gelegen. Zum Chrysler Buildung, Central Station, Times Square, 5th Ave., (...). sind es nur wenige Gehminuten, eine Subwaystation ist ebenfalls in wenigen Schritten zu erreichen. Ich konnte keine Mängel bei unserem Aufenthalt feststellen und werde meine nächste Reise wieder in diesem Hotel verbringen.
Reviewed August 30, 2010
6.0
Bjoern from Germany
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in July 2010
Etwas in die Jahre gekommen, aber wegen der Lage s”
Lage
alte Einrichtung
Etwas in die Jahre gekommen, aber wegen der Lage sehr zu empfehlen. Einrichtung (Möbel, Teppich, Bad, etc.) bräuchte demnächst mal eine Renovierung. Trotzdem konnte man dort für eine Woche noch ganz akzeptabel wohnen.
Reviewed August 11, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Alexandra from Germany
Group
Stayed 8 nights in June 2010
Tolles , sehr gut gelegenes Hotel”
Gute Lage, sauberes Hotel, freundliches Personal
keine
das saubere und gut gelegene Hotel, war zu unserer vollsten Zufriedenheit. Das Personal sehr nett und zuvorkommend. Unser Zimmer war in der 14. etage. Auch hier schon fast keine Fahrzeuge zu hören. Klimaanlage etwas laut und schade, dass die Zimmer nicht über einen Wasserkocher verfügen. Würde das Hotel immer und gerne weiter empfehlen.Es haben sich sowohl Familien, Paare und Geschäftsleute in dem Hotel befunden.
Reviewed July 06, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Imke from Germany
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in March 2010
Super Hotel, Super Lage”
Große geräumige Zimmer, moderne Ausstattung, sehr sauber, trotz 42nd Street Zimmer ruhig, kaum STraßenlärm zu hören (Zimmer war in der 22. Etage), toller Blick aufs Empire State Building. Sehr nette Mitarbeiter an der REzeption und auch die Concierges sind sehr hilfsbereit und haben gute Tipps.
keine
Bushaltestelle der Linie M42 und M104 hält direkt vorm Hotel, nächste U-Bahn Station ist am Grand Central Station in 5 Gehminuten. In 15 Minuten ist man auch zu Fuß am Times Square, der Bus braucht je nach Tageszeit und Verkehrslage zwischen 5 bis 20 Minuten. Das Frühstück im Hotel ist sehr reichhaltig, auch in Büffettform buchbar. Direkt neben dem Hotel gibt es eine gut frequentierte Coffeebar mit tollem Frühstücksangebot.
Reviewed March 28, 2010
7.0
Very good
Ruediger from Germany
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2010
Unaufdringlicher Komfort”
Die Lage des Hotels ist sehr verkehrsgünstig.
Bei Zimmern nach hinten schautman nur gegen ein direkt angrenzendes Hochhaus. Vor unserem Zimmer befand sich ein Eiswürfelautomat, der ununterbrochen recht laut gurgelte und rülplste... Ein Zimmer in dieser Klasse sollte eine Kaffeemaschine beinhalten.
Wir waren Ende Februar 2010 in New York City. Im Helmsley Hotel herrscht sehr unaufdringlicher Service vor. Das Hotel Personal wirkt eher - sagen wir - wohlwollend desinteressiert. Die Zimmer waren sehr sauber. Die Betten (King Size) hervorragend. Es gab eine Auswahl von mehreren Kissen. Auch das Bad war sehr sauber.Wir wohnten in der 41. Etage, also ganz oben. Ein Zimmer zur 42nd Street erlaubte einen grandiosen Ausblick. Ein Zimmer nach hinten hatte lediglich den Blick auf ein höheres Hochhaus direkt angrenzend.
Reviewed March 11, 2010
7.3
Very good
Hans-Joachim from Germany
Family with teens
Executive Double Bed
Stayed 7 nights in July 2009
Gute Lage”
Hotel gut gelegen, sehr nah zur U-Bahn ca. 10 Min. zum Broadway + Times Square Buahaltestelle von Transferbussen von JFK + Newark nur 2 Querstrassen entfernt + super zu Fuß machbar!
zur Zeit (Juli 2009) größere Renovierungsarbeiten Zimmer relativ laut wg.Lage an der 42nd Strasse und Einfachveglasung
Das Personal war insgesamt sehr freundlich. Leider hatten wir dem Zimmerservice ausgerechnet am Sonntag Trinkgeld hinterlassen, wo offensichtlich ein anderer Service Wochenenddienst hatte. Darauf bekamen wir in den Tagen darauf für 3 Personen nur noch einen Teil der Handtücher, die auch noch von Tag zu Tag weniger wurden. Auf Nachfrage an der Rezeption bekamen wir aber anstandslos noch die fehlenden Handtücher, auch ein defekter Fön wurde sofort ersetzt.
Reviewed August 03, 2009
7.7
Very good
Dario from Italy
Couple
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
Grande posizione camere confortevoli”
Buona posizione per lo shopping Metro a 100 mt dall' albergo
Nulla di rilevante
Soggiorno piacevole ottimo hotel camere confortevoli nella media dei grandi alberghi come benefit wi-fi gratuito in tutto l'albergo Ottimo servizio di conciergerie che chiamata da Chicago per un problema di trasporto ha fornito informazioni dettagliate per la risoluzione del problema
Reviewed December 10, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Juliana from Brazil
Couple
Executive
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
Ótimo hotel, boa localização”
Quarto espaçoso e confortável
Não tem café da manhã incluso e nem frigobar no quarto
adorei o hotel e a localização. fica bem perto da grand central station que possui algumas lojas e bons restaurantes. fica a 4 quarteirões da 5th ave. o quarto do hotel é bem espaçoso e confortável. o banheiro tbm é muito bom. o único problema é que o hotel não tem café da manhã incluso e nem frigobar no quarto, mas tem uma lanchonete bem ao lado que tem uns paninis ótimos e tem uma cvs 24h que pode-se comprar refri e petiscos.
Reviewed January 20, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
AYU from United States
Group
Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
女子3人で泊まりましたが、キングサイズのベッドにも狭さを感じず、きれいなホテルでした!
Reviewed October 10, 2017
5.3
MASAO from Japan
Family with teens
Traditional King
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
サービスは要改善”
立地はグランドセントラル駅に近く便利。アーリーチェックインは空室がなく出来なかったが、荷物を預かって貰えたので問題なかった。
3泊したが予約記録が1泊と2泊に分かれていたためか、事前にAGOTAで支払済にも関わらず、2泊分を二重請求された。スタッフのサービスがウェスティンのレベルに達していないと思う。
Reviewed January 03, 2016
6.3
Good
MASAO from Japan
Family with teens
Traditional King
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
備品が不足”
立地
冷蔵庫の中にほとんど物を入れられず不便。
Reviewed December 29, 2015
7.7
Very good
NORIYUKI from Japan
Business traveler
Traditional King
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
ニューヨークの事情に鑑みると総じて満足”
立地、コンパクトさ、清潔さ
グランドセントラル駅まで徒歩で10分、タイムズスクエアまで徒歩で20分の位置にあります。 部屋、特にバスルームはコンパクトながら非常に清潔で快適です。 基本的なアメニティしか部屋に用意されていませんが、世界のウェスティン同様、頼めば持ってきてくれます。 ただ、夜通し電気がつけっぱなしのオフィスの向かいにあり、夜はカーテンを閉めないと眠れないのと、平日の夜中でもお構いなしに続けられる工事、夜中鳴り響く警察のサイレンが気にならないかといえば少し気になります。
Reviewed November 03, 2015
6.3
Good
Nakajima from Japan
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
滞在時の感想”
チェッキインが簡単にできたこと」。
Reviewed May 12, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
JI from China
Couple
Traditional King
Stayed 6 nights in October 2015
中央車站附近 交通方便 老牌酒店 管理不錯”
位置便利 服務態度好 硬件不錯
中央車站附近 交通方便 老牌酒店 管理不錯 跟亞洲的5星是沒法比 畢竟是紐約 後來又住了W hotel 也是五星 感覺還不如westin
Reviewed November 01, 2015
9.2
Exceptional
HONGZHENG from China
Solo traveler
Traditional King
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
位置极佳,距时代广场、中央车站,步行不到十分钟。”
安静、舒适。夜晚可观窗外街景。是不错的选择。
Reviewed August 20, 2017
7.2
Very good
Lee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Traditional Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
普通”
什么都要钱。態度服务恶劣。
Reviewed September 30, 2016
8.3
Excellent
ruxin from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
位置优越 干净整洁”
地理位置好
由于到达的时间很晚,提前通过agoda 通知酒店,询问是否可以late check out, 被直接否决了。 其他都还OK。
Reviewed July 01, 2011
7.7
Very good
Antti from Finland
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in June 2010
The New York Helmsley Hotel”
hieno sijainti, ystävällinen henkilökunta, toimiva kokonaisuus
Huoneen valaistus himmeä
Hotellin sijainti hyvä ja sieltä oli helppo lähteä joka suuntaan
Reviewed June 20, 2010
7.3
Very good
Leena from Finland
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Amerikan matka”
Siisti hotelli, hyvä sijainti,huono valaistus huoneessa, kylpyhuoneessa oli hyvä valaistus
Internetin käyttö pitäisi olla maksutonta näin kalliissa hotellissa. Netin käyttö oli tosi kallis.Aamiaisen hinta todella kallis ja pitäisi kuulua huoneen hintaan.Hotellin ala-aulassa ei ollut mitään karttoja tai muuta infoa New Yorkista.
Esitteitä kaivataan sisääntuloaulaan.
Reviewed May 17, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
YURY from Russia
Family with teens
Traditional Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Отличный отель”
Отличный отель в центре Манхэттена, в шаговой доступности от всех достопримечательностей.
Reviewed January 05, 2018
9.0
Exceptional
Helena from Sweden
Family with teens
Executive Double Bed
Stayed 8 nights in July 2011
Bra hotell med bra läge.”
Rent och snyggt, god standard och närhet till div sevärdheter.
Ett hotel med god standard och trevlig tillmötesgående personal. Sköna sängar och snyggt och rent badrum. Vid entre´n fanns gemensamma utrymmen för gemenskap.Snabb service vid ut och in checkning.Hotellet har ett bra läge för shopping,sevärdheter och parkmiljö där man sitta och njuta.Lugnt, tryggt och säkert område. Vi vill varmt rekommendera detta hotell.
Reviewed August 22, 2011
4.4
GUE from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Traditional King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
被飯店欺騙的感覺”
我在agoda 上面訂房型Traditional King兩晚, 並在預定上面註明會晚入住。實際入住狀況是,當天晚上九點左右到飯店, 飯店給Traditional double也沒有告知飯店擅自換了客戶的房型, 第二天下午跟飯店反應, 回覆是晚入住, 沒有房間可以換。世界連鎖的飯店在美國是如此的待客,而且飯店待客態度傲慢,奉勸考慮訂這一家的人要考慮清楚。
Reviewed March 05, 2018