Book Now: Broadway Mansions Hotel

Very good
From 797 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
Recommended by 84% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (797)Booking.com Reviews (117)
7.8
Very good
From 797 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.3
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service7.8
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Economic Room
Deluxe City View
Deluxe River View
Executive City View
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 751 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Sarinya from Thailand
Group
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
nice good location”
nice hotel
Reviewed September 30, 2016
2.0
Micheal from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Scammed out of over $1200 from hotel”
I have never been to China before and decided to use the Chinese massage services offered in the hotel. The woman scammed my out of $1200 when I thought I was paying just $120!! I will never use this hotel again! WARNING To others about the hotel services!
Reviewed September 26, 2016
6.4
Good
Jeff from China
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Good”
Location excellent. Rooms need deep cleaning, especially carpet. Minibar empty and only cheap instant coffee and cheap shampoo/conditioner.
Reviewed September 08, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Estuardo from Guatemala
Solo traveler
Economic Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Great Location!”
I used to live in Shanghai so I knew that area pretty well. The hotel is located in one of the best areas of Shanghai. Just with a few minutes walk away from the Bund. The architecture of the hotel is great and also all the buildings around it. Totally recommended and I will stay there again if I have the chance!
Reviewed May 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Morten from Denmark
Family with young children
Executive River View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Great location and nice view from room”
Beautiful view over the bund
Reviewed April 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Esa from Sweden
Business traveler
Economic Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Excellent locaton on Shanghai”
Near to everything
Reviewed March 28, 2016
5.0
Roger from Switzerland
Business traveler
Economic Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
never 5*”
Location, Location, Location
ok but room was dirty, AC did not really work...I don't have high expectations but this is not a 5* hotel
Reviewed November 26, 2015
4.7
Roger from Switzerland
Business traveler
Economic Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
5* Really?”
Location, Location, Location
The hotel is ok but not a 5* hotel. I am not picky but when I travel across Asia and chose to stay in a five star hotel I expect things to work and that facilities like the gym are not just five machines in a room with no windows and where the staff and others are smoking in front of it...Shanghai's air is bad enough already. Also the carpet and the shower/bath room facilities are from the last century with poor maintenance... It is ok as a hotel but not a 5* star...I would hardly agree even on a 4* star hotel...
Reviewed November 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 10 nights in October 2015
Iconic Art Deco building in a great location”
Location, Art Deco and Cleanliness
We got a deal at this iconic Shanghai Art Deco hotel. The location is great on the Suzhou Creek just over the bridge at the top of the Bund. Our room was an odd shape (because of the building's conversion from apartment to a hotel) but it was clean and perfectly adequate. The staff were always helpful and the Express Service was always prompt. I wouldn't say it is 5-star standard probably 4-star.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
YAU from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Excellent View from the room”
.
Reviewed November 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Linus from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe River View
Stayed 7 nights in October 2015
satisfying”
comfy, helpful staff, location
Reviewed October 20, 2015
7.0
Very good
Beata from Poland
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Excellent location but don't expect too much”
perfect location for walks along The Bund
It was a decent stay. The hotel was built in 1934, as the vintage radiator in the bathroom boasts. It is comfortable, the staff is nice but not overly helpful. Book your own sightseeing tours before you get here, you won't receive much help/advice at the concierge desk. The "city view room" might have a view, but on lower floors (we were on 3rd) the room has painted windows which open but a crack to reveal... a banner with the view of the river front!!! Beyond it there's only the wall of the next building. Sure, such rooms exist in tightly packed cities, but don't call it a "city view room" then! Best thing about this hotel - superb location! Walking distance to the Bund, and Starbucks & Subway if you can't live without them. Overall, great value for money if you grab a good deal with "a room with no view" ;)
Reviewed October 18, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Jenny from Australia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 6 nights in October 2015
Excellent location and value for money”
location, value for money, cleanliness
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed there for 6 nights and they really looked after us. The location of this hotel is excellent as you are at the northern end of the Bund, easy to walk the length and close to major shopping outlets. The staff were helpful and did very well with their limited English.
Reviewed October 15, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Roel from Netherlands
Business traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Nicehotel on a perfect place”
Place, surroundings, view
The hotel is ok. But the days we were there it was very hot end the airco was not working. They said is was central and more rooms were hot???
Reviewed September 29, 2015
7.7
Very good
Allester from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good Location and Value for Money”
Location, service and dining
Hotel room was nice not great. Could be improved with some touch up works. Toilet was a little old and dull. Room was comfortable but furniture abit old too. The food was great. Inexpensive Japanese restaurant at the first floor. Location was great. Just a short walk away from The Bund. Excellent view in some rooms too.
Reviewed June 22, 2015
7.7
Very good
Allester from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Historic hotel with good service and nice view. ”
Location, service and dining
Hotel room was nice not great. Could be improved with some touch up works. Toilet was a little old and dull. Room was comfortable but furniture abit old too. The food was great. Inexpensive Japanese restaurant at the first floor. Location was great. Just a short walk away from The Bund. Excellent view in some rooms too.
Reviewed June 22, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jing from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Near to the Bund”
nice location, good view, ok service
nice location, good view, ok service
Reviewed April 22, 2015
7.3
Very good
Michael from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe City View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
good experience ”
location, cleanliness, spacious room
good location which near to The bund (less than 5 mins walking distance.)
Reviewed April 20, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Chi from Hong Kong
Couple
Executive City View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Nice view”
Nice view, good location, good feel
Just hard to call a taxi anywhere in Shanghai.
Reviewed April 07, 2015
6.0
Xavier from France
Business traveler
Executive River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Great location”
Location / view / wifi
Perfect location at the end of the bund. Make sure you pay the extra for a bund view. Service is very average but you come here for the view....
Reviewed February 15, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Brenda from Canada
Couple
Deluxe River & Bund View Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Enjoyable stay. Amazing view.”
View. central location, accommodating staff
A great experience o overall.
Reviewed January 10, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Junko from Japan
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good but too small window”
Location and room except small window
Checked in a Deluxe River View room but the window was too small with only Waitan view - no Pudong view. We requested a change but not accepted. We have stayed in a room with both Waitan and Pudong view.... Deposit was RMB500! Location is good for us. 10 min walk from Nanjing east station and easy to get taxi. Nice to walk to or from Yu Yuen on Waitan. Room was small but very nicely decorated. Service is good especially door men.
Reviewed January 09, 2015
7.0
Very good
Debra from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
View of the bund”
View, proximity to the bund, price
Got the river view room at about sgd140 a night. For the view it is worth the price. Stayed there only for a night, room is spacious but the bath tub doesn't look too clean. However it wasn't that close to the metro station. So thank goodness we only stayed there for 1 night. Take a nice walk to the bund, enjoy the breeze and have fun!
Reviewed January 03, 2015
7.0
Very good
Timo from Finland
Business traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
4 star hotel”
location, staff, brekafast
Stay was ok. It is not a 5-star hotel, more like 4-star.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
6.3
Good
Paul from Canada
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
3rd Time staying - so it must be ok!”
Location, Taxi access, room
Great time except the staff english level is very low. THis is the 3rd time I have stayed there and twice I have had difficulty communicating something with the staff. This time I was asking for a disposable razor and the first time I called they gave me the internet password, the 2nd time i called they ensured me that the hotel was safe... Harmless mistakes based on language, but also not something that should be unsolvable at a hotel.
Reviewed December 15, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Normita from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe River View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Love it!! Location is perfect!!”
Location, staff and cleanliness.
It was great!!
Reviewed December 11, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Erla from Iceland
Business traveler
Executive City View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Good location hotel for all kinds of travel”
Staff, location, food.
The hotel is clean and the staff are very lovely. Only issue is the WiFi which is very limited and requires signing in again and again. As well there was a big mold patch in the carpet in front of the bathroom door. Otherwise, the breakfast was lovely, as well as the Japanese restaurant. Staff where very helpful and accommodating. The cleanliness was very good, much better than expected given the age of the hotel. Location is good for sightseeing around the Bund as well as shopping the Nanjing Road. Other locations are a short taxi ride away.
Reviewed October 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Donna from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Great hotel, Great location!!!!!!”
Great hotel facing the Pudong, easy transport links,
Reviewed October 30, 2014
7.0
Very good
john from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
historic hotel”
location and comfort
The Broadway is one of Shanghai's historic hotels, built in the 1930s, and located just over the Garen Bridge from the Bund, close to the Russian Consulate. Therefore perfect location, especially for those new to the city who will start their tour at the Bund. You can walk to a mero station behind the Post Office down Suzhou Creek in 10 minutes - Tian Tong Lu. Price reasonable for Shanghai, hotel provides usual Chinese range of facilities and is perfectly comfortable. Staff speak some english.
Reviewed September 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
YOON from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Old and Classical Stay”
Clean and Nice View overlooking The Bund
There is renovation going on during our stay at the 5th Floor. The hotel has limited non smoking floor hence they are not able to change our room despite of the noise disruption from Renovation. The hotel is very far from the nearest MRT station. You will need to walk about 15 min to the nearest MRT station. However the hotel has lots of taxi available. Limited facilities (no swimming pool)
Reviewed September 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
YOON from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Spacious Room, Amazing The Bund View”
Cleanliness, Spacious Room, Strategic Location
The Hotel Room is very clean and the room is very spacious. However, the hotel is undergoing renovation on the 5th Floor which is the non smoking floor. Hence it is a bit noisy during the day after 9 a.m. Hotel location is very near to the bund but if you wish to walk to Nanjing Walking Street, it will take 20min walk from the hotel.
Reviewed September 04, 2014
7.3
Very good
YENPO from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
good & best”
very good
Reviewed August 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Alannah from Australia
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Very comfy beds!”
Bund location, comfy beds, nice view of the river
Room was spacious and close to Bund area but found it hard to find many restaurants close by. If you want value for money in a good location then this hotel is great, although it is quite a far walk to closest metro station if you plan to use this. We didn't want to leave our beds in the morning because they were so comfy! Sheets are of high quality too.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
5.7
aloysius from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Nice place”
good location, helpful staff
the hotel was great and near tourist attractions and minutes away from shopping district.
Reviewed August 05, 2014
7.0
Very good
Saskia from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe City View
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Nice location, very close to the bund.”
Nice location, close to the bund a must visited place in Shanghai. room is clean , staff is helpful
I booked this hotel from browsing from internet and because of the location. It is located in good location, very close to the bunds a must visited place in Shanghai. However, I have a bad experience where the AC suddenly stopped working in the middle of the night. The staff tried to resolve the issue and offer to move to other room. Since I only stayed 1 night i accept the offer but the room was smaller then the room i booked and down graded.
Reviewed July 10, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Ian from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Excellent ”
Upgrade Room service Location
Great location food and bars & staff over all we had a great experience at the hotel
Reviewed July 07, 2014
8.3
Excellent
sara from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
amazing veiws”
veiws, staff and hotpot around the corner
we had a rooom ovrlooking the river (amazing)the hotel is in a brilliant location but could do with a renorvation it was a little dated to the left of the hotel half way down the street is a little resturant..try the hotpot out of this world
Reviewed June 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Tin from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
comfy hotel”
room standard, view and location
the room was good. it's just the view isnt good as i imagined overall its a good hotel and fair value for its price
Reviewed June 13, 2014
7.0
Very good
Nygllhuw from New Zealand
Business traveler
Executive River View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Declining standards from a great past performer”
location, location, location
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past few years. It is a shame to see such a great hotel affected by the quality of staff falling away. On my first stay staff were attentive and excellent, English levels were high, and staff services was top notch. Sadly this is declining. On my most recent stay in June 2014, when I checked in the chap just kept ignoring me, and the requests I had made during booking. Partly it was his lack of language skills but it was also simply he was not interested in anything I had to say. On the first night my wife received an electric shock in the bathroom. The service man walked in said it was fine and walked out. The manager promised to relocate us in the morning and we never heard from him again. Of greater concern New Zealand and Hong Kong dollars were taken from my computer briefcase. It was only around $50 as I had my Chinese and US money with me but it is the principle of the thing. Luggage left in your room should not be searched by staff and things should not be taken. I am really sad to write this report as I have had many great stays here. I would go back again but sadly I would not be as confident as I have been in the past. This is a great hotel in a great location - it is just being let down by a few bad staff and a falling service attitude.
Reviewed June 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
inten from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
location, good room with a firendly staff1”
location, great room, good staff
I had a pleasant stay at this hotel, tho its for business, but the location was great and the view was amazing. the room was big and clean, and i will definetly come again
Reviewed June 10, 2014
6.0
lincoln from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Great location, location, location”
Location, friendly staff
Used hotel for a photo shoot, was the best location on the Bund, friendly staff
Reviewed June 10, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Kosuke from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Wonderful stay”
Location, transportation, nice room
Had a great stay at this prestigious hotel. Great Location and in the middle of all attractions.
Reviewed May 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jaesuk from South Korea
Business traveler
Executive River View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Nice View..kind...”
Nice People, Clean, Nice view
I left my luggage in the TAXI. Because I took a taxi front of hotel, i just returned the hotel. I ask to check the CCTV then i found it.. I was LUCKY. Nice view.. i will visit..again... this is the best place...for me...
Reviewed May 23, 2014
2.7
Michael from Australia
Couple
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
horrible hygiene”
none
not good. very dirty and when we complained nothing was done about it
Reviewed May 22, 2014
6.0
SEHJOON from South Korea
Family with teens
Deluxe River View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Good location, spacial room.But weak wifi signal”
Close to locations for sightseeingClean and spacialNot so expensive
Good for family accomodation A bit old building. It would be better if they improve wifi signal and restaurant quality.
Reviewed May 16, 2014
6.0
chen from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
not bad”
thank you
nice
Reviewed May 15, 2014
7.0
Very good
Ripple from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe River View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Clean, reasonable price, quiet”
Clean, reasonable price, quiet, nice music at room
Reviewed May 14, 2014
7.0
Very good
MINGCHIEH from Taiwan
Family with young children
Deluxe River View
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
It is ok, just check in as earlier as possible”
Window view
When we booked , we noted cot and higher floor. However, when we arrive hotel check in, hotel staff said didn't note them any. so we were arranged at 4 floors (total 18 floors and no cot, which is not expected. Otherwise the view is good. Friends, take remark is totally unuseful, just arrive hotel earlier and told your requests to hotel staff directly.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Family with young children
Executive River View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Superb Historic Hotel”
Fantastic remodel, Location, Location, Historic.
So pleased to find this Grand Old Hotel in perfect condition! They really have this hotel up to the newest standards.........the view out of my window overlooking the river and the Bund was just incredible! The price makes it just that much better..........
Reviewed May 12, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Family with young children
Executive City View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Historic Hotel with an excellent remodel”
Location, Very Luxurious, Incredible value
Better than I thought. I am a 54 yr. Male traveling with my 9 yr. old Son.........and we met other friends and family at the hotel. We all really enjoyed it. Historic Hotels are a hobby of mine, and the Mansions did not disappoint! Well done to them!
Reviewed May 06, 2014