Book Now: Buddhazen Hotel

Excellent
From 643 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (643)Booking.com Reviews (440)
8.7
Excellent
From 643 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.2
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service9.0
Value for money8.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Superior Twin Room
Deluxe Suite
Standard Double Room
Superior Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 592 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Chung from Singapore
Couple
Superior Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Relaxing stay”
This hotel is located in a quiet and peaceful part of Chengdu, a very short walk to popular Wenshu monestery. Many restaurants and snack stalls are also within walking distance. The room is spacious and clean. Bed is comfortable. A very good stay indeed.
Reviewed June 10, 2017
Dear guests, thank you for your assessment,Looking forward to your next time stay!
Responded September 05, 2017
Buddhazen Hotel
4.8
Mark from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Area under construction ”
I've stayed here before and it was lovely. Now there's building work going on all around the area and right next door to the hotel. I would have booked elsewhere if I'd known. Breakfast was poor, very little choice of Chinese or other foods.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Dear guests, thank you for your assessment.Due to the goverment of Chengdu Wenshu Fangs reforms,a completa reconstruction of the Inn is taking place.the shops and roads arund the Inn have been closed leaving only the pedestrian passage open.Unfortunately the narrow road,noise of construction and dust cause much inconvenience.Therefore we appreciate your understanding of all there issues and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. The construction will be completed at the end of September !so,October will give you a new environment !
Show more
Buddhazen Hotel
7.2
Very good
Rosie from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017
We didnt love it”
We were excited to stay at BuddhaZen but several things were irritating. 1. Staff didnt manage drynken unrult guests who interrupted of evening with their behavioue and also smoking whilst we were havinf dinner. Staff continued to allow these guests to have alachol. Another visitor complained about the same problem the followinf day.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Dear guests, Thanks for your comments,We will actively improve and Strengthen staff training,Hope you enjoy your life
Responded August 23, 2017
Buddhazen Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
rachel from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Love the Buddhazen”
There's a new emphasis on having all staff speak at least a few words of English. Even all the maids now say hello and good morning. Super friendly all around. Unfortunatelt, at least in the apparent low season of early March, all of the great little individual venders in the immediate vicinity of the hotel have disappeared and my beloved vegan restaurant across the street appears to have closed permanently. Front desk clerk says this is because it's winter, but Chengdu friend says it is urban renewal and this area is always high on that list. Result: sad deserted feeling. Breakfast continues to be great, different every day. Love the Buddhazen!
Reviewed March 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Katrina from United States
Couple
Superior Suite
Stayed 9 nights in February 2017
Perfect”
My favorite hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life.
Reviewed March 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Business traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
I'll be back....”
A colleague and I had a one-night stay here. Very convenient access to nearby monastery shrines and temples. Very comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Thank you! I'll be back....
Reviewed February 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Rene from Netherlands
Family with teens
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Nice & friendly hotel”
Very nice staff, great location close to temple. Subway around the corner, Rooms are not big, but comfortable and very clean. We will come back!
Reviewed January 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
POOI from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Hotel”
Hotel very clean and staff very helpful
Reviewed December 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
POOI from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Hotel”
Clean hotel and staff very helpful
Reviewed December 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tan from Malaysia
Group
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good location ”
Good location with good customer service and good breakfast! The bed is very comfortable and the best in my 7 days visit to China. The only letdown is my suite smells of cigarette smell despite requesting for non smoking room.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
6.4
Good
Liew from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Peaceful ”
Away from the main roads thus peaceful. We sleep well. We like the breakfast very much. The room is clean. The down side is there isn't much food choices @ night in the area. We checked with the hotel for room service and was told that they will only send food up to our room if the restaurant is not busy. There is no tub and the door to Balcony will let in the cold even when closed.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
4.8
yiu from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
broken road, construction everywhere, dusty”
the hotel is close to the main road but car cant get in, so you have to carry the luggage to the hotel, plus the roads are constructed everywhere, very dusty, also there is no lift in the hotel, you need to carry your luggage to the upstairs. poor services in the restaurants, no smile, no greeting, won't say thank you. Receptionist is ok but some of the guys are impolite in some ways even though you speak in Chinese. Very bad experience.
Reviewed December 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Theme Hotel”
Stayed for 3 nights at the Buddha Zen Hotel. Saff very helpful and attentive, room clean and comfortable. We decided on breakfast as included and we're not dissapointed with quality, mostly Chinese options. Staff allowed early access to the room on arrival and were able to help with local access. Hotel very close to monastery. Would easily recommend.
Reviewed November 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Elisabeth from United States
Group
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Living the Vida Lovely”
This fabulous hotel is a wonderful walk into the China's past and present. Its exquisite architecture calms the soul and softens the harsh reality of modern, metropolis in the making Chengdu. Wonderful staff, excellent food in the restaurant, beautiful, spotless rooms with attention to every detail. One of my most favorite places I've ever stayed in -- and I shall return:)
Reviewed November 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Lucia from Afghanistan
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Charming Hotel in historical area”
The inn was lovely in a restored historical area surrounded by quaint neighborhoods. We were in the superior suite so it was spacious and clean. 5 minute walk to subway, taxi is easily accessible. Facilities were lacking in this inn; the spa was not properly staff so we were able to try that service. We had dinner there the first night, but most items on the menu were not available. Restaurant staff service were pretty sporadic, a couple of young girls were a bit brusque but the more experienced one were rather pleasant. Front desk was helpful and courteous whether with getting us a taxi or booking us a show.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Astrid from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Beautiful boutique hotel near Wenshu Monastery”
Just returned from my second stay at Buddhazen hotel. The staff are some of the friendliest people in China. Five star hotel on a budget. Beautiful rooms. Extra bonus - they have real coffee (in the breakfast buffet)! Won ton soup is the best. I like mine spicy!
Reviewed November 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
EDWIN from Colombia
Couple
Superior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
The best place in Chengdu, experiment the real China!”
We loved our stay at Buddhaen hotel. It is just a couple of blocks away from the Wenshu Yuan Monaster and it is located in an amazing area full of ancient chinese constructions, markets and nice people. There is also a lot of tea houses to go and experience amazing teas and live great moments. The staff of the hotel is very kind, the SPA is also very good, try the chinese full treatment (we took it and it was definitevely a great investment). The only thing we saw is that there were some dishes of the restaurant menu out of stock, But not a big deal. We will definitively come back to experience again the Zen touch!
Reviewed November 07, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
wayne from United States
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Lovely, quaint, oriental hotel”
Very clean and spacious hotel with friendly staff. We had a private balcony on third floor. No lifts, but it would have taken away the esthetics of the decor. Close to metro and taxis available. Lots of good food/ restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay here again!
Reviewed November 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Chee from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Excellent”
very good services
Reviewed November 03, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Geoff from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Lovely place and style ”
In general an enjoyable and pleasant stay. Very convenient for the Wenshu district and temple. However, staff were less than helpful when trying to find somewhere to eat and more interested in us eating at the hotel.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
KHIM from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
BEST OF THE BESTS”
STRATEGIC LOCATION, GREAT DECO, FRIENDLY N HELPFUL STAFFS,N EXCELLENCE CLEANILNESS.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yiqiu from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Museum like boutique hotel with Zen vibe in every detail ”
The building itself can be a tourist attraction. It is an traditional Chinese architecture, including the garden, the roof and decorations. All staff welcome me with a sincere smile and always offer to help in some way. The room is not so big but definitely show the owner's attention to detail.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Thomas from United States
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast, great location.”
Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast, great location.
Reviewed August 24, 2016
7.2
Very good
Christian from Germany
Couple
Superior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Unique location”
Nicely located in the old area next to the temple. Friendly staff, basic Chinese style breakfast.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
6.0
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Nice but Indifferent”
- Super clean rooms and nice beds though the air conditioning filter was filthy (a norm in most Asian countries so check and clean it before blasting those aircons!) - Beautiful hotel setting and artistic features (super traditional Buddhist Chinese style - with contemporary features). - Staff were helpful enough but not very engaging/warm. - Not close to public transport though cabs in Chengdu and China are very reasonable. - Buffet breakfast was okay but don't expect Grand Park, Shangri-La or Hilton style spreads, despite the cost per night. The lesser the density, the greater the cost in China.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lan from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Great hotel, piece of art. Love the building, art decoration. Will come again. ”
Great experience
Reviewed August 15, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Noel from Malaysia
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Very Special”
It's one of those hotels that you would remember staying in as part of the highlight of your travels. If you're not into the star rated hotels and looking for alternatives, this is definitely worth trying.
Reviewed August 12, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Yi from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Very Zen”
The building is very old charming wooden style, the rooms are a bit small but very simple and nice, the staff was very humble and helpful, there are small shops and restaurants all around, only bad thing was this hotel was about 100 meters inside a walking street and the street or hotel was not luggage friendly
Reviewed August 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Veromika from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Quaint traditional style hotel”
The hotel design is very traditional and quaint, but the room is very small. The breakfast choice is limited too. But location is very good, right in the middle of the old town.
Reviewed August 02, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Ning from United States
Family with young children
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Excellent location, very clean,helpful staff”
Enjoyed stay for 4 nights.
Reviewed August 01, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
rachel from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
diehard fan of the Buddha Zen”
Fabulous decor, great service (when my toilet wouldn't stop running, the maintenance man came within 2 minutes of my call to the front desk), unbelievable brunch, friendly helpful staff, environs fascinating and very safe for a single woman-- what is there not to like about this hotel? Oh, yes, and there's a truly great vegetarian restaurant, Lotus In The Water, right across from the hotel sign on the main street where the taxis usually drop off for the hotel.
Reviewed July 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Benjamin from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Great hotel, even if a little out of the way”
Lovely hotel, great setting, friendly and helpful staff, nice area. It was difficult to find the hotel arriving late at night, as it is down alleys that taxis cannot go down. Would be helpful to have a name card for the hotel with instructions for the taxi driver. Also, there is no fridge/mini bar in the room (though the staff were happy to arrange drinks etc).
Reviewed July 26, 2016
6.8
Good
Dewiyana from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
good customer service”
many restaurants and shopping area surrounding but don't have lift to carry the luggage
Reviewed July 18, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jon from Canada
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Located in a beautiful area”
This hotel is located in an area where there are many shops with high quality arts and crafts objects. There is also a street market nearby where Tibetan people sell their crafts, jewelry, etc. The hotel itself is quite beautiful, the breakfast is excellent and the staff is very helpful. The receptionist there helped us organize a visit to the panda center the first day, Cheng-du opera in the evening, and an excursion with an English speaking guide on the second day. There is a wonderful vegetarian restaurant in the monastery nearby. We highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed July 10, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Paula from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Great authentic boutique hotel”
We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and it was fantastic. The area is authentic and like stepping back in time. Quality of hotel is very good and beds are very comfortable. Highly recommend getting a foot massage in the spa of this boutique hotel.
Reviewed July 06, 2016
7.6
Very good
Avilyn from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Buddhazen Hotel”
The room is clean and big but not very bright.. bathroom is small but clean and gets the job done. There are no elevators but I guess that's part of the experience of a boutique hotel. Very near Wenshu Monastery but would need to walk 5-10 mins to the nearest subway. It's also not on the main road so you'll have to roll your luggages to get a cab. Breakfast was okay.. typical Chinese with a few options but taste is not bad. Very Chinese style.. perfect for those who want to experience this type of atmosphere.
Reviewed June 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Heather from United States
Family with teens
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Unique & Friendly ”
We had a great stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful and the spa was a relaxing oasis. It is a beautiful hotel and the location behind the Wenshu Monastery was very authentic and a nice place to have dinner at night without having to walk too far.
Reviewed June 23, 2016
7.2
Very good
Le from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Good hotel.”
It's very near to many attractions. Great for walking around exploring. The area is quite commercialized thus very busy at day time and nothing at night.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tanuj from India
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Great Design and Wonderful Location”
Buddhazen has wonderful architecture and rooms are spacious and cozy. The location is right beside the Wenshu Monastery. You can easily spend a day walking around the hotel. Wenshu Monastery subway station nearby connects you to important tourist locations in Chengdu.
Reviewed June 07, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Cynthia from Canada
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
The hardest bed I ever had in a hotel!”
I was extremely disappointed in the quality of the bed. It was a very hard box spring without the mattress, very common in China.I could feel the springs poking through. The hotel, however was lovely and in a avery good location.
Reviewed May 23, 2016
7.6
Very good
NARELLE from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
V. Good, but few issues”
The loud speaker event that happens every night between approx 7pm to 9:30pm was not ideal and goes against all philosophy of the tranquil Zen. Breakfast starts too late 7:30am. To meet tours at 7 or 7:30pm means regularly missing breakfast. I notified staff it expect nothing will happen. If they want to accommodate international guests, they will need to address this issue. You could pay extra for quality pillow but very average ones provided. House/cleaning staff lovely. Reception mostly friendly and helpful. This hotel is very good for the price, but not fantastic 7/10
Reviewed May 23, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Juliette from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Wonderful hotel”
Located in a very picturesque piece of Chengdu, Buddhazen was wonderful. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very nice and clean, food was good, both dinner and breakfast. We had a very nice time.
Reviewed May 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Doris from United States
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Perfect Chengdu location”
A great place to stay while in Chengdu- lots of local culture, people and sights. Very close to a monastery and breakfast was terrific. The rooms are a little small, especially the bathroom but a great value and nice staff!
Reviewed April 25, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Lee from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Great location and comfortable rooms”
A great stay - would come again.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2016
Excellent base for exploring the City”
We chose this hotel on the basis of the good reviews and the very attractive room rate - and we were really glad we stayed there rather than the “safer” option of an international chain hotel surrounded by high rise office blocks. It’s in a network of small traditional-style pedestrian alleys near the Wenshu monastery, full of craft shops and food stalls. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is usually someone on the front desk with reasonable Engllish. The central atrium with the Buddha statue is peaceful, and the layout with its little open courtyards gives it an “authentic” Chinese feel The room was quiet and the bed comfortable; the shower was roomy. If you’re not fazed by Chinese breakfasts, the selection is very good (do try the a la carte stuff, which is all included). If you are, it’s a bit more basic: sliced bread for toast, hard boiled egg or cereal. For die hard Western breakfast consumers, there’s a Starbucks a little way the other side of the Metro station.
Reviewed April 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Amaani from United States
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Beautiful Hotel right next to mouth watering food ”
The hotel building is gorgeous and in a great location. I wish I had more time to spend at the hotel itself, making use of their terrace, etc. It was very easy to get around from the hotel with a metro station close by and quite easy for all taxi drivers to find since it's next to a famous monastery. The hotel is located right next to some famous small food shops that have mouth watering Tian Shui Mian (Sweet Water Noodles) and other delicious Sichuan favourites. Service and staff was excellent. Highly recommend.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yiqi from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Great hotel in a great location”
The hotel adheres to its theme from the way the hotel is decorated to the mirror in the bathroom to the way the staff greets you. It doesn't go over the top with sutra chants playing on the background or fill the grounds with incense, which gives it a nice, tourist-friendly buddhist-lite feel - immersive but not preachy. The location is great. It is in one of the historical districts within a rapidly developing city which allows you to enjoy some culture before stepping out to the next block for modern shops and amenities. The staff were very polite and responsive to our needs, so that made our stay quite perfect.
Reviewed April 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Katherine from United States
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Charming hotel in historic district ”
Its nice to come back to a place like Buddhazen Hotel after a day of exploring - its located in a peaceful / quiet part of Chengdu in an attraction area - recommend this unique stay to anyone traveling to Chengdu for pleasure
Reviewed April 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michele from China
Couple
Superior Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Fantastic location”
A little difficult to find the first time as you have to walk down an alley way off the main road. Take the telephone number so the taxi driver can phone them if they have to. No help with tours but they do have cars and drivers you can hire. Can easily spend days looking around and walking in the area.Great lunch and tea area in the monastery..
Reviewed April 03, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Xin from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Zen”
zen, cleaniness
Reviewed February 29, 2016