Book Now: Captain Hostel-Fu Zhou Rd Branch Shanghai

Captain Hostel-Fu Zhou Rd Branch Shanghai Reviews

Very good
From 140 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (140)Booking.com Reviews (690)
7.2
Very good
From 140 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.6
Facilities6.5
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service6.7
Value for money7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
日本語
more
Room type
Standard Twin Bed
Standard Double Bed
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 121 verified guest comments
7.7
Very good
Adrian from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Nice stay, Convenience store beside it. Also, ATM.”
Family Mart beside it, near the Bund, near City Sighseeing Tour Bus Stop (Customs House)
Value for money. We tried to sample their breakfast, but it starts at 11am. Good thing their is Grandma's Resto at the corner. At night, there is a cart selling noodles/rice and another cart selling grilled chicken.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Jeremy from Canada
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Great location, great service”
location, price, staff
The staff were very helpful and friendly. For the price, this was a very decent place to stay - excellent location.
Reviewed January 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Jeremy from Canada
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Excellent location, great staff”
location, affordable price, upstairs bar
We were very impressed by this Hostel, and found that the staff were very friendly and helpful. For the price, the room was great.
Reviewed January 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
steve from United States
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Great location in the Bund”
Located in the Bund, rooftop bar/patio,elevator
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The elevator for our 5th floor twin room was great. Rooftop bar/patio was very nice with a great view of the river and amazing buildings. However, beers were $9 and food was a little pricey. There was a minimart out the front door to the left and an ATM to the right. Only a 3 minute walk to the water and beautiful colonial buildings. About 15 minute walk to nearest subway stop. Room was clean and good size with daily maid service - nice for a hostel.
Reviewed November 12, 2013
6.3
Good
KOK from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Good location. But room decoration is outdated.”
Wifi, location, scenery.
So far so good. Scenery at the rooftop bar is superb. Near by the Bund which is a must-go location in shanghai. 24 hours grocery shop is just nearby. Nice cafe. Exquisite souvenir.
Reviewed October 16, 2013
7.7
Very good
luz from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
great location with affordable price”
location, price and cleanliness
it was all great, we could see the beautiful view across the river from the Bund.. Captain bar in the rooftop is a very nice place to just sit back and relax while enjoying the view.
Reviewed September 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
luz from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Very good location”
Location , affordable , location
It was overall good ... Will definitely be back here.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
7.3
Very good
Marcelle from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
location, comfort quiet”
The great location, the comfortable beds, , the views from the bar.
This hotel is in the best location ,minutes away from the bund . Nanjings walking street & the Lazer tunnel to the left and Yuyuan gardens & the fantastic shopping markets to the right . The beds were really comfortable and we loved the bar with its magnificent view on the 6th flooralthough it was a little expensive.
Reviewed August 25, 2013
6.0
SARUN from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Old but in order”
Location , service ,transportation
Reviewed August 08, 2013
8.3
Excellent
RACHMAWAN from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Great location and great hotel!”
Location, staff and scenery
Hotel was great, within walking distance from Shanghai's main sightseeing destination. really satisfied.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
3.0
Valeria from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Really really BAD!”
no good things at all
It´s not so cheap, you can find similar rates but much MUCH cleaner somewhere else. The bar is very expensive even though it has a nice view, breakfast not so cheap but ok even though it´s preferable to eat outside the hotel. Central accommodation but I wouldn´t recommend it even if you wanted to live simple. I have never seen anything like it, and I do travel A LOT!
Reviewed May 07, 2013
7.7
Very good
Zahar from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Hotel location is the best. Very nice view”
great location, room is big, clean
Reviewed April 15, 2013
7.0
Very good
Zahar from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Great location. Right in the Bund”
Location, value for money, view
I've stayed here for 2 times. Location is great. Rooftop have a very nice view of Pudong. Very near to main tourist attraction of the Bund. Great place to stay during new year countdown.
Reviewed April 15, 2013
6.7
Good
MJW from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Probably one of the best location vs price option!”
Location, price
Big room, big bathroom. Only little bit dirty. There is an elevator to the 5th floor. But probably to take a vacuum cleaner up to the 6th (top) is little bit too much for staff. Besides this even for a hostel on daily base new towels, slippers, regular bathroom equipment. Incl some bottles of extra water. Still a dirty carpet is not the best welcome to your room. Lobby is ok, free wifi, books, nice postal card service. The staff at reception do what they have to do.
Reviewed February 25, 2013
5.7
danny from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Just next to the Bund”
Location
2 min to the bund, within 10 min walking dis to North Nanjing Road shopping district and MRT stations, not more then 20 min walking dis to Yuyuan. Standard room was just ok, carpet smelling bad bt just open the window for couple minute will be fine. lift just till 5th floor if u got large largage avoid take the 6th floor room bt bar at rooftop is magnificent!
Reviewed February 18, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
isabelle from France
Group
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great hostel directly at Bund”
Location
great hostel, very clean, at 100m from the bund and 5minfrom the metro, and 40min from the airport. definitely a place to recommend.
Reviewed December 04, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Xiang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Great location and friendly staff”
Great proximity to the Bunds, Clean room
The hotel is just situated beside the Bunds and within 200metres' walk from the nearest metro station, Nanjing East Road Station. The main area is beautifully decorated and gives a cosy feeling. The room is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is clean as well. All in all, the stay was enjoyable.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
7.0
Very good
Katharine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great location, big room, average cleanliness”
Easy to find
The hostel was easy to find and very well located, near to the Bund and Nanjing Road. It was secure and my room was of a good size. Room functioned well and bathroom and bed linen was very clean. The carpet in the room was filthy though so I was very glad I had taken my trusty traveller flip flops!!
Reviewed August 24, 2012
3.3
Aaron from Australia
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Worst Hostel I have Ever Stayed”
Location is the ONLY pro to this hotel.
I stayed at this hostel a few years ago in a dorm room and had a pleasant stay, so when I came back to Shanghai this time I booked into the Captain Hostel again without hesitation, this time booking a double private room for myself and my wife. Big Mistake. The room was absolutely disgusting. The carpet was stained black with dirt and completely worn-out, the bed sheets and quilt cover, pillow covers had stains on them and were just old and musty in general. The walls along the edges of the bed had been sprayed with some kind of liquid (don't want to imagine what it was) and had not been cleaned off. The room smelled heavily of cigarettes and mould. The room was located directly beside a public bathroom, which could be smelled from within the room at times. The walls and door are too thin so you can easily hear what is going on outside, therefore no doubt the people outside can hear whatever you are saying or doing inside your room. Our room was located on the 6th floor but the elevator only goes to the 5th floor, so we had to carry our heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs without any offer of help from the staff when we checked in. The room was very, very small, and strangely, the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom. The bathroom consisted of one tiny shower just big enough to stand in, a toilet in one corner, and a small basin, with a huge empty space in the middle which was just wasted space. Why they didn't make actual room bigger and have a normal sized bathroom is a mystery to me. We stayed there one night and then checked out and moved just down the road to a 3.5 star hotel which was not only wonderful, but also CHEAPER than a private room at Captain Hostel. The ONLY good aspect of Captain hostel is the location, but for someone wanting a private room, there are other hotels nearby which are also in a great location and for the same price or cheaper than Captain Hostel. Unless you want to stay in a dorm room, I strongly advise you not to stay here.
Reviewed July 26, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
PETER from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Comfortable, clean hostel in great location”
Great view of Pudong from bar at night
I have been drinking at the Captain Bar on Floor 6 for two years. The night time view is great. This was my first time staying in the hostel /hotel. My room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom and wc were clean and more than adequate. Toothbrushes, comb soap provided as it is in most Chinese hotels these days. Check in was efficient and the reception staff spoke good English. There is a coffee bar on the first floor. Local shops are close by. I will stay there again.
Reviewed June 13, 2012
6.3
Good
Ruth from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good location. Room could be cleaner.”
Location is good, 1 short taxi ride from airport bus stop. Several steps away from park beside the river. English-speaking receptionist.
Room could be cleaner. Towels were very old and ripped. When I got up the next morning, trash bags from the bar were outside my door, smelling of leftover beer and other drinks.
Reviewed June 13, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Heather from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Great Location and big room!”
Very good location, friendly staff and very large room.
the location couldn't be better. only hostel i've ever stayed at that gave you amenities like toothbrushes, soap, shampoo and slippers! the room was huge, could have invited 4+ others to stay with us! haha... cons - were pretty minor, and easily overlooked for the price. furnishings were a bit old, light carpet in room was pretty stained, bathroom occasionally had a funk smell, but closing the door prevented it from entering the room. shower was a bit dingy. elevators were small and bar upstairs was expensive...but there were many things around so this was easy to avoid. pros - super convenient for sight seeing, comfortable bed/room, walking distance to subway, convenient store and restaurants with in walking distance. walking distance to the bund and nanjing st. friendly staff and nice cafe on the 1st floor. would highly recommend to any budget traveler.
Reviewed June 10, 2012
6.7
Good
Shu from Singapore
Group
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Unfriendly staff and poor wifi”
Spacious room, clean room, comfortable bed
We made a booking of 2 twin bedrooms. As we reached shanghai at midnight, we have informed and confirmed with the staff that we will be checking in late. However when we reached the hostel, we waited a while to be served (by an unfriendly guy), and we were told that only we can only be given 1 twin room and 1 queen bed room. The staff was unfriendly (even though we spoke mandarin) and didn't bothered to welcome us with a smile. We went up the very small lift to our rooms but were thankful that the (twin) room that we got was very spacious. No view to speak of, but comfortable enough. The toilet was clean with toiletries and towels provided, as good as a 3+ star hotel. Wifi is only available in the rooftop bar and you MUST order something (Cheapest is like 35 yuan for a soft drink??!??!) before the staff keys in the password for you into your phone. That is terrible. In the end, we all ordered food/drinks unwillingly to be entitled to the wifi. However, the rooftop bar offers a view of the bund, which is quite beautiful at night. Besides poor service and wifi, the rooms are generally comfortable to stay in and value for money.
Reviewed June 04, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
PETER from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Great location with adequate rooms”
Roof top bar
Room was clean and had basic ensuite facilities. Our room had comfortable twin beds. Check in and departure was easy and quick. Staff were friendly and helpful.The downstairs coffee bar and seating area was a welcome change from the more formal facilities found in larger hotels. Very close to the Bund and local restaurants, shops and bars. If all you need is a bed and a shower this is a nice alternative to many other types of accomodation in the area. The views of Pudong at night from the rooftop bar were brilliant.
Reviewed May 04, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Anna from Russia
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
great location, awesome hostel”
spacious and clean rooms, perfect location
if you're on a tight budget and looking for an accommodation at the heart of shanghai, it's a place to choose. the stuff is friendly, place is easy to find, right on the bund. has the biggest rooms i've ever seen in hostels.
Reviewed April 22, 2012
7.7
Very good
TAN from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Great location but small room”
Best view for the Bond
great location walk to the bond only need 2 minutes also is a budget hotel convience for shopping because near to nanjing road
Reviewed November 23, 2011
8.3
Excellent
MONIQUE from France
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
very nice people at the lobby”
I like the hotel for the price but the bed was very bad
It was very well located. And the outside bar is just a great point
Reviewed September 19, 2011
6.3
Good
Heiko from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
4 Tage Shanghai im Hostel”
Preis/ Leistung, Lage, Ausblick von der Bar
Typisches Hostel, von daher keine hohen Erwartungen. Zimmer zur Straße, Fenster nicht isoliert, Nachts auf dem Gang gerne laut...sonst alles gut.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
7.0
Very good
Annalisa from Italy
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Posizione molto comoda, manutenzione scadente”
Buona posizione, comodo per cominciare a visitare la città. Piacevole il bar al sesto piano.
Ho soggiornato tre giorni in una doppia (uso singola) con bagno privato al sesto piano (attenzione, l'ascensore arriva solo al quinto, poi bisogna fare le scale). La prima cosa che si nota è che le condizioni generali di pulizia e manutenzione lasciano molto a desiderare anche per essere un ostello (moquette di colore indefinito, zanzare e macchie sui muri, pulizia giornaliera ma solo del bagno, la camera non veniva toccata; nel mio bagno, peraltro grande e comodo, c'era perennemente un fortissimo odore di fritto). Diciamo che, "adattandosi" un po' e tenendo conto di tutto si potevano apprezzare i lati positivi: soprattutto la vicinanza (pochi passi) al Bund e all'arteria commerciale Nanjing Donglu, molto utile per orientarsi anche da soli. Il personale parla un inglese semplice, io li ho trovati sempre gentili. Piacevole il bar-terrazza con vista sullo skyline, suggestivo di sera.
Reviewed October 17, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Petronella from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Zeer plezierig.”
1.Lokatie, lokatie, het kan haast niet beter. 2.Gemoedelijke sfeer. 3. Aardige en hulpvaardige baliemedewerkers.
Ik had een kamer met badkamer op de bovenste verdieping met een mooi uitzicht over de stad. Je kon wel eens rumour 's nachts ondervinden bij het sluiten van de bar op dezelfde etage.
Reviewed July 31, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
YUZABURO from Japan
Solo traveler
Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
ロケーション最高”
ここ最高です!
Reviewed October 07, 2017
6.8
Good
emiko from Japan
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
6階の部屋は、バーが夜1時まで騒がしい...”
夜は早めにゆっくり休みたい人にはお勧めできません。 このロケーションの良さは素敵な思い出になります。 スタッフは無駄な愛想はないけれど、まあいい感じの対応でした。 冷蔵庫がないのが残念でしたが、24hコンビニがすぐ隣なので問題なし。
Reviewed August 17, 2016
5.7
TAKESHI from Japan
Business traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
内装が、イマイチ”
ロケーション、バー、夜景
24K国際連鎖酒店に2泊、キャプテンに1泊しました。 キャプテンは、廊下に、建築資材が並べてあって工事現場みたいです。7年前に1ヶ月泊まった時も同じでした。
Reviewed March 27, 2015
6.0
yuki from Japan
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
バンドに近い安宿”
バンドや南京東路へのアクセスの良さ、ロビーの洒落た作り
電波のせいかテレビがまともに映らなかった。部屋が清掃されていないのか、誇りが落ちていた。泊まった日が雨だったので利用しなかったが、屋外のレストランからの眺めは良さそうです。
Reviewed February 23, 2014
5.7
Kyoko from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
ロケーションは最高”
外灘まで徒歩圏内の宿泊施設としてはリーズナブル
トランジットのため、1泊しました。 建物が古く、きれいとは言い難いホテルですが、外灘まで徒歩圏内なので観光には便利です。 空港から地下鉄の最寄駅(南京東路駅?)まで1本で行けるのでアクセスの良さも◎。駅からホテルまでは少し遠かったです。
Reviewed December 30, 2012
6.7
Good
MAKOTO from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
好立地です。”
外灘が近い
コンビには徒歩1分。徒歩5分で外灘の夜景が楽しめます。インターネット環境はWiFiはロビーのみで、部屋では有線での接続でした。一人でツインを使用しましたが、部屋は広くきれいでした。
Reviewed November 09, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Masaharu from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
上海観光の中心地”
地下鉄や船着場が近く便利
近くにコンビニ・レストラン等があり、南京東路・豫園も徒歩圏内で便利。部屋も広々として、ロビーでのWiFi、客室での有線LANが使用可能。
Reviewed August 23, 2012
7.3
Very good
HIROMI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
ユースホステルと割り切って使えば文句無しの好立地&接客。”
なんと言っても好立地!! グルメに観光、ホテルを中心に気楽に楽しめます。
ホテルスタッフの方は特別に接客がいいわけではありませんが、前回宿泊した4ツ星ホテルのスタッフより特に困ることなく気持ちのよい接客でした。 最上階の6Fにあるホテルのバーから眺めれるプートンの夜景は最高に素晴らしいです!!
Reviewed May 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
NAKAI from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
ロケーションは最高butホステルとしては高い”
ロケーションと外観
ロケーション、部屋の清潔さ、売りである1920年築の建物(ただし内装は改装済みで往時の面影はなし)などには文句なし。 とくにロケーションは素晴らしい。 ただ、シングル一泊で350元を超えるのはちょっとお高い。 周囲には200元前後、またはそれ以下で泊れる宿が 山ほどあるので、余計にそう思ってしまう。 おそらくバンド沿いというブランドに対する価格だと思うのだけど、 記念宿泊(?)的に一泊するだけならアリ。 連泊する必要はないかな。。。
Reviewed March 17, 2012
6.7
Good
watabe from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
値段相応”
立地が良い
設備などはひととおりそろっているが、部屋自体は古臭い感じがしました。 テレビは映画が見放題でよかったです。スタッフの対応はまあまあ、レストランなどは利用してないのでわかりません。
Reviewed December 06, 2011
5.6
JANEY from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Just for sleep”
You have to pay RMB100 for deposit . Near the bund and subway station by walk just 10-8mis. Room and bathroom is old but clean.
Reviewed May 29, 2018
6.4
Good
WONG from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
沒有青旅的感覺”
地點很好,但沒有青旅的感覺,更像招待所
Reviewed March 27, 2017
5.3
CHIM from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
地點方便,房屋似賓館”
地點 外觀 方便
房間牆壁好髒,看來似賓館。廁所發出臭味。
Reviewed May 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Mio from Macau
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014
感覺良好”
近景點, 價錢合理, 房間不錯
十分靠近外灘景點,不過離地鐵站較遠,但以較低的價錢住到這種酒店算十分好,樓下大堂服務員態度有待改善,但大堂的空間供客人寫明信片及上網的地方不錯,值得推介.
Reviewed July 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
SOO from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
之前有住過,感到很好,再回到這酒店,有懷念.客務很好,地點靠近外灘,離開觀光地點很近.”
客務很好,地點靠近外灘,離開觀光地點很近.
地點靠近外灘,之前有住過,感到很好,再回到這酒店,對客務很好,地點又靠近外灘,離開觀光地點很近.很有懷念.
Reviewed March 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Hoi from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
房間有WIFI, 近外灘, 位置很好”
地理位置好 交通方便 上網服務高速
住在六樓的兩床房, 房間清潔, 有齊一般酒店所提供既拖鞋淋浴洗刷物品, 毛巾樽裝水每日替換, 房間上網速度快. 由於酒吧位於6樓, 所以周末夜晚會較嘈吵, 要留意.
Reviewed October 15, 2013
7.7
Very good
PENG from Taiwan
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
上海外灘”
經濟實惠
Reviewed September 18, 2013
7.0
Very good
SUNG from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
上海天際縣頂樓的無敵美景”
地點,價格,服務 食物 美景
老船長頂樓是酒吧, 今天天氣很適合在外面陽台,還有艘船。 坐在陽台椅子上,可以看到威斯汀 酒店皇冠, 威斯汀一晚的房價可以在老船長住20天
Reviewed August 29, 2013
5.0
Shihyu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
以外灘附近的價位來說還可以接受。”
頂樓景色不錯。地點離商圈近。離外灘近。
飯店地點離地鐵站還算近,但仍需要走一段距離,若是行李太多建議還是搭計程車。 商務客房普通,乾淨度與舒適度應可以再提昇。
Reviewed March 19, 2013
4.0
Norman from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
位置優越但房間簡陋”
飯店離外灘很近,賣場亦近
飯店屬國民旅舍,相關設施較為簡陋,衛生度亦有待加強,飯店離外灘很近,逛街及賣場亦近,喜好購物的朋友可以選擇
Reviewed February 02, 2012