Book Now: City Hotel

Very good
From 439 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (439)Booking.com Reviews (40)
7.4
Very good
From 439 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.0
Facilities5.8
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service6.8
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Français
Español
more
Room type
Mini Room
Standard Room
Deluxe Room
Family Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 413 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Eekim from Malaysia
Group
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Fair”
Location location location
When I booked the hotel room. I was given the impression of mini room for 2 people. Little did I know, the mini room is actually for only 1 person to stay. Very cramp. Toilet is not good. The shower area is right in front of the toilet bowl. So only 1 person can be there at one time.
Reviewed September 19, 2015
6.0
NAZERY from Malaysia
Family with teens
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Conveniently located”
Location location location
Stay was ok. Just need a place to stay. The location is superb.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
6.7
Good
NAZERY from Malaysia
Family with young children
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
👍Unbeatable location!”
The location - a mere mrters away from Bell Tower, affordable rates, clean rooms
Overall satisfactory premise. Don't expect Four Seasons but the location, just tucked away meters from the Bell Tower and Muslim Quarter, is unbeatable. The metro and buses are all a stone's throw away. The phrase 'value for money' was conjured for places like these.
Reviewed January 11, 2015
7.3
Very good
Theodore from United States
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Decent hotel near the Bell Tower”
By Bell Tower, Muslim Quarter, and Drum Tower
Overall for the price this was a decent hotel. It is near the attractions as well as the metro station. Staff was ok and room was alright too.
Reviewed December 30, 2014
4.7
Eugene from South Africa
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Average to rubbish”
Location is ok
stayed for 3 nights. First off, it seemed to really cause physical pain to the staff to crack a smile. The room was very small and cramped. Other than that, it's fine as it's located close to the centre of Xi'an. I probably wouldn't stay there again.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Gordon from Australia
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
China Travels”
Location, price,comfort
Great
Reviewed November 02, 2014
4.7
Normimi from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Budget Hotel”
Near to shopping areas, metro is nearby and convenient store is located right beside the hotel.
The front desk staff were unfriendly, the housekeeping is lousy and the room is full of dusts. The carpet is sticky and the bathroom is dirty. Our stay is not comfortable at all. Not suitable for family with young children. Every single thing in the room is chargeable including its chinese tea.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Good for budget stay”
Location, price and cleanliness
Location was very near to bell tower, therefore very accessible to subway. The chambermaid make up my room everyday without fail!!
Reviewed October 28, 2014
5.7
kek from Malaysia
Family with teens
Mini Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014
good and valuable”
good location and have a lot of of local food around the hotel.
totally is good.nice location.near with the airport bus stop.staff is helpful and polite.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Penny from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
City hotel”
Location, near to everything , easy acess
Good.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
6.0
YOONG from Malaysia
Group
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Near to airport shuttle drop-off”
Central, near Bell Tower and very convenient to sight seeing sights
Arrived in Xian midnight and airport shuttle took us direct to Melody Hetel neat City hotel. 24 hr convenience shop nearby.
Reviewed September 06, 2014
7.7
Very good
Geoffrey from United States
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Great hotel for the price”
Price, location and the room
Very good
Reviewed August 30, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Penny from Malaysia
Group
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Location best”
Good Location
Good Location.Renovated rooms.Acceptable by 3 star standard. Only carpet dirty. Very central to everything.
Reviewed July 30, 2014
7.3
Very good
Kian from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
good location, friendly staff”
close to public transport, next to 24 hour convenient shop, friendly staff
Reviewed July 21, 2014
6.7
Good
umpon from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Good location”
Location
The location is great, about 100-200 m. to the subway station "Bell Tower" and the airport bus. It is a great choice for shoppers, lots of shopping centers and not far from shopping streets. The hotel is quiet old and rooms are suggested for renovation. However, it is a good choice for short stay in the heart of the city.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
7.3
Very good
Kiattisin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
The room is very small but it is cheap.”
Near Metro station, centrally located, easy access to airport shuttle bus
The room is quite small. The air conditioner in the room did not function properly.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
7.0
Very good
Cheng from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Awesome location, value for money.”
Upgrade from mini room to standard room without hassle. Late checkout around 2pm.
Was staying in the mini room for the first 3 nights, very small room with uncomfortable shower room. Upgraded to bigger room at 199 rmb for the next 5 nights and was very happy throughout the journey, nothing much to complain except repeatable breakfast menu.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
HO from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
City Hotel”
good
Reviewed February 27, 2014
6.7
Good
alan from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
ITS MAIN FEATURE IS ITS IN THE MIDDLE OF XI'AN ”
ITS POSITION FOR TOURING
THE HOTEL IS O.K. FOR THE PRICE BUT IT IS IN NEED OF SOME IMPROVEMENTS ,IT IS MAINLY SET UP FOR CHINESE VISITORS .
Reviewed December 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Ching-jen from Taiwan
Business traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 11 nights in November 2013
good location”
located in center of city, airport bus with 5 min wlaking distance, very cheap
clean, cheap and quiet, I will definitely stay here agian.
Reviewed December 08, 2013
5.7
Sunchai from Thailand
Business traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Good location hotel”
Location
Great location from Airport Bus but room very small. No door for Bed and Shower area. Worth for money
Reviewed October 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Phua from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
Great fun , shopping, eating and sightseeing”
High ceiling, near shopping and dining, value for money
it was great. near shopping and tourist location. great restaurant and good location.
Reviewed September 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Thoams from United States
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Best location for Xi'an budget travel”
Location, Staff, and Price
Great! Right next to the Bell tower and an easy walk to the city wall
Reviewed August 25, 2013
7.0
Very good
Marie from United States
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Okay for Price, Excellent Location ”
Location, English Speaking Staff, Later Checkout
Overall, I have no regrets about staying at City Hotel. It's close to many attractions and a popular subway stop. Nearby there are plenty of cheap places to get breakfast. There is always an English speaking staff on duty. My only two complaints would be: 1 Many affordable chain hotels in China are cheaper but are better maintained. There was a large scratch on our bathroom mirror. 2. It was a bit noisy in the morning, although not at night. #1 was completely an aesthetic issue, as in general the hotel was very clean and everything in the room worked properly.
Reviewed April 10, 2013
7.7
Very good
Melissa from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Nice hotel with good location. ”
Location is close to shops.
Nice hotel, staff speak minimal English but are always willing to try and assist you. The rooms are clean and spacious. I would not recommend hiring a driver as we hired a driver to take us to the Terracotta warriors but he stopped on the way to pick up a friend, he then smoked in the car the entire time we were in the warriors so the car was full of smoke for the trip back. Be aware there is wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms.
Reviewed January 21, 2013
8.3
Excellent
KOOI from Malaysia
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
value for money”
excellent location, great restaurant
we extended our stay in this hotel and find it value for money. the travel books recommend street food at the muslim quarters (which are also good) but I wish to recommend the restaurant which served excellent food for a very reasonable price. we did not
Reviewed November 19, 2012
6.0
shane from Australia
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
nice hotel”
good area
indside xian walls near north end and close to nigh life, close proximity to train station so easy to get bus to terracotta warriors, staff friendly too
Reviewed November 09, 2012
6.7
Good
Robert from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Great location but small rooms”
Location
Well the hotel's location is great. Nothing fantastic abt the hotel itself.
Reviewed October 27, 2012
6.3
Good
Keng from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Good location but old”
Convenient and close to major city attractions
Main entrance is from the side lane. The entrance and part of the hotel was under renovation when we stayed. Hotel room is quite small and worn out. Service is average.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
Howard from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Convenient Location”
Good location - close to airport shuttle bus (just around the corner at Bell Tower Hotel). Within easy walking distance to the South Gate of the City Wall and the Muslim Market Streets.
Hotel is under restoration, so a bit noisy and dusty. Everywhere in China they have add-on charges, so should not have been surprised that the hotel charged us for the room tea bags on check out!
Reviewed September 27, 2012
6.0
jungil from South Korea
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
clean and cheap but the staff are not kind”
cheap for location
the room is small and has no door between room and bathroom. when i stayed there, it was really hot but the air conditioning system is central control so i couldn't turn on the air conditioning in the room and the window would not open, either. I complained about it and asked to turn it on, but the staff said 'NO' and nothing to do for me he said if i don't like his hotel, just check out and leave OMG it was almost midnight, how could i find another hotel at that time?
Reviewed September 20, 2012
6.3
Good
Grace from Philippines
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Very strategic location”
Convenient location and comfortable room
though the hotel was under renovation/retro-fitting it didn't create any discomfort. the staff can speak passable english but not very accommodating. there's no english channel on tv. the corridor is a bit musty & t carpet needs to be replaced. overall, we' ll still recommend this hotel for its very strategic location and value for money.
Reviewed September 17, 2012
7.3
Very good
Gordon from Canada
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
great location. good value.”
location is excellent both for touring and airport access.
the hotel is located at the city center, just south of the bell tower. easy to catch city buses and subway. staff were friendly and helpful although their english was limited. (but so is my chinese!) there is free internet in the room (lan) and wifi in the lobby. there is no safe for valuables in the room. breakfast was cheap and ok. however, we chose to eat in the food court at shopping mall across the street. there is a 24hr "grocery" store next door. take the airport shuttle to the melody hotel and walk to the city hotel (200? 300? m)
Reviewed September 16, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Chi from Hong Kong
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
well located economy hotel”
located in city centre, near to airport bus stop
Located in city centre, near to visiting spot e.g. drum and bell tower. But toilet easily get wet
Reviewed August 23, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Chi from Hong Kong
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Well located economy hotel”
Located in city centre, near to airport bus
Located in city centre, near to visiting spot e.g. drum and bell tower. But toilet easily get wet.
Reviewed August 23, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Mark from Netherlands
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Nice hotel, very good location”
Location in city center; good value for money
Hotel is located directly in the center of Xian, very close to Bell Tower. Good bus and underground connections and very close to most frequent airport shuttle bus start/destination. Rooms were large enough and rather clean. Carpets and walls somewhat aged and stained. Breakfast buffet offers a good choice (for Chinese standard hotel); including some toast and fried eggs as well as orange juice. Staff was friendly and helpful; very limited English.
Reviewed August 01, 2012
6.0
Grace from Cayman Islands
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Don't stay in the mini-room if you're shy”
Pros: Location is perfect. Right in the middle of the bustling part of town. Close to Muslim Quarter Bell Tower, Drum Tower, and South Gate. Lots of food options in the area. Three minute walk to Airport Express bus.
Cons: No wifi in room. No wifi in lobby either while we were there. There is LAN connections in the rooms which work well. Restaurant on 2nd floor seems like an odd place for breakfast. Fuse blew out a couple times while we were there and had to call multiple times and wait forever for housekeeping to deal with it. The bathroom in the mini room (booked on Agoda) is a frosted glass cylinder next to the bed. You shower on top of the toilet. No door on the "bathroom", only a curtain. So if you're looking for a romantic time with someone and you want to retain some air of mystery, do not stay here in the mini-room. Other rooms had normal bathrooms. Mini room is small but the name says it all. Strong smell of smoke everywhere. Reception doesn't speak much English.
Reviewed July 10, 2012
7.0
Very good
Tyler from United States
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Cheap, small, good location, all we needed”
Great location
our room was tiny but doable. we only had two people so it worked. the city is very fun and that's where we spent most our time. the night life is enjoyable as well. we rode bikes on the city wall which was awesome and only a ten minute walk away. we visited the terrocotta (not sure how to spell that) warriors and loved it. it was about fourty minutes away and we took a bus there and back from the train station. it is a taxi/bus ride from the train station to the hotel.
Reviewed July 06, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Joshua from Philippines
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Great Location but small rooms”
Location and Price
Great location but small rooms. Bathroom and shower in one. We didn't mind since we were barely in the room. A/C could have been better, it was very weak and took a while to cool the room. For the price, it was worth it since the location of the hotel was in the middle of the city. Staff were very accommodating. Wouldn't mind staying there again. Highly recommended.
Reviewed June 23, 2012
8.3
Excellent
BRODERICK from Australia
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Great location friendly staff”
location very good, room compact but everything worked well
staff wanted to help although some of their english was very limited. they wrote something in mandarin that greatly helped me and i was extremely grateful. the room was cleaned well, the shower was weird but it worked well. they were very understanding when my wife left as her mother was very ill.
Reviewed June 21, 2012
7.7
Very good
Robert from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Centrally located and well organised hotel”
Airport shuttle drop off round the corner
Perfect for a solo traveler, walking distance to all the sights and the nightlife in the area. Small rooms but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights in Xi'an.
Reviewed June 13, 2012
4.0
jinglai
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
flood carpet when shower, horrible mildew smell”
Walking distance to Muslim Quarter
This hotel has to set of rooms. Either a deluxe or standard. If you booked a standard one, be prepared for the obvious different treatment. The towels they use for the standard vs the deluxe room are completely difference. All the standard rooms have a flawed bathroom design that cause flooding into the room's carpet whenever you shower. There is NO DOOR or any gate/stoppage to keep the water from bathroom's floor to flood out into the room. By the end of our 4 days stay, 30% of the carpet in our room were flooded. When you sleep you feel like you're sleeping in the bathroom. The smell (a dewy, sewage wet, meldew/moldy smell) from the bathroom was so bad, that we had to stop our love making process. We called them 2-3 times a day to fix the problem, and they said they send someone to fix, but all they did was sent in some ladies to mop the bathroom. Finally they agreed to change our room, but all the room had the exact same problem, and its faced the very street that faced the main road that had some kind of street concert around 1 AM, making it impossible to sleep. On top of it, there are bedbugs in the room. We would have change hotel if we didnt have all of our schedule completely book from morning to night with places to visits.
Reviewed June 09, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Centrally located and very clean”
Walking distance to all the cities sites
Very clean and tidy hotel right in the middle of Xian. Walking distance to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower, City Walls and the Muslim Quarter. Compact but clean rooms that fulfill your needs when sight seeing in Xian.
Reviewed June 07, 2012
7.3
Very good
Steven from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Great location, near to the Bell & Drum Towers”
Quiet hotel with really hepful staff
Although part of a large building on one of the main streets, the entrance to the hotel is in a side street and is very quiet. You can easily walk to the Drum Tower, Bell Tower, the Southern Gate and the Western Gate of the walled city. Loads of eating spots in the streets near the hotel.
Reviewed May 31, 2012
7.3
Very good
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Good location, but small rooms”
location
For the price, it was pretty good. I stayed in the mini room, and it was certainly pretty small. It's one of those rooms with the shower right above the toilet. I went with a group of people and we all stayed here. A few of the other people had some minor problems, but my room worked out fine. The location is great. It's right in the center of town, but at first it's a little bit hard to find since the entrance is actually set back off from the main road. I don't think they spoke English there, but we had some Chinese nationals with us, so it wasn't a problem for our group.
Reviewed May 31, 2012
4.3
Ram from India
Couple
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Hotel in Good Location, but that is it”
Location
Apart from the location, this hotel has nohing. Very bad no speaks or understands English. How long Chinese are going o be like this? Very tiny rooms and when we wanted to upgrade our stay by moving to a bigger room by paying extra money, receptionist made a big fuss that only the travel agent can make the change. Really irritating.
Reviewed May 24, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
William from Australia
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Very Central - but then Xi'An centre is very small”
Right there for walking to City Wall, shops etc
English spoken at reception, which is good. Rooms O.K., but toilet/shower only cut off from bedroom by opaque glass and shower curtain - which is no matter for solo travellers. Not sure how two European sized people would fare in the small double bed though - but I did have a "mini room" maybe not designed for more than one person. Adequate clothes hanging space. All in all, well worth The small restaurant opposite provides good food and drinks with a friendly attitude.
Reviewed May 23, 2012
6.7
Good
Bernstein from United States
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
great location, nice price, reasonable rooms”
location, price
the city hotel has an excellent location for those visiting xi'an on vacation. it's just several minutes walk from the bell & drum tower area (center of the city) as well as the muslim quarter. it's been recently renovated and although some may find those renovations strange (transparent glass divider between shower are and room), no bathroom door, they are of reasonable quality and function. it's still a typical hotel (for china, at least), in that there are no plugs for cell phones and appliances near the beds, and that nearly everything in the room, including snacks, soaps, water, and shampoo are for charge. there is free soap and shampoo available, but staff hide it under the sink, so be careful, or else you might go for the unnecessarily high-priced stuff.
Reviewed May 08, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Marta from Spain
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
Good value for money and great location”
Location
Nice hotel in the center of Xian, just 10 mins away from the muselim quarter. The service is good and the rooms are inmaculately clean.Though is a bit on the expensive side it is good value for money. Beds are just a bit too soft.
Reviewed May 05, 2012
7.7
Very good
Boya from United States
Solo traveler
Mini Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Good location, small room with poor bath room”
Right at the center of Xian
it is all right to stay here for just few days, the room is clean but very small & bath room is too small.
Reviewed May 04, 2012