Book Now: Dolphin Inn Guesthouse

Exceptional
From 65 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Dolphin Inn Guesthouse Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (65)Booking.com Reviews (177)
9.0
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.3
Location9.5
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service9.3
Value for money8.6
All languages
All guests (65)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 49 verified guest comments
8.7
Excellent
Thomas from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 9 nights in January 2015

Friendly Guest House in a good location”

1. Location 2. Hosts Paul & Tania. 3. Fantastic View

Very enjoyable stay. Great location. On Red & Blue City Tour Bus Route. Good restaurants within short walking distance. On MyCiti bus route. Great view. Promenade. Great hosts Paul & Tania. Good breakfast.

Reviewed February 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Sea Facing Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Stays in Cape Town ”

Great breakfast prepared by our wonderful hosts; our hosts; location on the promenade and within walking distance of them wharf.

No problems, no worries. Hosts arranged for our late night pick-up from the A/P. The driver had the keys to let us in and he put the luggage in our room! Just a great way to unwind from the travel (from USA). We walked to the waterfront and took the hop-on, hop-off bus to get a feel for the area. This plus talks with the hosts provided a great start to our South Africa adventure.

Reviewed December 28, 2014
7.3
Very good
bernd from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Tiny rooms, view outside windows show walls”

cheap beer
Reviewed December 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
li from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

value for money. ”

clean. value for money. v friendly staffs

the room is a little too small. no much space to walk. no aircon. so it gets a little too warm in midday. the portable air cooler cant cope. otherwise everything else is great. clean room. v friendly staff. value for money

Reviewed June 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Anja from Sweden
Family with teens
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

Firendly and helpful hosts”

Breakfast, staff, location
Reviewed January 07, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sonia from India
Business traveler
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Clean, comfortable, cozy!”

It's run by a lovely couple, Tania and Paul, it has got a warm interior, and fabulous view!

Simple, pleasant and memorable. Its hosts, Tania and Paul, are avid travellers themselves and made the place a lively and comfortable through my short stay. Recommended for travellers who are looking for a warm B&B, with great value for money! Cheers.

Reviewed November 09, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Chin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Sea Facing Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Excellent stay overall, 15 mins walk to V&A”

homely room, good location to V&A, friendly service

My stay at Dolphin Inn was excellent. It was beyond my expectation when I first saw my sea facing room. The staff are so friendly; the breakfast is amazing and it is a short 15 minutes walk to V&A Waterfront. I will not hesitate to stay here again when I return to Cape Town.

Reviewed August 26, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Annie from Sweden
Couple
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013

Affordable hotel in nice area”

Location, views, Friendly staff

We had a great stay at the Dolphin inn. The location was fantastic, by the sea and within walking distance to W&A Waterfront, which was great. It was also close to Cape Town stadium, which was good for us, since we were going to a concert there. The staff was really friendly and helpful and there was a homely feel to the guesthouse. The rooms were clean and nice. Our room was categorized as a "no view"-room, but through our window we could see the Lion's Head, which was a really nice surprice. There were some nice restaurants close by and the bus stop where the hop on hop off buses travel from were only a few minutes away. The area felt very safe and was quiet. Would definitely like to stay there next time we go to Cape Town!

Reviewed May 22, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Brenda from South Africa
Couple
Sea Facing Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Comfortable stay near the beach”

Friendly staff, clean, safe and convenient location

A really lovely place that is very safe with great staff. However there were a few things that could be improved: extra towels, TV channels, bathroom facilities e.g. body lotion could be provided.

Reviewed April 17, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Yoke from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Sea Facing Suite
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013

Spectacular Oceanview Guesthouse – GreatPlaceToBe”

Beach front, Location and Great Room

This is our first trip to CapeTown and our stay at Dolphin Inn from 29 Mar-2 April had indeed been wonderful for us, thanks to owners Paul and Tania, which made our stay truly enjoyable. Our room had such great sea view with an attached kitchenette well equipped. We had the opportunity to take a walk towards the V&A Waterfront and hopped on the public bus upon our return. The bus is directly available at the Waterfront which stops just steps away from the guesthouse, can’t be more convenient as that. We truly enjoyed the captivating sea view every morning during our breakfast. Thank you once again for the fantastic hospitality; this will be our choice of stay for future trips to Capetown.

Reviewed April 13, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Linda from South Africa
Group
Deluxe Sea Facing Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Fabulous location & amazing seafacing balcony room”

Deluxe Sea Facing Room with a Superb Sized Balcony and awesome hosts.

Like this smaller more personalized establishment which gives you a homely feeling. Sharing the breakfast room offers the opertunity to meet other similar minded travellers. Loved the room and view over the prominade with the energetic, runners and cyclists all a short walk away from the waterfront and superb restuarants in the area.

Reviewed March 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Victor from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Fine location and unusual house style”

Free wifi, Easy parking, charming hosts, friendly guests

In a seafront boulevard of smart multistorey condos, this original villa is idiosyncratic. This like staying in a pal's home. Proprietor Paul meets and greets most informally and invites the new guests to use the small hotel as 'home' with a honesty bar, kitchen facilities to store provisions etc. and the critical (for us) FREE, uncomplicated wifi use 24/7. We avoid hotels with no wifi or chargeable wifi - times have changed and it has to be part of the offer. Most of our travelling friends take this view. The rooms are pretty simple, but everything one needs is there, or available for the asking. We had a small room but found that we had mistakenly entered '1' guest on our Agoda form - and it would have been great for one. We managed with two, but would guide first-time visitors to mind this pitfall, which naturally, alters the Agoda price shown. The breakfasts are very fine. A frequent, cheap, modern bus service runs past the door and the walk to the buzzing Cape Town Harbour would take 20 minutes.

Reviewed February 15, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Damare from United States
Couple
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

Wonderful stay!”

Great location, clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly owners

Waterfront location in Mouille Point. Walking distance to V&A. Easy parking if you rent a car. Super friendly owners. Affordable. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

Reviewed January 15, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Laura from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

As brilliant as hoped”

Location perfect, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast

i had high hopes for the dolphin inn after reading other reviews, and was definitely not disappointed. we stayed for 3 nights in room 8 (sea view room on ground floor) and then a further 2 nights in room 9 after leaving cape town for a few days. we had booked a mountain view room but by chance got upgraded free of charge to the seaview suite on the 1st floor. location - ideal. right on the waterfront in a very safe area with several restaurants in walking distance. the v&a waterfront is a 10-15 min walk away (route is all well lit and safe) and the city sightseeing bus tour has a stop at the lighthouse which is only a 5 min walk away. staff - on our first stay, the owners were on holiday and the stand in couple were very friendly and full of tips. we met the owners on our second stay, who were also very friendly, helpful and accommodating. they create a very laid back and welcoming atmosphere. rooms - room 8 was very clean and spacious. it is however close to the communal area and front door, and looks onto beach road, so light sleepers should come prepared with earplugs. room 9 (the suite) was fantastic - lovely view over to robben island from the balcony. both rooms had very comfortable beds. there is free wifi throughout the property. breakfast was included and deserves a mention - selection of cereals etc and a cooked breakfast was also available which was delicious and perfect before a day of sightseeing. there is no secure parking but there is plenty free parking on the road outside. if we ever get the chance to go back to cape town we would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed December 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Steven from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Sea Facing Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Great Location to taste Cape Town seafront”

Ocean front balcony room is fantastic...large, spotless, fab balcony, worth the extra cost

old small guesthouse, but well renovated and spotlessly clean. ocean front room with balcony is worth the extra cost...back facing rooms would be ordinary fresh sea air every morning, and heartly cooked breakfast included....cape town's best sunset & sushi bar "wakame" is almost next door... dolphin inn is the best place to start your time in cape town, to appreciate the oceanfront for 3 nights (without the mad hotel prices of the v&a waterfront), then move to dewaterkant village in cape quarter for a few trendy days of restauants and bars

Reviewed November 16, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Roy from Canada
Couple
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012

Ocean view in central location ”

Friendly, well run, centrally located guest house

we spent 5 days in cape town and the dolphin inn's central location is within easy walking distance to the victoria and albert wharf and is situated on a municipal and tourist bus routes meaning that we could get to the city's major attractions without driving. our room was very comfortable with an ocean view. robben island can be seen in the distance and we observed whales a half kilometer off shore on two occasions. when the weather is suitable it is a pleasant stroll along the the shore walkway just across the road. several good restaurants are within 5 minutes walking distance. the moderate room cost includes an excellent full breakfast served in a big common room where you can usually meet other fellow travellers. the common room has a fully equipped kitchen that is available if you wish to prepare light meals at other times of the day. the only concerns that we had were that our room was next to the common room and if we hadn't been early risers ourselves the guests having breakfast would likely have woke us up. also, the tv was not working correctly the few times we wanted to watch it. all together though we were very pleased and would recommend this guest house to anyone.

Reviewed October 28, 2012
7.3
Very good
Rodney from Canada
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Great location and view.”

Easy to find, easy access to Cape Town sites, friendly service

The hotel is a bit dated but still in good condition - clean and comfortable.

Reviewed October 21, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Omer from Israel
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

Lovely guest house with good location”

close to V&A waterfront, sea view, comfy room, nice owners!

We stayed in Dolphin Inn Guesthouse for few nights and had great time! the owners are real nice, full breakfast cooked while sitting and watching the ocean. situated just few minutes drive from the V&A waterfront, free near-by parking on the street. room is clean and comfortable.

Reviewed October 14, 2012
4.0
juan from Argentina
Family with young children
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

Pésimo. Maltrato por ir con un bebé de un año”

Una mala experiencia. Las habitaciones minúsculas y se nos maltrato permanente por los llantos normales de un niño de un año.

Reviewed October 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Nicolas from France
Couple
Deluxe Sea Facing Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

c'etait parfait”

proprete, style, ambiance, petit-dejeuner, vue sur mer, la terrasse

Nous sommes venus mon petit ami et moi pour passer 3 jours et deux nuits au Cap pour la saint-sylvestre et ce fut tres bien. Le Dolphin Inn est bien place a mi chemin entre les plages et le centre ville. Le mobilier est recent et chaleureux, la proprete impecable, la decoration agreable. nous avons particulierement apprecie la baignoire pour deux avec une vue sur la chambre. Il y avait meme une cuisine dans notre suite avec un sofa et une table pour dejeuner. la terrasse egalement est magnifique avec une vue sur la mer. Le petit dejeuner est tres bon avec des oeufs (omelette ou brouilles, c'est a la demande...) et du pain.

Reviewed January 06, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jerome from France
Group
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Guesthouse parfait, accueil impeccable”

Situation tranquille près centre, vue mer, sécurité et accueil impeccables

Séjour décidé au dernier moment au plus haut pic de réservations (31 décembre), avons eu beaucoup de chance et n'avons pas été déçus: emplacement tranquille front de mer entre centre-ville et plages, chambres impeccables et très confortables,et surtout hôtes charmants et devançant tous nos besoins, bien moins impersonnel que dans un hôtel; enfin prix raisonnables par rapport à d'autres endroits du monde; à recommander absolument!

Reviewed January 04, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Alfred from Austria
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

Exceptional”

Tolle Lage, Frühstück perfekt, nettes kleines Zimmer, Bad müßte größer sein. Ansonsten waren wir sehr zufrieden😁

Reviewed January 15, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Gerhard from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Beste Lage, super Gemeinschaftsraum mit Meersicht.”

Total freundliche und hilfsbereite Gastgeber.

Reviewed October 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Gertraud from Germany
Solo traveler
Sea Facing Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Exceptional”

Die Inhaber Paul und Tania sind sehr hilfsbereit. In diesem Gäste-Haus geht es sehr familiär zu. Das Frühstück ist ausgezeichnet. Man kann auch als Frau alleine am Meer entlang laufen zur Waterfront. Die Betten sind gut. Der Gefrierschrank stört ein wenig.

Reviewed February 14, 2017
8.7
Excellent
Michaela from Germany
Couple
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

gutes Preis- / Leistungs-Verhaeltnid”

Super Lage gutes Frühstück sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend
Reviewed November 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Ralph from Germany
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2014

Gut, dass ich im Dolphin Inn abgestiegen bin”

sehr gute Lage, sehr angenehmes Ambiente, vernünftige Preise

Das Dolphin Inn ist nur 10 geh-min von der Waterfront entfernt, mit direktem Blick aufs Meer vom Aufenthalts-/Frühstücksraum. In direkter Nachbarschaft sind Restaurants und Bars ebenfalls mit Meerblick.(selten zwischen Waterfront und Bantry Bay) Die Atmosphäre ist sehr freundlich, familiär ähnlich einem guten Backpacker Hostel. Natürlich sind die Zimmer und die Ausstattung auf höherem Niveau. Das Frühstück ist super (engl. oder Joghurd, Früchte, Müsli, Brot) W-lan und Sauberkeit voll in Ordnung.

Reviewed April 03, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
HISAZUMI from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

素晴らしい宿だった”

アットホーム

驚くほどアットホームでホスピタリティーに溢れ素晴らしい滞在が出来た。またロケーションもよく本当に満足した。

Reviewed March 06, 2013
2.0
Eva from Sweden
Couple
Sea Facing Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Trevligt B B. Tryggt och säkert område.”

20 min promenad till Waterfront. Mycket trevligt och välkomande B B precis vid stranden.

Reviewed February 17, 2018
9.3
Exceptional
Sven from Sweden
Family with teens
Standard Double/Single Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

kanon”

personligt, serviceminded, hemtrevligt

Överraskande! vi trivdes väldigt bra på detta lilla hotellet. Ägare med stor personlighet och hjälpsamhet. Tack för detta för oss förstagångsturister i Cape Town

Reviewed November 01, 2014