Book Now: Garden Hotel

Excellent
From 497 reviewsSee what guests said
8.8
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (497)Booking.com Reviews (937)
8.8
Excellent
From 497 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities9.0
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service9.0
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Deluxe Twin Bed
Deluxe Suite
Executive Queen Bed
Executive Queen Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 466 verified guest comments
9.7
Exceptional
Lindsay from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Oasis of calm in a great location”
Location, room, atmosphere
Beautifully appointed room in a lovely historical and fabulous garden setting where serenity combines with opulence and is still understated. Although very hard bed (but this is normal in China!) But when you have enough of quiet, the street outside provides you with lots of fun bars and restaurants. Recommend 'The Pub' (turn right out the north gate and walk for about 200 yards)...best value for money and a lovely owner. Note to housekeeping staff....please don't keep knocking on the door when you know we are in there and do not want to be bothered!!
Reviewed May 30, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
LISA from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Heritage, Good Chinese Restaurant, Nice landscape ”
Heritage, Good Chinese Restaurant, Nice landscape
Reviewed April 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jacqueline from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015
Luxurious hotel with history”
Ambiance, location, comfort
Very satisfied.
Reviewed March 12, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Jacqueline from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Luxurious, comfort, good value for money”
Location, food, cleanliness
Satisfied, enjoyable, will recommend to friends and associates
Reviewed March 06, 2015
8.3
Excellent
john from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Quiet location with history”
Good location though not really close to the attractions but easy to travel, nice garden with interesting history
Good
Reviewed January 18, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Shu-Hao from Taiwan
Couple
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
value for money but need to rotate breakfast!!”
Close to sight seeing destinations, staffs are friendly, very large rooms
We stayed in the Delux suite, the room has a downstairs living room, guest toilet and a small kitchen with microwave, upstairs is the bedroom and bathroom so you have a lot of privacy. The staffs are friendly and professional, specially the cleaning ladies who were even folding clothes for me without asking. We love the city and Garden Hotel so much, everytime we come over to China, rather than staying in Shanghai, we choose to stay here. Now here comes the negatives: The breakfast never changes during our stays here, the Chinese restaurant is sub-par as well, the room service produced better quality of foods than both restaurants within the hotel. The cost for drinks in the bar are very pricy and don't really carry a large selection of spirits. The bed is pretty hard, so if you have a bad back, this hotel is probably not a good choise for you.
Reviewed December 14, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Hsueh from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Very quite and nice hotel”
quiet, big room, great breakfast
Reviewed November 21, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
enjoy very much of the stay.”
staff, atmosphere, location
enjoy very much
Reviewed November 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Hung from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
A beautiful city in China”
Nice hotel in general
Reviewed November 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Keiren from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Wonderfully relaxed Hotel”
The Staff, The Hotel Environment and the room.
Excellent stay, and if in Suzhou again will not think to look at staying elsewhere. Beautiful environment stunning rooms and the restaurant was excellent. A little far out from the main sights but that is not a problem.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Lai from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Comfortable stay”
Convenient location. Very helpful staff. Clean room with nice bed. Beautiful scenic surroundings.
Reviewed October 13, 2014
7.0
Very good
Sebastian from Germany
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Decent hotel, terrible city”
Nice staff, good rooms, free internet.
The hotel was pleasant, but they city did not have much to offer.
Reviewed October 11, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Emma from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great”
Design--- clean--- location
Fantastic
Reviewed September 19, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
LUO from China
Family with teens
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
excellent hotel!”
service, location and historic build!
excellent!
Reviewed September 08, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
JEREMY from China
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Comfortable stay with family and relaxing”
Beautiful view, convenient location and friendly staffs
My wedding dinner in Suzhou and also stayed together with my family, it was wonderful!
Reviewed August 14, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
mark from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Lovely Hotel”
The decor, overall sense of peace and tranquility, comfort of the guest room
The stay was great; the staff were helpful and professional
Reviewed July 30, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Lai from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
A hotel serve u with heart. ”
helpful staffs, clean room, beautiful environment
Reviewed July 28, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Michael from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
A very comfortable and pleasant stay”
Good sized and comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, good room amenities/internet
Would happily stay here again and recommend to others. Despite being located about 15min taxi ride from the station and approx 4km from the main sights, the hotel is very modern, clean and had everything one needs. Rooms were spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Staff were always helpful and courteous and spoke good English.
Reviewed July 23, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Charlie from Zambia
Couple
Executive Queen Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Beautiful gardens, history and very spacious room”
Gardens, culture of hotel, spacious room
Super stay in a very spacious two story executive room. We were impressed by the size of our room. Lovely cake to surprise the birthday guest- thanks for the memorable experience. This hotel truly lives up to its name as a garden hotel in the heart of beautiful Suzhou. We had a lovely stay and we recommend the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Try it!
Reviewed July 12, 2014
7.3
Very good
I from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Friendly staff”
location, service, nice garden
Hotel located in Suzhou old street area. Hotel its self is a nice garden with nice view. It's not difficult to find the restaurant but quality is just average. Close to couple major sight spot area less than 10km. I'm impressive by staff, the attitude is much professional and friendly than many other international hotels.
Reviewed July 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
JEREMY from China
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
pleasant, relaxing and simple holidays”
garden, historical, execellent location
quiet and peaceful place to have a short holiday; fantastic location for sightseeing, and relaxing; friendly staffs and overall comfortable environment;
Reviewed June 20, 2014
7.0
Very good
Jacqueline from Canada
Group
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Comfortable, satisfactory, good value”
Location, comfort, grandeur
Satisfied, will certainly recommend it to friends and associates
Reviewed May 21, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Excellent luxury hotel and good value.”
Luxurious. Very clean. Good value.
A luxurious hotel which was very good value. Well located. Very clean. Superb bathroom. Good staff. I would definitely book here again and would recommend it.
Reviewed May 15, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
liked so much we stayed one week more”
comfort,style,beautiful surroundings,helpful staff
Reviewed April 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Boon from Singapore
Family with teens
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
incredible, incredible hotel”
Staff, history, gardens
blown away by the Garden Hotel by the friendliness, enthusiasm, initiative, and knowledge of its staff by the history of the place by the serenity and beauty of its gardens hope to return
Reviewed March 16, 2014
7.0
Very good
Xinyao from China
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
cozy stay in suzhou”
cozy, good location, nice garden
good location, but too many cars parked in the hotel garden. will consider to come back next time.
Reviewed February 05, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Hui-ju from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Awesome hotel”
Great staff. Clean room. Awesome ambiance.
Reviewed January 09, 2014
6.0
JOSE from Peru
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
CEntrally located”
Area, rooms, design
Great place in general, easy to get to main suzhou attractions.
Reviewed December 28, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Yimin from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Best hotel in the city centre ”
Location service and environment
Reviewed December 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ng from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Comfortable City, good to visit in Autumn”
Reasonable Price with good quality
Highly recommend if you stay at Suzhou. Even a standard room, the quality of room is nice. Compare with Beijing or Hong Kong, I think you need to pay at least $2000-$3000 per night to enjoy this level of comfortability and room size. There's chinese garden in the hotel, and some of the buildings itself is heritage, so the hotel itself is already a scenic spot in Suzhou.
Reviewed November 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ng from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Comfortable City, good to visit in Autumn”
Reasonable Price with good quality
Highly recommend if you stay at Suzhou. Even a standard room, the quality of room is nice. Compare with Beijing or Hong Kong, I think you need to pay at least $2000-$3000 per night to enjoy this level of comfortability and room size. There's chinese garden in the hotel, and some of the buildings itself is heritage, so the hotel itself is already a scenic spot in Suzhou.
Reviewed November 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ng from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Comfortable City, good to visit in Autumn”
Reasonable Price with good quality
Highly recommend if you stay at Suzhou. Even a standard room, the quality of room is nice. Compare with Beijing or Hong Kong, I think you need to pay at least $2000-$3000 per night to enjoy this level of comfortability and room size. There's chinese garden in the hotel, and some of the buildings itself is heritage, so the hotel itself is already a scenic spot in Suzhou.
Reviewed November 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Ng from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Comfortable City, good to visit in Autumn”
Very reasonable Price with good quality. Some of the building is heritage. Concierge provide nice service
Highly recommend if you stay at Suzhou. Even a standard room, the quality of room is nice. Compare with Beijing or Hong Kong, I think you need to pay at least $2000-$3000 per night to enjoy this level of comfortability and room size. There's chinese garden in the hotel, and some of the buildings itself is heritage, so the hotel itself is already a scenic spot in Suzhou.
Reviewed November 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Wei from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
great”
ambience, convenient n comgortable
Reviewed August 20, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Kate from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Great place to stay in Suzhou. Very friendly. ”
Room, grounds & friendly staff making great effort to speak in English
Lovely stay. Friendly staff making great effort to speak in English.
Reviewed July 17, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Yeen from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Quiet and relax”
Luxury Convenient Great service
It was a pleasant stay at Garden Hotel though we only spent 2 nights there. Staff there are very helpful. Room is great, comfortable and spacious. Love it and will definitely come back again.
Reviewed June 23, 2013
7.3
Very good
Stephanie from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Beautiful gardens”
Nice gardens, quite surroundings, clean rooms
I traveled to Suzhou with my husband and another couple. We had a very nice stay at the Garden Hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. Internet was included. The bed was a little too hard for my liking. I did not try the breakfast or any of their other facilities for that matter, so I cannot comment on those things. I found the location to be great, especially since we were happy to do a decent amount of walking. We walked to Pingjiang Lu and North Temple Pagoda, which was a bit far but there is plenty to see on the way!
Reviewed June 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Jittiya from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Enjoyed my stay.”
Great location and great service.
Reviewed May 23, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Business traveler
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
I love this place. I'm staying here for a year.”
My room is huge and has two floors, the restaurant across the parking lot is phenomenal, the staff is wonderful, a famous garden is one block away, and there is Lin Biao's bunker which one can tour.
I am still staying here! I teach English at Soochow University. I have taken half of my students to Chiang Kai Shek's son's villa (Jiang Wei Guo) and through Lin Biao's bunker (Lin Biao was Mao's second in command and planned a unsuccessful coup); both are on the hotel property. A fantastic garden, Master-of-Nets (网师园) is one block away. There is a great Italian restaurant, Casa Vostra, two blocks away. There is a place to throw pots and play with clay two blocks away, Kung Fu Mud. Both are on Shi Quan Street. Also on the same street, which borders the north side of the hotel, is Jane's Bar, a great place with great singers and it's not even a block away. There's also lots of great shops and photo-taking opportunities.
Reviewed May 15, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Elissa from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Great location, nice room”
Room, Friendly Staff, Gardens
Reviewed May 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Lu from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Overall is good”
Service is good
They messed up our room at the begging and after we explained the situation, they upgraded our room. Service is good as in China standard.
Reviewed May 02, 2013
7.7
Very good
gilles from France
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
satisfyngi”
style of the lobby and rooms, location
Reviewed April 20, 2013
7.3
Very good
Veronica from Italy
Business traveler
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Awesome”
Garden - bed - internet
Excellent hotel. Close to restaurants, shopping. Breakfast buffet is great. Quality of other restaurants in the hotel not so good.
Reviewed April 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
LI from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Tranditional culture Hotel”
Beautiful Garden, Special History, Nice Restaurant
Beautiful Hotel, despite this hotel is not locate close to transit railway station. It still a good location, tranport is easily. This hotel have a wonderful history in related to modern history of China. Room is clean & comfortable. The chinese restaurnat is really good & price is reasonable. Hotel garden is chinese style & have a lot of beautiful plant & flowers. Next time if I visit Suzhou, I trust I will stay in this hotel again.
Reviewed April 18, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jonas from Switzerland
Family with young children
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Quiet and comfortable hotel with nice stuff”
Big and clean rooms, well located, quiet
Tne breakfatst is good value for this type of high-end hotel, and it is served in a beautiful room
Reviewed April 16, 2013
5.7
Yun from China
Family with young children
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Difficult to choose to stay next time ”
1 mouse was found in my room!
Reviewed April 09, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Wang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Beautiful hotel. It worths very penny I paid”
Nice private graden. Quite neighborhood. Firendly staff
The hotel is way beyond my expectation. It has beautiful lobby and private garden that represent the traditional SuZhou-ish garden design very much. The garden itself is a tourist site. The staff were kind and very helpful. The only disadvantage is that the location is slightly far away from those famous sightseeing. But I will definitely stay in Garden hotel again next time when I am in Suzhou.
Reviewed April 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Craig from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Great hotel in Suzhou with some history”
Good location, staff, and hotel grounds
We traveled with a 6 month infant. They had a bassinet/crib but it was a but hard. Putting the extra quilt from the closet underneath worked well. Rooms were a bit cold but a space heater was already in the room to help warm things up a bit.
Reviewed April 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Tianren from United States
Group
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
super hotel good for money”
historical, cheap yet clean
Reviewed April 05, 2013
5.7
Wei from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Short trip there, overall was OK”
Clean room, Nice design, Staff,,,
Reviewed March 18, 2013