Book Now: Guilin Bravo Hotel

Very good
From 200 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (200)Booking.com Reviews (33)
7.8
Very good
From 200 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.9
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service7.7
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Deutsch
日本語
more
Room type
Lake View Twin Room
Standard Queen Room
Lake View King Room
Standard Twin Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 187 verified guest comments
7.7
Very good
chan from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
cozy, nice.”
bed, location,
we had a very good time here. everything is close by. the night view is good!
Reviewed February 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Anisa from Canada
Family with young children
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff!”
Lovely location on the edge of central city lake and park, very helpful staff, great value for money.
I had lost my phone charger, they were very helpful in charging my phone, bright and friendly faces helped us feel very comfortable. The Chinese restaurant had a function and when we asked for nearby alternative we were directed to a wonderful nearby hotpot restaurant. The room was warm when the weather was cold, the beds comfortable, room clean and cozy.
Reviewed January 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
CSILLA from Romania
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Nice hotel, excellent clean rooms!!”
The hotel has spacious, large lobby. The rooms were large, nice, modern, clean and well maintained.
We were in Guilin in middle of December 2013. We spent 1 night in this hotel. Is excellent choice to stay here. Very nice and clean hotel, well maintained, big rooms and nice bathroom. They have an open air piscine in the yard. Their travel agency in the lobby is extremely overpriced. If you want to travel by boat to Yangshuo check the agencies in the city as well. All in one, choose this hotel if you travel in Guilin!
Reviewed December 17, 2013
4.3
Natalya from Australia
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
The check in staff were terrible and argumentative”
The location only
Very average. The staff were argumentative, charged us extra tax on top of our stay, were extremely slow on checkout. The room stank of cigarettes and was very noisy.
Reviewed November 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Aisling from Ireland
Group
Lake View King Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
A great experience”
Location, comfort, amenities
Two friends and I had a great experience recently at the Bravo Hotel. We arrived in Guilin from Chengdu, a bit worse for wear after an arduous journey. To be honest we hadn't looked into the hotel that much, and booked it solely on price, expecting a comfortable and clean hotel, and not much else. When we arrived we immediately noticed the outdoor swimming pool, which we took full advantage of, and were blown away by the size and comfort of the room, and the stunning lake view. The staff were incredibly helpful, and we booked bamboo rafting through a tour group who are based in the hotel. Everyone we encountered was extremely helpful. My only complaint is that the Western food we ordered from the menu was not terribly good, but any local specialities we tried were extremely tasty. We didn't go to China to eat Western food anyway, so that couldn't be considered much of a complaint.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
4.3
Leanne from Australia
Business traveler
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
The hotel was disappointing.”
Location.
Reviewed October 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Elsie from Australia
Family with teens
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Guilin Bravo Grand Wing hotel meets 5 star quality”
Buffet breakfast, tour desk and helpful staff
We originally booked the Guilin Bravo hotel but were upgraded to the Grand Wing hotel as our room smelt mouldy and did not have a good river view as booked and paid for.
Reviewed October 08, 2013
7.7
Very good
nicholas from Australia
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Hotel generally good, starting to show it's age.”
balcony with nice view, nice pool area, good location
We had 3 nice nights here, comfy beds, wifi in the room and 1 restaurant meal which was good. Hotel staff were generally helpful and tried their best to speak some English, though room service was a bit of a lottery! Not sure if things were lost in translation but we kept getting croissants and rolls for breakfast without butter or jam which we asked for, and with the omelette with bacon, those items came separately! We returned from a day tour to find the breakfast trolley still in our room once too. The rooms were starting to show their age a bit but were still ok by western standards.
Reviewed September 21, 2013
6.7
Good
Noa from United States
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Nice hotel- old but clean”
Clean, lake view, 2 choices of breakfast - American and Chinese
The hotel is not close to the center- we took a cab every time we wanted to get there (shopping, dining) and it was hard to get a taxi in a reasonable price.
Reviewed September 16, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
comfortable and convenient”
acess to river walks; cleanliness. comfortable bed
pleasant and comfortable hotel, well located to lovely walks along the river and lakes
Reviewed September 15, 2013
6.3
Good
YEE from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Good hotel, poor staff performance”
Location, Nice view, Good facilities
This hotel was near perfect except for the staff performance. We booked a lake-view room with Chinese breakfast for two days. However, on the first day morning, we were rejected for breakfast as the staff told us our room type did not include chinese breakfast. We insisted the staff to check clearly but she refused and insisted the room type we selected was without breakfast. The staff (xx Zhao) attitude was rude and annoying. After some arguments, the staff then checked with her colleague and found that our room type indeed came with Chinese breakfast. She did not apologies nor update the instruction. The next morning, we faced the same issue and was being rejected for breakfast! Other than that, the hotel is conveniently located in the city center. It has a nice lake view and the room condition was good.
Reviewed September 13, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Great Hotel which exceeded our expectations.”
Great variety of food, close to the night markets, close to the river
Reviewed September 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
CHUA from Malaysia
Family with teens
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
clean and large room ”
reasonable room price , good facility, nice restaurant
nearby hotel is lake area, inside hotel have nice restaurant,5 mins distance with shopping area by taxi.
Reviewed September 01, 2013
7.0
Very good
Ricky from Indonesia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Nice Hotel, Close to the Lake and Park”
Nice Stay, Close to Lake and Park also shopping center
Reviewed August 29, 2013
6.0
anna from Indonesia
Family with teens
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Pleasant stay”
Comfortable, large rooms, great design
It was a price worthy to stay in guilin bravo hotel
Reviewed August 22, 2013
7.3
Very good
Julie from United Kingdom
Group
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Well located hotel, great beds”
Location, comfortable beds, size of room
We only had a short stay at the Guilin Bravo but everything was as you would expect for a city hotel. Met our needs well.
Reviewed August 13, 2013
7.7
Very good
Janine from Australia
Family with young children
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Convenient for the purpose”
Pool, served food and drinks around the pool, close to the river and walking distance to food, shops etc.
Didn't have any problems except no interconnecting rooms (but this as we found was the case in a lot of hotels in china). Were only there for one night as we were going to the Rice Terraces the next day so it served it's purpose.
Reviewed July 30, 2013
7.3
Very good
Pue from Malaysia
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
A CONVENIENCE HOTEL AT GUILIN CITY CENTER”
LOCATION, COMFORTABLE ROOM, THE LAKE VIEW DELUXE ROOM
Overall the Guilin Bravo Hotel is satisfied.The location to be recognized is good. We reached there were late in the evening,and we had told that they had not record for my booking,and we were abit panic with it as we were so tired after a day of travel,after the staff went to the room to double check it,fortunately they traced my booking few minutes later,and arrange a room for us immediately. The room is standard,and some smelly in the room,the bathroom is clean,but the balcony is abit dirty,although there are lake view but did not attract me to stand there and enjoy the view.
Reviewed July 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
John from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Decent”
Decent room, decent food, decent location
When I booked the hotel online it says there's transportation to and from the airport. So when I arrived at the Guilin airport, obviously I was looking for the car to pick me up. No car was found and, after some futile searching, I boarded a bus going downtown. I and other passagers sat on the bus for over 45 minutes without moving. The other local passagers seemed to have taken this as a matter of life, not complaining and just sitting there patiently, waiting for the bus to start moving. I didn't know when the bus would move so after about 45 minutes, I got off the bus and took a taxi to the hotel. It cost RMB 100, though the meter said RMB 65. The trip from the hotel to the airport cost even more, RMB 120. This is my main gripe about the hotel, otherwise, everything else is decent.
Reviewed July 17, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
mehmet from Turkey
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Very pleasent ”
location staff and value for money
It was very pleasent . great breakfast just next to lake located. 10 min walking distacne to city center .
Reviewed July 12, 2013
6.7
Good
Fiona from Australia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
well catered for & friendly staff”
location,cost, staff
pleasant,with no major problems the staff were friendly. Rooms of average size but beds a little on the hard size. Was good value for money and well situated for sight seeing and also travel agent located nearby so we were able to book any extra tours quickly & without having to locate a travel agent.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Erlinawaty from Indonesia
Family with teens
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Nice view hotel”
Nice hotel, view and price
The hotel is good and clean with a swimming pool inside. You can go by walk to the center of the city.In front of the hotel is Rong Lake and Shan Lake. You can go for a walk around the river in the night.
Reviewed July 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Victor from United States
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2013
Romantic, Exciting, Convenient, Hotel”
Size of the room, Breakfast, Amenities
The common area and the attitude of front desk employees gave me an immediate and accurate impression of this hotel:spacious, tidy, and luxurious. My girlfriend and I were pleased with the convenience of the location and the scenery and amenities this hotel had to offer.
Reviewed July 03, 2013
2.0
Juhan from South Korea
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
hotel sold my room to another people ”
nothing at all
Reviewed June 29, 2013
5.3
David from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Very friendly clean budget hotel”
location,cleanliness,friendly staff
Very pleasant stay no complaints
Reviewed June 23, 2013
5.7
David from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Nice hotel, but I would not recommend eating here”
Rooms are clean, Hotel is just by the lake
We eat in the hotel restaurant one evening. Food was very bad and service was very very slow even though there was staff just standing around doing nothing (another case of "its not my job")
Reviewed June 07, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Russ from Australia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Very Pleasant stay”
Lake View, location, very attentive staff
We enjoyed our stay at the Guilin Bravo. the only negative was the state of the pool. The water was brown when we arrived. Did look Blue next day but not clear enough to risk a swim.
Reviewed May 05, 2013
7.0
Very good
Sieglinde from Australia
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Good location, comfortable room”
Location, close to Parks and Lake, nice Room
This is a nice Hotel with a good location. However, we were very disappointed to discover that the fine dining Restaurant has several dishes serving Sharkfin. This is not acceptable any more, Sharkfinning is a disgusting and cruel practice and this Hotel should be ashamed to support this.
Reviewed May 04, 2013
4.3
Tracy from United States
Solo traveler
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
Heavy smoke, even in non-smoking rooms”
across street from a lake with nice walking path; walking distance to town center
Too much smoke - stayed here it's as if I stayed in a smoking room. Everytime smokers on floor below light up, you can smell smoke in your room. One day, I'm sure the house staff smoked in our room while cleaning; asked management to bring in a fan to help clear the air; it blew a fishy smell.
Reviewed April 30, 2013
3.0
Sainath from India
Family with teens
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
A forgettable experience”
Not much to remember
Whatever impression I might have had of the hotel before booking it was quickly wiped out during my stay. Had issues with the staff who were not at all attentive to our needs. The room was not ready on our arrival late at night and also they charged us extra. The staff manager was not at all friendly.
Reviewed April 21, 2013
3.7
Sainath from India
Family with teens
Lake View King Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Terrible experience and horrible staff”
Whatever was good was negated by the bad
Had a pretty terrible experience with this hotel. We had ordered an extra bed in the room but it was not ready when we checked in even though it was well past midnight. We had to wait a good hour to get it installed. The room was also full of mosquitoes. The room was also cramped so we ordered a new room the next day on the understanding they would cancel the fee for the extra bed. However, they reneged on this promise and charged us for both and the manager was not at all friendly about removing the extra bed. Never again.
Reviewed April 21, 2013
4.3
Shelley from Canada
Solo traveler
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
there are better hotels”
beds were comfortable
Reviewed April 17, 2013
7.0
Very good
Didier from France
Family with young children
Lake View King Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Quite decent international hotel”
Location, travel agency in the hotel, english speaking staff
Hotel is quite decent. It is well located in Guilin (nice walk around the small lakes to the river starting from the hotel). Rooms are clean, large and comfortable. The hotel is clearly targeting international travelers (and groups particularly), so no particular charm, but it has all the correpsonding advantages as well (e.g staff speaking english). Western restaurant (nothing extraordinary, but after several days in China, it can be quite appreciable to find a meal of pasta or a good steak). The service in the restarant is horrible though (wait for quite a long time to be served, some orders forgotten, etc...) There is a buffet breakfast which is decent, but far from amazing (anyway clearly overpriced). What we did not appreciate at the end of the stay is the collusion between the taxi drivers and the hotel concierge to get a taxi to go to the airport (you basically get scammed and have no concrete other choice).
Reviewed April 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Alexandra from Austria
Solo traveler
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Nice views, staff, tour organizor on property”
Tour, staff, view
I had a lake view room very nice, the internet is decent, the staff nice and decent English, good tour guide operator service on site and about 10 min walk from downtown. No English map though and hotel taxis are more expensive.
Reviewed April 12, 2013
5.0
Chee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Value for money”
Location, value for money, quiet
Good and meet expectation. Food at the restaurant comes at reasonable price.
Reviewed April 04, 2013
6.0
Yuk from China
Solo traveler
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
around 35mins taxi fm airport to the hotel. ”
friendly & helpful staff for sure
Good location to access anywhere as a tourist. Hotel staff mostly friendly except the 7/F floor housing department. Air-Conditioning turner is fake but has A/C come in.
Reviewed April 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chukiat from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Luxury”
Great room, Clean, Luxury
Reviewed March 23, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Norman from Canada
Couple
Lake View Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
Comfortable room with a great lake view”
Attentive, friendly staff many speak excellent English. Beautiful lake scene day and night
Our 5 night stay was nothing but positive. Initially stayed at the Lijiang Waterfall but like this one better in many ways.
Reviewed March 22, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
stephen from Australia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
good view”
good view and Location
It locates at the city centre and right below the lake with fantastic lake view. the room is very quiet and spacous, the staff is very friendly and professional, always ask your feed back in order to improve their service. The breakfast is very good it caters for both local chinese and the foreigner as well.A lot of parking space in front of the building.I will stay in the hotel again for next time.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Niyant from India
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Very good modern hotel ”
Good rooms, good location, helpful staff
Stayed for 3 days. The extra paid for the lake view room was worth it. Pretty big hotel with multiple restaurants and other amenities. We booked all our sightseeing trips through the travel desk within the hotel. The travel desk staff was able to speak in English and was patient enough to explain the different tour options. We also had food in the hotel cafe which was pretty good.
Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
ronald from United Kingdom
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
great location, everything fine.”
the location. Modern, clean. Friendly.
Moved here from cheaper hotel that was bad,,, it was worth the extra as this is a proper hotel, in great location. The room unfortunately was noisey one night with children next door. We ate in hotel and food , service was very good. Everyone tries or does speak some English. Every one was. so polite itvwas great. Yes i would stay there again. We were directed to main town centre, the wrong way it took half hour to walk there,,, but we found our own wY back which was only 10 minutes. So double check the map when venturing out.
Reviewed November 10, 2012
6.0
Akhil from India
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great hotel but slightly old”
Central location good restaurant
Good hotel this used to be the old Holiday Inn until they changed the name. Close to the railway station (5 of us took a van for 10RMB). Rooms were large and nice with good views of the lake. There are english speaking staff but language as always with most of the staff is a problem and can be frustrating if you are not one with patience! Great Chinese Restaurant
Reviewed October 31, 2012
6.7
Good
Akhil from India
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Fantastic Views from lake view rooms”
Good Views from the room of the lake and convenient location
Good hotel this used to be the old Holiday Inn until they changed the name. Close to the railway station (5 of us took a van for 10RMB). Rooms were large and nice with good views of the lake. There are english speaking staff but language as always with most of the staff is a problem and can be frustrating if you are not one with patience!
Reviewed October 31, 2012
5.0
FOO from Malaysia
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
OLD hotel, staff work hard to serve”
Quiet location,
Hotel is consider quite "class" in the eye of the people there. When they know where do you stay, they are like WAH! Hotel looks considerably ok from the outside. The room is old. Hotel room is not clean. We can see very thick dust at the desk "bed light" desk. Though the surface of the desk is clean, yet we still spot thick dust and spider web behind the desk. It is hiding behind and in the desk. After we complain and tell them the spot, they do come in to clean the room. But, they still don't realize the existence of thick dust. Hotel staff is 50:50 helpfull. Some are quite cheerfull. Some are a bit shame. They are weak in english, so those who can't speak chinese will need to spend more time in communicate with them. Lucky there is 1 staff which has good english command. Hotel always give me a feeling like HARD SELL, keep on selling tour packages, is annoying! It has 2 computers for public to surf internet only. I think it is too less. Should have more, maybe 5 will do. When it has 2 only, is not easy to surf with others stand around you. Hotel is not ver near from the main shopping area. Walking distance around 15 minutes needed to walk to the nearest shopping area. In the night, the road outside the hotel is quite dark, not a good suggestion to walk in the night. Overall, the hotel is not worth the money we pay. Maybe we expected too much.
Reviewed October 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Group
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
No problems”
Decent pool
comfortable with good facilities, and fine for a night or two in guilin. very good location by the lake. little bit of a lake view.
Reviewed August 20, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Vanessa from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Modern hotel bt the lake”
clean and a kettle
A clean, modern hotel in the heart of Guilin. It had an outdoor swimming pool which I wanted to use but the opening hours didn't fit in with my schedule. The bath was a real treat, and I was able to have a good soak. Air con was also great and there was a kettle and some green tea.
Reviewed August 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
David from United States
Family with teens
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Great hotel”
Nice rooms - nice hotel
Spent 3 nights in the Bravo hotel. For the first two nights we were upgraded to a tower room. Definitely 5 star. Big room - comfortable beds - lovely bathroom. Perfect. The third night was booked separately and we had to move to a regular room. While not as nice as the tower room, it was still very spacious, comfortable, and clean. The location is a little farther out than some of the other hotels, but since Guilin is relatively small, it was very easy to walk from the downtown area to the Bravo hotel along the lakes. Very, very pretty location. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Reviewed June 26, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Pang from Singapore
Group
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Spacious room with Great service stuff”
Good Service, Spacious room
Had a one night stay and was totally satisfied by the standard of the room. It was spacious and clean with all the amenities a 5 star hotel should have. Service staffs were very helpful and great in assisting and providing us with alternatives when we unfortunately missed our ferry ride to Yangshuo in the morning. Overall a great stay and I would highly recommend to travelers.
Reviewed June 22, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Monogaran from South Africa
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Fantastic.”
comfortable beds
Fantastic hotel. Right on the lake. Beautiful setting and not far from any of the major local sights. Big rooms, comfortable beds. reliable and fast internet and attentive staff. Good travel offic located in hotel and reasonable for a travel service located in a hotel. Restaurant was also great. Made mealaccording to my specific instructions and past their closing time.
Reviewed June 20, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Gene from United States
Couple
Lake View King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Fine Hotel”
Professional, yet friendly, English-speaking staff
We were only at this hotel for one night so I cannot give a very extensive review of it, but it met our needs in every way. The room was modern and clean, with a nice view of the river. The restaurant food was excellent. Everyone, I think, including the cleaning staff, tried to speak at least a little English. Getting to this hotel is a little complicated.
Reviewed June 05, 2012