Book Now: Hengshan Picardie Hotel

Very good
From 215 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
Recommended by 91% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (215)Booking.com Reviews (151)
7.8
Very good
From 215 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.1
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service7.8
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
简体中文
more
Room type
Superior Twin
Deluxe
Executive
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 195 verified guest comments
7.7
Very good
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Great stay!”
Price and the location,...
I have stayed in this hotel many times before, great location, clean rooms. The room rates are for Shanghai standard definitely a great deal!
Reviewed February 17, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jaakko from Finland
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
always good ”
clean, good location, friendly staff
Reviewed February 07, 2014
6.0
JIA from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Nice location, clean room, nice service”
Nice location, clean room, nice service
No issues. Clean and quiet. Nice location. Close to MRT stations, bars, dinning, and shopping area. Will stay again.
Reviewed December 24, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Jaakko from Finland
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Perfect for my purposes, clean, centrally located”
Location, breakfast, professional staff
Good hotel, this was my third time there, highly recommended.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Chin from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
awesome historical hotel nice location”
location, clean comfortable room, neighborhood
Awesome location! Love the Hengshan area, very very nice and easy to get around places. Very interesting area to explore, lots of restaurants and bars as well as unique shops. Will recommend this place to everyone who love a little more peaceful experience in Shanghai, history, and wouldn't mind the lack of modern amenities and bland breakfast in the hotel.
Reviewed October 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Good reasonable priced hotel”
Definitely the location, price and the WIFI
I have been to this hotel a lot of times before and I still enjoy staying there. Its perfect location in Henshan road close to many bars and restaurants makes it a good choice for business travelers. Good rooms if you choose the deluxe, otherwise a bit small and dark. Breakfast is not bad either, well for that price its a good choice! Will be back in the future!
Reviewed August 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
TY from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
great staff”
quick service, friendly staff, comfortable room
another pleasant night in the Hengshan Picardie. Laundry service is a bit pricey, but same day service. Love the buffet breakfast. Staff is friendly and have good English skills.
Reviewed August 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Daniel from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
I only stayed one night, very comfortable”
Large room size, friendly staff, very good breakfast
Not bad, slightly farther than I would like from subway, in a very hot July day
Reviewed August 03, 2013
8.3
Excellent
TY from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Exactly what I needed”
friendly staff, good English language skills, convenient for my business
As always it was convenient and peaceful for my purposes.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
8.3
Excellent
TY from United States
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
convenient”
staff has good English language skills, convenient for my purposes, clean rooms
As always it was convenient and peaceful for my purposes.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Perfect hotel in Shanghai”
location, wifi, price
I have been to this hotel many times before and I still enjoying it. Its perfect location in Henshan road close to many bars and restaurants makes it a good choice for business travellers. Good rooms if you choose the deluxe, otherwise a bit small and dark. Breakfast is not bad either, well for that price its a good choice! Will be back in the future!
Reviewed July 19, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Convenient!”
Location, price, WIFI
I have been to this hotel many times in the past, so far it has always been a good choice, comfortable and quite clean rooms, complimentary room WIFI, good breakfast and perfect location for nightlife, restaurants and bars. The only negative things is check in and check out - both could be a bit faster. However, I will definitely choose to stay there again.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Convenient!”
Location, price, WIFI
I have been to this hotel many times in the past, so far it has always been a good choice, comfortable and quite clean rooms, complimentary room WIFI, good breakfast and perfect location for nightlife, restaurants and bars. The only negative things is check in and check out - both could be a bit faster. However, I will definitely choose to stay there again.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Good reasonable priced hotel”
Location, price, WIFI
I have been to this hotel many times in the past, so far it has always been a good choice, comfortable and quite clean rooms, complimentary room WIFI, good breakfast and perfect location for nightlife, restaurants and bars. The only negative things is check in and check out - both could be a bit faster. However, I will definitely choose to stay there again.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Good reasonable priced hotel”
Location, price, WIFI
I have been to this hotel many times in the past, so far it has always been a good choice, comfortable and quite clean rooms, complimentary room WIFI, good breakfast and perfect location for nightlife, restaurants and bars. The only negative things is check in and check out - both could be a bit faster. However, I will definitely choose to stay there again.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
7.7
Very good
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Good reasonable pricesd hotel”
Location, price, wifi
I have been to this hotel many times in the past, so far it has always been a good choice, comfortable and quite clean rooms, complimentary room WIFI, good breakfast and perfect location for nightlife, restaurants and bars. The only negative things is check in and check out - both could be a bit faster. However, I will definitely choose to stay there again.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Hong from United States
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Comfort bed, convenient location, clean room”
Comfort bed, convenient location, clean room
Reviewed June 20, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Cooper from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Nice place”
Clean room, comfy bed, good location
Most of the people who stay here seem to be in the city for business. That being said, the hotel's location is ideal for going to some good international restaurants (Japanese, Turkish, French, Italian), and is quite close to the Hengshen metro station.
Reviewed May 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Affordable Hotel”
English, Clean, Nice location
Reviewed May 07, 2013
7.7
Very good
Stuart from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
beautiful 1934 hotel in a great area of shanghai”
large rooms, easy to use internet, bath tub
Reviewed May 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Thomas from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
PLEASANT. GREAT LOCATION.”
LOCATION. STAFF. DINING.
Reviewed April 15, 2013
7.3
Very good
TY from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
great for one night”
good breakfast buffet if included in price
room was a litle cramped with desk at end of bed, but it was for one night. internet service speed was poor.
Reviewed March 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
TY from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
nice rooms, expensive breakfast”
nice rooms and comfortable beds
nice rooms and friendly/helpful staff. Good for western travelers. make sure breakfast is included in price before booking as the charge at hotel is higher than reasonable.
Reviewed February 22, 2013
7.7
Very good
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
location in hengshan rd.”
Location
i always choose this hotel because of the convenient location in the middle of hengshan road. it is not the newest hotel any more but if your choose better room the room standard is all right. best thing and most important thing in winter are the heated rooms. this is very important in shanghai!! breakfast is all right but not very special if you had it before or for a couple of consecutive days. anyway i will stay there again!
Reviewed January 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Location”
Location
Well, I have stayed in this hotel many times before. Because of the location, the price and the clean rooms I still chose this hotel for my business trips. The room standard it not too bad, big advantage of the rather small rooms it that they are comfortably warm in winter - very important in Shanghai! Breakfast is always almost the same, but again it's all right! Will definitely come back again.
Reviewed December 06, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Location in Hengshan Rd.”
Location
Reasonable hotel with good standard rooms, most important in winter with heating!!! The location in Hengshan road is definitely the biggest advantage of this hotel. Breakfast is okay if you have it once in while! Overall I am satisfied with my stay. Staff performance is also improving!
Reviewed December 06, 2012
7.3
Very good
Yuhung from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
not bad”
location
Not the newest hotel, but is clean and is at a good location overall.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Wong from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
great location”
great location
great location. close to bars and restaurants and other hot spots. the room is very spacious.
Reviewed November 04, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Wong from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Hengshan Picardie Hotel, Shanghai, China ”
great location
great location, the room is very spacious. close XTD and other bars and restaurants.
Reviewed November 04, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Good Location”
Location
I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times before. Due to its convenient location on Hengshan road it has always been a good choice. The room standard however is not always the same, usually it is quite good, but sometimes the rooms a old and not so nice anymore. Staff performance is all right, but could improve in terms of friendliness - but thats China. Breakfast is all right if you are an early bird. The only flaw is that it is difficult to get a taxi in time, especially if one is in a hurry!
Reviewed October 10, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
james from Australia
Business traveler
Executive
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Excellent hotel, helpful staff, reasonable price.”
as above, quality, staff & price
I stayed only one night but my room at the back of the hotel was quiet, clean & spacious with an excellent bathroom. The staff were friendly & helpful when I requested a quieter room & changed it promptly & without any fuss..
Reviewed October 09, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Valery from Russia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Great Hotel in the most wonderful part of Shanghai”
Rooms are spacious and comfortable
Great Hotel in the most wonderful part of Shanghai. Right across the street from a beautiful park10 min. walk to Metro. Rooms classic and most comfortable. My favourite when in Shanghai. The desk staff speak good English and are very helpful. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with high ceilings. Everything worked well including the air cons, and there is free cable internet in the room (wireless in the lobby). Good buffet breakfast was included with the room. I can highly recommend this hotel for all travellers.
Reviewed October 02, 2012
6.0
Roy from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Good location but improvable service ”
Good location good sized rooms
The hotel is located quite in the center of shanghai and offers big rooms, so it is good value for money. The food is quite ok but often for the breakfast and dinner buffets not everything is properly heated, so you can often end up with cold food on your plate. The service continues to be the weakness of this hotel. I assume it is due to the high fluctuation of staff. The hotel might look into hiring better people for more money so that they actually stay and than train them in service matters. One of the great challenges in this hotel, to get a cup of coffee in the morning
Reviewed October 01, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Nuchanart from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Nice hotel.”
Staffs are very nice and helpful.
The room is ok. I am impressed with the hotel staffs as they are very nice,friendly and very helpful.
Reviewed September 21, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Kao from Taiwan
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great Business Hotel”
Efficient service and good location
The hotel is perfect for a short business travel because of its convenient location and efficient service. The rooms are clean and well kept, and there are a lot of nearby restaurants and cafes available, within walking distance. Transportation is quite convenient too if you are not fond of walking. It was a pleasant surprise that my hotel came with breakfast too as I did not expect it when I paid.
Reviewed September 17, 2012
8.0
Excellent
CHIANG from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
great Consistant well located hotel”
reasonable price, good location, decent room
This is always my first choice hotel when I come to Shianghai, I have been here for more than 10 times. Nice location, reasonable price, despite the age of the hotels, the rooms are still comfy and fresh. Another addtion is the hotel is not too popultaed, very discreet. close to bars, restaurant and subways. truly recommended
Reviewed September 05, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Jaakko from Finland
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
good location and amazing breakfast”
breakfast and location
This is probably the best located hotel in Shanghai. Right in the centre but quitely located near where the Mayor of Shanghai lives. Highly recommended.
Reviewed August 17, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Jaakko from Finland
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
wonderful location ”
location
Was a great stay in the hotel. Breakfast selection and quality are world-class!
Reviewed August 17, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Good Location, good deal”
Location
I have already been to this hotel many times, and I still enjoy my stay there. The biggest advantage of this hotel is definitely the location in Hengshan Road, which is close to nightlife and restaurants. The room standard is all right, sometime good sometimes not so good, but overall no problem. Their staff can sometime be quite challenging if they insist on trying to speak English although one has a hard time to understand what they want. Breakfast buffet is all right for two / three days, if you stay longer it is getting boring. Anyway, I think it is good value.
Reviewed August 14, 2012
7.3
Very good
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great Location”
Locatoin
I have been to this hotel a couple of times. Rooms are usually ok, sometimes a bit small and old, but overall fine. Check inn is just so so, staff isn't very friendly, helpful or cooperative. They alway try to practice their English, although it is quite difficult to understand. Anyway, the breakfast and the location in the "center" of Shanghai make up for the bad performance. Overall I enjoyed my stay.
Reviewed August 07, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Luke from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 7 nights in July 2012
Great Hotel and friendly service”
Very quiet
this is the second time i have stayed at this hotel. the staff are very helpfull and go out of there way to make your stay a great experiounce. breakfast was included with my room, it offered a good verity. the only negative if you would call it that, is it is so quiet and the rooms can be made so dark by closing the curtains, you could sleep the day away.
Reviewed July 25, 2012
5.7
Roy from Germany
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Good location but improvable service”
good location, good sized rooms
the hotel is located quite in the center of shanghai and offers big rooms, so it is good value for money. the food is quite ok but often for the breakfast and dinner buffets not everything is properly heated, so you can often end up with cold food on your plate. weakness of this hotel is service. usually the check out takes quite some time and sometimes there is confusion among the staff. the service, in the restaurant, particular in the morning is very poor. hardly anybody pays attention and it is quite difficult to get a cup of coffee or anything else if you need it from one of the waiters. more concerned to play with their smartphones than to take care of their guests.
Reviewed July 23, 2012
5.7
swee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Hengshan Picardie Hotel”
location
i asked for single kingsize bed, not given. the floor carpet was wet and flooded !
Reviewed July 07, 2012
7.3
Very good
Leo from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Good location but front desk is a mess”
Location - Location - Location
we had arrived in shanghai on a cruise vessel and reached the hotel around 11 am. the front desk was manned by a number of trainees who seemed clueless on registration process which was proctracted and came across as onerous. other than this painful experience, rest of the stay was good with great service provided by all staff throughout our stay there. gym was poorly equipped.
Reviewed July 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
francine from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Very clean room, good service”
Great location
Staff was helpful and curteous, my stay was very comfortable.
Reviewed June 14, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
chee from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Excellent position and high quality hotel”
5 minutes to shopping mall and subway station, large room.
the twin bed hotel room is large and the bed is comfortable. the hotel is located just 5 minutes walk from shanhai subway line 1 and 9. shopping mall, market and pubs are all within walking distance. the park infront of the hotel is a plus. i will stay again next time when visiting shanhai.
Reviewed June 11, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
HONG from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
great location & good svc”
Room is very good
i wish the Internet connection will improve next time
Reviewed June 04, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Thomas from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Mostly pleased with this nice hotel”
Location is great and this portion of Hengshan Road is tree lined and beautiful.
no real complaints. i had read other reviews before booking with agoda. yes, the bathroom had a tub with shower curtain rather than a more modern enclosure, but all worked fine. the included breakfast is served in a nice dining room with a good deal of selection and nice presentation. it was well done with good service. the hotel location is a great feature with three small parks right out the door. good restaurants and shops are everywhere. i would stay here again.
Reviewed May 14, 2012
8.3
Excellent
CHEN from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Nice location”
Nice location at the center of Shanghai
The hotel in general is very nice, especially loaded at the center of Old french quarter of Shanghai, giving you a good sense of the old culture. The room is a little small, but the service was good. The internet connection needs kind of upgrade, but maybe it is very common in China.
Reviewed April 26, 2012
7.7
Very good
Christopher from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Decent hotel in decent location”
reasonable pricing, good service
this hotel is ok, shows a bit of age but was generally good. its location is ok, not right in the center of things but fairly convenient. room was not ok size, clean and ok shape. lack of wifi in the room (thought it is in the lobby) is a drawback. bathroom was small but functional. in general comfortable and clean.
Reviewed April 19, 2012