Book Now: Hotel Centroamericano

Very good
From 75 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (75)Booking.com Reviews (312)
7.5
Very good
From 75 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities7.8
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality6.9
Service7.5
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Español
Deutsch
Suomi
more
Room type
Double Standard
Standard Twin
Double Superior
Standard Triple
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 70 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Alejandro from Venezuela
Business traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 14 nights in February 2015
Nice to stay”
Clean, friendly staff, value for money
I stayed 2 weeks with no regret. They can improve the internet connection in the rooms and the business center, other than that, all good there. Clean, close to subway station, close to the best area for a walk in Panama, Cinta Costera, you cannot miss this
Reviewed March 11, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Junfeng from China
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
small,but comfortable ”
easy finding
too small
Reviewed December 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Adam from Hungary
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Nice little hotel in BellaVista, Panama City”
People, location, room
It is a nice little hotel, close to the sea side. People are friendly, prices are reasonable. It is not a luxury hotel yet it will be more than enough for people/couples who simply look for a place to stay.
Reviewed September 15, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Aaron from United States
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Great location to access Carnival”
Location, location, location
Stay was fine. Staff were helpful. Restaurant on premises was good, otherwise not a lot of options for food close by. We were there for Carnival and couldn't have asked for a better location to walk back and forth from. We didn't know at the time, but it was perfect.
Reviewed September 05, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Markus from Germany
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
very good”
centrally located, easy access to public transport, attentive staff
Great stay. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Reviewed July 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Abie from South Africa
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Nice relaxing in the city centre”
Friendly helpful staff,nice breakfast and fast wifi
We spend 2 nights at this hotel and nothing to complain about,good value for your money
Reviewed April 07, 2014
6.7
Good
Nina from Finland
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Nice place, helpful staff”
Helpful staff, location and good price
Staff was very helpful, booked taxirides with them. Spoke some english, but mostly spanish. Luggage could be stored at the hotel, meanwhile tarvelling to San Blas.
Reviewed February 21, 2014
6.7
Good
martin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 19 nights in December 2013
Fairly comfortable and reasonably convenient”
Clean rooms; efficient air conditioning unit in room and non-intrusive staff.
It was okay - it is a budget hotel with no frills attached. The only downside was the immediate area which is poor with badly maintained roads and pavement - potholes, piles of rubbish etc. There are many hospitals in the vicinity, but these obviously cater for poor people and the nearby funeral parlours are a bit depressing. However, Balboa Avenue, which is a popular tourist attraction, is only a few streets away.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
7.3
Very good
Mamyrah from United States
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
We stayed one night on our way to the airport. ”
Good internet. Television, nice beds
No hot water. The location is not near any major attractions.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Hermovi from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Value for money”
Value for money, helpfull staff, comfortable room
The hotel is a very "value for money". Located near the city business district. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It has comfortable room
Reviewed August 26, 2013
7.0
Very good
George from United States
Solo traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Good location, good breakfast”
Nice room, good internet, good breakfast
Nice stay, just 1 staff member spoke English, good food
Reviewed August 21, 2013
6.0
George from United States
Business traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 7 nights in August 2013
good breakfast, good internet”
good breakfast, good internet, nice room
It was a nice stay, good location, older neighborhood but still pretty safe
Reviewed August 19, 2013
5.3
Nigel from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Standard Triple
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Convenient location - basic hotel, with small room”
Location, clean rooms, reasonable breakfast included
This hotel was basic, but good as a centre to explore the city as it was well positioned in the middle of the city. Breakfast was pretty decent, if a little slow being served. The biggest problem we had was we reserved a twin room for a couple and 10 yr old thinking, from experience and the pictures, that we would have two twin beds. No. We had two single beds. Then, to upgrade to a 'triple' room, they wanted to charge an extra $30 (about 60% more) for a room of the same size (which was small anyway), but with a twin bed replacing one of the single beds. I tried to change my reservation on Agoda and could find no way to amend the room type. Eventually I called Agoda - at some expense as I was roaming - and they arranged the upgrade for about $20 a night - still about 35% more than I had already paid, for virtually the same room. At the original price this hotel would have been value for money. But at the inflated 'triple room' price I would have expected a more bigger room for the money.
Reviewed August 12, 2013
7.3
Very good
John from Canada
Business traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Nice central hotel but rooms very small. ”
Good food. Central good access to city centre
In general, very good. The room was quite small and the bathroom/shower VERY small. However, apart from that it was a pleasant experience.
Reviewed July 27, 2013
7.7
Very good
joanne from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
good spot to stay in Panama ”
cafe not connected to hotel but inside very good
they advertise a tour guide, they were quite nice but new t the job i think. we asked them to take us across to the Caribbean side for the day but the guide was not really a guide nor a very good driver but nonetheless we got there. the visitor centre for the canal is brilliant.
Reviewed October 20, 2012
6.7
Good
GUO from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2010
good location and helpful service of reception ”
good location
sightseeing informacion such as prochures
the hotel is situated in good location, easy to access and the staff of reception are very helpful!
Reviewed August 18, 2010
6.0
yuval from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Hotel CentroAmericana”
Economical, good safe area, clean, room with TV, Phones and soap
very little english is spoken.
Hotel Centroamericano is a good place for those that are looking for a clean and secure place to sleep. Although it is not fancy, it does have all that one needs, a TV with Cable, local and Cinemax, even CNN in English. A phone in the room and wireless net access all inlcuded. The restuarant is great for breakfast and maybe even a late snack. The staff is freindly but english is definatly a second language, a little spanish will go a long way. the biggest downside was a somewhat (only slightly) noisy A/C unit with a missing knob. They can arrange a car to the airport for only $20, a bargain
Reviewed May 26, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Roger from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
stay at Centroamericana in Panama City”
Close to the water and the marina. Walking distance to two malls. Walking distance to bus stop going to the central bus terminal. OK restaurant in the hotel. Close to McDonalds.
Breakfast not included. Curtain bracket for curtain covering door to the balcony was falling off. No drain stop in bathroom sink.
Reviewed May 09, 2010
7.0
Very good
Pik from Canada
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2010
Good Price!! ”
Clean. Didn;t see any bugs. Good resturant downstair
Front desk doesn;t speak any english
It is very near a hospital, British Ambassy. We stay on 5th floor. A bit of traffic noise coming from the streets. However you can mask that with your air conditioner. Very basic. Towel is provided. Bring your own hair dryer.
Reviewed May 09, 2010
2.7
RAFAEL from Brazil
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010
Do not even think on staying at this hotel”
Te hallway
The elevator does not go until the ground floor, so *you* need to take your luggage by hand to the first floor using the stairs. The room was stinking really bad (literally). I really didn't have the guts to stay there. The pictures are not like the room.
Reviewed April 20, 2010
7.7
Very good
AARON from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in January 2010
6 week stay”
price
toilet and shower problems
the room was clean, the duilding quiet. the location was the best . i found the location a comfortable walk from goverment buildings, the waterfront and shopping. i found the workers polite and trustworthy.
Reviewed February 09, 2010
5.7
Philip from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2010
A 1 night stay review”
cheap and newly decorated (it still smelt of paint).
Risky area, everything shuts down soon after dark, got followed back at one point but managed to loose the guy!
Reviewed February 08, 2010
7.3
Very good
Hannes from Sweden
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2010
ok..”
it was good in relation to the price..
the wifi did only work on and off in the room...
well concerning the low price it was all right, even though the internet didnt work too well.. but i was on a high floor, maybe better further down... it is quite central, but not in a very nice area, but ive not felt its been a dangerous area. the staff is ok and the food is typical local, and not very expensive..
Reviewed February 01, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
James from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
Very Nice”
good bed, good shower (plenty of water, both hot and cold), nice and helpful front desk personnel, clean & comfortable room (including a real closet!). ask for a balcony room. they will tell you that they're smaller (and they might be, but only very slightly smaller), but the balcony, albeit small, was really nice!
Not a great neighbourhood, but in general it felt very safe.
great experience at centroamericano! much, much better than across street at hotel discovery (windowless rooms), even though discovery has a free, though very inconvenient, airport transfer service. don't pay more than us$20.00 from the airport. to the airport the best you can do is $25.00. you will not regret staying here if you're on a budget. very good value for money. nice people!
Reviewed December 08, 2009
7.7
Very good
Truman from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Nice Stay in Panama”
Great staff, convenient location, comfortable room, little street noise
Had to get up early to get hot water,
This was a comfortable, simple hotel which was good value for the price. The staff was all excellent, went overboard to make sure everything was ok, bed was comfortable. The only inconvenience was the lack of hot water after about 8am. TV remote didnt work but I didnt want to watch anyway. I would stay nere again.
Reviewed December 01, 2009
8.3
Excellent
charles from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in December 2008
IT ONLY GETS BETTER”
Security and safety...... Restaurant adjacent to the hotel.....Cheap phone and internet service.
Maybe I'm partial but I can't really think of much for now. Then again I'm a soldier and only need basic amenities, comfort, and security.
The experience at this hotel just gets better and better. Did I mention that it is one of the cheapest places you can find and still get all of the amenities of the 4 and 5 star hotels although just not as fancy. Anything I need it seems like it's available now that I'm a familiar face and known to be respectful and generous.
Reviewed December 24, 2008
3.7
Rickard from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2007
Ignorant Staff”
lacation
Breakfast
The hotel has a good central location ,close to the buses.The staff is very ignorant and lazy,could not even give you a tip were the bus to the airport stopped.The room was without window and not very nice.Across the street is a massage ,not the kind you go with your wife. Breakfast was really bad and without service.
Reviewed November 24, 2008
8.7
Excellent
charles from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2008
My Second Stay at Centroamericano”
Cheap, clean, restaurant, internet, no hassles
restaurant closed on Sundays, only speak spanish
This was my second time staying at this hotel and my stay had only gotten more comfortable. This time I had a room with a balcony facing the front of the hotel. My room was again cleaned each time I left it and the staff remembered me from the last trip and thus made me feel even more comfortable. The hotel has all the basic things you will need to make your stay enjoyable that you would find anywhere else but at a much cheaper price
Reviewed October 16, 2008
9.7
Exceptional
charles from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in September 2008
my stay at Centroamericano in Panama”
The best feature of this hotel was that it was a very comfortable place for the price.
there was not enough safe deposit boxes and english was not understood by the receptionist
This place had a nice size comfortable room with good Air-conditioning. A retaurant is inside the hotel that has a nice menu for food and alcoholic drinks. I had a complementary continental breakfast ticket each day but the food was so reasonable I paid to eat like a pig. Just step outside and a taxi will pass by every corner in literally minutes. A maid was practically stationed on my floor and gladly cleaned my room every day I left my room, of course I tipped her $2 a day. you can use two computers at the hotel and fast internet cost $1 per hour. Dont waste your money making local calls with your cell phone; use the pay phone in the lobby which only cost .25 cents.
Reviewed September 12, 2008
8.0
Excellent
Scott from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2008
Hote Centro America”
Great Value. We paid 35.00 and the room had a.c.
Budget hotel-dim lighting.
Reviewed September 07, 2008
6.3
Good
KENJI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2008
Relax and enjoy.”
Good location for shopping and nightlife.
Reviewed August 22, 2008
4.0
CYNTHIA from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in July 2008
NOT RECOMMENDED!!!”
This is a very BASIC hotel, we stayed here for only 6 hours. We arrived to Panama City late at night and were out of the hotel by 5:30am the next morning to catch a flight out of Albrook National Airport. I did not want to pay much more for such a short period of time however if I had to stay for a full day, I would book elsewhere for sure. Oh, and b/c we were out of there so early, we didn't get the free breakfast that was included in the rate.
Reviewed July 26, 2008
8.0
Excellent
Joyce from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2008
Another good experience”
Finding a taxi to the airport is usually no problem, but this trip, when an early-moring downpour made taxis hard to come by, the clerk volunteered to call one for me. I appreciated her making the effort.
Reviewed June 01, 2008
8.0
Excellent
Joyce from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2008
A clean, cheap bed”
I found it a great central location in the city that was a short taxi-ride to anywhere I wanted to go. Not much of a walking location, however, as the neighborhood is safe but run-down.
Reviewed May 23, 2008
7.7
Very good
Joyce from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2008
CentroAmericano Hotel, Panama City, Panama”
Some reservation dates are available with breakfast included for only $1 more if you book with Agoda. Agoda price is less than the rack rate. I extended my stay one night, but they wouldn't give me the Agoda rate on the second night. I ended up paying $10 more.
Reviewed May 23, 2008
7.3
Very good
Joyce from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2008
This time, AC had "diminished capacity"”
Lots of taxi traffic going by, so it's always easy to catch a ride. If you want to take a chicken bus, there are two main routes, each about two blocks away, where you can get on.
Reviewed May 23, 2008
8.3
Excellent
diego from Colombia
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Bueno”
desayuno, metro, tranquilo
Hotel sencillo pero cómodo, limpio, tiene ascensor, queda a 2 cuadras del metro, habitaciones pequeñas pero cómodas, aire acondicionado bueno, agua caliente, el desayuno no es buffet pero es excelente, completo y con varias opciones a la carta, los demás platos del restaurante son buenos y a buen precio también. La zona no es bonita pero está a 2 cuadras de la cinta costera. Volvería.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
diego from Colombia
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
bueno”
desayuno, metro, tranquilo
Hotel sencillo pero cómodo, limpio, tiene ascensor, queda a 2 cuadras del metro, habitaciones pequeñas pero cómodas, aire acondicionado bueno, agua caliente, el desayuno no es buffet pero es excelente, completo y con varias opciones a la carta, los demás platos del restaurante son buenos y a buen precio también. La zona no es bonita pero está a 2 cuadras de la cinta costera. Volvería.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
diego from Colombia
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Buen hotel por el precio”
Desayuno, cerca al metro, tranquilo
Hotel sencillo pero cómodo, limpio, tiene ascensor, queda a 2 cuadras del metro, habitaciones pequeñas pero cómodas, aire acondicionado bueno, agua caliente, el desayuno no es buffet pero es excelente, completo y con varias opciones a la carta, los demás platos del restaurante son buenos y a buen precio también. La zona no es bonita pero está a 2 cuadras de la cinta costera. Volvería.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
7.3
Very good
everth from Venezuela
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2010
Excelente relacion precio y servicio”
Ubicado en el Centro de la ciudad de Panama. Personal muy amable.
No habia restaurant por remodelaciones. Un solo ascensor.
En verdad para aquellos que solo necesitan hotel para dormir o descansar es excelente. No tiene instalaciones nuevas ni tampoco de diversion. El hotel esta ubicado en un lugar no muy seguro para caminar. Pero su ubicacion tambien es accesible. Servicio de internet es deficiente. En cuanto al servicio de cuartos es bueno.
Reviewed November 21, 2010
7.7
Very good
Denis from France
Couple
Stayed 8 nights in December 2008
Séjour à l'hôtel Centro Americano”
La gentillesse du personnel vraiment très disponible. La qualité du petit déjeuner, qu'il est possible de prendre en extérieur. Excellent rapport qualité prix.Pas trop éloignée du centre ville ni de la vieille ville.
Chambre propre mais méritant d'être rafraichie. La climatisation est à revoir bruyante et peu performante, la télévision est quasiment inutilisable, mauvaise réception et télécommande défectueuse. Parfois des démarrages de groupes electrogènes dans le proche voisinage provoquent des nuisances sonores la nuit, ainsi que les passages de bus bruyants dès 4 heures du amtin.
L'Hôtel Centro-Americano est situé dans un quartier relativement calme le jour. L'Hôtel est d'un aspect agréable et propre. Il est même possible de prendre un petit déjeuner, breakfast americain, avec café ou chocolat excellent, pour moins de 5 us$ accompagné d'un jus de fruit frais et moyennant un petit supplément d'une salade de fruits frais. Le Personnel à l'accueil est vraiment serviable et extrèmement gentil comme l'ont souvent été les Panaméens que nous avons rencontrés. Les chambres de l'Hôtel mériteraient d'être rafraichies et modernisées, mais sont propres et malgré tout d'un excellent rapport qualité prix, plus proche d'un deux étoiles que d'un trois étoiles. L'Hôtel est assez bien situé, à environ 2 km du centre de Panama City et les taxis nombreux, peuvent vous véhiculer pour une somme modique, à négocier avant tout déplacement et devant rester de l'ordre de 2 à 5 us$ selon la proximité. Les excursions proposées par l'Hôtel selon guides et circuits sont assez onéreuses, et les guides n'ont pas été à la hauteur de nos attentes. Nous conseillons, dès quelques repères pris de louer un véhicule et partir découvrir les sites touristiques pas toujours suffisamment mis en valeur. Par contre les restaurants de Panama City sont souvent excellents avec un service de très bon niveau et des tarifs très attractifs.
Reviewed January 21, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Jan from Germany
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Tolles Hotel”
Für den Preis hatten wir einen Super Aufenthalt
Reviewed December 20, 2017
9.0
Exceptional
Lydia from Germany
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
sehr gutets Preis-Leistungsverhältnis”
sauber, sehr gutes Frühstück, zentrale Lage
Für den Preis sehr gutes Hotel...nur sehr laut, da direkt an der Straße gelegen
Reviewed February 17, 2015
5.7
Karl-Heinrich from Germany
Solo traveler
Double Standard
Stayed 8 nights in January 2015
Angenehm”
Lage, Freundlichkeit, Service
Wlan-Problem trat oft auf
Reviewed January 18, 2015
8.3
Excellent
CESINI from Italy
Couple
Double Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Ottimo rapporto prezzo e qualità”
Confort, pulizia, buon cibo
Su 21 giorni di vacanza tra Panamà e Costa Rica, abbiamo pernottato qui per ben 5 notti, in quanto ci è stato utile come base per escursioni a Bocas del Toro e San Blas (in tali occasioni ci è stato conservato il bagaglio dietro pagamento di $ 6 al giorno). Ottimo il livello della pulizia ed ottimo il cibo a buon prezzo servito nel ristorante annesso all'albergo, ma non di sua proprietà. Situato due strade dietro la Avenida Balboa, è comodo per raggiungere facilmente sia il centro pulsante della bellissima Panama City sia Casco Antiguo (lo abbiamo fatto più volte a piedi). Meraviglioso passeggiare sulla parte di "cinta costera" finora costruita(lato oceano della Balboa): giardini e verde lussureggiante, pista ciclabile, attrezzature sportive, parchi giochi per bambini (dove per la prima volta al mondo abbiamo visto una altalena per portatoti di handicap!) e una vista straordinaria sulla skyline moderna della City da una parte e su Casco Antiguo dall'altra. Albergo da raccomandare.
Reviewed August 14, 2013
6.0
andre from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2010
nice place for just have a nice sleep ”
cheap , easy to reach from albrook
no locker on room
well just a nice place for a sleep , it is not realy a tourist hotel to my opinion but on the other hand i should not have a problem if my my boss booked this hotel for me to have a stay some where . the rooms are clean , but also a bit worn out everything is just clean and under maintain ..but conciddering the price think there is nothing to complain for ..think in all panama city counts the same you realy get waht you pay for and think in this case even some more .
Reviewed October 06, 2010
4.7
Kazuyoshi from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2009
せめてエアコンは・・・”
・・・
シャワールームに柱が邪魔して洗い難い エアコンが扇風機代わりにしかならない 部屋が汚い
扇風機代わりにしかならないエアコン・・・ホテルも古く部屋もこ汚い。シャワールーム(500号室)の柱が邪魔で使いにくかった。せめてエアコンが機能すれば我慢できたが、窓を開けていた方が夜は涼しかった。
Reviewed September 28, 2009
5.7
Nina from Finland
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Halpa, ihan ok”
Ihan ok, hinta alhainen, aamupala kuului hintaan
Henkilökunta ei oikein puhunut englantia, alkeisespanjalla sai asian esitettyä.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
7.0
Very good
Heikki from Finland
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2010
Budjetti”
Halpa ja siisti. Mukava henkilökunta.Sijainti hyvä. Hyvä aamiaispaikka samassa rakennuksessa.
Liikenteen melu.
Reviewed March 20, 2010
6.7
Good
Erik from Sweden
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
Rent och enkelt boende”
Pris värt och rent
Resturangen stängd
Rent och snyggt fullt godkännt lågpris hotell. Omgivning inte den bästa (kvällstid )men ändå nära till det mesta.Poliser med skottsäkra västar och k-pist såg vi lite varstans i Panama City.De har en tydlig påverkan i positiv riktning.
Reviewed October 04, 2010