Book Now: Hotel Nikko Shanghai

Excellent
From 919 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (919)Booking.com Reviews (277)
8.0
Excellent
From 919 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities7.5
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.2
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Premier Room
Deluxe
Japanese Deluxe Garden View
Executive Premier
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 792 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Lee from Taiwan
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Very Clean Hotel”
One of my favorite in SH
Reviewed September 25, 2016
3.2
franck from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
out of Japanese service quality expectations”
For a Japanese brand hotel, the service is really bad; too much waiting time for check out, non speaking English people for conciergery; not enough to respect to customer during breakfast! Too far from metro service and no relevant night bar! I do not recommend this hotel
Reviewed September 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sandro from Italy
Solo traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Good stay ”
I asked for a mo smoking room but probably somebody smoked in the room
Reviewed August 04, 2016
7.6
Very good
Wen from Taiwan
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2016
Good n clean”
Clean
Reviewed June 25, 2016
4.8
Hermann from Germany
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
not as good as it should be”
long waiting time for check-out
Reviewed June 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
zhang from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
good stay ”
wonderful stay, good location and staff
Reviewed June 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
Family trip”
My mum and grandma loves this hotel, nice service and delicious food.
Reviewed May 30, 2016
6.0
CHAN from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Bad hotel management”
Bad hotel management since Nikko no longer runs it.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
5.2
Christophe from France
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
GO ELSE WHERE”
I selected this hotel in order to be in the same hotel as my customers. This was a first time there but definitely the last one. Well, the rooms are OK, good TV channels, nice bathroom which would even be better of the shower was working properly and the water drainage not sucked probably by hairs or something like that. Breakfast. That were the rip-off comes from. Really low level food and to be franc, one of the worst management and trained staff I have seen in a 5 stars hotel for at least 10 years. So, really my suggestion is to go else where. I will.
Reviewed May 14, 2016
6.8
Good
Jacklyn from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
5 star hotel 3 service ”
Reception and concierge service were not up to 5 star standard.
Reviewed April 19, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Han from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in April 2016
Good for business trip”
It's little far from Metro but it's not impossible to walk (5-10min) Room quality was really good and clean. If you are looking for central location of hot places , may be not a good choice but it's excellent for business.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Japanese Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Japanese Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Comfortable room”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Koh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Comfortable hotel”
Good service, clean room
Reviewed April 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Bogdan from Serbia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Great hotel decorated with style...”
All very nice, real 5 stars
Reviewed March 22, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Nice surprise”
Location, cleanliness and value for money
Great service, comfortable, excellent location, clean, restaurants nearby, professional staff, friendly, I would recommend it to anyone. Works well with Agoda system
Reviewed February 18, 2016
6.0
Sum from Hong Kong
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Poor Air con ”
Air con too hot and cant turn down temperature. Room too dry
Reviewed February 10, 2016
6.7
Good
Paul from Australia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Rude Staff”
Location, Comfort and Convenience
Hi, I had a technical issue with my booking. At check in the front counter / customer service manager was rude, obnoxious and unwilling to help. Just simply assuring me that it would get sorted out would have eased my distress and made the whole situation a different experience. I personally have stayed at the NIKKO on over 10 separate occasions. My company has booked well over 60 rooms at the NIKKO over the past 5 years. Sadly I will be looking for a new hotel for my quarterly Shanghai Trip when I travel again in March. My rating of a 1 for food is because, the breakfast is not included in the rate and is well and truly overpriced. The bar staff try hard but are inexperienced.
Reviewed January 11, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Stephen from New Zealand
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Luxury and location”
Presentation, location, value
Very satisfying
Reviewed January 07, 2016
5.7
Jane from United States
Solo traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Just okay can do much better in Shanghai ”
Bathtub with tv in bath heated toilet seats ,comfortable bed
Wifi kept going out Not clear if being charged for it No clear or friendly answers from front desk staff Long check out lines Wouldn't give receipt for stay Not too far from subway Coffee shops etc nearby Comfortable room and bed My room was on busy street but didn't hear noise ,was soundproofed fine Would not recommend unless fabulous deal Much better and friendlier hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed December 04, 2015
6.7
Good
Satoshi from Japan
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good but over price ”
room, clean, location
Good but over price
Reviewed December 03, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
JINA from South Korea
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
clean”
clean, good place, good breakfast
Reviewed November 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
stephen from Japan
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
location is everything”
location, service and comfort
Reviewed November 26, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Great Value in this expensive city”
Spotlessly clean as you would expect from a Japanese company, including japanese style loos. Hotel was very restfully considering its central location, only the rush hour traffic breaks through with a
Staff were polite and as efficient as you can be in China at their over complicated check in process. We had some complicated bookings and all were handled correctly As goods as any other hotels I have stayed in Shanghai and probably one of the cheaper ones - so great value
Reviewed November 11, 2015
8.7
Excellent
WAN from Hong Kong
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
very friendly and nice staff”
helpful staff, clean room
When i just arrived to the hotel, I discovered that I just left my mobile phone in the taxi. The hotel staff called Jeff quickly asissted me in tracking the car hiring company in locating the driver. The mobile phone was finally recovered within an hour. I am sooooo delighted to have his assistance. He is an excellent staff. Also, the room is big and clean!
Reviewed November 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
Dongan from China
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
good location”
location.room quality.environment
Everything good but frontdesk staff a bit slow
Reviewed November 01, 2015
7.7
Very good
Kwok from China
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 6 nights in September 2015
Nice comfortable hotel”
Cleanliness, good location and helpful staff
I spent a week in the hotel and it made my pleasant stay. The staffs were nice and attentive, but a bit slow to check in
Reviewed September 17, 2015
7.0
Very good
Kwok from China
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
Nice comfort hotel, but a bit old”
Comfortable, clean and nice location
The hotel is a bit old, but good that it's really comfortable. The room size is big and reasonable. I will consider to stay here again.
Reviewed September 14, 2015
7.0
Very good
Kwok from China
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Good for a short stay”
Good location, cleanliness and reasonable priced
Reviewed September 14, 2015
7.7
Very good
ZhiWei from Singapore
Couple
Premier Room
Stayed 7 nights in July 2015
not too bad.. overall had a pleasant stay.”
cleanliness, location and helpful staffs.
good
Reviewed July 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Great hotel with comfortable rooms”
Room standard, beds, bathroom
It is definitely a great hotel for business travelers, with a really comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. In compare to other hotels its much cleaner and provides a relaxed atmosphere. I can definitely recommend this hotel and will come back in the future! The only downside was the rather slow check in and check out, as well as the long waiting time for a taxi!
Reviewed April 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Japanese Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Great hotel with comfortable rooms”
Room standard, beds, cleanness
It is definitely a great hotel for business travelers, with a really comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. In compare to other hotels its much cleaner and provides a relaxed atmosphere. I can definitely recommend this hotel and will come back in the future! The only downside was the rather slow check in and check out, as well as the long waiting time for a taxi!
Reviewed April 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Japanese Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Great hotel with comfortable rooms”
Room standard, beds, bathroom
It is definitely a great hotel for business travelers, with a really comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. In compare to other hotels its much cleaner and provides a relaxed atmosphere. I can definitely recommend this hotel and will come back in the future! The only downside was the rather slow check in and check out, as well as the long waiting time for a taxi!
Reviewed April 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Alexander from Austria
Business traveler
Japanese Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Great hotel with comfortable rooms”
Room standard, beds, bathroom
It is definitely a great hotel for business travelers, with a really comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. In compare to other hotels its much cleaner and provides a relaxed atmosphere. I can definitely recommend this hotel and will come back in the future! The only downside was the rather slow check in and check out, as well as the long waiting time for a taxi!
Reviewed April 24, 2015
7.3
Very good
Paul from Australia
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Value”
Clean, comfortable and in a great location.
Great hotel. If the breakfast was included, it would be perfect.
Reviewed March 31, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
KA from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Premier Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Excellent Hotel”
location, price, clean
Reviewed March 09, 2015
5.0
Chiaying from Taiwan
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Japan Hotel with Chinese Service”
location, bed, breakfast
Not up to Japan hotel service. Staff don't greet/smile to guests. I call the front desk 3 times and nobody pick up during day time. There was "another" person's welcome card in my room and staff just told me to ignore it without any apology or explanation.
Reviewed February 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
DING from Taiwan
Business traveler
Executive Premier
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Excellent”
I don't know how to pick out any mistakes.
I will choice again when I go to there.
Reviewed February 03, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
SHU from China
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Best cheap hotel in Shanghai”
Price, service, location
Excellent stay. Very good location and the room is very cheap. Very clean and the staffs are extremely polite. Don't expect very good food in their restaurants.
Reviewed December 09, 2014
3.7
Athol from South Africa
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
staff cannot speak english”
food
stay was not good because staff could not speak english and was not very helpfull.
Reviewed November 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Thanh from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Great location and food”
food, location and facilities
Reviewed November 03, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Chun from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Nice and tidy room”
tidiness, price, staff
Reviewed October 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Daniel from United States
Business traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Hotel Nikko Shanghai”
Food, Style, Upgrade
WOW... I feel like a rapper in a music video. Although disappointed that the grand piano was not in tune.,... the room was magnificent. So if you get the presidential suite, this hotel is amazing.
Reviewed September 19, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Janet from United States
Solo traveler
Premier Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Reasonable nightly rate and convenient location ”
Cleanliness, comfort and the Chinese restaurant is quite good
Reviewed September 04, 2014
7.7
Very good
Bradley from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Quality and Comfort”
Super comfy bed, great location, tastfully decorated rooms / ambiance
This was our second stay at a Hotel Nikko (the prior being Ho Chi Min) and found the quality of service, comfort and décor to be top notch. The only challenge we had was attempting to get a taxi in the morning. After waiting for 45minutes, watching person after person get into cabs they arranged using a Taxi app (in effect cutting the cue) we were finally out of the rush hour period and able to get on our way. Highly recommend the hotel let their staff offer the same taxi app service to help level the playing field....
Reviewed July 13, 2014