Book Now: Howard Johnson Hongqiao Airport Hotel

Very good
From 493 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (493)Booking.com Reviews (157)
7.1
Very good
From 493 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.1
Location6.4
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.3
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Double King Room
Standard Suite
Executive Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 461 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
louis from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
hotel near to airport”
quite a satisfactory stay. not much to comment as was there only for a few hours prior to catching a flight.
Reviewed June 13, 2016
7.2
Very good
Alvin from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Exhibition Center Hotel”
Free shuttle to Hong Qiao Exhibition Center which is 5 mins away. Nice classic rooms but old style and needs upgrading.
Reviewed May 23, 2016
5.6
James from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Unimpressed”
Hotel food is not good ; internet very poor Claims to be near T2 at Hongqiao but is about 20 mniutes by taxi - may as well stay in the city Each hotel key gets a discount "massage" coupon
Reviewed May 14, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Dianne from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
The hotel was excellent value for money, however the location is a bit isolated. Not in walking distance to any public transport. However, it was in a good location for where I needed to be in Minghan”
The breakfast was OK. Not as good on the second day (Tuesday) as the first (Monday).
Reviewed April 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Alf from Norway
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
AirPort hotel”
Excellent hotel og you need to stay close to airport.
Reviewed April 08, 2016
5.0
Adam from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
3 Star at BEST”
Pillow, bed & breakfast
The carpets are beyond bad, the location is no where, would I stay again, NO 👎. It's not even really close to the airport, which is why I chose it.
Reviewed February 27, 2016
5.7
Adam from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Best Beds, but need Slippers”
Bed, pillow & breakfast
It is not a 5 star, the carpets are abysmal, not close to anything or anyone... But the beds & pillows are some of the best I have slept in in China
Reviewed February 24, 2016
7.7
Very good
John from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Hotel Comfort.”
Location, service, staff.
The hotel is fine but they maintain it for the storage of meat at 19 degrees C. Likewise the restaurants. There is a bar but it is closed There is a KTV lounge but it is at 18 degrees and clearly for locals only. The saving grace are the good points noted above.
Reviewed February 07, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Beautiful building but cold”
Location, service, staff
The hotel has occasional shuttle service which you need to learn as it changes daily. If you like you hotel and its restaurants at 19 Deg C this is your place. The bed comforter is excellent but if you have to get out of bed have a jacket handy. there is no bar beyond a beer. For some reason the bar is closed. The Karaoke is also cold and for natives only. The front desk staff and the concierge staff are the saving grace.
Reviewed February 04, 2016
7.2
Very good
zhang from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Value for money”
room clean, staff friendly and valuable.
Reviewed February 04, 2016
7.3
Very good
zamirahmed from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Good Stay!”
Location,Room comfort,Easy acess
It was good stay as I used this hotel for transit !
Reviewed December 30, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Monique from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Good, comfortable stay.”
Comfort, staff performance, food.
I had a good stay at this hotel. I received a free upgrade, had a comfortable room, and was picked up from the airport. The breakfast was good. I always look forward to staying here. It is a hotel that I would recommend to travelers.
Reviewed December 21, 2015
5.0
PARAMDEEP from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Old and tired, needs a good clean”
Location to convention center
Terrible staff. Poor breakfast. Room smelly and carpets sticky and dirty, Yuck
Reviewed December 06, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Ashfaq from United Arab Emirates
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
It's near the exhibition plus the railway station ”
I was there for one night did not observe much
Reviewed November 29, 2015
7.7
Very good
Monique from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Nice Hotel, close to airport.”
Location, food, comfort
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The inside and outside of the hotel are beautiful. I like the free airport transfer. Bed was extremely comfortable. Food was good at the Western restaurant. Here are the cons: Check-in was extremely slow (took about 30 min.) Communication (in English) was not that great. I was greeted by a bug upon arriving in my room. The rooms could stand to be a bit cleaner- there were stains on the carpet, bathrooms had mildew stains, and the bath mat had globs of hair on it from previous user. The wifi did not work in my room, as well. Overall, I would stay here again. If you are looking for a comfortable bed, with a nice room near the airport, then this is a good choice. The breakfast was good, as well.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
2.7
SOO from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Double King Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
no flexibility and staff are not well trained. ”
Very bad experience and will not recommend to stay again.
Reviewed October 21, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Vijay from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Value for money”
Chinese restaurant, concierge service and location
Very decent, I will return
Reviewed October 20, 2015
2.3
Louis-Martin from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Dirty, bad smell and bad staff. ”
Close to the airport
Terrible stay. The rooms smell like mildew and are dirty. I've asked ten times for a clean room and never got one. I left after just 2 nights. I was supposed to stay there for a week or so. The staff are incompetent.
Reviewed October 13, 2015
7.0
Very good
Albert from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Good hotel, Nice staff, Hard to find location ,”
Price, and location
Staying @ this hotel great, But locations very hard to find, on the other hand hotel has timetable for bus service From Airport, Hotel and vice versa. Booked room with Agoda they ask me for upgrade which I did,, then when I checked in I have been given very small room which did not bother me at time as I was very tired...then next day I ask for upgrade and got it...Staff Good, Hotel very clean Food Buffet 70%.
Reviewed October 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
LOO from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Satisfactory stay”
Spacious, cleaniness & location
Overall stay consider satisfactory. However they miss one morning call which I requested.
Reviewed September 19, 2015
5.3
Wong from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Just ok”
price ok
Reviewed September 18, 2015
7.3
Very good
Shiela from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Howard Johnson review”
1. Best location to attend the fair 2. Comfortable room size 3. Good food
I was satisfied but not impressed. Hotel needs to be renovated. Hotel staff need to brush up with the English language.
Reviewed September 16, 2015
4.3
Adam from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Very basic”
Close to airport, concierge very good
Very basic, staff mainly incompetent to the point of rudeness
Reviewed September 11, 2015
4.0
Diederik from Belgium
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Bad location. no minibar. staff unfriendly ”
Never again
Reviewed August 28, 2015
4.3
DILIP from India
Business traveler
Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Not worth”
Not good
Reviewed August 28, 2015
4.7
Irene from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Double King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
standard dropped”
only location is close to hongqiao airport.
Very bad attitude from bus driver and front line staff in the evening hours.
Reviewed August 25, 2015
4.7
Ruwan from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Luxury Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
IndustrialInspection visit to China”
Room space/taxi service/cleaning
1. Toilet was not clean( at the time of check in I found dead cockroach in the water closet ) 2. TV is not working 3. Communication is a big problem Anyway it is a nice hotel.
Reviewed August 16, 2015
7.3
Very good
Jason from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Pretty Good for the money”
Price, Staff willingness to help, and Cleanliness
This is an overall good place. Travelled with little ones and very little ones. It was decent for the amount we paid. There could have been a few changes that would have made it better, but none of which the hotel could have done anything about. Mostly it the problems had to do with traveling. All except for the shuttle driver seemed to be in good spirits and helpful. Although he never did anything mean or rude, he was just grumpy it seemed. It was a good stay though.
Reviewed July 24, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Muliadi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
A good hotel to stay near Hongqiao”
Comfortable bed, fast internet & spacious room
The hotel lobby is impressive. The room is spacious, the internet is quite okay, the bed is comfortable. The food in the Chinese restaurant is quite delicious. Staff is helpful. I highly recommend this hotel
Reviewed July 24, 2015
6.0
Visit from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Not easy to find this hotel”
none, none and none
I was mislead by the hotel name that it is closed to Hongqiao; however, it is totally different story. It is very hard to find this hotel even the local taxi driver. We spent lots of time to find the way to hotel. Also, when we want to go to Hongqiao station, it took more than 25-30 mixtures to reach Hongqiao. Not Hongqiao area at all. Room is ok and staff are fine. But this is not 5-star hotel at all.
Reviewed June 14, 2015
7.7
Very good
Lai from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Near Airport and Hongqiao Station”
Location, price and comfortable
Hotel is OK for people is looking to stay near airport, nothing to do around, even good restaurant. Hotel has free wifi and the room is quite nice and clean.
Reviewed May 30, 2015
2.0
Zachary from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
do not stay at this hotel! avoid at all costs.”
Do not stay at this hotel. I've been doing business in China for over fifteen years so I know a bad deal when I see one. This is a bad deal. Do not stay here
Reviewed May 17, 2015
4.0
Juha-Erkki from Finland
Business traveler
Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
3 stars, bad location”
room was not moldy I suppose
This is by no means a 5 star hotel. Even in the spring, the rooms are cold as aircon is central and heating is off. Breakfast is mediocre and service weak. The room is full of locals and there is constantly a lack of cups, plates, etc. and table space too. Location is 20 min from Hongqiao train station and airport. But do note that you are relying on the hotel shuttle unlesa you want to queue an hour in the station. I would rather recommend a hotel near a metro station on lines 2 and 10 so you can conveniently connect to Hongqiao. Wifi was very slow too. Avoid.
Reviewed April 18, 2015
6.0
Kitty from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Poor service! Both front desk & shuttle service ”
Close to airport. Have shuttle bus service to railway station and airport
Just one night stopover. Shuttle bus driver attitude has to improve. We have to carry our luggage ourselves to the bus.
Reviewed April 06, 2015
7.3
Very good
khe from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Hongqiao hotel”
Clean room, friendly stuff.
Extremely inconvenient, no way five stars, four stars is more appropriate, very difficult to call a taxi.
Reviewed March 31, 2015
5.7
Hong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Howard Johnson”
Only thing is hotel provided packed breakfast if you need to check out earlier than the breakfast time.
The room condition is bad. Room's carpet is full of dirty stain. Bathroom has stinky smell. 5 star is definitely overrated. The restaurant where the breakfast was served was in chaos with all Chinese guests when I went for my breakfast. Food replenishment was slow.
Reviewed March 29, 2015
8.7
Excellent
LEONG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Nice hotel to stay ”
cleanliness, location , room comfort
Reviewed March 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Conrad from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
reasonsable hotel, reasonable price.”
location for new expo centre, reasonable value, good shuttle bus every 30min
Reviewed March 16, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Fei from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Perfect staying”
excellent staff, location is convenient and nice food
It is perfect stay at Howard Johnson Hotel.
Reviewed March 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Kumar from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Grand hotel”
Room size, cleanliness, location
Comfortable and pleasant stay. The room was large and clean. The shower pressure was good. Internet speed was good. This is a nicely run hotel. Only issue is people smoke inside the lobby. Fully worth the money.
Reviewed February 12, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Fei from China
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
very convenient”
Hotel location is very close to HongQiao railway station, Nice dinner, Professional stuff
Reviewed February 10, 2015
6.0
Wee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Room to improve”
No comments
Reviewed February 09, 2015
7.0
Very good
brian from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Location is completely”
staff good, room good, cleaniness gpp
It was nothing short of atrocious to get back from from Honqquaio station to the hotel, I used to walk through two construction sites, for this reason I would not stay there again
Reviewed January 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Chatchai from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
comfort and close to Hongqiao airport”
close to airport, comfortable and good for value
Good
Reviewed January 09, 2015
4.3
Lisa from Italy
Couple
Standard Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Very old, not well kept”
Room space.
The hotel is old and not well kept or cleaned. Old furniture in the bathroom, poor cleanliness of both room and bathroom.
Reviewed November 27, 2014
6.0
peerunthorn from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Good ”
Bath Bed Book
Reviewed October 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Alexander from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Hongqiao Howard Johnson”
It is in a very good location for hongqiao airport and train station; staff are friendly and helpful; easy access to downtown shanghai via subway
Reviewed October 28, 2014
4.0
MANOJ from Netherlands
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
AVERAGE HOTEL”
NONE
The hotel is situated at the outskirts of Shanghai and at a remote place. Staff does not speak english and the atmosphere is very dark and sad. Breakfast is reasonable. Good for local people may be but not for foreigners.
Reviewed October 18, 2014
4.3
Rishi from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Super room but need to work on wi fi! ”
Interior, structure and staffs
The hotel is quite impressive which was excatly in line with what I had seen in the photos. They just need to get the internet sorted as wi fi has issues in rooms. They also need to find a way to arrange taxi for guests as the location is quite difficult for getting a taxi all the time. I ended up waiting 15 - 20 minutes at times looking for it!!
Reviewed September 09, 2014
3.7
Pernille from Denmark
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
It found the rooms small and lousy.”
Location
Poorly internet, smelly room, not clean
Reviewed September 03, 2014