Book Now: Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel

Very good
From 847 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
Recommended by 84% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (847)Booking.com Reviews (2296)
7.8
Very good
From 847 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.3
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service7.5
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
简体中文
more
Room type
Standard Twin Bed
Standard King Bed
Deluxe
Club Floor Standard
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 713 verified guest comments
4.4
Xiren from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
expensive but dirty”
can you image you can find something not belonging to you under the desk? what about multiple items under the desk? Yes, they are true!
Reviewed July 23, 2017
4.8
Win from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 7 nights in June 2017
The only good thing - supermarket close by ”
Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. Check in took quite some time. Have to give them RMB500 per room as deposit. Even though this hotel is near to Forbidden City etc, pls do note that due to the short distance, taxi driver may refuse to drive you there. Also, this is the first time I know that a hotel will not help you get a taxi and ask you to walk to a building nearby to get your own taxi! Also, there are lots of barriers, dividing the roads into two directions, with no break in between. So, if you are in a taxi, be prepared to see the taxi drive pass the hotel, having to make a u-turn a long distance away in order to drive in to your hotel. Also, do take note of the traffic jams. Forget google map here. Most of the eateries listed there (in the mall) have closed. There is like only a Chinese restaurant, 2 fast-food restaurants and a Korean restaurant. Skip that. Doesnt taste Korean. Starbucks is not available too. Not much food selection. Next, room-wise, it is huge but run down. One of the hangers was rusty. Bath robes were given but saw hair on the inside of the robe, so not sure if they were washed. Toiletries were not replaced daily. Eg I have been wearing the same pair of bedroom slippers, using the same soap for my entire stay. Toilet papers and tissue papers were not replenished daily.Same condition for both rooms that I booked. Service. No smiles from the front desk. I was given a black face almost every time I went up to them. Able to exchange ccy at the front desk but you got to see if they were free to entertain you. Their priority seems to be just check in customers. You have to wait for them to clear ALL the guests who want to check in even though they came in later than you. And be prepared for the black face. Yes. Not an apology for making you wait so long but a black face. Does it kill to smile a little? Went to change some RMB in the afternoon, but was told they ran out of paper and I have to come down the next day. Was supposed to go for the
Reviewed July 09, 2017
7.6
Very good
Annmarie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Only one thing!”
Very happy, generally with our stay. Although there was a lot of rubbish that was under the bed so had not been vacuumed there for some time. The other frustrating thing was that we were not able to call Australia directly even though we were supposed to. So had to go through their operator each time. Cost to Oz was $2.00 per minute which I thought was a bit costly. However, WIFi worked well and staff were excellent.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
7.6
Very good
Chin from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Good but no cigar”
Hotel is directly opposite the Beijing Railway Station as well as the Subway station, which makes commuting within Beijing a breeze, as well as when you arrive and leave Beijing for other cities very convenient. The room itself is ok. Rather small, but things work as they should. The fridge is more of a chiller than a fridge, so don't expect cold drinks on a hot summer day. The staff are polite and helpful, not much complaints there. The customers seem to be overwhelmingly foreigners, so maybe that's their target market. Costs wise, it's reasonable for a hotel in Beijing. The best thing about the hotel is really the location and transportation. The hotel itself is ok, but no cigar.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
4.0
Lee from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Acceptable”
Run down hotel, my room without window
Reviewed June 09, 2017
6.8
Good
Miranti from Indonesia
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Nice Hotel with Strategic Location”
Nice Hotel with Strategic location. Near MRT station, bus stop and train station. Also near mall with dept. store. Nice place...
Reviewed June 07, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Daisy from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in December 2016
Excellent”
A very convenient hotel with a supermarket, eateries, shops and a train station in the basement; the hotel is connected to a shopping mall which is great.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
faheem from Pakistan
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Awesome and womderful and cooperative staff newr by metro station beijing easy access to anywhere in”
Awesomeness
Reviewed May 11, 2017
7.6
Very good
HUI from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Very good”
We are happy with our stay with HJPH. The hotel is linked to a huge shopping mall. The subway station are within walking distance. The bus station from the airport is just across the street
Reviewed May 10, 2017
7.6
Very good
HUI from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Great Location”
We are happy with our stay with HJPH. The hotel is linked to a huge shopping mall. The subway station are within walking distance. The bus station from the airport is just across the street.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
MA from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Nice Hotel Stay”
The hotel staff are very pleasing and communicates well using English. The room is clean, spacious and well maintained. My minor complain is their Concierge section is sometimes unmanned. No one to ask for directions if the staff in the reception counters are busy with guests checking in/out. The location is very accessible using subway and bus and the stay is good as the shopping mall and eateries are within the same building. There are lots of good buys in the mall. I would love to return to this hotel if I go back to Beijing.
Reviewed April 03, 2017
7.6
Very good
Miia-Maria from Finland
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Clean and spacy room.”
Good location next to railway station. Easy axcess to mrt. Taxidrivers found hotel easily which is big plus in China.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
5.6
inneke from Indonesia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
RUDE STAFF, LOCATION NEAR BEIJING RAILWAY STATION”
if you only transit for a few days in Beijing and continue to other city by train, this hotel location ia very good, just opposite of Beijing Railway Station. However, the hotel receptionist, most of them are very rude. Not sure whether it's because they cannot speak English well or other reason.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
7.6
Very good
Michael from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
strategic location”
near station, easy access, clean
Reviewed February 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
KUI from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good value for money”
Strategic location, good room condition and facilities. Friendly staff. Worth the value to stay.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
6.8
Good
LORRAINCIA from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
old furniture, good location”
room is old, but clean enough hotel near plaza which there are big supermarket, kfc, starbucks breakfast is good and value for money receptionist is not friendly there is no enough sofa in lobby
Reviewed January 14, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
iriwati from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Good location and staff are very helpful and informative”
Near subway , just 5' walk. There are big supermarket at lower ground, some shops too. Easy to buy something and food. Hotel staff is very informative, he gave accurate information & map to leisure places. It was my wonderful vacation in Jan 2017.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
6.8
Good
SU from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016
Near subway and McDonald's ”
Pros: near subway just 2 mins walk. Got McDonald's, KFC and Starbucks around. Supermarket also. Airport to hotel cost around RMB 100 including toll fees. From hotel to BCIA around RMB 150 traffic jam on Saturday. Cons: morning around 6am there is a bell rang from Beijing railway station every hour rang one time until at night. The room need some upgrading as old furniture.
Reviewed January 08, 2017
6.8
Good
Suet from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good location”
Opposite the Beijing train station and have link to next door shopping complex.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
7.6
Very good
Kenny
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Good location”
Hotel is old design, room not very big, lighting not bright enough. Location is good as it is link to a mall and subway. Railway station is just opposite. Many eateries in the mall and nearby.
Reviewed January 02, 2017
6.8
Good
Robert from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Just the location!!”
If you are looking for a hotel that is convenient to move around Beijing, this is the right hotel. The MRT station is just a stone throw away from "Beijing Railway Station". Other than that everything is normal. Don't expect a lot from the hotel staffs other than asking for direction. As for the price, I think it is a bot on the high side as this is a 3/4 stars hotel.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Gaik from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 8 nights in December 2016
Very good for the price.. nex to metro”
Highly recommended
Reviewed December 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
che from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Gd location w supermart just below the hotel”
Gd location with supermart n eateries just within the hotel building. Convenient to move ard via metro beijing station. Staff is very helpful n allow us to check in after a night flight Cons: lighting in rm is dim. They insist that must add a bed for one of my kids though I booked a king sized bed.
Reviewed December 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
ka from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Great Location ”
Great Location and value for money... Below hotel were a shopping mall...and subway too...railway station just opposite this hotel. I'm staying with my family for 4 nights and staff hotel very friendly and helpful. Recommended for leisure and business as transportation very convenient...
Reviewed December 17, 2016
6.8
Good
Huey from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Location wins it all!”
It is located above the subway station, very convenient. And a shopping mall with a big supermarket and restuarants next to it. Conveniently located (just a few subway stops away) to Wang Fu Jin, Tian An Men, Forbidden City, Tian Tan (Temple of Heaven).
Reviewed December 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ser from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Great locatiion”
Pro: good location, high floor rooms, cons: sound proof abit bad, staff was helpful, woke up by a drunkard, shower flooded at a point
Reviewed December 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Myongsop from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
everything is great”
It takes about 2-3 minutes to Beijingzhan subway station and takes 5 minutes to Beijing train station. I don't take bus much so I don't know about the bus route but I can say that the hotel is located at the transportation hub in Beijing. Some people said that it was too bright or loud at night but don't worry. I could sleep so well. But you can hear the ring bell every morning. I could notice after 7 am. The room was clean, bathroom was very clean with no smell. A fridger is working find. TV is OK. The lights are OK. Hotel clerks are OK and no problem in communication in English. Stores, McDonalds, KFC, and other coffee shops, food stores and souvenir shops are very close, almost taking 2-3 minutes. Actually they are in the next building to the hotel and the building is connected to the subway station. I think the hotel will not disappoint anybody.
Reviewed December 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Altangerel from Mongolia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
As good as we expected”
Location of the hotel is superb, close to the city center and just a few walks from the subway station. Clean and friendly staffs, most of them speak in English,
Reviewed December 04, 2016
8.4
Excellent
tony from United States
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Excelllent”
Excellent location. Clean and friendly staff.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
6.8
Good
Bonnie from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed November 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
Excellent”
Met my expectations, Second visit
Reviewed November 01, 2016
6.0
kieu from United States
Business traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016
Good breakfast. Staff front desk rude. ”
Great location.
Reviewed October 28, 2016
7.2
Very good
Ricky from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Great location, very helpful staff, comfortable stay.”
The hotel is near to train station, subway and plenty of taxi. Below there's a mall and to nearby area. Plenty of restaurants around. The staff were very helpful, good service, and our stay was comfortable
Reviewed October 27, 2016
8.0
Excellent
lang from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
tourist...”
Highly recommended hotel. its so convenient for me to get from the airport and return. the airport shuttle bus is diagonally opposite the hotel. subway and big supermarket is joint to the hotel. found many types of food just around the corner. thumbs up! will stay there again if i am going to Beijing!
Reviewed October 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
Excellent overall”
Great location, large rooms, courteous staff.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
5.6
patricia from United States
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Stuffy and hot during the fall season”
A fairly average hotel. The room must have been about 85 degrees and the hotel had turned off the air conditioning for the fall season. A few select rooms had their own air conditioning units but they could not change my room because they said the hotel was booked for all the 3 nights I was there. Nice breakfast though.
Reviewed October 21, 2016
6.4
Good
heriyanto from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Satisfactory ”
Good location
Reviewed October 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
thomas from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
It was close to the Beijing Railway station which we were leaving from...so very convenient. Very clean and staff friendly.”
We would recommend to others and stay here again.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
6.8
Good
Nicole from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Location is good”
Hotel is just opposite of Beijing Railway Station and beside shopping mall, the subway station is located just beside the hotel, easy access to all places. Hotel staying experience is just okay, the staffs attitude weren't too polite and not really attentive to needs, but otherwise all are fine. Room is generally clean and equipped with basic amenities. I'd stay again because of the location.
Reviewed September 28, 2016
7.6
Very good
SIM from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Nil”
Nil
Reviewed September 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Rene from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Good”
Convenient location, connecting to Beijing railway station from basement floor, and shopping mall plaza, closed to popular sightseeing places in central of Beijing, such us, to east Tianamen square, Qiamen, forbidden palace, to the north is temple of heaven, to the west CBD of beijing. One of recommendation hotel in beijing
Reviewed September 24, 2016
7.2
Very good
Yasushi from China
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Room Key (Card)”
Room Key (Card) needed to be updated every day I returned to the Hotel,,,
Reviewed September 21, 2016
7.2
Very good
JuiYi from Taiwan
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
near subway station, many restaurants choices downstairs”
near Beijin subway and railway station many restaurants choices just downstairs (KFC, McDonlds, Starbucks...), also there is a supermarket opened from 08:00 until 21:30 the room is ok, however the hotel staff service is not quick and warm.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
8.4
Excellent
SIE from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Great location”
Easy to nearby tourist place
Reviewed September 12, 2016
7.6
Very good
Sandra from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
na”
na
Reviewed September 01, 2016
5.6
Zayed from United Arab Emirates
Business traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Expensive”
Good location, price high
Reviewed August 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
Woosung from South Korea
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Great location for staying in Beijing”
Great facility
Reviewed August 17, 2016
7.2
Very good
LEE from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Too close for comfort.”
The hotel is right opposite the Beijing Railway station.The noise generated by the heavy flow traffic and the noise made the people around the railway station are quite irritating day and night.The house keeper who tidy up my room #837 was very polite,tidy,hardworking and very honest.He dare not accept a tip which I left for him each morning but I insist that he accept it.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Pearl from India
Family with teens
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016
Great location and proximity to the train station ”
This hotel is located above a train station and super market, which makes it easy to get anywhere by train
Reviewed August 14, 2016
6.8
Good
Verlaine from Philippines
Group
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Room Near Touristy Spots”
The staff was nice. The room is smalll but it is good enough for 2 persons. The property is a bit dated and very close to the Beijing Railway Station. There are shopping stores beneath the property, which was really convenient. Overall, it was a satisfactory stay.
Reviewed August 13, 2016