Book Now: JI Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui

Good
From 194 reviewsSee what guests said
6.5

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (194)Booking.com Reviews (22)
6.5
Good
From 194 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.2
Facilities6.9
Location7.0
Room comfort and quality6.5
Service6.5
Value for money6.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (香港)
简体中文
日本語
more
Room type
Twin Room
Superior Queen Room
Deluxe King Room
No Window Duplex Queen
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 183 verified guest comments
6.7
Good
Tony from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Good value”
Location,bed,internet
Reviewed February 18, 2014
6.0
HSU from Taiwan
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
"Economical" is about it....”
Free to use computer in the lobby, and coffee and hot tea in the lobby.
Reviewed December 23, 2013
6.0
LOH from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Shanghai is a good place to go”
Nice design,
Reviewed November 20, 2013
4.7
tomaso from Italy
Family with teens
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
A good idea badly implemented”
cheap, clean, great Italian independent restaurant
It was difficult to find the hotel which has been rebranded H Hotel. It is a design boutique hotel but partially unfinished and already with a musty smell. The reception staff spoke little English and made us wait 40 min while an emergency bad was being taken to the room which should have been twin, but had a single large bed. There should be free Wi-Fi but it did not work. The room was without windows but nice. Pity it was not finished (lamp missing, other fittings on the floor). There was no mini bar and no room service. The next morning the one staff at the service counter spoke no English at all. Luck we had prepaid the room with Agoda.
Reviewed November 06, 2013
6.7
Good
ANUAR from Malaysia
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
ok. confortable and economical”
city view, location to attractions, location for food
i was a pleasure staying at the hotel.. just the language is little issue, the room clean but the hallway little bit old and dusty....
Reviewed September 26, 2013
7.7
Very good
Ngin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Value for money”
Quiet, Nice and friendly environment
Very nice. I enjoy the stay. The room is neat and spacious.
Reviewed September 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
NOOR from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
It's a value for money and comfortable hotel”
It's a value for money and comfortable hotel
Reviewed June 25, 2013
7.3
Very good
Johannes from Netherlands
Business traveler
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
convenient”
convenience, location, value for money
Reviewed May 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Johannes from Netherlands
Business traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Convenient, pleasant”
location, convenience, room size
Reviewed May 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
JOHN from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
No problems”
Location, clean, comfortable bed
Good choice for a budget hotel which is still clean, comfortable and quiet
Reviewed April 17, 2013
7.3
Very good
Wong from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
not bad”
cheap
this is my first time to stay this area , i 'm so great feeling , because so cheap this hotel and not bad , so if i will come here , i will stay again.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
7.3
Very good
Ge from China
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Small but cozy”
nice location
6~10 mins walk to subway station. close to big malls and financial center. really convenient. but the room is a bit small, especially the bathroom.
Reviewed February 26, 2013
4.7
Ong from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Poor Service - Payment made online but no room 4me”
Plan to change me to their other subsidary hotel, sucks location
Planning to stay here for 2 days and had made payment via AGODA.... when reaching at night 9pm, their Staff TOLD me that the Hotel Room was fully booked! and left few rooms that have problem cannot stay!!! (WTF)...SO they planning at shift me to their other Subsidiary hotel which is so bad location and worst environment! Of Course i rejected immediately once i reach thier subsidiary hotel. And at the end, they compensate me for 2 night stay at the ANother 3STARTS hotel opposite them. (SO MUCH BETTER after staying there)! But not STARWAY PLEASE
Reviewed January 28, 2013
6.0
Kosta from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Decent Hotel, but improvements needed”
Good location if you are OK with Pudong side of Huangpu.
The hotel not the best choice if you plan to spend time in your room during the day. At night there was minimal noise. Rooms are ok for the price .Near Luziaji and also better than staying in Puxi if you have an early flight from Pudong airport. Some of the staff where very helpful and friendly, but the manager seemed a bit stern and not so friendly. Overall the location is not bad, but certainly there is a lot of room for improvement.
Reviewed January 16, 2013
7.3
Very good
Mariam from Venezuela
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
good location, not so clean”
Good location, good price, nice details
Need to be clean more often and more carefull. The staff does not speak good english.
Reviewed December 13, 2012
4.0
Evelyn from Afghanistan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Helpful staff, but average hotel at obscure place”
Attractive rates and helpful bell-uncle
I arrived past midnight at the "hotel" to be greeted by a hotel lobby where the lights were almost completely switched off (except for some faint lights at receptionist and lift area. While I am supportive of one conserving the environment and to minimise wastage (including electrical usage), I am not sure if hotels should do the same. Nevertheless I proceeded with check-in, and was told that the room I had paid for was not available (I wonder how this was possible?!). I was told that they would "upgrade" me to another room. Unfortunately when I entered the room, I did not think it was an "upgraded" version as it seemed the same as what I have requested for except that the windows appeared odd at close to shoulder level. The room was badly maintained. While it looked "similar" to what was shown on photos, the condition of the room was appalling - The bathroom floor skirting had molds - The base mattress did not have bed skirtings on, exposing it to dust and dirt. - One of the bath robes was yellowish - The TV signal was bad - constantly showing distorted images and sound While the conditions of the hotel was disappointing, I must commend the bell-uncle as he was extremely helpful.
Reviewed November 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Yunn from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Lovely hotel ”
It is nice boutique hotel
The hotel room we stayed has 2 floor. Sleeping bed is on second floor while the bathroom is at first floor. The hotel lobby is very nice and creative. It is located at the heart of the city and convenience to go everywhere by cab but it is quite far from the hotel to mrt station, about 15mins. There are a few of coffee shops, cake shop, convenience shop at the same row as the hotel.
Reviewed November 04, 2012
6.7
Good
Moh from Singapore
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Spacious room but without windows”
Clean and spacious
Small boutique concept hotel not too conveniently located. 15mins walk to nearest subway. Supermarkets for expats and pharmacy located just next door. 3 massage parlours located just a mins walk away which is cheap by international standards. Room was without windows so could feel uncomfortable if not used to it.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
6.3
Good
Nien from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Simple Boutique Hotel, Reasonable Location”
Reasonable Location at Lujiazui area of Pudong, Shanghai
When I arrive at hotel, the front desk took a while to complete the settlement of another checking out group. There is wireless service while waiting, so it actually helps checking some emails while waiting. The front desk also advised that there's no wireless service in room but there will be 24 hours service at the lobby area. What amazed me is the atmosphere at night where the cafes and pubs next to the hotel turned the street alive. There is also two body massage services shop around the corner to relax when you are in need of one or two hours of get-away time.
Reviewed October 25, 2012
7.7
Very good
Chye from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Interesting concepts of different room designs”
It is easy to find, room was neat
Everything was good for the price i paid, very reasonable. the only bad thing was the view, which was nothing at all. i had to close the curtain 24/7 because they were structures outside my window. but overall was good though.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
3.7
Harish from India
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Good location but not good service at all”
just a location is good beside that nothing is good
After check in and saw room i told him this is not the room i have booked online he told me he will replace the room in sometime and after sometime some one else was on shift that guy asked to call and fight with them because he says this is not his lookout and he gave me two option check out the hotel or stay in same room for two days...i am sure this is not the service any one can expect and off course no one would like to leave the room at 10 0 clock in the night with 3 heavy bags...i had to stay in the same room because the helpline number also people speak in Chinese language so was left with no option....Person name was " Locky " and was very much disappointed by the that person..i would not recommend this hotel to any one..
Reviewed October 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Mariam from Venezuela
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Nice hotel, only a bit small. The wc also to small”
Near you can find places to eat, western supermarket, very big dvd shop, and others. Very convenient
It was a good place to relax, and very convenient.
Reviewed September 26, 2012
2.7
Basem from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Very Bad Hotel”
Nothing
It was very bad expirement with this hotel actully I reserved window room but they gave me very dirty room without window also there is bad odor in the room. I'll not come to this hotel again and I suggest every to find another hotel
Reviewed August 03, 2012
7.0
Very good
graham from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Nice location but toilet in room not private.”
Beds are comfortable but room not clean
the location of the hotel was great as i was visiting friends who drink in the red lion it was right next door witch was really good. plenty of restaurants very close by and if you want to go to the city center it will only cost you about 3 pound in a taxi,all said it was fine for what i needed and the price was also reasonable.
Reviewed August 02, 2012
4.3
Hio from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Spacious Room without windows”
Near my friend's home
I chose this hotel because it's near my friend's home. However, there is only lobby have wifi and the signal is weak. Although my room is very spacious which is a duplex, there is no window in the room. Thus, the room full of the cigarette's smell produced by former clients. This is the most disgusting.
Reviewed July 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
warangkhana from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Service with smile with good location”
Service with smile
Can serve me many request with smile, call taxi, check for the train ticket, early check in. But no have wifi in room for room with no window.
Reviewed July 09, 2012
8.0
Excellent
warangkhana from Thailand
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Service with smile with good location”
Service with smile
Can serve me many request with smile, call taxi, check for the train ticket, early check in.
Reviewed July 09, 2012
7.7
Very good
Robyn from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Groovy Hotel”
Located in a quiet interesting area next to the only GOOD coffee I found in China.
interesting decor but a bunker style building and the hallways could brighten up. front desk needs better english speakers but the internet was ok. comfortable room, quiet with good bathroom but the smoke seeping under the door was a bit uncomfortable.
Reviewed June 15, 2012
6.7
Good
Malcolm from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Easy to access location”
Next to western bars and cafe.
Stayed here many times, service can be a little slow, but it is clean and tidy especially for the price you pay, be careful you don't get a room with no window if you didn't want one, the theme rooms are interesting, but I would pay extra for them. All in all a good value hotel in ok location.
Reviewed May 30, 2012
6.7
Good
Malcolm from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Good location for western traveller”
Price and location
hotel in good position, a few western bars and cafe on same street, also close to times square and subway. hotel itself clean and tidy, nothing amazing, but good value for the location and standard. food ok, breakfast better than most hotels, don't get a room with no windows, feels very odd.
Reviewed May 28, 2012
7.7
Very good
Yong from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Budget clean hotel”
Great decor
boutique hotel , clean and rooms well equipped with basic amenities. Conveninent shops and bakeries around, easy to grab food anytime
Reviewed May 16, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Yong from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Great Boutique hotels”
Nice rooms
am returning customer to teh hotel for a 2nd night, and the rooms are unique for each stay. rooms are fairly big and reasonable. clean and comfortable. one of the cheapest boutique hotels around. may not be close to train station, but easy to get cab around the hotel.
Reviewed May 16, 2012
7.0
Very good
Yingting from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
charming suite
near the underground station, shopping centres Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Reviewed March 21, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Xianfang from China
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
clean room and conviniece location”
simple and clean hotel, waiters are polite
clean room and conviniece location, lujiazui is the most prosperous place in shanghai, hotel is very near by Huangpu river.
Reviewed March 16, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Jessica from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Small but nice hotel”
worth for money
Good place especially for business traveler. This hotel is value for money & location is great
Reviewed March 14, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Kok from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Location is great and quiet”
Value for Money
located near the heart of pudong, the price is reasonable and the location is quiet despite being near to the heart of the business district. located all around are good restaurants, chinese traditional massage and dvd shops. popular with the handful of expat living in that area. everything under one roof.
Reviewed December 11, 2011
6.3
Good
Jing from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Small hotel, decent design but not 4 star worthy”
clean bathrooms, decent staff
the beds were too small, i'm not a fan of the carpet and rooms are too pricey for what you get. the location is pretty good, although i didn't use the train so not sure how easy it is to use the subway. the rooms smelled like smoke, i was not a fan of that. they should change the rooms to non smoking and lower their price slightly and provide bigger beds.
Reviewed October 04, 2011
6.7
Good
Wong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
What you see is not what you get!!”
Clean room, good location
I have booked a theme room as displayed on Agoda's website, but when I checked in, the hotel reception says that I need to top up more for the theme room I booked.
Reviewed August 02, 2011
5.7
Michael from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 7 nights in May 2011
Nice room but full of smoking sell!”
Room is well-designed, fashionable, which is rare in China. But if you don't smoke, get another hotel that has some non-smoking floors to choose from.
As mentioned, quite a nice hotel overall. Good service and polite employees. Always a turn-off when you smell smoke in areas you would least expect, such as your own room. But then I guess this isn't a big issue here, since the whole country of China seems to have no non-smoking area at all. Yet the hotel's failure to solve this issue will make me not want to stay there again next time.
Reviewed May 13, 2011
4.7
Linda from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
great location hotel”
ok location
we stayed in this hotel last year - then a very nice design hotel. the personel is friendly.
Reviewed May 03, 2011
7.3
Very good
Veronica from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2011
Surrounded by amenities”
Lively decor
Location is fairly central though not near subway. Particularly striking is the hotel is right in t he middle of a row of shops with Western cafes and restaurants and bakeries, and 2 convenient stores. Entrance is brightly lit with welcoming contemporary style. Lifts are similarly decorated. Room is clean and stylishly done up, though long term maintenance falls short on the scale. But more than made up for by the price. Will stay there again next visit. good value for money.
Reviewed April 05, 2011
5.7
David from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2011
Big room- Could use an upgrade”
Size
Old hotel. A little dirty carpets. Felt is was a little pricy for what I got.
Reviewed March 02, 2011
5.7
Chee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Trendy and easy going hotel”
there is a nice bar for couple of drink after long day of work beside of the hotel...
Room maintenance is a bit off now...
I have been staying at this hotel for more then 5 times...is very easy to get around in Pudong area. And it's easy to catch a subway to Puxi as well...but as for my last trip as the hotel is getting a bit old and the room maintenance is not doing a great job. as for the wall of it's rooms is dirty...
Reviewed December 20, 2010
2.7
Adam
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2010
Nothing redeeming about this hotel at all”
Sorta a neat hotel room, but nasty all around
gross bathrooms, boring location
I am a heavy china business traveler who stays in probably 40 different cheap china hotel a year. This place is lame for Shanghai, it really isn't convenient to anything.The duplex room is fine for a night, it's sorta like a loft bed. Fine for 1 traveler. Place is moldy is not maintained . Typical well planned china hotel, no execution. If you typically stayed in places like 7 days inn , or home inn , this place is more interesting, but way more dirty
Reviewed December 17, 2010
6.7
Good
loic from France
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in November 2010
Good location and good value for price”
Location and modern style hotel
internet very slow, very limited English
For the good price is not easy to have clean room in a modern atmosphere, quite often in China you get old fashion hotel for this medium range hotel. There is this "boutique" hotel spirit, conveniently located close to Lujiazui financial center and with pently of dining options around.
Reviewed December 01, 2010
6.0
Lindi from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2010
nice hotel and service with smile”
location
the bed is comfortable, bathroom is not very clean though. the glasses design is not comfortable either. the walls seem very thin, you can hear the sound from next room. cleaness is the key point when stay at hotel.
Reviewed November 08, 2010
4.0
Lindi from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October 2010
lovely hotel and modern design”
location and interiors
service
very convienent location for traveller to explore the city. some basic equipment has not provided. alarm isn't provided. morning call is late.. room is not well maintained, and staff has not friendly helpful.
Reviewed November 08, 2010
6.0
Lindi from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October 2010
great location but untidy room”
location
bad service
rooms are well designed, but not well maintained; staff is not helpful. locations are good, everything around the hotel is convienet for traveler.
Reviewed November 07, 2010
7.7
Very good
Yanyong from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2010
Great location and service.”
Free internet and reception service
Shower area needs some maintenance - water leakage and stains.
Reviewed November 06, 2010
6.0
CHIH from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
小巧的設計風格酒店”
交通便利,有設計感
早餐不優,清潔可再加強
走到最近的地鐵站約十多分鐘,可以遠眺金融大廈,不過附近吃的東西不多,早餐種類很少,另外,清潔可以再多加強,雖然比起一般兩星酒店已經算不錯,但是H HOTEL應該是要以三星酒店為看齊目標。
Reviewed November 02, 2010