Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
See all 45 photos
Dormitory Fan - Bed Lokal Hostel
Dormitory Fan - Bed
See all 45 photos
Lobby Lokal Hostel
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Interior view Lokal Hostel
Interior view
See all 45 photos
Interior view Lokal Hostel
Interior view
See all 45 photos
See map Lokal Hostel
See map
Excellent
Location
8.2
See all 45 photos Lokal Hostel
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list

Lokal Hostel

Excellent location
- Inside city center
- What's nearby?
Very good
From 316 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
/
10
Very good value for money
7.9
Value for money7.9
Distance to city center9.3 Km
Location rating8.2
Nearest airportNinoy Aquino International Airport (MNL)
Distance to airport5.7 km
  • Located in heart of Manila

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Daily housekeeping

  • Garden

Room choices
7.7
Very good
Room comfort & quality
This property is in high demand!Last booked 8 hours ago | 5 travelers are looking at this property right now
Double Private Room with Bathroom
Double Private Room with Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room (Private Bathroom)
Twin Room (Private Bathroom)
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Private (Shared Bathroom)
Twin Private (Shared Bathroom)
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Single Fan Room
Single Fan Room
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • No Windows view
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Dormitory Fan
Dormitory Fan
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • No Windows view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Single Private (Shared Bathroom)
Single Private (Shared Bathroom)
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
4-Bed Female Dormitory
4-Bed Female Dormitory
...
  • Room size: 24 m²/258 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Single Air Conditioning
Single Air Conditioning
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Dormitory Air Conditioning
Dormitory Air Conditioning
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Lokal Hostel?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Lokal Hostel

More about Lokal Hostel

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What to eat nearby

Filipino cuisine
Filipino cuisine
Vatel Restaurant Manila
3.4 km Filipino, French, Mediterranean
iBread
5.1 km Filipino
Hizon's Cakes & Pastries
5.6 km Filipino
Asian cuisine
Asian cuisine
Chicken Charlie
160 m Asian, Fast food
Seoul Galbi
180 m Asian, Korean
Eat Now
310 m Asian, Korean
Chinese cuisine
Chinese cuisine
Hap Chan Tea House
3.9 km Chinese
Chin's Express
3.9 km Chinese, Fast food
Caffe La Lotte Restaurant
4.6 km Chinese

What they offer

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (316)
7.4
/
10
Cleanliness6.8
Facilities6.3
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service7.9
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (316)
All room types
Showing 188 verified guest comments
12345
5.6
Alexa
Couple
Double Private Room with Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Facilities”
There’s no hot water in the shower. Also, the door lock is broken. I didn’t feel safe even though there’s a CCTV.
Reviewed October 28, 2018
5.6
LERSAN from Philippines
Business traveler
Double Private Room with Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Noisy, dirty, small”
Place is too noisy. Can’t sleep well.
Reviewed October 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Willow from Vietnam
Solo traveler
4-Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Whatever, here is excellent!”
Cheap but clean, supportive staff and perfect surroundings. There are two pubs downstairs, for girls to be safe, enjoying music and beer there. Many good restaurants are near. Convenient to visit tourist spots.
Reviewed October 22, 2018
7.2
Very good
Evan from Philippines
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Felt Unsafe.. ”
I had my last minute booking at this hostel. I booked an aircon room and my bed was on the upper bed. I was very near the ac unit and i was only given an ordinary blanket. I asked for another sheet coz the cold is unbearable. I was using actually 3 sheets including my own blanket. I was awaken at 3am,and notice a man sleeping on the other bed. He was not a guest there actually. I heard in the morning, he was the boyfriend of the guest occupying the bed. I woke up early, and slept again and was awaken with a big voice and upon checking another non guest of the room entered to hang the laundry. I really felt unsafe because there was no safety. Guests from other rooms are very free to enter other rooms.
Reviewed October 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
perly from Philippines
Solo traveler
Bed in a 4-Bed Fan Room (Mixed)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
so clean and great”
the best place i have stayed in
Reviewed September 27, 2018
Thank you Perly! This gives pride and joy to our hardwork. I hope you had a great time with us. =)
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
10.0
Exceptional
Lilac from Philippines
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Affordable hostel in a good location”
The staff were accommodating. There was TV in the common room. There's a kitchen and a fridge we could use. There's a rooftop place where you can chill overlooking the busy city buildings. If you don't mind this place being in Burgos Street, this is a good place to stay considering it's near certain spots in Makati.
Reviewed September 07, 2018
6.0
Melvin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
Stayed 10 nights in August 2018
Once a great spot BUT not anymore!!!”
PRO: The Staff are Awesome! Dwight, Sam and others are Outstanding! CONS: EVERYTHING is old and outdated! The walls need paint, the floors need resurfacing, the bathrooms need updates, the kitchen needs renovating the beds/rooms are old etc. The owner needs to add additional staff to managed the hostel. The current staff though outstanding cannot save this hostel without help. The owner also needs to invest money into the hostel to bring it up to current standards.There are more options that are neater and cleaner and cost just a little more than Lokal Hostel. The internet connection is horrible! Often the connection would require resetting because of no connection sometime 45 minutes or more. Finally, I have stayed in thousands of hostels located around the world and this is one of the worst I have stayed in by far. The owner should be ashamed that he charges for guests to stay here. The Staff deserve a better owner considering how hard they work to maintain this hostel!
Reviewed August 20, 2018
Hello Melvin. Considering you are well traveled person and looking for a great experience we have not given you the quality that you expected. We apologize for this matter and we have done all things to level up just like before. Over-all with the many CONS you have given our hostel we have been doing alot of upgrades lately but deep inside I just want to say thank you for giving us a try. I know we aren't that great over-all but we will provided all that we can to make each and everyones stay valuable. Thank you.
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
4.4
Jolly from Philippines
Solo traveler
Dormitory Fan
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Horrible.Needs a whole new upgrade!”
Pros:-great staff,kitchen facilities,24 hrs access. Cons:-very noisy,very dirty,poor WiFi signal,
Reviewed August 15, 2018
Hello Jolly! Thank you for pointing out our PROS and CONS. We definitely lack the peace and quiet that we used to have years ago because of its central location on the Poblacion area it has become the hip and happening place of Metro Manila. We did upgrade on our house-keeping service inspite of its not all locations in the hostel accessibility of the internet. We provide plenty of spaces of social ambiance. Thank you for staying with us. I do hope you had a great time. Cheers!
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
5.2
Jolly from Philippines
Solo traveler
Dormitory Fan
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Focus on cleanliness and Facilities please.”
Well you got what you paid for. Cheaper yes but you have to settle with the Dirty rest Room, dirty room, even toilet bowls and electric fan are damage. When it rain outside be ready to encounter some basins inside also. Another thing is the shower Room, damage door and not good water supply. I'm stating more on the facilities and cleanliness. Staffs are friendly and trying their best to clean the facility but yeah, I recommend the management to change some of the fan and improve facilities specially the restroom part. No matter how the staffs tried to clean it, can't do anything with the old showers and bowls in there. Oh and yeah, even the kitchen lol you can't locate where the bad smell location is. Thank you..
Reviewed August 15, 2018
Hello Jolly, Thank you for pointing out our flaws. We made a major revamp on our bathrooms and facilities in the last 2 months and added extra house-keeping to look after things inside the hostel. I do hope you can reconsider staying with us again and we promise to deal with all the complaints of our guest. Cheers!
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
4.8
Dinh from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Private Room with Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018
Not worth your money !!!”
The worst hostel I have been stayed , my mistake ever !!! Booked for 5 nights but just stayed 2 nights Bz I cant stand it !!! Room is small and bathroom is smelly Cockroach in the storage ,bugs on the bed Not provide towels , bath Matt is dirty The shower water is super super weak :/ Pillow is too soft to sleep ,blanket is thin like bed sheet Air-con is very loud , nearby is bars and sclubs so very noisy at night time !!! No safety box, nail on the door lock is loosing...
Reviewed August 11, 2018
Hello Dinh, I am sorry for the inconvenience of your stay. We will look into this matters and see what else we can do to improve our customer experience better in the near future. Thank you for giving us a try and I hope this never happens to you again in your next lodging. Cheers!
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
7.2
Very good
Apelgans from Russia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Very good”
Не работают краны в душе. Отсутствуют полки и вешалки в душе. Неудобно. Сломана раковина течёт вода из трубы в туалете. Бардак. Нет дисциплины. Проходной двор. Шумно. Хостел в запущенном состоянии.
Reviewed August 11, 2018
6.4
Good
Carizza from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single Private (Shared Bathroom)
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Budget friendly hostel”
I availed the private room with shared bathroom. The aircondition was good but there is no wifi inside the room and the bathroom was not clean ☹️ The place is also surrounded with bars so expect to have loud sounds around 7pm onwards. I had a hard time sleeping because of the party sounds outside.
Reviewed August 03, 2018
Hello Carizza! I apologize for the inconvenience of our location. It is indeed the central location of the Poblacion area. In spite of the noise, I hope you did enjoy the entertain and proximity of our location to nearby restaurants, bars and shopping malls. Btw, internet is provided in the lobby area to encourage social within our ambiance. Thank you for staying with us. =)
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
4.4
Charmaine from Thailand
Solo traveler
4-Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
The hostel is not clean and not taken cared of”
This is a shame because I stayed there before and the place was promising. But this time it seemed that the owners has stopped caring and the place is very dirty. I hope they can re-evaluate and revitalize the service and the hotel facilities.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
Hello Charmaine. Thank you for the testimonial. 2 months ago we just added additional house-keeping that will clean from morning until late evening. We have weekly schedules that will assess things to clean as well as proper scheduling of unloading of trash bins 2-3 a day. I hope you will still consider booking again in the near future. Cheers!
Responded October 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
4.8
Vinicius from Brazil
Solo traveler
Bed in a 4-Bed Fan Room (Mixed)
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Definitely not a good hostel”
Very dirty bathrooms, the room was very hot and smelly, there were cockroaches everywhere, even on the side of my bed, there was no interaction with the people of the hostel, no internal activities, etc. Definitely not a party hostel, or even a young vibe. I would not recommend the place to anyone. The only good thing was the staff. They helped with all the information that I needed, my baggage and they were very nice and helpful. Besides that, the hostel is pretty bad. Pay a little bit more and go to a nice hostel with a better vibe.
Reviewed June 18, 2018
Hi Vinicius, Thank you for your review. We give our best to make our guests feel welcome and it means a lot to us when someone lets us know that our staff are helpful. With regards to dirty bathroom, Our housekeeping staff cleans all of our common areas regularly throughout the day, but sometimes it is difficult to keep up when it comes to shared facilities that are in constant use by several people. We appreciate your feedback and we assure you that we will pay even more attention in the future! I hope that you will visit us again the next time you are back in Makati! :) Pat
Responded July 13, 2018
Lokal Hostel
8.8
Excellent
Jan from Canada
Couple
Bed in a 4-Bed Fan Room (Mixed)
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Good base while looking for a job”
I stayed there while approaching employment agencies in the area. Local is a good base for that. Price is quite affordable. Worth going to.
Reviewed June 03, 2018
Hi Jan, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care! :) Pat
Responded June 15, 2018
Lokal Hostel
8.0
Excellent
Xuan from Vietnam
Group
6-Bed Dormitory Air Conditioning Room Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good location for night activities, good budget”
Hostel is located on 3rd floor at a crowded street, there are so many bars, pubs, restaurants as well as mini markets around. The room was ok, bath room was too small, bed room was clean but pillow was supper soft, too soft to sleep. Anyway, it's enough for short stay for us.
Reviewed April 17, 2018
Hi Xuan, Thank you for your review :) We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Lokal and that you had a good time in Poblacion. Please visit us again the next time you are in town! Pat
Responded June 15, 2018
Lokal Hostel
8.4
Excellent
Gerald from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single Fan Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Great”
Great if you are looking for a cheap but clean hostel that is near the city.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
Hi Gerald, Thank you for your review and for choosing lokal. We're looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hostel. :) Pat
Responded May 18, 2018
Lokal Hostel
6.4
Good
Serge from Canada
Solo traveler
Twin Private (Shared Bathroom)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Very helpful staff.”
I rented a private room so to me it was fine. The place is very friendly.
Reviewed March 28, 2018
Hi Serge, We appreciate your positive feedback about our hostel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us :) Pat
Responded May 18, 2018
Lokal Hostel
6.4
Good
Lisa from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
4-Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Good”
Ok stay with communal area, needs a bit of a clean in the bathroom. Staff are quite friendly and was alright for a few nights.
Reviewed March 03, 2018
Hi LIsa, Thank you for your review! Our housekeeping staff cleans all of our common areas regularly throughout the day, but sometimes it is difficult to keep up when it comes to shared facilities that are in constant use by several people. I hope that you will visit us again the next time you are back in Makati! :) Pat
Responded March 07, 2018
Lokal Hostel
7.6
Very good
Lisa from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Bed in a 4-Bed Fan Room (Mixed)
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Very good”
Good communal area where you can cook, although my room was right next too it so could be a bit noisy sometimes. Staff helpful on where to go, transportation etc. However I think the bathrooms could do with a bit of a clean.
Reviewed March 03, 2018
Hi Lisa, Thank you for your review. We give our best to make our guests feel at home and it always feels great to know that we succeeded! Our housekeeping staff cleans all of our common areas and shared bathroom throughout the day, but sometimes it is difficult to keep up when it comes to shared facilities that are in constant use by several people. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will visit us again soon! Pat :)
Responded March 03, 2018
Lokal Hostel
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss