Book Now: Lu Song Yuan Hotel

Very good
From 234 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (234)Booking.com Reviews (393)
7.6
Very good
From 234 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities7.0
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.4
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Courtyard View Room
Single
Standard
Superior Courtyard Room with Garden View
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 217 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
Siu from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
very close to forbidden city”
clean room, close to sightseeing, easy to reach hotel
Very Good and helpful staff, i travel alone i found that this hotel is even cheaper than hostile for a single room. However, when i reach the hotel, there is a stand wrote 198per night, its far cheaper than what pay…..
Reviewed January 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Mary-Lou from Australia
Solo traveler
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Great Hutong hotel in fun area.”
The staff were fantastic, the beds comfortable and the location good.
Excellent . The hotel is old fashioned but bathrooms are modern and beds comfortable. Staff helpful.
Reviewed November 23, 2013
7.0
Very good
Chin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Great old Beijing experience”
Near to LRT station,about 200m to the famous NanLuoGuXiang,about 800m to HouHai for a drink and people watching
It was a nice courtyard stay experience.The hotel is very close to the NanLuoGuXiang walking street and about 300 m to the nearest LRT station.although the hotel is deep inside an alley but it is perfectly safe to walk back alone during night time.
Reviewed November 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
judith from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
really enjoyable”
location room comfort staff
Very enjoyable. The location in the hutong by buzzing Nan luo xiang was fantastic. it was excellent value
Reviewed October 23, 2013
6.3
Good
Winston from Singapore
Group
Single
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Good location to cover key attractions and shoppin”
Location, internet and service
Service was good until check out day. The front desk lady was rude. Rooms some how stinks of the sewer. Small bathrooms that get totally wet after a shower.
Reviewed October 23, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Samson from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Quiet and centrally located hotel”
Location, Location, Location
Lu Song Yuan hotel is a easy walk from the new NanLuoGuXian subway station on Line #6. NanLuoGuXian is one of the attractions in Beijing. It's very convenient to have it next to the hotel. Opposite the hotel is a convenience store that's open until very late. I bought some drinks after 11PM on a Saturday night. I highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed October 23, 2013
7.7
Very good
Carsten from United States
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Good location, charming traditional courtyard inn”
location, historical charm, quiet
It was 5 min walk from Nanluoguxiang shopping alley and close to subway (hence airport). Quiet, charming traditional courtyard style. Bathroom cleanliness could be better (bathroom mat had mildew, bathroom lacked ventilation, drain didn't work, and staff merely dried without scrubbing it).
Reviewed July 20, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Gordon from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
As enjoyable as it was on the previous two stays ”
Nice,friendly staff, great location, busy , but not rowdy nightlife nearby.
This hotel is ideal if you really want to experience the true atmosphere of old Beijing. Ideally located in the Hutong district, very nice staff.
Reviewed July 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Cynthia from United States
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Great location, historic setting”
Location, traditional decor, staff
Reviewed June 06, 2013
6.3
Good
Tone from Norway
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Great ambience, very small room”
Ambience, location for shopping experiences, nince area
Second time visitor. Hotel has not chanced since my first visit, 3 yrs back. Small room, on the pls side a heater since it was still cold spring weather. The area is still quite charming and is a main plus staying here.
Reviewed April 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Mary-Lou from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Great location, simple but clean Hutong experience”
Helpful staff, clean room, hot shower!
Great , I extended for 5 more nights as so much to see in the area and staff so helpful
Reviewed April 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Neville from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
good value, traditional 400yo mansion”
walking distance to major attractions, value, quiet
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this 400year old traditional style comfortable ex private mansion in the Hutong district
Reviewed April 10, 2013
6.3
Good
Christina from Canada
Family with teens
Single
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Great location and traditional style”
Location, lobby
Winter in Beijing can be cold - I lived there for many years and knew it would be drafty - but this was ridiculous! Lu Song Yuan has no central heating, so when we returned after a full day in sub-zero temps, our room was 8C!! The single space heater we switched on upon return did little to warm up the room - in morning it was a not-so-toasty 16C!! Yes it was inexpensive - yes we chose a very local location - but it was close to unbearable! I would say a avoid Dec-Mar!
Reviewed December 30, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Bryan from Australia
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
A wonderful suprise as you enter the lobby”
The decor was more than I could of hoped for old world China as promised but more.
We arrived late down a dark alley was a bit nervous as I had promised my partner some old world China for our quick 2.5 day visit to Beijing but as we walked into the lobby my partner and I were surprised and relieved the décor was wonderful beautiful panelled and painted ceilings that followed us through the rabbit warren of the hotel to our room. The room was small but again the décor watch the charm of the hotel. Each room had a shared courtyard which was extremely relaxing and blended in with the feel of the hotel. The staff spoke enough English to make all transaction easy and friendly. The restaurant had a menu that was easy to read and the food delivered to the table was very good. From the hotel we managed to walk around the lake area at night it was a decorated with a festival feel with lots of little shops and clubs to sit and have a beer something to eat or a cup of coffee did a bit of shopping to. The hotel is positioned well we managed to do some sight seeing the great wall, the forbidden city and the temple of heaven which is not bad in 2.5 days. Would I stay in the hotel again yes would I recommend it to others yes I already have.
Reviewed December 20, 2012
5.3
Angela from Colombia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in November 2012
Great location but cold and not very nice staff”
Location
It wasn't a bad experience at all but wasn't the one I expected. The location of the hotel is great, just a few minutes walking from restaurants, cafes, shops etc. The staff wasn't helpful at the moments we asked them about places, transport etc. we needed t get some train tickets and as in the hotels brochure they offer service for booking train and flight tickets we asked them to do it so, but they refused saying we could do it personally in the train office located in the corner, we went there but the lady didn't speak English so we couldn't do anything, therefore we had to ask someone on the street to help us. The hotel in general is freezing cold, the heater in our room didn't work properly, everything seems very old and the beds are the hardest ones I've slept on in my whole life, the bathroom smelt soon bad and since it is connected with the bedroom the whole bedroom smelt terrible. Just one of the girls at the front desk spoke English and unfortunately she wasn't precisely the kindest one. The highlight of this hotel was the driver who's name I can't remember but it was a sweet old man very kind and helpful,
Reviewed December 06, 2012
7.7
Very good
Ross from Australia
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
interesting hotel if you like a bit of old china, ”
great location for a bit of history and also night life
Very old China but nice aand clean, very close to craft shopping and good food and good bars, plenty of entertainment
Reviewed December 05, 2012
4.7
Victor from Guatemala
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Warm and lovely, but inconvenient for disabled”
nice courtyards, room
but taxis do not get by and staff tdoes not help with that. i had to carry my luggage on my own, no staff helped, more than 100 meters, to find a taxi to go to the train station! what a nightmare. freezing cold and snowed.
Reviewed November 08, 2012
5.3
Victor from Guatemala
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Nice neighboorhood, but very difficult access ! ”
Charming old house, nice courtyards
good to stay here, but, taxis or car do not want or cannot drop you at the door, so you have to walk 100 meters to get. I was travelling with my mother, 88yrs, so it was definetively inconvenient. Hotel staff was totally un-helpful to find other ways to move, like rickshaws or something. Eventhough I have a private car and guide, it was not possible but walking at 2C and with snow the 100 mts. There is a bad smell near the restaurant. Breakfast food is always cold. I will not stay there again, even if travelling alone.
Reviewed November 08, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Frances from Australia
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
Traditional Chinese - excellent ”
immaculate bedding
beds were hard but normal for china.... reception staff very friendly and helpful...very nice area very safe - shopping around the hotel great and restaurants also very good... only downfall was taxis could not drive in and very hard to communicate to them that it was ok to drop off at the main road and walk down .... if you want traditional this is it ....
Reviewed November 05, 2012
5.7
Sarah from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Authentric but not very comfortable”
You really feel that you are in China
Despite the great location and gorgeous chinese lobby I would not stay in this hotel again dur to the uncomforable bed and luke warm shower.
Reviewed November 03, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Gordon from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Lovely hotel , and in a great location”
great location, traditional Chinese decor and furnishings, Friendly and helpful staff, Located in the Hutong area of Beijing
in may 2012 i made my second stay at this hotel.ihad decided to stay there a second time, as my first visit was such a good experience. the second stay was just as good. the staff remembered me, as i did them. the hotel is furnished in traditional chinese style , which is a major attraction to my wife and i. the location couldn't be better.the forbidden city is within walking distance , as are lots of 'arty' shops. i would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to experience the real china .
Reviewed June 07, 2012
7.7
Very good
Maribeth from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Enjoyable hotel, great location”
Location
everyone was helpful. a lot of selections for breakfast
Reviewed May 07, 2012
6.0
Mackenzie from United States
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Not bad”
Hutong feel
A bit far from the airport; hot water was tough to figure out; have stayed in better places.
Reviewed April 01, 2012
5.0
Cengiz from Australia
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
ageing hotel in need of urgent tlc”
Excellent location
the hotels location is excellent. located in old townl hutong area surrounded by nice old houses and lots of shops and restaurants. the carpets in the corridors and rooms are very old and smelly and needs replacing. the rooms are very cold and portable column heaters are not sufficient. it takes ages to get the hot water. we intended to stay longer but found better hotels for cheaper price in the area.
Reviewed March 11, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Lovely Boutique Hotel in Pleasant Hutong”
Antique furnishings, helpful staff, quiet
lovely small hotel in a nice area of beijing. close to the forbidden city and tianamen square (15 minute walk). taxi will need to drop you at the end of the hutong as no cars are allowed - but it is about one minute's walk. we will stay here again during our next visit to beijing. the atmostphere beats the characterles international and tourists hotels hamds down.
Reviewed December 28, 2011
4.7
Bruno from Belgium
Family with teens
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011
Probably an ok courtyard hotel in summer”
Charming odl-style, helpful front desk
The hotel is basically hardly in business in November. Cleaning was ongoing. 'Special room' was pretty basic and didn't fit well a 3rd bed, even though requested, on the excuse that cleaning was ongoing. Rooms feel fairly run down, even though bathroom was ok and in summer the courtyards are probably a nice feature to sit down. Breakfast room is unpleasant in winter. Internet was most often off in the room. Hutong location is the plus point.
Reviewed November 26, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Anna from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
Pretty hotel, good service & location”
Very authentic style in hutong lane, helpful staff
I really loved this hotel the moment I saw it, with the red lanterns outside and the typically Chinese wooden furniture. Fantastic location too. The rooms are a little bit small but very nice despite that. The only downside is that the Italian shower doesn't drain well and water spills over onto the bedroom carpet! But it's still good value and makes for an enjoyable stay. NB. The restaurant, which includes an outdoor courtyard, is only open in the spring/summer.
Reviewed November 11, 2011
7.7
Very good
Christina from Canada
Solo traveler
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Wonderful Location”
location, atmosphere
i lived in the neighbourhood for a few years, so was a bit biased about it - great convenient area - good for those interested in local colour, walking, photography
Reviewed November 10, 2011
5.7
Bertrand from France
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Good location, nice house but room a bit dirty”
Good location, beautiful traditional house
it was nice but the rooms were a bit dirty and the cleaning service was useless. the room was done in 10 mins top. breakfast is not great. location is pretty cool, next to a very nice hutong street.
Reviewed November 10, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Gary from Australia
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 5 nights in September 2011
A nice place to stay”
the authentic look of this hotel is unique unlike any modern hotel.
it was a nice stay. the single room was small but ok. the hot water needs to be run for a long time though before getting hot, but that onlyu happened on one day. otherwaise it was a lovely place. i though breakfast was slightly overpriced for what it was. overall though a lovely place to stay. i'll be back.
Reviewed October 17, 2011
6.3
Good
Aurelio from Spain
Couple
Standard
Stayed 7 nights in August 2011
Just fair”
Location
Location is very nice, rooms are small, just fair, hotel reconstructed in old courtyard style but missing some sense of charm, breakfast is ok. You need to wait for more than 10 minutes until you get some hot water every time you want to use it. Reasonably clean, though not fully meeting western standards. For the price, I wonder you can get something better in Beijing, though in general not a bad option if you are mostly interested in having just a conveniently located place to sleep. Staff not especially welcoming or warm, but still correct.
Reviewed September 01, 2011
7.7
Very good
maria from Italy
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011
great location , rooms need some renovation”
the location and the setting are quite nice , service cd be im proved
the hotel is a lovely courtyard house, the lobby and the teahouse were always dark and the breakfast room cd be improved , the courtyard next to the breakfast room should be renovated with new furnishing; greater attention should be paid to the presentation. The aircond. in the room was noisy and the walltowall carpeting old and a bit stained.i had problems with my pc and their wifi It is in a nice neighbourhood and close to the subway station
Reviewed August 27, 2011
6.0
James from Canada
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
Great location, Character Hotel”
Location, character
Liked it well enough to return. On hutong near fun shopping and restaurant area and long walk/subway ride to attractions. Not perfect: some staff unfriendly, hotel food not great, room not particularly quiet or clean and tepid shower only after you run water for awhile, but acceptable. Location, character building and room, semi-private courtyards, and some very friendly staff and associates are enought to make up for everything else.
Reviewed May 28, 2011
7.7
Very good
Chinh from Singapore
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011
Beautiful hotel with a historical touch”
Unique Si He Yuan style, near to Nan Luo Gu Xiang
the hotel was extremely uniquely, displaying a typical hu tong accommodation. it was not overly spruce up and retain a nostalgic feel to it. the rooms were functional and clean. location is strategic, as it is extremely close to nan luo gu xiang and nearby sights. a bit of walking will be needed to reach the train stations, but taxis are easily available.
Reviewed May 25, 2011
4.7
Lucy from United Kingdom
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
lovely traditional hotel with lots of character”
traditonal character, location, terrace
Reviewed May 17, 2011
6.0
James from Canada
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011
Charming hotel, great location, mixed service”
Location, old world charm
loved the hutong location and charming hotel/rooms. acceptable. some staff was quite helpful, but one seemed particularly unfriendly. food was not the greatest, but some excellent restaurants very close. easy access to transportation.
Reviewed May 10, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Zulaeima from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in March 2011
Lovely hotel”
a lot of help in the lobby, nice food
Friendley peoples in the hotel A bit cold the first day 4 5 mars.
Reviewed March 14, 2011
8.0
Excellent
nari from South Korea
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
room was a little cold”
this hotel has a beautiful garden and very kind staffs
this hotel has a very nice garden, location is good. but room is so cold, they supplied extra blaket. staffs are very kind.
Reviewed March 06, 2011
8.0
Excellent
beatrice from Switzerland
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 15 nights in December 2010
Great location, nostalgic style”
excellent location, traditional architecture
a bit cold in winter (like most of traditional buildings in beijing)
hotel is old fashioned, traditional courtyard, service is ok (but i didn't ask for much), location is excellent and the general atmosphere too. Value for money is good, especially during low season. I appreciate free internet access in the rooms and free computers. Services provided are good and reasonably priced.
Reviewed January 09, 2011
8.0
Excellent
beatrice from Switzerland
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Great location, nostalgic style”
excellent location, traditional architecture
a bit cold in winter (like most of traditional buildings in beijing)
hotel is old fashioned, traditional courtyard, service is ok (but i didn't ask for much), location is excellent and the general atmosphere too. Value for money is good, especially during low season. I appreciate free internet access in the rooms and free computers. Services provided are good and reasonably priced.
Reviewed January 09, 2011
7.7
Very good
beatrice from Switzerland
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Great location, traditional style”
great location, good atmosphere
a bit cold in winter (like most of traditional buildings in beijing)
get the feeling of old beijing while staying in a traditional courtyard with clean, old fashioned rooms. single rooms may be very tiny, but the double are really bright and nice. facilities are quite basic, but services are reasonably priced and there is free internet access, in the rooms or on the public computers. location is very convenient and at walkable distance from 2 subway lines. would definitely stay there.
Reviewed January 09, 2011
6.7
Good
Yichun from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2010
Great location for old Beijing experience”
Located in a nice and quiet Hutong where you can experience the real Beijing. It is easy to access to most of the attractions in the heart of Beijing. Staff are friendly and helpful.
The room and facilities are pretty basic. But for this fair price, you can't really complain about it.
The Beijing caltural experience, nice bars, good food and happening nightlife venue are all within the walking distance. Just take a stroke you'd be able to learn lots about Beijing. It is close to most of the major tourist attractions so that you don't need to deal with the heavy traffic in Beijing all the time.
Reviewed December 01, 2010
7.7
Very good
YI-YIN from Canada
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010
exotic hotel locates in traditonal area”
nice/helpful stuff, "chinese" atomosphere
good hotel to stay, just a bit distance from the bus (it locates in the middle of 2 stops). Far away from train (Beijing blocks are HUGE) the hotel is very cosy, stuffs are so nice that you can even use the tea room without order anything.
Reviewed October 29, 2010
8.0
Excellent
YI-YIN from Canada
Group
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in October 2010
good hotel to experience traditional china”
a historical site, helpful & friendly stuff
a good place to stay if you are looking for the "taste of beijing". the famous hutong area is within walking distance; important sites are close by.
Reviewed October 26, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Frank from Belgium
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2010
Review Lu Song Yuan Hotel in Beijing”
Superb old traditional building
An excellent way to discover the life in a Hutong. Next to the hotel, there is another excellent restaurant: Source, and in the next street, Nan Luo Gu Xiang, plenty of designer shops. restaurants, bars etc... A highlight during our stay!
Reviewed October 05, 2010
7.0
Very good
Khoa from New Zealand
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 7 nights in September 2010
Old World Charm in Beijing”
Amazingly authentic old-world architecture, atmosphere and surroundings
The courtyard was fantastic. We felt like we travelled back in time a thousand years in the old capital. Even in such a busy city as Beijing today, where we were was dead quiet and quaint. We could get everything we needed like extra bottled water etc. directly across the road at the convenience store, whose owner/shopkeeper was an absolutely lovely lady who spoke good English. Restaurants and authentic local eateries were all around us, just minutes of walk away. Bus stops were everywhere, the nearest subway station was 15mins walk from the hotel which then took us all over Beijing. The amazing Qian Hai and Hau Hai lakes were also 15mins walk from the hotel. There is also an amazingly friendly, honest and sincere taxi driver who lives nearby and is always available to take us anywhere else when we didn't feel like exploring on foot. Although we didn't rate everything with the top scores, it was overall still a wonderful experience staying at this hotel, so we strongly recommend it to other travelers to Beijing, especially couples.
Reviewed September 24, 2010
3.0
Verinda from United States
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2010
Lu Song Yuan Review”
Good location
VERY unclean, bedbugs, the shower dripped all over the bathroom floor.
The hotel could be much better given the cutely decorated rooms and nice courtyards. However, the carpet, beds, and towels are not at all clean and the staff was not helpful in providing information on trips to the Great Wall. We booked two nights but had to leave after the 1st night because the we had bites all over us after sleeping in the unsanitary bed. This was not a good experience.
Reviewed August 31, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Sabine from Austria
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in August 2010
great location”
Location in the Hutongs
Hard Beds
the lu song yuan hotel is in a great location in the middle of the hutongs. a very authentic hotel, it feels like stepping back in time. the rooms facing the several courtyards are nice. other then that, i really enjoyed my stay. the hotel is within walking distance to a lovely shopping street with restaurants and bars.
Reviewed August 18, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from Netherlands
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010
Prima keuze”
Sfeervol hotel in sfeervolle chinese wijk centraal gelegen
Relatief duur, net als alles in Beijng, vergeleken met andere delen van China
Wij hebben van ons verblijf in dit hotel genoten. Gelegen in een traditionele chinese Huting wijk, waar je nog de echte chinese sfeer kan proeven, binnen de moderne metropool Beijng. Leuke restaurants en winkels nabij en centraal gelegen tav de verboden stad en andere bezienswaardigheden. Het hotel is sfeervol, ademt klasse uit en heeft ruime en schone kamers. Net als de rest in Beijing relatief duur voor chinese begrippen, maar zeker waar voor je geld.
Reviewed August 11, 2010
7.0
Very good
Richard from Australia
Couple
Courtyard View Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2010
Lovely Hutong Hotel”
Low rise traditional hotel with very helpful English speaking staff
The rooms are getting a bit tired
A world away from the hustle and bustle of Beijing down in the Hutongs. Very trendy shopping and bar / dinning area nearby. We had to go to the hospital for my wife who still had a little something from India th eweek before that she could not shake. We rang the front desk at th ehotel and they translated for the doctor. Great spot.
Reviewed August 10, 2010