Book Now: Magnificent International Hotel

Good
From 480 reviewsSee what guests said
6.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (480)Booking.com Reviews (62)
6.2
Good
From 480 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness5.8
Facilities5.2
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality6.0
Service5.8
Value for money6.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Standard Room
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Family Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 451 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
Md. from Bangladesh
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Value for money”
Weak or no English
Reviewed May 30, 2016
5.3
Cheng from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Hotel staff's integrity questionable. ”
Location: Very near to Laoximen metro and around the corner are local stalls, etc. and less than 30 minutes walk to the city area. My friend and I did lots of walk. Interesting area indeed.
When I checked in and requested for non-smoking room and had paid extra and booked a bigger room with King size bed. They checked me into standard smoking room! I went back to receptionist and she claimed that it is a non smoking hotel and all standard rooms with queen size bed. I told her it is not possible their local guests don't smoke at all and more over there is an ash tray in my room. The agoda advertisement stated standard room with queen size bed and bigger room with King size bed. Does it meant there is a misrepresentation from the hotel to agoda on room sizes, etc. My hotel voucher stated "Business King with Breakfast." She pretended to call some one asking if indeed there was an ash tray in my room. Told her lifts indicated 4 floors with smoking signs and my room was in the smoking floor indication. Told her that I'm being asthmatic and asthma attack could be triggered with cigarette smoke. She then changed my room and guess what! It has King size bed and non smoking floor. The staff integrity is really in question. Lucky I could speak Chinese language and challenged her nonsensical talk. The hotel breakfast buffet menu is the same food throughout my 5 nights stay. Only a couple of vegetables and noodles changed. Otherwise don't expect much. At least the Coffee compensated the food.
Reviewed November 14, 2015
6.0
ut from Macau
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
a”
location
Reviewed October 22, 2015
5.3
heeyeon from South Korea
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
like 2 or 3 stars of hotel”
rocation, price, transfortation
the hotel is rocated very comfortable to get subway station called laoximon. but bathroom condition was terrble. cuz there wasnt shower hose. if u dont mind that its good to stay only for sleep.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
5.0
Daniel from Mexico
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Nothing good about this hotel”
Terrible hotel, I'm used to stay in economical accommodations, didn't really expected much, but this wasn't good at all, dirty, unhelpful staff, wifi not working, bad bad experience
Reviewed August 08, 2015
4.7
Samir from India
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Poor Services”
Location
Only location is good rest everything is worst
Reviewed August 03, 2015
7.3
Very good
Bing from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014
A comfortable stay”
Location, large room and big bathroom
It was a good stay. Breakfast was average, the hotel was old, need a bit of upgrade.
Reviewed July 19, 2015
2.0
JoonSung from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
plz dont use this hotel”
room is really dirty. you can smell it something rotten. breakfast is really disgusting.
Reviewed June 18, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Sang from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
nice hotel”
transportation, place, successful
it was nice good.
Reviewed May 26, 2015
5.3
TAN from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Holiday”
location is still within walking distance, hotel needs to be re renovate
the hotel is a bit old and have to renovate, i think this is just a 2 or 3 star hotel. not much facilities they provided, subway is within walking distance.
Reviewed May 16, 2015
7.3
Very good
Christine from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Good value for the money”
Value, location, neighborhood
Reviewed April 30, 2015
4.7
Raymond from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
So so hotel”
Location to city, subway and affordable price
Hotel breakfast is lousy.
Reviewed March 29, 2015
2.0
Sghu from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Bad experiance”
The stay was not one to remember. There was no hot water in the room when we arrived. Despite complaining the staff were totally disinterested. Another guest had the same issue again no interest shown by the staff. When I showed them the booking and the fact that they were a 4 star hotel the staff laughed and said they were not a 4 star hotel ,just a business traveler hotel. The room was small,dark,smelly and noisy. We had paid in advance for 6 days, but left after the first night.The hotel insisted on charging the 2nd night as a cancellation fee. I challenged this and explained the reason but the hotel would not change its' stance.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Reviewed March 14, 2015
6.3
Good
TANG from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Good location,poor room condition”
Location location location
Good location, poor room condition, uncomfortable air conditioner and the bathroom is not clean.
Reviewed March 11, 2015
4.0
Sobolev from Russia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
horrable hotel”
I was very depressed of these hotel, because it is really not worth sample of 3 star hotel. Breakfast has only few items of food and there is no restraunt. It is like shabby canteen. All information given by this hotel in the internet is a lie. Never stay in this hotel- this is my strong advize to anyone. For the same rate there good hotels in Shanghai in the center of the city.
Reviewed February 11, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Taekjin from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good to stay and located in good area”
Price was reasonable
Good to stay
Reviewed February 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Effy from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Good Hotel”
Good location, near market, near Laoximen MTR Station, near Damatou Restaurant.
Comfort for staying, nice price for 4 star hotel, air conditioner room is cool, the breakfast is nice.
Reviewed January 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Effy from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Good Hotel”
Good location, near market, near Laoximen MTR Station, near Damatou Restaurant.
Comfort, nice price good for 4 star hotel, the room is clean, air conditioner is cool.
Reviewed January 16, 2015
7.3
Very good
Jimun from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Nice location, cheapest”
location, price, view
This is not one of the best hotel, but good price to enjoy Shanghai's tour points. Very nice position to go Human square & Yuiyuen garden, Shincheonji, everything is inner 2 km(1 metro). And traditional market in front of hotel is one of secret treasure. But I cannot recommand this to lovers or family tourists. This is no more better than western style guesthouse for foreigners.(but a bell boy was very kind!)
Reviewed January 11, 2015
6.0
FUCHANG from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Magnificent International Hotel”
No Comment
Reviewed January 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
MURAKI from Japan
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Good enough, my favorite one!”
Staff & atmosphere
My favorite hotel, best in SHA
Reviewed December 13, 2014
4.3
Gareth from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Standard Chinese hotel”
Location
The location is great, close to xintiandi and very easy to get to Pudong. The hotel itself smelled damp and the staff were indifferent and unhelpful. For the price it's 'okay', but don't expect anything beyond a favourable location.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
4.7
HUE from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Bad Services”
Location
Need to wait long for the lift, no wifi in room, breakfast same for everyday
Reviewed November 18, 2014
6.0
Margareth from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
nice hotel”
near food area, kind staff, clean
recommended will be back again
Reviewed November 14, 2014
6.0
Margareth from Indonesia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
nice and warm hotel”
near food centre, kind staff, quiet
recommended
Reviewed November 14, 2014
6.3
Good
Warren from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Cheap and Cheeful ”
Room size, cleanliness, location.
Room was quite spacious and clean despite the general condition of the hotel being quite poor. Staff were not very attentive or professional.
Reviewed November 13, 2014
6.0
aizza from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
stay in china”
food, location and staff
my stay was quite good
Reviewed October 27, 2014
6.0
Tak from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 6 nights in October 2014
On average a good hotel”
location, amenities and shopping
Overall was OK. 1 thing i really don't like is the 2 lifts serving the whole hotel. It is slow and also small. Waiting time can be a drag. Breakfast is terrible. i am not a choosy traveler but this is the first time i actually do not use have my breakfast even though i paid for it. Surrounding is great as many local shops, restaurant and food stalls around. It is nice to mingle around the local shanghainese and not always at the mall with is of higher class. Being alone most of the time, it's great as i can just grab some nice BBQ food back to the room. Room view is great at higher floors. I believe all rooms have good views as per the structure of the hotel. Location is walking distance from LaoXimen train stop (.line8). I like taking the train, so it's close to perfect. Only 2 stops from people's Park which i actually walk to. Another thing is that the hotel do not really have a drive in area to the reception, so have to stop by the road side. So catching a cab in the morning can be a challenge. Most of the time i would walk up to the junction and flag cabs. But of course you can always ask the front desk to call a cab in advance which i don't like to do. Overall, i would go back again as it is convenient enough for me and at the right price.
Reviewed October 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jittraporn from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Good”
Good Location
Good
Reviewed October 26, 2014
7.3
Very good
Kristina from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
location”
location, location, location
It was a stay of convenience, not for anything else, and because of that, I had no high expectations on what the hotel would be like. It was very close to the metro, which is great, and the breakfast buffet was decent.
Reviewed September 25, 2014
5.0
Lucus from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great location”
location location location
Location is fantastic. U can walk to the shopping district
Reviewed September 14, 2014
6.0
Rachel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Can consider this hotel if you want the location”
Near train station, cleaners are helpful, location is good.
Hotal is old. Room does not have internet, computers at common area are not all accessable.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
6.3
Good
cameron from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
My stay at magnificent international hotel ”
Great location and easy to find , and you can walk to most places from here
The hotel is only average ,the staff are helpful but have limited English there is only wifi in common areas but it is handy to trains and most markets and museums
Reviewed September 03, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Jentuan from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Decent Stay”
Good location, Fair breakfast, friendly housekeepers
Reviewed August 27, 2014
7.3
Very good
HYUNTEAK from South Korea
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
good! ”
clean! location
not bad! english not good! so clean! so cheap!
Reviewed August 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Andy from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Nice location and value for money”
Location, Value for Money, Helpful Staff
The building was quite old, i guess. But its room quite spacious and value for money. It is near the MRT stations, and you can reach shopping area (and famous public places) like Nanjing Road or People Square on foot, quite near with the hotel location. Unfortunately, breakfast was quite boring (the menu for 4 days quite the same) and sometimes the food was empty and not quickly refilled. For those who only need a place for sleep, this one still comfortable.
Reviewed August 07, 2014
6.0
Ito from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Strategic location, but old fashioned hotel”
location, near market, and shanghai old street
The hotel room is very terrible, dirty, old, but the great thing is, location is strategic, we can walk to shanghai old street, and find local food easily.
Reviewed August 06, 2014
3.3
Kwong from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Not so good”
Hotel bed and cupboard is very old. Toilet is dirty at all time. AC not working well
Reviewed July 17, 2014
6.7
Good
Liew from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
ok”
is ok. Nothing
Reviewed July 17, 2014
7.3
Very good
clarence from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Hotel is simple and rate is competitive”
Big Room
The hotel is a little old looking in the room. There is no wifi and I could not connect using their broad band. This is a big disadvantage. Breakfast is simple but complimentary. The gym is really skeleton and hardly inspiring for one to work out there. The management should make the gym more attractive for one to work out during spare time. The hotel is located near to food street and very lively at night. The metro line 8 is not far away - 8 to 10 mins walk.
Reviewed July 07, 2014
6.7
Good
Hwe from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
A little bit under expectation but OK overall.”
Close to public transport, walking distance to attractions, nice view from hotel room.
The hotel was very near the Laoximen subway station and also within walking distance to the Yuyuan Garden and Xintiandi shopping centre which makes this a good option if you like to travel around and enjoy sightseeing more than just staying at the hotel. Breakfast was just OK, with no variation at all as we are served same types of food everyday and it gets boring. The room itself is quite comfortable and clean and we enjoyed it because during our visit it was raining a lot in Shanghai so we have to stay at the hotel most of the time. You can also visit the nearby marketplace to buy food from the local restaurants and there's some convenience store nearby as well.
Reviewed July 03, 2014
5.0
Yap from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Budget stay with more comfortable environment. ”
0.5km walkable distance to metro station.
Normal, nothing specific, the breakfast is simple.
Reviewed June 19, 2014
6.3
Good
Marta from Spain
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Affordable hotel in the city center”
Price and location
Great location very close to Huaihai Lu and People's Square. 5 min to Laoximen subway stop. Night snacks street just besides the hotel! The room was ok and the bed quite big. The bathroom was pretty small but ok. There is no wifi in the room (at least in the 11th floor), but there is in the hall. The breakfast was just so,so.
Reviewed June 10, 2014
4.7
Erguen from Germany
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Room was ok, but no flair ”
access to subway
No friendly staff, room was ok and large. But no flair at the hotel. Breakfast was more chinese food, except eggs. Expect that better hotels for the price range are available in Shanghai.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
5.7
Cuong from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
The hotel is in good location”
well located, friendly staffs,
Reviewed May 27, 2014
5.3
andrew from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
old hotel. no ramp on hotel entrance. ”
big room size. location ok. free slow wifi
hotel room good size. furniture and interior design very old, need to be updated. no ramp on the hotel entrance which makes it difficult to carry the luggage and baby stroller up the stairs to the hotel entrance. breakfast is ok. free bottle water. free very slow wifi in room. location close to metro and dining. staff were very ignorant. did not help carry luggage or stroller up the stairs. did not even bother helping open up the door to the hotel...
Reviewed May 25, 2014
2.7
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Magnificent International Hotel”
very disspointing hotel, disspointing stuff, room
Reviewed May 16, 2014
5.7
Pinanya from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
It wasnt very good”
Cheap
It was ok. I thought it was going to be nearly to the mrt but it wasnt.
Reviewed May 16, 2014
6.3
Good
TANG from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
clean ,but old and no wifi”
fast check in,clean,good location
Not bad,but it is so inconvinient that no wifi in the room.!All in all, it is good
Reviewed May 16, 2014
7.3
Very good
WILLY from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Simple, fuss-free, worth it”
location, location, location
Been a regular customer here due to its location and economical price. Not much to say about the hotel, nothing to complain about either.
Reviewed May 12, 2014