Book Now: Majesty Plaza Shanghai Hotel

Very good
From 1129 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
Recommended by 84% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1129)Booking.com Reviews (1532)
7.6
Very good
From 1129 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.3
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.1
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Deluxe Queen Bed
Executive Queen Bed
Studio
Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 885 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Edwin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Great Location ”
Staying in this hotel maybe more than 10 times due to the great location and great services.
Reviewed April 03, 2018
6.4
Good
Tang from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Staff ”
the staff and service provided is poor.Not Value for the money and the only good is location .
Reviewed April 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
Leong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Spacious, Clean, convenient location ”
I really like the heated swimming pool. Hotel breakfast at RMB128 is costly. We had our breakfast at the Tim Sum restaurant on 2nd flr. As the room windows are not able to be opened, cool air from air-conditioned is a plus point even during this winter time.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
7.2
Very good
Raiwin from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
very convenience and I like it.”
very close to people street, good choice to shopping after finished your business. I also like the mood of the hotel.
Reviewed March 02, 2018
5.6
Raymond from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Rude staff”
Good location but rude staff and aircon does not work very well
Reviewed February 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
andreas from Indonesia
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
near with shopping street”
very near with shopping street, couple minutes walk to the fashion store
Reviewed February 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Valentyna from Qatar
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Amazing experience!”
I loved staying at this hotel - in the center of the city, a very close walk to Bund!
Reviewed February 08, 2018
6.0
Tan from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Very for money”
Great location. Staff very friendly but room rather old.
Reviewed January 20, 2018
4.8
Nazreenisha from Singapore
Group
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
MORE TO DISSAPOINTING!”
WE HAD 2 ROOMS FOR 2 COUPLES. WE REACHED THE HOTEL AND NO PORTER WAS THERE TO HELP US WITH 4 OF OUR LUGGAGE!! WE HAD TO CARRY OURSELEVES IN! WE WENT TO OUR ROOM, MY ROOM WAS OK BUT THE OTHER ROOM THE BED IS SUPER LOW AND SHAKING TERRIBLY! AIRCON IN THAT ROOM WAS NOT EVEN WORKING WE HAD TO KEEP CALLING AND CALLING AND THEY TOOK ALMOST AN HOUR TO COME UP TO REPAIR THE AIRCON THAT ALSO DOESNT WORK AFTER REPAIR! I WENT TO THE RECEPPTION TO ASK Y BOTH THE ROOMS THE BED IS SO DIFFERENT THE BED IN THE OTHER ROOM LOOKS LIKE A 3 STAR HOTEL AND SERVICE IS TERRIBLE, HE SAID HERE IS LIKE THAT & CHINA CANT OPEN WINDOW TERRORIST WILL COME! WHAT THE HELL .. WHAT I ASKED AND WHAT HE REPLIED DOESNT EVEN LINK AT ALL!! I DIDNT EVEN TALK ABOUT OPENING THE WINDOW!! HONESTLY TO SAY THIS IS A 5 STAR HOTEL IS RIDICULOUS!!! ITS LIKE A 3 STAR!! OTHER THEN THE LOCATION NOTHING IS GREAT IN THIS HOTEL! IT LOOK HAUNTED ACTUALLY!!! WITH ONLY 1 PERSON WORKING IN THE NIGHT!
Reviewed January 10, 2018
4.8
Olof from Japan
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Not good”
Sheets smell of cigarette smoke, bathroom not working good, not nice staff, tvings like buttons etc of poor quality and broke
Reviewed January 07, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Kenny from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Great Location”
Checkin in the afternoon was smooth, location is superb.. It is right on the Nanjing Road, major tourist attaction, close to all food, shopping, attractions and subway.
Reviewed January 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Edwin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Great Location ”
I have been staying in this hotel for many times as the location is great and just short walking distance from the train station. The staff is pretty helpful and friendly. Just walk out the hotel in the back or front, there is plenty of restaurant and mall
Reviewed January 05, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Lixin from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Door on Nan Jin east road side”
The hotel shall keep the door open on Nan Jing east road side for longer
Reviewed January 02, 2018
7.2
Very good
NOPPORN from Thailand
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Shopping area”
Close to Metro People Square , the opposite is the place we can find the food.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ming from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Very satisfied”
Its worth the price i paid. The hotel location is wonderful. they have dim sum restaurants, japanese restaurants and many decent bars and pubs right at the door step of the hotel.
Reviewed December 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
tariq from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
excellent hotel ”
very cood location very good size of the room i will book next time same hotel
Reviewed December 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Goh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Worth Your Money! Great Hotel To Stay !!”
Cleanness of the hotel room is clean, the Location of the hotel is located at the Nanjing Road which is the main shopping street of Shanghai. MRT Station is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Overall Satisfied with my stay !! Recomended
Reviewed December 13, 2017
6.8
Good
Apichart from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
WiFi”
Poor wifi signal all area of the hotel
Reviewed November 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Wan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Great stay at shanghai”
Lovely hotel and great location
Reviewed November 17, 2017
6.0
Sui from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Above average”
Near the city center; shopping, sightseeing, restaurants & bars nearby·Easily accessible by car·Near public transit & the train station
Reviewed November 15, 2017
6.0
weng from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Above average”
i need a invoice for claim from my office , can you send to me ?
Reviewed November 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ellys from Indonesia
Group
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Excellent”
Convenient location
Reviewed November 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
sasivarun from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Very good”
If you like to visit and shopping at walking street, this is the place for you. The hotel room is a bit old but clean. The downside is their staffs - super unfriendly esp at the check in counter only when you buy sth from them then it is a bit better
Reviewed October 11, 2017
6.0
Edward from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Above average”
Aircon did not work during my stay. Even though we requested front desk, still aircon was not fixed.
Reviewed October 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
CHIANG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Friendly staff and near to town”
very convenience hotel near the town, walking distance to Shanghai night scene , hotel room very clean
Reviewed September 21, 2017
5.6
Aekjirat from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Must improve all the staff and manner ”
Good location but bad staff ever 5 star hotel but no staff service even when you catch the taxi
Reviewed September 03, 2017
5.2
javith from Qatar
Family with young children
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Above average”
Air Condition was not working. When I complain to reception, I was told that there are too many people in the room hence the A/C is adaquate. I had to leave the room and stay outside for one hour keeping the A/C on to prove that indeed the air condition was not working. Then the front desk changed the room, by then it was about 1am. They treat customer as if they are giving rooms for charity.
Reviewed August 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
soonwook from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Good location & best staffs”
This hotel is located beside on People's Squre. Very hot place. And all of staffs have a good attitude.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
6.8
Good
Chiew from Malaysia
Group
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Good”
The hotel is very strategically located. Swimming pool must wear cap not informed earlier. The TV kept auto off. other than the above, is a very strategically located hotel. would be good if include the breakfast. Agoda exchange rate varies from booking to actual charge.
Reviewed July 03, 2017
6.8
Good
Ng from Singapore
Couple
Executive Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good”
Housekeeping keep on asking & ringing for room cleaning event we had hang " Do not disturb"
Reviewed July 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Edwin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
Great Location”
The hotel is located just 5 min walk to the subway station. There is plenty of shopping and restaurant around the hotel.
Reviewed June 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
ONG from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Everything is good except the aircon cannot be adjusted, the room temperature has been fixed. ”
Toilet flushing not strong,, the poo cannot be flushed off and toilet bowl seat need to Be replaced.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
ONG from Singapore
Group
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Exceptional”
Good location, clean hotel and. Friendly staff
Reviewed May 12, 2017
4.4
Rendy from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
expensive but poor service”
spent 1 week in China and stayed in 5 different hotels. This hotel is one of the most expensive but the worst ever. Staff is too money oriented. He gave me twin bed but I requested double bed, he lied and said that my booking is twin bed while my booking clearly mention 1 double bed or twin bed. He requested additional charge to get double bed.... room is very standard it is not 5 star, may be 3 or max 4 star. Only location is the plus point for this hotel.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Tony from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
meet 5 Star Standard ”
At first was disappointed with the room but a very friendly Asst Manager change n upgraded my room. Their friendliness and service meets 5 star standard. hotel is abit old design but spacious. For those who wants to do shopping or do sightseeing ..this is the right hotel to stay...
Reviewed May 09, 2017
4.4
JOSE from Peru
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Very so so”
Well located for checking the bund. Hotel is quite naff very china style. But for the location price is ok. Found a cuckoraoch in bathroom this time.
Reviewed May 01, 2017
6.4
Good
Jorge from Spain
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Well located but basic”
Basic hotel in a very good location. Good for overnight and simple bus trips
Reviewed April 26, 2017
7.6
Very good
Mun from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Good location ”
Very convenient. Close to shopping, lots of restaurants around. Easy to get into public transport
Reviewed April 19, 2017
7.6
Very good
Pei from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Good location and spacious rooms”
The location is excellent, next to raffles city and people square station. Next to nanjing pedestrian street, will stay here again.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Maribelle from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017
Excellent”
excellent location, walking distance to metro station
Reviewed April 07, 2017
6.4
Good
SWI from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Good”
Good location but room is due for refurbishing. Near to Nanjing Road and People Square MRT (Exit 20).
Reviewed March 29, 2017
6.4
Good
Jae from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Good”
good location for sight seeing.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
6.0
Qweenie from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Above average”
Location is super convenient, within walking distance to The Bund, and Nanjing shopping street is just outside the hotel. However, staff service and attitude is extremely lacking especially those on duty on 17 & 18 Feb 2017.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Excellent value and good location”
Didn't use hotel restaurant so can't review. Everything else great
Reviewed January 20, 2017
7.6
Very good
Richard from United States
Couple
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Nice, but not 4-5 star”
It was a nice place but the front desk was a bit rude (I live in China so I am used to the stand-off help) and as they did not know we understood Chinese, I can tell you they were rude in more than one language.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Lip from Singapore
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 8 nights in December 2016
Location is excellent. Staff are helpful. Room condition can be improved.”
We check-in very late at 2.30am on 25/12/16 and was given a double room on the 16th floor and was told that this is the only double room available because the hotel was fully booked. We were wake up by the drilling noise at 8am and was told there is a renovation work on the 17th & 18th floors. We immediately requested to change room to 21th story. It was quite then.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Warwick from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Solid 5 star hotel”
Clean, tidy, helpful staff, good location, quiet, well priced. Spot on for a business week in shanghai.
Reviewed January 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Hyungwoo from South Korea
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Best Choice!!!”
Thank you for your kind help and hospitality...!!
Reviewed December 26, 2016
4.0
Anh from Germany
Couple
Superior Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Old hotel, bad service”
- old hotel and rooms -unfriendly staff, your are just a number - loud construction noises inside the hotel - much overpriced
Reviewed December 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Steve from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Excellent location, nice room”
I spent three nights in a deluxe room which was very clean and comfortable . The location of the hotel is excellent - direct access onto Nanjing Rd pedestrian street with its numerous shops and restaurants,, and the Bund is bout a 15 minute walk away (or you can catch a bus - the bus stop is 50m from the hotel's main entrance). People's Square Metro Station is about a three or four minute walk away. The reception staff were the only let down - efficient but disinterested. A smile and a little eye contact would go a long way. But apart from that, great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Reviewed December 20, 2016