Book Now: Mercure Beijing Downtown Hotel

Very good
From 159 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (159)Booking.com Reviews (190)
7.6
Very good
From 159 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.6
Location7.3
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.5
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Junior King Suite
Privilege King Room
Superior King Room
Superior Twin Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 105 verified guest comments
8.7
Excellent
Taeheon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
max value hotel”
reasonable price/ easy accessbility/freehottea
I will stay there again
Reviewed November 25, 2015
5.3
Gavin from Australia
Business traveler
Privilege King Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Out of the way”
Nice room if a little small
This hotel is laid out more like an old fashioned motel. Low rise and spread out. Which is fine, except I was left on my own to try to find my room. They may as well given me a map, compass and canteen of water. The hotel is out of the way, so unless you have something to do specifically in this area, I'd consider something else.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
6.7
Good
nichakarn from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
hotel location is quite far from subway.”
clean , big room
Reviewed November 06, 2015
7.7
Very good
saw from Malaysia
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Good service, poor location”
Check in was fast, friendly staff. There is a shuttle bus service which can be book earlier.
Not really enjoy much of the hotel cause we are out in the morning and back on night. The hotel is another too far from the subway station, especially after whole day travel and need to walk back to the hotel from subway station is abit too tiered.
Reviewed October 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
ademola from Nigeria
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
wonderful stay”
comfotable, serene and good breakfast
We had a good time at the hotel and the staff are very helpful.the nearest train station is 10-15 minutes walk which could be tiring for women
Reviewed October 02, 2015
6.0
Su-Yin from Singapore
Business traveler
Privilege King Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Overrated”
size of the room
the service is not up to a 4stars standard. food is lousy from room service to their breakfast. can forget about the breakfast. No one assist you on your luggage upon arrival at the hotel. doubt will come back again.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Tatiana from Canada
Couple
Privilege King Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Good value”
Room comfort, room cleanliness, breakfast options
Reviewed September 04, 2015
6.0
Jiawei from China
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Good location ”
Good location
Good location
Reviewed July 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Kit from Canada
Solo traveler
Privilege King Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Good quality ”
Room is big, clean and tidy.
Pretty nice.
Reviewed May 29, 2015
5.7
BOON from Singapore
Solo traveler
Privilege King Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Hotel in downtown Chaoyang”
Location in vincinity of exhbition hall, away from the busy streets,
I had a stopover stay in this hotel on the way back from my ski trip and I left for the airport the following day. The swimming pool in this hotel is a nice change from the cold. The warm waters helped to relax my tired muscles from the skiing. I will be back to this hotel again when I go skiing north of Beijing.
Reviewed May 13, 2015
8.3
Excellent
henry from United States
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
AWESOME ROOM, WIFI IS GREAT, COMFORTABLE BED”
PRICE, LOCATION, ROOM COMFORT
nice hotel, good location since it is easy to find by taxi, rooms are great, service is good to, wifi signal is strong, staff is nice, big and comfortable bed....the gym is not that great and the pool is made for children so do not expect any leisure or fitness areas....i would love to stay here again since it takes about 10 min walk to MRT, and the price is perfect.
Reviewed May 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
henry from United States
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
AWESOME ROOM, WIFI IS GREAT, COMFORTABLE BED”
BIG ROOM, LOCATION, PRICE IS GREAT
nice hotel, good location since it is easy to find by taxi, rooms are great, service is good to, wifi signal is strong, staff is nice, big and comfortable bed....the gym is not that great and the pool is made for children so do not expect any leisure or fitness areas....i would love to stay here again since it takes about 10 min walk to MRT, and the price is perfect.
Reviewed May 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
Hui from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Value For Money ”
clean , comfort , new
Reviewed December 12, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Natalie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Quality Hotel in peaceful setting”
Room size, facilities, free WIFI
The room was a good size, with ensuite and tea and coffee making facilities. Climate control and flat screen TV, with some good channels for all nationalities. It was quiet at night, so you could sleep well.
Reviewed November 13, 2014
6.0
Alexander from Indonesia
Family with young children
Privilege King Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Average hotel”
Average room, average breakfast, average location
Reviewed October 09, 2014
7.3
Very good
Choongsic from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 8 nights in September 2014
good hotel”
ok
Good
Reviewed September 26, 2014
4.3
john from Australia
Business traveler
Privilege King Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
needs refurb; poor staff attitude”
indoor pool
Reviews are fairly accurate but still do not go far enough. Apart from 2 excellent staff encountered over 1 week, others have the bad attitude frequently encountered in Chinese hotels. Went downhill from check-in - took ages - lost my booking; never seen an APEC Card, etc; then the room: wallpaper peeling in bathroom, curtains torn, bed replacement long overdue. Used the Club lounge 2 nights - the only person there - for obvious reason - no comfortable lounge chairs, poor savories selection, one can of tonic water only - and not one staff member approached me once either night. Clearly no one cares here.
Reviewed July 03, 2014
4.7
Basile from France
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
ok”
none
Convenient, but internet is very very bad: therefore can not provide a proper business environment
Reviewed June 16, 2014
5.3
KHIN from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
The hotel under renovation. Try to avoid”
Attentive staffs, fast check in/out
The staffs are great and attentive. The premises really need to be upgraded. Transportation not quite convenient.
Reviewed June 06, 2014
7.3
Very good
Adrian from Romania
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
interesting location”
location
great
Reviewed May 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
Adrian from Romania
Business traveler
Junior King Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
nice staff and rooms”
comfort
comfortable room, reasonable price
Reviewed May 16, 2014
6.3
Good
Vernon from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Poor internet access”
Central
Poor internet access. Usual disinterested, but competent staff.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
5.7
Vernon from Singapore
Business traveler
Privilege King Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Disinterested staff. ”
Location.
Disinterested staff. Interaction with them was tiresome.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Tan from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Pleasant and comfortable”
Near CBD, a few great restaurant within walking distance and easy access to airport
Staffs have good command of English and checking in and out is fast. Clean room with big bath area. Temperature control during the winter month is comfortable. Though far away from shopping center, a few restaurants are within walking distance. There is a strip of smaller restaurant opening to supper till late night behind the hotel (8-10mins walk)serving bar-b-que dishes. Getting a taxi in the morning rush hour may be difficult as few taxi are familiar with this area.
Reviewed November 30, 2013
7.3
Very good
Mun from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Meet the basic of a business hotel”
Location, Clean n helpful staff
pleasant, friendly staff, good facitlities, central location
Reviewed September 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Joseph from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Clean, Very value for money, location”
Clean, Very value for money, location
Reviewed September 03, 2013
6.3
Good
Siu from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
It's close to the office.”
It has free shuttle bus to different office building
It's fine.
Reviewed June 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Florence from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Convenienve , Comfortable”
Size of the room , cleaningness , location.
The hotel should provide Wifi internet for every room .
Reviewed April 25, 2013
7.7
Very good
Di from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
a good location, and value for money”
clean, and a full facility
A good access to downtown, and room is clean and enough space. I will come back for sure.
Reviewed December 21, 2012
8.0
Excellent
JUN from China
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Nice hotel ”
good location
great hotel, nice service, The exterior of this hotel is nice. but the rooms are a bit shabby with peeling wallpaper, need to repair. the room is big with workdesk, good for business trip.
Reviewed October 26, 2012
7.7
Very good
gregory from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Large rooms”
Location
The rooms were large and clean with everything you would expect in a high end hotel the location was great there is a food street right behind hotel with street food and BBQ this has been the best hotel we have stayed in in Beijing we would stay here again
Reviewed August 19, 2012
5.0
Shuzhen from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Only passable ”
Comfortable rooms
- the concierge had a perpetual scrowl on his face everytime I approach him for any questions and answers are always in a condescending tone - the location is not one of the best
Reviewed July 24, 2012
6.3
Good
Qingyun from China
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Good room, but bad food”
Location
Fooqd is terrible, which is the worst experience in Accor Hotel
Reviewed July 19, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Avinash from Guyana
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Great hotel with wonderful service!”
Everything was outstanding.
I had stayed here during my last night in Beijing and it was fantastic! We arrived while it was raining and the staff had ran outside to help us as quickly as they could. The service was great and rooms were the perfect setting! I highly recommend Mercure :)
Reviewed July 19, 2012
6.3
Good
Han from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Location not the best but a nice hotel indeed”
International 4 star standards
Other then the location everything is up to our expectation as an international business traveller; nice room. However one bad experience is with the car park attendance. If not for the rude, uncouth, untrained personnel that would have made the stay a very good one.
Reviewed August 17, 2011
7.7
Very good
MA. from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
great hotel very near beijing capital airport”
lobby, flower vases, rooms
hard to find-taxi and cabs-dont know hotel location
we availed the mercure downtown hotel at xmas promo price.very clean room, lobby very nice, but hotel chinese staff , taxi cabs drivers ---dont speak english
Reviewed January 02, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
JOY from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010
Friendly hotel with convenient location”
Customer service, Executive Wing, reasonably priced
Suggest British tea in the bedrooms!
I arrived from the UK and the journey from Beijing Airport was reasonable. The hotel is new, modern and has a decent area with different wings set around a pretty water and flower feature and courtyard. I was given a room upgrage to the Executive Wing where I was able to have free breakfast and evening snacks which added value to the price. Most certainly I would stay there again. The bed was very comfortable, room clean and internet fine. Unlike many Beijing 'skyscraper' hotels it is fairly low rise which I much prefer (asking to be moved from the 19th floor at a later hotel).
Reviewed October 17, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Robert from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2010
Good hotel for transit”
New hotel and close to airport
Not many facilitities
A new hotel so very clean and comfortable. I stayed one night to transit to Ulaanbaatar and it was convenient since it is close to the airport. Low traffic area which was excellent for me as I need a quiet room. First time I stayed in this area and there was not much around except local restaurants, shops and apartment buildings.
Reviewed September 25, 2010
7.0
Very good
Shek from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
As of Sept 2010, 90% of the taxi drivers don't kno”
A quite spot away from the busy Beijing
This is not a comment on the hotel directly, but 9 out of 10 taxi drivers that we came across didn't know the location of the hotel (even if you show them a map). If that's the case, try telling them to go to the nearby subway station first. Then you will need to show them the way.
Reviewed September 23, 2010
5.7
Nick, from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2010
Hotel's Recognition”
Relatively new, spacious and well laid out.
Location and poor general recognition by locals. More awareness is definitely needed.
In your Hotel Voucher, the hotel has a Chinese name in VERY SMALL PRINT which is very difficult to read. As this hotel is not well known among the taxi circle, it was a nightmare finding the hotel. The location away from the mail roads did not help. Taxis are also very difficult to find around the hotel area, again because of the "hidden" locality of the hotel. The free internet facilities provided to guests is just for show because the lines either are too slow and does not work at all. We were told that the connection in the business centre,which is charged, is better. I actually tried it and it is true, it is a lot better!!
Reviewed September 04, 2010
5.7
Andrew from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2010
Poor location”
New hotel, good deal
Terrible location, staff services poor,
hotel is in a terrible location. no taxi knows this hotel. therefore, there are not many people staying here, so the service and amenity are subpar. concierge was useless as i asked them to grab me a taxi, and they had said it would be faster for me to wait outside on street by the curb than to have them call for a taxi. also, in my hotel room, i put in "do not disturb", but housekeeping was just swiping their keycard to see which rooms they can go in to clean. then, the gym is terrible, small, and equipment is really old, and the towels smelled damp and mold. lastly, the rooms are not soundproof. you are able to hear the sirens, car honks, and noise from next door.
Reviewed August 31, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Alice from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2010
New hotel with nice rooms”
Like it new and clean. Free broadband in room and wireless at lobby
Taxi drivers are not familar with hotel and hotel is not along the main road as it is hidden behind a building
Great price and a very comfortable stay. Staff is very helpful. However, as it is new hotel, not many taxi drivers are aware that there is a hotel there and it is hard to get a taxi, especially if you are rushing to go to the airport in the evening or when it is raining in BJ.
Reviewed July 20, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Maria from Spain
Couple
Privilege King Room
Stayed 8 nights in May 2015
Hotel muy confortable ”
La amplitud de la habitacion, la atencion de la recepcion y la limpieza
Agradable y confortable
Reviewed June 10, 2015
5.2
jeremy from France
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Une arnaque ”
Le prix de la chambre n'ai pas le meme une fois arrivé sur place mais vous n'avez plus le choix une fois sur place. Restaurant immonde, les burgers les plus dégoûtants jamais goûtés. Un onion presque entier dedans, aucune sauce.. le personnel ne parle pas anglais et nous servent de l'eau chaude, de l'eau citronée .. tout sauf de l'eau plate. Ils veulent faire payer 3 mini bouts de pains durs et secs depuis 2 jours. Les chambres sont très bien les lits parfaits, la femme de ménage remet juste la couette un peu droite c'est tout
Reviewed November 25, 2016
8.7
Excellent
alisson from France
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
Hotel Mecure”
Proprete, confort
Hotel tres propre et confortable. Le personnel parle anglais ce qui est appreciable apres divers mesaventures chinoise. Le wifi est disponible a l hotel mais il vaut mieux emporter un cable pour ce connecter depuis la chambre car le wifi n est pas accessible partout. Vous pouvez neanmoins vous poser confortablement dans le lobby. L hotel n est pas facile a trouver lorsqu on ne connait pas car il est situe dans une rue perpendiculaire a la rue Xi Da Wang et l enseigne visible de loin est ecrite en chinois.
Reviewed September 20, 2010
6.3
Good
ADELINE from France
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2010
hôtel de standing ACCOR mais emplacement encore dé”
standing ACCOR: belles chambres propres et neuves, piscine et sauna, petit déj OK
réception à revoir (personnel mou) et comme l'hôtel est neuf, beaucoup de taxis ont du mal à le trouver
Trouver un hôtel propre, de bon rapport qualité prix, bien situé à Pékin relève du casse tête. Celui ci en fait partie. Ok pour le buffet petit déj, la piscine et sauna, le calme et propreté des chambres, mais la réactivité du personnel laisse à désirer, ainsi que l'emplacement de l'hôtel.
Reviewed August 02, 2010
6.4
Good
tamiko from Japan
Group
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
残念な一階の部屋”
去年の宿泊で好印象があったので、一階の部屋を与えられた今回は残念な印象が残りましたー老朽化した部屋、小さ目の窓(しかも開けられない)などー。ただ、入口を出て右隣にある中華レストラン(江南料理)は、どの料理(スィーツも含めて)も日本人の味覚に合い、好評でしたのでお勧めします。
Reviewed September 10, 2016
6.0
TAI from South Korea
Family with young children
Privilege King Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
まあまあ”
位置は駅から徒歩15分でまあまあのホテルでした。
Reviewed June 20, 2016
6.0
TAI from South Korea
Family with young children
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
NO SHOWで無駄使いに”
予約を忘れて別のホテルで泊まり、NO SHOWで無駄使いになりました。 書くことありません。
Reviewed June 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
HIROAKI from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
ビジネス、旅行にも最適”
朝食が美味しく種類が豊富。地下鐡10号線 双井駅から徒歩20分。料金が安い。
最適なホテルでした。部屋は清潔で、必要なものは揃ってます。朝食も充実しています。駅からも比較的近く、大きなスーパーも有るのでちょっとした買い物も出来ます。本当に良いホテルでした。 何を言えば部屋に有線LANは有るのですが、Wi-Fiが無いことでしょうか。これは改善の余地があります。
Reviewed October 05, 2015