Book Now: Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel

Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Reviews

Excellent
From 329 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
Recommended by 89% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (329)Booking.com Reviews (374)
8.3
Excellent
From 329 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.0
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.4
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
Deutsch
more
Room type
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Classic 2 Single Beds
Classic Queen Bed
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 299 verified guest comments
7.2
Very good
Anthony from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Nice hotel but a lot of walking”
Nice hotel though bathroom smelled terrible. Long walk to get out of the compound.
Reviewed May 27, 2016
6.4
Good
TAN from Malaysia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Actually is a good location”
I'm not staying Mercure I'm request upgrade to grand Mercure...the hotel is really nice and clean...just the lamp is abit dark and the staff abit slow...all the things is well..!
Reviewed May 21, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Lenny from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
very satisfied”
Mercure on Renming Square Xian is a very nice hotel, in terms of location and value for money, esp. for business trips. It is located in a compound along with Grand Mercure and Sofitel. It is easy to find even though if you don't know the Chinese name of the hotel, local people (incl. taxi driver know 'Sofitel'). It is close to the North railway station, the Bell Tower. the Drum Tower, and the Muslim night market. Staff was also friendly and helpful. They speak English. I was so glad to have chosen the hotel and stayed there for 4 nights.
Reviewed May 09, 2016
8.7
Excellent
HSU from Taiwan
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
nice trip”
service, tube, quiet
Reviewed January 07, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Elsie from Singapore
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Fabulous quality”
Great value during the winter season; comfortable stay and fabulous amenities; historical grounds
Love the hotel quality and standard. Quite a walk about to different areas. And away from crowded locations. Feels secure and professional.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Quick stop over ”
Reception staff were exceptionally helpful, rooms were clean and excellent buffet breakfast.
We arrived late and I realised I'd booked the wrong hotel. We only had one day to see the Terracotta Warrior Museum. but this hotel turned out to be excellent. Next morning, changing money was easy and reception staff organised a return taxi to the Museum where an English speaking guide took us around the museum site, costing less than advertised tours. In the evening we walked and found a great place to eat. Next morning our taxi was waiting to take us back to the airport...hassle free and no rip-offs. It was perfect.
Reviewed December 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
yiyi from Australia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
good value for money”
location, room size, breakfast
excellent hotel. located in a nice complex. room is big and quiet.
Reviewed October 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
ABHISHEK from India
Business traveler
Classic Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Good Hotel at a nice Location !”
Location, Staff, Infrastructure
Very Good !
Reviewed October 11, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Janice from United States
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Enjoying X'ian”
Conveince to the city, staff friendlyness, breakfast
Enjoyed our stay. Clean and very helpful staff. Friendly and smiling. Wonderful breakfast in the morning. Use of the facilities was very nice. Bed very hard was the only drawback.
Reviewed September 15, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Mary from Australia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Xian Comfort Stopover”
Quiet location, Friendly staff and well set out room.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
7.0
Very good
Tracy from United States
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
a great 2 days in Xi'an”
location, comfort and staff service
When I first arrived the Hotel did not have my reservation. So they helped me get access to a computer so that I could get my email and get the res. number. After making a great effort we were able to get me into a room and they worked on finding the reservation. They eventually found it and all was good. I enjoyed the location and easy access to many things. I had a great time in Xi'an.
Reviewed August 30, 2015
7.3
Very good
Hope from Australia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Stay at Mecure”
Room Service, Quiet, Friendly staff
Reviewed August 12, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Martin from Canada
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Another Xian Treasure”
Comfort, on-site amenities, value
Very enjoyable. I enjoyed my stay and so did my partner. The staff were quite professional and helpful and the hotel grounds are quite special in what is a charming Chinese city. Like many hotels in China, they need to work on the installation of their shower door as it leaks water all over the floor (poor sealing), maybe a TV upgrade but otherwise, they know how to cater to their customers. Oh, I would recommend the management at Mercure also advertise the other services of the Sofitel hotels on the premises such as. Spas and such to better inform guests of what is on offer to hotel guests. If I return to Xian, it will be to this hotel.
Reviewed August 11, 2015
7.7
Very good
Solomon from Afghanistan
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
OK for price”
Location, Clean and Price
OK, but room was a bit small and didnt have much natural light. Good for the price.
Reviewed July 10, 2015
7.3
Very good
Stella from Australia
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
3 night stay”
The ambience, using the Sofitel and other hotel facilities, reception staff.
Great hotel, well located to all locations including: Muslim quarter, bus and rail stops. Hotel lovely needs some refurbishment to bring it up to a more modern standard.
Reviewed July 05, 2015
7.3
Very good
Mei from Malaysia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Time for refurbishment”
Tight security, efficient staff,
Staff are all very friendly.. The hotel need to do some refurbishment to its room.
Reviewed June 02, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
julie from Australia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Very good for stay”
Clean, comfortabl, friendly
Reviewed April 23, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Chan from Canada
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
A reasonably priced hotel with a beautiful setting”
Garden, food, service
Everything was great except I find the pillows too soft. I need to stack up all four pillows but still find it not so comfortable. The hotel should also include basic amenities like shampoo , conditioner and body lotion. It only has a soap box in the shower.
Reviewed April 03, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Tsang from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel”
big room, small beds, nice location
there is a street with many delicious food, even at midnight. The staff is patient to introduce to us the transportation and tourist site.
Reviewed March 13, 2015
8.3
Excellent
stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015
good hotel”
price location clean
i enjoyed my 5 nights , the location was great , the staff were friendly and helpful , I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN ,NO PROBLEM
Reviewed March 04, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Shiao from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
superb hotel stay”
Great location, clean and value of money
The staff are friendly and room are big for 2 people, but for 3 people, the room seems small
Reviewed December 31, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Shiao from Malaysia
Group
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Great hotel with value of momey”
Big bath room, good security, near to bus stand
Superb hotel with strategic location, room not that big but have big bathroom area, very good and will recommend people to stay
Reviewed December 29, 2014
7.0
Very good
Eddie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Good location”
Good location, near local eateries, accessible to places of interests
Reviewed November 18, 2014
7.3
Very good
Sophie from France
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Standard hotel in Xi'an center”
Location, Cleanliness
What is nice with hotel chains is that you exactly know in advance what you will have... Rooms are clean, bed is good and bathroom is according to western standards. The location is OK, except for the first time you arrive (your best indication to tell to taxi is to say it is right next to Sofitel). About 20 minutes by walk to go to the place where all bus depart to Terracotta warriors location.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
8.3
Excellent
LiLing from Malaysia
Group
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Huge compound and value for money rates ”
Value for money, nice ambience and good service
The staff could speak pretty good English. The compound is huge and we requested for a buggy to take us to the main entrance and the staff obliged even though the buggys are meant for Sofitel and Grand Mercure guests. The beds are a bit on the hard side which I guess is the norm in china. And there are only 8 twin share rooms in the hotel so we had to take the Double Bed room
Reviewed August 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
LiLing from Malaysia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Value for money”
Close to Bell Tower, public bus stop nearby, value for money
Hotel is close enough to the city centre. Glad we were allowed to use the facilities at next door sofitel. It was a nice getaway from the busy busy streets of xian
Reviewed August 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
LiLing from Malaysia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Oasis in busy city of Xian”
Amenities, comfort and value for money
We found a wonderful restaurant just round the corner from the hotel called Yue Zhen Xuan ( Canton Palace ). It was due to the recommendation of the concierge at next door Sofitel. We used the pool at Sofitel and it was wonderful
Reviewed August 28, 2014
6.0
france from France
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011
Good location”
Location clean
Reviewed August 11, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Issara from Thailand
Family with young children
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Very nice hotel ... Strongly recommend”
Clean hotel, Nice staff, Foods is superb
Great experience staying in this nice hotel
Reviewed June 02, 2014
4.7
Val from South Africa
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Small accommodation and unfriendly receptionists”
Close to Renmin Square, off street in a secluded complex, taxis easily and quickly available
Cold and unfriendly receptionists who never smiled once and always looked as if they're doing you a favour. The first encounter was ludicrous. We asked if she could speak English and we couldn't say for sure if we received a reply or not. She didn't acknowledge us but seemed to be too busy with the keyboard, presumably. I asked again in both Chinese and English and still no answer. Throughout the stay, all the exceptionists had this unfriendly attitude, however, the doormen (when they were there) were helpful and friendly. Our room, which was on the ground floor, besides getting the noise from the traffic because it was so close to the street, smelled of cigarette smoke. Fortunately, they were able to move us to another room the next day. The room description on the website mentioned the room having a bath. We had arrived from Beijing after doing the Great Wall Marathon and specifically wanted a bath for this particular stay, but there was none. The bathroom itself was tiny. Overall, we stayed in five different four star hotels during our trip in China, and this one has the worst value for money and service.
Reviewed May 25, 2014
4.3
Rob from Australia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
People pay for this?”
The shower was very nice.
Full disclosure: we are hostel-dwelling backpackers and only stayed here as we got a huge Agoda discount. If we'd paid full price though we'd have been hugely disappointed. Our first room featured an unflushable toilet and a strangely-lumpy bed. It took multiple requests over two days for the staff to address the toilet problem and move us into a new room, this time with very poor wifi reception. The facilities were hit and miss, eg. free access to the Sofitel's gym and pool, but daylight-robbery rates on laundry. The location isn't great either, but perhaps others are content staying within the gated hotel/restaurant complex.
Reviewed May 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Jorayuth from Thailand
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
beautiful”
service
good
Reviewed May 08, 2014
8.7
Excellent
PINYI from China
Couple
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
very happy indeed”
very thoughtable serivce, very kind staff ,easy to communicate.
Gerenally was very nice for me, the staffs were very thoughtable, they help me to carry a heavy bag to the bus stop, i was toughed by them.
Reviewed May 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Samanth from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great location and beautiful surroundings”
location, friendly staff, quiet area.
This hotel was in a quiet area but still only a 10-15 walk from the busy city and close to shops and restaurants. The room was nice, faster internet would have been good. The staff speak English and are very friendly, especially a young lady called Lola. She helped us with booking a tour and gave us information about where to go - her English was very good and she was attentive. Renmin Square is really pretty, lots of trees and fountains. It was a lovely area to stay in and would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
7.0
Very good
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Good comfortable hotel but no catering service.”
Location, quiet surroundings, good security.
There is no restaurant in the hotel. Other than breakfast, guests have to eat in other hotels in the Renmin Square complex. Limited choice and not convenient especially for dinner.
Reviewed April 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Rodolfo from Philippines
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
mercure hotel, i would say always good ”
easy transport, nice park and sorrounding, good room
for the hotel itself, no comment, nice and close to public transportation, a very trimmed park, closed to places od interest
Reviewed April 10, 2014
7.3
Very good
Hang from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Good standard and inexpensive”
Quiet, safe, fair
Reviewed April 03, 2014
7.0
Very good
Hang from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
My first choice in Xian”
Quiet / Cozy / Safe
Will definite stay at this hotel if I travel to Xian again, and recommend to others.
Reviewed April 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
jessie from Malaysia
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
A very pleasant stay”
Nice room, good location
The room was very pleasant,and comfortable bed. Staffs were very attentive and very helpful. Overall service was good.
Reviewed March 21, 2014
7.7
Very good
Ana from Israel
Family with young children
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Very nice hotel”
Restaurants,location,fast check in and check out
Reviewed March 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Simon from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
A very pleasant stay ”
Quietness, cleanliness, surrounding area
I was impressed with the hotel grounds as I was staying with a young child and Chinese cities are not the best places for them to play. Beautiful grounds shared with the Sofitel and hence access to their facilities. The room was very pleasant and beds were comfortable and staff very attentive and the overall service was good.
Reviewed February 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jane from United States
Family with young children
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Family getaway in the city”
location, comfortable rooms, room service
We had stayed in this hotel before, and had a good experience, but this time the hot tub was very dirty and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in days. We soaked the night before when the water was bubbling but the next morning we regretted it when we saw what the standing water looked like! The staff were concerned but also seemed clueless as to how to drain the water.
Reviewed February 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Comfortable and good value”
Swimming pool, staff and good room
We found this hotel to be excellent value. For the price you got an extremely comfortable room and could make use of facilities in the neighbouring hotels. We were very grateful for the fabulous swimming pool available in the Sofitel. We were travelling by train and found the location conveniently midway between the central parts of town and the station. The staff were very helpful giving us sightseeing and travel tips for around Xi'an.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Saksit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Great hotel in the middle of Xian”
Room,Amenities,Service
Just 15 min. from Xian Railway Station and Bell Tower.Staff was very helpful.We got upgrade to Grand Mercure.The room is very large, well-maintained.We can use facilities at Sofitel as well.
Reviewed January 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Paul from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Excellent hotel, great location. ”
Location, Room size, Amenities.
Hotel is located in a very exclusive garden area it is very quiet with no outside access. It shares amenities with the 5 star Sofitel next door therefore you have access to all the Facilities of a 5 star hotel. The room size is really large with accompanying large bathroom. Centrally located with easy walking access to the CBD.
Reviewed December 14, 2013
7.3
Very good
Peter from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Quite nice Hotel. ”
QUite, rooms, clean
This is a very nice luxurious Mercure Hotel. Unfortunately with Mercure you never know what you get. One time is bad the other is good. This is a nice one. As it shares the pool with the Sofitel and Grand Mercure. It is a little bit off the center. But easy to reach by taxi or tuck tuck. breakfast was ok. Although over priced. Rooms nice and clean and very quite.
Reviewed November 19, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chan from Hong Kong
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Nice stay”
Friendly staff, fast Internet, comfortable bed
The room is nice and comfortable though small! It locates in the remin square where Sofitel and grand Mercure are also there! It shares the facilities including gym and swimming pool with Sofitel! The Internet is fast can available everywhere inside the remin square!the staff, no matter bell boy, receptionist, cleaning lady, are friendly. It would be great if breakfast is included!
Reviewed November 13, 2013
5.3
the from Australia
Solo traveler
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
surrounded by great hotels but location isnt best”
No complaints about the room. Hotle wasn't really close to metro so keep this in mind. Maybe consider staying near the Muslim quarter or bell tower
Reviewed November 12, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Antti from Finland
Couple
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Active long weekend in Xian”
Good and helpfull service, quiet location
Pleasent suprise with the reasonable price tag. Breakfast in Chinese scale good, they had even pretty good western breakfast selection (croissant, breads, cheese). Only minus was bit too hard bed.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jan from United States
Group
Classic Room - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Perfect Xi'an Hotel”
Location, proximity and access to Sofitel and its facilities, comfort
Xi'an.. What a surprise! We thoroughly enjoyed the city and the Remnin Square Mercure. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Sofitel and provides access to the pool and gym. The hotel was in a lovely setting that seemed far away from the busy main street that was in reality only steps away. The hotel was a wonderful value with great service and attentive staff. While not all the staff spoke English they were quick to find someone who did if communication became a problem. The location provides easy access to restaurants at all levels. Many of the major sites were within a 15 min walk -- Muslim section (go for the great food stalls and lively evening atmosphere), drum tower, city wAll. I would highly recommend the hotel for those willing to spend around $100/ night (w breakfast buffet-- large western or asian buffet). And we would highly recommend taking the time to see Xi'an beyond the Terracotta Warriors.
Reviewed October 08, 2013