Book Now: N.E. Hotel

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (388)Booking.com Reviews (11)
6.1
Good
From 388 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness5.9
Facilities2.8
Location7.0
Room comfort and quality6.1
Service5.7
Value for money6.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
日本語
more
Room type
economic
King Bed
Standard
Two-Bedroom Suites
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 371 verified guest comments
6.7
Good
Lee from Malaysia
Couple
economic
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Hard to find, Isolated but value for money”
Helpful and friendly service desk, Beautiful Deco in the lobby,
The lady at the counter was very helpful and friendly. I had to add another night in the hotel at the last minute and she charged me the same price that was offered through Agoda. I also got upgraded from a no window room to a window room. However, the door to the room was a little bit rusty and the internet wasn't working well in the last room. The hotel is situated inside a hutong which makes it a little bit hard to find. But, overall it is comfortable staying there.
Reviewed September 01, 2013
7.3
Very good
Stephy from Malaysia
Family with teens
King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
At the heart of Old Beijing”
Walking distance from two Metro stations, loads small shops & a supermarket nearby, hidden in a hutong(alley) therefore close to the life of the locals
Wifi is slow and gets disconnected, ventilation in the room is bad, often we left the door ajar
Reviewed July 30, 2013
6.7
Good
Melissa from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Safe place and comfortable to stay in. ”
The staff, room safety, good walking distance to metro.
The stay was comfortable and safe. Were a little upset about the description about the room, they made it out to seem better than it was. The staff were very nice and were worried about our comfort and cared about our satisfaction.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
7.0
Very good
Paul from Australia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
A bit out of the way”
Reasonably close to everything, clean, cheap
The southern end of Chengdong district is where the action is but the metro station wasn't too far away.
Reviewed July 28, 2013
7.7
Very good
Thomas from United States
Group
economic
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
convenient, comfortable, inexpensive”
family atmosphere, price, convenient location
The staff is friendly and courteous, and the rooms are clean and adequate. There is wireless in the air-conditioned sitting area.
Reviewed July 12, 2013
4.0
leow from Singapore
Family with teens
economic
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Average service ”
Big room, near to eateries, cold aircon
People in charge is rude, not much service, bath room is dirty, very hard to find this hotel as it is located inside one of the back lane, it rained heavily when we arrived in beijing....the exterior of the hotel were all flooded up till knee level.
Reviewed July 06, 2013
7.3
Very good
sam from United States
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Decent enough location, a tad bit too expensive”
High speed internet for free, Close to public transportation, Very centrally located near all major historic attractions
It is a hotel that is centrally located. The outlets did not work consistently in our room. The rooms with a window are great, but the hotel across the street has RMB 128-138 windowless rooms in the basement (if you are able to haggle down the price). This hotel is great for the location and the price and the convience of booking/paying for with USD on agoda. Not much else.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
4.7
Darren from New Zealand
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Cheap Hutong Hotel”
Well located for wandering around the hutongs.
Both the room and bathroom were poorly maintained. Shower door missing, heavily dripping tap, dirty walls.
Reviewed June 25, 2013
3.7
Jamillah from Hong Kong
Group
economic
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
You get what you pay for”
Pretty little umbrellas in the lobby
The only good thing about this hotel is the pretty little umbrellas hanging in the corridor of the main lobby. Other than that, I can't really think of any. We walked for more than 20 minutes from the Dongsi subway station to get to our hotel, which was at the very end of the 6th alley (it would've been easier had we walked from the 5th alley, but the address said 6th alley so that's where we walked from). Our room size was average but it was badly-lit and I have no idea if the linens were clean (there were stains on the pillowcase and blankets). The bathroom was dirty and there is a stench of pee every time you raise the lid on the toilet even after you've flushed it several times. The bathroom towels were old, threadbare and had holes in them. This hotel is cheap but not worth it. I'm never staying here again.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
7.0
Very good
Petr from Czech Republic
Couple
economic
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Great pro-client oriented receptionist. Clean room”
Upper floor rooms are much better than rooms downstairs.
Reviewed May 29, 2013
6.3
Good
Martin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 6 nights in May 2013
Acceptable budget hotel”
Located in a quiet and interesting area. The room was clean.
Reviewed May 29, 2013
6.0
Chung from Vietnam
Group
economic
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
No remarkable place but convinence area”
Central located.
Reviewed May 25, 2013
5.3
KONG from China
Family with teens
King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
not good not bad”
cheap, convinient, shoping
Reviewed May 16, 2013
4.7
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
economic
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
N.E. Hotel”
Location, ?, ?
they offered us a 'better' room but we only had one bathroom and no windows between 4 of us, (2 double rooms). We were then moved into 2 even better rooms! one was damp smelling and had ants and the other was ok apart from a door that didn't want to close properly. The best rooms upstairs are very expensive. I'm not usually one for reviews but wanted to write this one.
Reviewed May 06, 2013
6.3
Good
Edward from Indonesia
Group
economic
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
N.E. Hotel”
the receptionist are friendly enough..
the receptionist are friendly enough.. but still litle bit of english, wifi quite good..
Reviewed May 03, 2013
6.7
Good
Teo from Singapore
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Pleasant, chilly and cultural experience ”
Close to good and cheap restaurants with hotpot, snacks and chinese dumplings. Well decorated hotel with wifi in the common area.
Reviewed April 27, 2013
5.3
David from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
It gave me a nostalgic feeling of being in an alle”
Caring landlady, there are other foreign guests speak English and unique.
Reviewed April 18, 2013
5.0
Nattachai from Thailand
Group
economic
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
hard to find it”
near subway
it 's ok but this hotel hard to find it
Reviewed April 08, 2013
6.7
Good
Brett from Australia
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Seemed good, attractive interior, good atmosphere”
Location in hutongs, price, charm
Unfortunately, we were rather late arriving, due to flight delays, and had to leave relatively early the next morning. But the hotel seemed fine - attractive interior, clean if somewhat small room, bathroom OK. Staff were helpful, though very limited English. That was OK, we got by well. Have to agree with comment by another reviewer, the wifi was not very good away from the central courtyard. Worked OK if you sat in hte lounge, but we were on the second floor, away from hte centre. It didn't work at all in the room. Didn't matter in the context, but could be annoying long term. Overall, good value, would stay there again.
Reviewed March 21, 2013
3.7
FIBRIANY from Indonesia
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Average”
Close to MRT
Its more like motel than hotel. The room is very cold at winter, sometimes the hot water can not to be use.
Reviewed March 20, 2013
4.7
Kelly from Canada
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Very Authentic”
Good price
This hotel was well priced, and the architecture is nice - a historic old hutong building. Staff are courteous, but only one person could speak English. My room was very warm (rare in China in the winter), but run down and the bed linen had some disturbing stains on it. There were a lot of holes in the walls... I shudder to think what kind of things would be crawling all over the room in mid-summer. The hotel is not nearly as close to the subway as I was lead to believe, and with almost no one in the area speaking English, it can be difficult to locate the subway without a map. I wouldn't go back.
Reviewed February 03, 2013
5.0
John from Australia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Tucked Away and hard to find.”
Proximity to eating places.
Well you are living right in a Chinese neighbourhood here as the hotel is in a Hutong area. It's actually a short walk to the subway as long as you picked the right station and the right exit. Eating out was no problem with many choices within a 5 minute walk. With the subway station so close then everything is close - sightseeing the Summer Palace, the Forbidden City and Tiananmen square were all easy. The staff didn't seem all that accommodating but language is also a barrier. The room was pretty basic and it wouldn't be a place I would stay longer than 3 - 4 nights. Nowhere to hang your clothes and the bathroom is the wet area plan - not good for multitasking like doing your hair, going to the toilet, washing your hands. Feet get wet all the time!!
Reviewed January 24, 2013
7.0
Very good
Cagri from Canada
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
OK hotel but the location is hard to find”
good service, the girl Vivi at the front, always smiled
It was ok. But taxi drivers didn't wanna drive to the hotel or they didn't know it because the location is in an alley-like street. Also if you're on the 2nd floor the wifi doesn't work very well. But the service was amazing. The rooms were good for the price.
Reviewed January 17, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 13 nights in December 2012
Brilliant Hotel and Staff”
Rooms and help from staff
A fabulous place to stay, rooms were very clean and weel presented. Staff were helpful and booked tickets or tacis as i required them.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
7.3
Very good
Fei from China
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Nice location”
Lovely hutong style hotel
Nice location, not far from subway station. Room size is ok. Lovely Hutong style hotel. But the cleaning...I entered the room and found some little rubbish on the floor, and during my stay, the same rubbish stayed on the same location. I found hair on the bed and etc.
Reviewed December 13, 2012
8.0
Excellent
NUSA from Malaysia
Family with young children
economic
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
lovely hotel”
room
this is a great hotel. staff performance was excelent. close to some great shopping. we had a great time there. will definetly be comng back will tell our friends about this hotel
Reviewed December 13, 2012
6.3
Good
choo from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Small but nice hotel”
Good price
This is a small hotel, or may be a small motel. However, the situation and the environment is "warm", like a house. The location is quite convenient, very close to food store. About 15 minute walk to the nearest MRT station. A free and good wifi system is a value plus of this hotel.
Reviewed December 10, 2012
7.7
Very good
William from Australia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
lovely hotel with a service”
good location
Location is near zhangzizhonglu. pretty hard to find though, because it is in the middle of china's allyways. Opposite the hotel is another hotel that only costs half as much! Staff were very friendly, cleaned the toilet when i asked them to. room good, but a bit cold because there was no insulation.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
7.3
Very good
William from Australia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Lovely hotel; easy service; fair”
Staff were generally friendly
Location is near zhangzizhonglu. pretty hard to find though, because it is in the middle of china's allyways. Opposite the hotel is another hotel that only costs half as much! Staff were very friendly, cleaned the toilet when i asked them to. room good, but a bit cold because there was no insulation.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Nattapol from Thailand
Couple
economic
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
nice hotel and full cilture”
interior chinese culture
nice and very cheap and have map of travel Beijing take by train but no more heater.
Reviewed November 27, 2012
4.3
Jose from United States
Couple
economic
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Poor room service”
Near train station and sightseeing places
The room itself was OK, if your just looking for a place to sleep. The only problem with the room was that when you showered the floor would get filled with water. If your picky about room service then this place is not for you. We stayed 4 nights, the beds were never made and the towels were changed once. Very unfriendly service, at one point I approached the desk to ask for info, the man was playing a PC game and hardly looked at me as he spoke to me. It seemed as if he was bothered that I even approached him.
Reviewed November 26, 2012
5.7
kathleen from Australia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
address very difficult to find ”
on Dongsi Subway
I read about dragon lady owner after I booked so I was prepared for cold reception and not a word/smile in 5 DAYS. After trying for 3 hours for directions from Wanfujing Street to Yuayeh Hutong walking(pingyin address very unfamiliar from Agodo receipt) She looked puzzled like she didn't expect me. Took someone's stuff out of first room by desk to accommodate me. CLEAN ENOUGH FOR THE PRICE IN BEIJING THO RIPPED TOWELS. NIGHT STAFF HELPFUL AND SPOKE ENGLISH. Pleasant enough entry, room,shower,smelly toilet.
Reviewed November 25, 2012
7.0
Very good
Tobias from Switzerland
Couple
economic
Stayed 5 nights in November 2012
Not bad hotel”
Good location, a lot of restaurants kinda nearby, for us a lot of stuff it's a little bit long to walk, it's pretty clean, and shower is good, it's queit.
We like the upstairs room with window, it's a little bit cold, even has AC, but it's ok. Nice and worth for money, good location.
Reviewed November 23, 2012
8.7
Excellent
LOO from Malaysia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Main tour best location hotel”
Boss very nice and friendly
The hotel is near to public transport(BeiJing subway) station with walking within 10minute, the only weakness is the hotel is hiding in the small corner from the main road. The price is reasonable and having hotel basic travel pack like hair and body shampoo, and also 1 time usage teeth brush set. It is reasonable for the rental price and suitable for single day trip traveller.
Reviewed November 21, 2012
2.7
murali from Netherlands
Couple
economic
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Worst hotel out of our Beijing, Xian & Shanghai to”
internet,location
The location is impossible to find unless if you can get someone to write the name of hotel and street in Chinese.The cleanliness was the biggest concern with this hotel. The bathroom was so dirty,lots of Ants allover the room,also on the bed i made some photos,nobody speak English.its hard for Western travelers.i complain about ants,they did the dangerous thing it cost our lives,the spray the anti ant spray and closed the room.we came in all smell poison????guess what no window no way to ventilate. we ope the door and stay 5 hrs without sleep. They do not change the sheets and the towels. NO dryer,no bottle of water no tea refill,Its a hostel
Reviewed November 18, 2012
6.0
hanry from Indonesia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
location
the location is convenient and easy to find.near shopping mall and station.
Reviewed November 13, 2012
5.3
Wijarinee from Thailand
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in June 2012
good location in reasonable price”
good lacation
The hotel staffs are friendly. but they can't speak English. The room is not clean & smelly. However for this price, comparing with the area & facility, I think it reasonable.
Reviewed November 10, 2012
5.0
Jaime from United States
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 7 nights in June 2012
Good location but small rooms”
Good location
The hotel has a great location, but the rooms are small. The staff are not very helpful and the wifi is terrible. The wifi does not reach the rooms. Chinese families stay and they let their children run wild.
Reviewed November 07, 2012
4.7
Priska from Switzerland
Group
King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Okay but don't expect too much”
In a local neighbourhood
Do not expect any help or recommandations of most of the staff. The hotel is basic but clean.
Reviewed November 06, 2012
7.7
Very good
Zhang from China
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
N.E. Hotel, Beijing, China ”
Good location, close to metro station
Good location, close to metro station, however, the tour that recommended by the hotel manager is really bad, higher charge than standard, the tour experience is really bad. Overall, the hotel is value for money, but don't take tour in hotel, recommend to follow the authorized tour.
Reviewed November 05, 2012
6.7
Good
May from Malaysia
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
N.E. Hotel”
cheap
Hotel is a bit far from MRT, about 15 minutes walking distance. Staff are friendly. Room is OK, they change king size bed room to twin room to me. No hair dryer available during the stay but other items i.e. tooth brush, shampoo and etc are provided. For the money paid, so far so good.
Reviewed November 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
HENG from Singapore
Couple
Two-Bedroom Suites
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Nice hotel”
Nice hotel with good location
Nice hotel , near subways station , a lot food outlets and shops around the hotel , hotel reception was helpful
Reviewed October 30, 2012
6.0
Vui from Malaysia
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Fair condition bargain price.”
Good location, within 10 mins walk to the nearest tube station.
Good location, within 5-10 mins walk to the nearest metro station. Fair condition bargain price. Tea bags were provided on the first day and that's it!!! My room has not been satisfactorily cleaned over my four nights stay. There's ant around the toilet and on the bed.
Reviewed October 29, 2012
3.0
matthew from United States
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Worst hotel I have stayed at in Beijing ”
Cheap, that is it
Terrible hotel, awful service (they tried to steal my deposit from me, generally any request was met with a nasty response). No wireless internet as advertised.
Reviewed October 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Frederik from Belgium
Business traveler
economic
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Green spacious lovely budget hotel”
The very best value for money in town.
I guess I must have stayed about 20 times in this hotel by now. I keep on coming back as it is the best value for money in Beijing. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are reasonably big and very clean. The beds are very comfortable, there is free wireless, the decoration has caracter, it feels safe and more. They don't offer breakfast but with many dozens of restaurants of all kinds just around the corner you don't need that. No gym no swimmingpool but I don't need these things. It's got a lovely covered terrace where you'll find it very relaxing after a long day out and about.
Reviewed October 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
gundel from Switzerland
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
perfect place in perfect location”
quiet Hutong area, artistic features, really everything worked!
we really enjoyed coming "home" from sightseeing - very helpful staff with good english
Reviewed October 15, 2012
3.0
Sandra from Netherlands
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Lost in translation in many ways...”
some good food around the corner
From the moment entering the hotel it feels like everything you ask / need from staff is too much to ask for. Only one out of 4 staff speaks English, which makes the communication very difficult. The room was not properly cleaned on a daily basis, after a 4 night stay it was very dirty. Beds / sheets were not made-up. Electricity outlets were loose, lamps not working. Tv not working. It looks promising, clean and kind of cute in the photo's but that's not the experience I had after 4 nights.
Reviewed October 12, 2012
6.0
Li from Malaysia
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Generally a pleasant stay. ”
Location is not that far from the subway
Our room was small but neat. We arrived very early in the morning and was pleasantly surprised that they were willing to let us check in. The subway is about 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.
Reviewed September 22, 2012
2.0
Changwei from China
Solo traveler
economic
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Terrible place”
n/a
The alley is very small and smelly. Big disappointed about the hotel room and service. When I first entered the room, it was small and very smelly. I tried to turned on the air conditioner but it didn't work. I asked for help from receptionist, and got unfriendly reply. I mentioned to change the room, the hotel said no more available room. I asked to borrow the telephone to call out, the hotel said I have to go outside to make a phone call (even to the local landline number). I finally found another hotel nearly (even I paid for N.E hotel online, but I decided to change the hotel), and I told the receptionist that I would like to check out. Then she told me that she will replace another room for me. Sorry, I will never come back. General speaking, this hotel is nightmare for me.
Reviewed September 20, 2012
6.7
Good
Simona from Czech Republic
Couple
economic
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Nice atmosphere, hidden in one of Beijing hutong”
wifi in lobby
very good hotel for the price, suitable location,staff able to arrange taxi, train tickets, etc. good choice
Reviewed September 17, 2012