Book Now: Nanning Travelling With Hostel

Very good
From 147 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (147)Booking.com Reviews (301)
7.8
Very good
From 147 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.1
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service8.1
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Standard Double Bed
Luxury King Bed Private Room
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Luxury Twin Bed
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 138 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
satid from Thailand
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Helpful and friendly front staff!”
Location is the best, friendly front staff and speak English
Our stay was great, helpful front staff and good in English. Free pool table for guest to joint. You can book a day trip to waterfall from the hotel. When you want to go out to anyplace by taxi it very difficult because most taxi driver can't speak English but front staff of this hotel make it become easy by write down the place name in Chinese for every guest. The room was clean and nice . Recommended to stay! Best value for money.
Reviewed July 03, 2015
8.0
Excellent
mary from Philippines
Family with young children
1 Bed in 4-Bed Superior Dormitory (Mixed)
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
short stay in nanning”
location, english speaking staff, food
me and my 4 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights. Bed in dorm room was ok, internet was reliable, and 4 bed dorm has its own toilet and bath. Overall, the stay was ok. The only problem was the flooding in the room when 2 consecutive persons take a bath. It takes a while before the water goes to the drain. The hostel is easy to find, very near a sort of a shopping area. Staff speaks good english and cafe serves western and asian meals.
Reviewed June 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
David from United States
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
In the center of the shopping district”
location, food, staff
Well, the location is spot on. Literally 5 minutes, if that, away from the food market street. Basically across the street from the shopping center where there are hundreds of restaurants/stores/shops. The hostel itself was very clean and friendly. English speaking as well which was nice since we knew no Chinese. The rooms were comfortable in terms of cozy but the beds weren't the best. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and booked a room at its sister hostel for 3 nights in Guilin!
Reviewed June 04, 2015
5.3
Stephy from Taiwan
Business traveler
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Good enough but service could be better.”
ppl are nice. Location is good.
Reviewed May 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Joanne from Australia
Solo traveler
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Clean, comfortable budget hotel”
Cheerful, friendly staff, good atmosphere, rooms cleaned every day
I stayed in a private room which was bright and comfortable. It had a large bathroom, comfortable bed, air-con, big windows, desk and a couple of chairs. The room was cleaned every day. Staff speak English well and are very helpful. I didn't eat there, but a limited range of food is available and there is a bar and daily happy hour. The communal area is very social and has a pool table.
Reviewed May 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
YUKI from Japan
Solo traveler
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Great location, comfortable and fairly clean. ”
Good cost performance: Location, Cleanliness, and Hospitality.
Very nice hostel, which has private room. I booked Deluxe King bed private room, which is River view. Even I got used to stay an international 5star, I am satisfied with this room. Sharing room type also looks okay. Very close to Zhongshan Night market and River. Walmart is located in 5min+ distance. Only a point I need to tell you is Wi-Fi signal is very weak and unstable, which is a common problem in Hotels in China. I will recommend my friends visiting Nanning and definitely come back again in this hostel next time.
Reviewed April 27, 2015
3.7
Alice from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Not suitable for family”
Friendly Staff
1) It's not suitable for children and elderly or with big luggage as the hostel has no lift and located at 3rd floor and rooms are in 4th & 5th floor. 2) It's dangerous for children, if they are not under good supervision, the staircase to the hostel has a big window without glass and grill. The room window has no grill and the lock is spoil. 3) Room is smelly, not clean, especially the toilet and utensils. 4) Have many mosquito even though the room are in 5th floor. 5) Cleaner mistaken our tower and not able to return nor refund. 6) Food preparation is slow and oily.
Reviewed April 09, 2015
6.7
Good
Melanie from United States
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Pleasant for a day or two”
I liked the common area. They can help you book bus tickets to Vietnam
Mainly pleasant. Receptionist helped us book bus tickets which we greatly appreciated. Main downside was how badly insulated room was - we had to turn on a noise machine of a waterfall to drown out the noise coming from outside. If you do stay here, please try Babel - a lovely restaurant with great food and friendly staff, not to mention a wonderful atmosphere, just around the corner.
Reviewed February 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Joon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Good not best”
Convenient
Reviewed February 10, 2015
6.3
Good
NUR from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Hard to reach”
Big room, near halal food, near pedestrian street
Its almost 2 hour walking to reach this hostel. Actually it is not far from bus station but i was lost even keep asking local about the location. Hostel is not at the main road and got construction nearby that blocking the way (not same with the map) The staff very not helpful. I asked about the attraction and they not very sure about the details. I also asked do they have a map for tourist, and they gave me a full map of Nanning that i really cant read it. Lastly, i am really not lucky to stay here. I asked them how to get to the bus stop to take a shuttle bus to airport. She said and also write down to me a bus number that i should take. But badly is not the real things that i have to do.
Reviewed February 08, 2015
6.3
Good
SARINYA from Thailand
Group
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Good location!”
Location and price
It is convenience to go to the airport and the train station.
Reviewed January 14, 2015
6.7
Good
SARINYA from Thailand
Group
1 Bed in 4-Bed Superior Dormitory (Mixed)
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Not bad”
Location , price and convenient
Found at Agoda.
Reviewed January 08, 2015
5.7
Xinyi from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
decent stay”
able to meet people, dorms were ok, nothing to shout about
Reviewed December 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Fleur from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Great value for Money”
Price, friendliness, location
My stay at the hostel was very comfortable. I got a single room with a large soft bed and a private bathroom attached. The room was clean and towels and rubbish were collected each day. The room quality could be improved with a bit of maintainence but for the price it was great.
Reviewed December 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
AH from Malaysia
Family with young children
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Everything is so convenient here at GF HOSTEL ”
Convenient for everything. Clean room. Lots of famous spots nearby.
No regret of choosing this hostel.
Reviewed December 01, 2014
6.3
Good
KRITON from Greece
Solo traveler
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Good location,average for the rest,stuff so and so”
Very central location,near the river,park,shops and restaurants.They clean every day (but did not find their towels "trustable"Good place to meet fellow travellers in the common area,playing pool etc.
I had big problem with mosquitos,some rooms do not have windows who close well enough to avoid them.There is no phone in the room neither hair dryer,but there is at the common bathroom at the last floor.Stuff is generally helpful but sometimes not.(I asked them to call a taxi in order to go to an international bus station,and they told me they do not know a taxi for that destination.(I have previously tried to find a taxi on the street,but at rush hours is very difficult.)When I asked them if they can look for a taxi company in the internet,they told me to do it myself!!!).They give shampoo and shower gel but not a hand soap!But they gave me one when I asked.Most rooms with "river view just overlook a noisy street,so in general is better a room in the back side,or even better at the corner,both quiet and with a view.And there is no elevator so choose your room taking this in comsideration.The hostel itself starts from the 2Nd floor of building(two floors above the ground floor), and goes up three more floors.
Reviewed November 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Timmy from Malaysia
Couple
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
watch locals leisure activities along Riverdale”
5 minutes walking to pedestrian shopping street. Yongjiang River side walk is just behind hotel. plenty of good food around.
Entrance on ground floor looks horrible and need to climb few flights of steps to reach hotel main door. It's a decent hostel once you step inside. Rooms are small but clean. Serves simple food beer n liquor. Yongjiang Riverwalk is just behind hostel. Lots of local go there from early morning to late night for exercise skating cycling dancing yoga taiqi leisure. It's fun watching the locals going thru there leisure activities.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
7.3
Very good
Siwarin from Thailand
Couple
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Nice hostel, nice common area”
This hostel has a nice atmosphere in common area. The staff was nice. The room was clean.
Reviewed November 09, 2014
5.0
Lucille from United States
Couple
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Went to Nanning for an event, left early”
It was cheap. It was relatively clean.
The staff really did not care at all. It was not they were rude. It was that they were more zombie like. I would probably choose a different accommodation next time. That said, I do not have the impression that other places are that much better.
Reviewed October 10, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
chaihuat from Malaysia
Couple
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Nanning value stay ”
Clean ,convinient and good
I had a very good holiday with visit to Detian Waterfalls and Bama .
Reviewed September 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Cassie from United Kingdom
Couple
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Well looked after”
Staff, common room, STAFF
Nice staff who tried their upmost to help with our onward travel.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
3.7
CHOO from Malaysia
Couple
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
very poor hotel”
dirty,no clean room,smell towel.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ek from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
This hotel is more suitable for youngters”
(1) Location close to walking street (2) A lot of good food near by.
The hotel at the third floor without lift. The stare case leading to third floor look dirty.
Reviewed April 10, 2014
7.0
Very good
Chee from Singapore
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Comfortable, clean”
Near shopping area, clean, friendly staff
Hotel is near shopping area. Rooms are clean and bright. From railway station can take bus route 5 to hotel. Great stay. Enjoyable
Reviewed December 24, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Lily from China
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Great place to stay for backpackers”
Good room size, good location, staff helpful
I enjoyed my stay here. 4 beds bunk bed room is perfect. The front desk area is big, nice to just hill and play pool.
Reviewed October 03, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Yew from Malaysia
Couple
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Clean, easy access to food and shopping areas”
Friendly staff, Comfortable room, good location
Comfortable but need to do something to washroom bad smell (might be from manhole).
Reviewed September 11, 2013
7.3
Very good
Doti from Singapore
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Budget hotel with good location”
good location; clean room and friendly staff
Booked a triple room with two other friends. Room is spacious and clean. However, foul smell coming out from floor drainage in toilet. No lift but wifi was working. Good location, near to shopping and eating places. Staff are friendly.
Reviewed August 27, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Bjorn from United States
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Great Hostel”
clean rooms, comfortable design, great value for the price
I was just passing through Nanning on my way into China, and Green Forest made a perfect hostel for one night. I was very pleased with the helpfulness of the staff, the cleanliness, and the great design of the hostel. The rooms are big and warm with comfortable beds and the shared bathrooms are large and in a good location. I did have a small problem finding the hostel by walking from the train station, but this was due to construction. If I am ever back in Nanning, I will stay at Green Forest.
Reviewed August 26, 2013
7.7
Very good
CHOW from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Value for money”
good location
Good location & cheap budget hotel, but no elevator so i need to carry a luggage to 3rd floor.
Reviewed July 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Matros from Romania
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Very nice”
Cool hostel, very nice lobby, nice staff
A little hard to find(not very far from railway station). But once you are there the hostel is very nice, with a great lobby, with great staff, with cocktail bar and coffee :). room is confortable. A place to return to.
Reviewed July 06, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Darwin from Indonesia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Nice hotel”
clean, nice and staff friendly
The location is good, but the bus system is a little bit difficult for me, because I don't speak Chinese. It will be much better when the subway is ready. The hostel has a nice pool table, wifi and the best mattress (double room) I slept on in China so far. So soft.
Reviewed June 26, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Darwin from Indonesia
Family with young children
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Nice place”
Clean, staff friendly and budget hotel
Truly a lovely hostel. Great atmosphere and located next to great shopping and food. Not terribly far from the train station. One of the nicer hostels I've stayed in in China. Staff takes a personal interest in not only the quality of your stay, but also of your traveling experience
Reviewed June 26, 2013
7.0
Very good
Marcus from Sweden
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
clean room, friendly staff, nice common area”
language, clean, friendly
Reviewed June 14, 2013
7.7
Very good
Celina from United States
Couple
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Great deal!”
Clean, nice room, cheap
A very nice hostel. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room with shower. We were very happy with our room. There is a washer to do laundry. A common room to talk to other travellers. We shared a taxi to the airport with another guest and saved money. Walking distance to shopping, street food, restaurants, river walk. Great soup across the street. Great for the price. About 30 min walk from the train station.
Reviewed May 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Guan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Backpacker hotel with a standard hotel facilties”
Value for money, friendly staff, good facilities for a backpacker hotel
Reviewed April 23, 2013
7.0
Very good
Guan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Backpacker hotel with a standard hotel facilties”
Value for money, friendly staff, good facilities for a backpacker hotel
Good experience as it was run by young people. There was a free pool table. Common area had very good ambience and on first night of stay, there was live band performance. Food was good. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend to stay here if Nanning.
Reviewed April 23, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Susan from Singapore
Group
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
The staff there made a difference.”
Helpful and friendly with a vary postive service-oriented attitude made the stay there very pleasant.
Reviewed April 21, 2013
6.3
Good
How from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Affordable in central location”
Location, free internet access, price
Need to take staircase to 3rd floor, hence those with heavy and big luggage, please take note. Room is clean and comfortable and there are three computers available for free to use. Right across the road is the Minzu Pedestrian Street where you can find shopping and variety of food. Hawkers street is also within short walking distance. A good stay overall.
Reviewed April 04, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Chau from United States
Couple
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Great affordable hotel”
Good value, nice rooms, good shower
Reviewed April 03, 2013
7.0
Very good
eiichi from Japan
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
reasonable price, close to local night market.”
friendly staff and good english, close to local market, walkable distance to railway station
Reviewed March 31, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
lizzie from United Kingdom
Group
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Really chilled out place to spend a few nights”
Really good communal area with pool Table, TV and bar. Nice clean rooms with air con. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They arrange visas for no extra cost and it's totally hassle free.
Spent three nights here in february. It was an oasis from the busy, humid city. The staff were really cool, especially one girl who took us to the night market it. Rooms were clean and lovely. they sorted out our cisalpine application as soon as we arrived and didn't charge a penny. The only Down side was the breakfast, it's not included and a little over priced, its also took ages to come out!! Other than that it was a great stay.
Reviewed March 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Endy from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Quiet hostel located nearby shopping area”
the location is really close to shopping district but it still quiet at night.
there's no other place that can beat the room price with the perfect facilities for foreign backpackers. free laundry is just great. kinda confusing to find the place at first and it has no elevator (i don't really mind, just for other reference).
Reviewed February 27, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Doti from Singapore
Group
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Great Location but need to climb the stairs”
WIFI in room
The hostel is situated in prime shopping and eating areas. The setback is that there is no lift and you need to walk up many stairs. It may be a problem if you have many luggages to carry into your room.
Reviewed February 24, 2013
7.7
Very good
John from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 4 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Great hostel”
decent internet, good service, helpful staff
This was a great place to process my visa for my upcoming trip to Vietnam. Staff was very helpfull and the hostel is always full of people who are doing the same kind of things as you. definitely worth a stay
Reviewed February 19, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Doti from Singapore
Group
Luxury King Bed Private Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Lovely hostel with friendly service”
Good location
Hotel is right in front of msny shopping places. The downside of this hostel is without lift. Room is with wifi and room is clean. Value for money.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
CHEW from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Good Location located in city centre”
Friendly receiptionist, comfort and clean
if possible do improvement on common entrance, the hotel is located at 3th floor, the main access at ground floor and staircase is not neat, look a bit dirty and is look dark when in day time.
Reviewed January 11, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Syanti from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Hotel dan layanan yang bagus disertai senyuman”
good customer service, big room, very good location, soft towel
i wonder why the taxi driver drop us wrongly and give us a wrong direction, but we finally manage to find out that the hostel is just across the street. all the receptionists speak english quite well, very much helpful & friendly, the room is big & provided soft towel for bath, a minute walk to pedestrian walk for shopping. the worst part is they dont have elevator/lift, so we need to carry our own luggage to the lobby at the 3rd floor, then another 1 floor up for our own room. you need to take either taxi or 'tuktuk' to the train station. but this is one of my great accomodation during my stay in china.
Reviewed January 06, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Chee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Luxury Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Friendly & Great Location!”
clean, low price and great location
Very friendly staff who speak excellent English and all questions are answer to their best ability. Foreign beers are well stock too!
Reviewed January 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Yeo from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
A Traveller's hotel”
Location, cleanliness and value for money
This hotel received good reviews when I booked it. When reviews are good, expectations are also high and on arrival from the airport by metered taxi (costing CNY120), we were surprised that this is located at the third level with no lift. We had to carry out luggage up but a kind hotel receptionist helped us to carry the big luggage up. The check-in at the reception was smooth and easy after I produced Agoda's voucher. The receptionist speaks good English and communication was easy, whether in English or Chinese. We were assigned to a room at the 4th level. Again no lift but the kind receptionist helped to carry out luggage up. The room was spacious and the aircon (&heater) was up and working. The only thing which bothers us was the lack of wardrobe and hangers. With the cold weather in the air, there was plenty of clothing to hang and wash if there was a chance! There were two computers for the use of guests free of charge. We tried to book a room at Bama City but unsuccessful. So we spoke to the receptionist and she helped to check up the number and using the telephone at the reception, we managed to book our hotel in Bama City. That was good service! BTW, this hotel is located to the Pedestrian Street where sales were fast and furry! Of course Pedestrian Street is near to Zhongshan Food Street. When checking out, the reception said to us goodbye, no documentation was required. A good friendly and clean hotel, I would say. Maybe a lift up would help older persons to choose this hotel!!!
Reviewed January 04, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Clifford from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
More than just a hostel.”
lively place to meet youths of all nationalities.
A vibrant place in meeting people, watching TV, or simply reading. Great support from friendly staffs. Enjoyed the new beddings, clean bathroom.
Reviewed December 31, 2012