Book Now: Qingdao The Castle Hotel

Excellent
From 210 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 86% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (210)Booking.com Reviews (96)
8.0
Excellent
From 210 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.7
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.5
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
한국어
more
Room type
Superior Room
Superior Garden View
Deluxe King Garden View
Deluxe Family Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 195 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
Allison from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Great location will be back,”
quiet location, lovely room, comfortable,
Excellent hotel in quiet location. We ate at the castle restaurant next door which has good food an a nice atmosphere plus a great terrace and gardens.
Reviewed July 20, 2013
5.0
po from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Over rated”
Cool summer weather compared to the rest of China. Quiet surroundings. Seclusion.
Did not meet expectation from Web ads and reviews. Very basic hotel, about 2 stars. No Wifi in room. Breakfast was extra when booking with Agoda. At that rate, I'd expect at least breakfast included. The food was OK, not a 4 star hotel buffet. The staff was not friendly, but polite. Partly because it is cultural. In 4 star hotels, the staff is much better trained to at least say Good Morning. The musuem next door was extra, again Agoda's fault for not including it. The address is hard to find, which is good and bad. It does provide some seclusion from the city, which means you cannot walk to restaurants and shops.
Reviewed July 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Juergen from Germany
Couple
Deluxe King Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Pleasant stay in comfortable surrounding”
Room, Entrance Hall, surrournding
Relaxing and quite stay in the middle of Qingdao city. A dinner at the balcony of the Ratskeller next by is a must! As regards taxi transport, it seems better to organize the taxi yourself.
Reviewed July 03, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe King Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
A great few days at this lovely hotel”
Design, location, quiet
I’m writing this review, having just returned from a lovely 4 day stay in Qingdao at The Castle Hotel with my husband for his Birthday. It’s is a very nice boutique hotel in the old town, set on a hill in pretty gardens. The staff at the reception desk on our arrival were friendly and polite, and both spoke English. Our bag was carried to our room, and we were very pleased with our garden view suite, which was beautifully decorated and furnished. The hotel is in a good location, in quiet grounds and gardens, however it is easy to get around from there, a 10 minute walk got us down to the seafront, and a pleasant walk through the interesting streets and buildings of the old town. We love walking, and walk everywhere so didn’t find it out of the way as some reviews suggest. We even walked to the Olympic sailing centre one day along the waterfront boardwalk which runs along all the beaches and bays (although that took us around 2 hrs!). There is a bus stop at the bottom of the drive, and for 1 RMB (around 10p) we got the bus to the Tsingtao Brewery, the same bus also goes to the Pier at the waterfront. There is a lovely café set in a pretty garden in the grounds of the Youth Hostel at the bottom of the driveway of the hotel, and further down the hill on the right a quirky bar / café as well. There are plenty of local restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk, although for western style restaurants you have to travel a bit further. The only time we got a taxi from the hotel was when we left for the railway station, staff arranged for a taxi for us which arrived in around 5 minutes. We had the address written down in Chinese for when we arrived, which we’d recommend doing. There are some leaflets in the hotel reception about the bus routes and various other things, partly in English, copies of Redstar magazine – an ex-pat magazine with reviews, listings, map etc. which was useful. The hotel provided us with a photocopied map of the old town and where key buildings were
Reviewed June 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
LIU from China
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Beautiful hotel with nice service”
Staff are friendly and caring; nice mountain view; delicate architecture
I will come again next time. It was comfortable and nice to stay.
Reviewed June 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Rupen from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Very nice little hotel”
grounds, unique character, location
Reviewed May 29, 2013
5.0
SUDIN from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Pleasant ”
Clean, nice design, friendly staff
Reviewed May 20, 2013
7.3
Very good
George from New Zealand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
The star rating is too high”
It is a good art type historical hotel but not suitable for business
The stay was pleasant but our expectations of 5 star were higher in comparison to other hotels
Reviewed May 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Cheung from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Comfortable and warm environment”
staff, location and price
It would be more convenient if the hotel could provide shuttle bus service between hotel and airport/ points of attractions. Besides, pl provide a email address that would facilitate contacts between the hotel and guests.
Reviewed May 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Comfortable, clean, peaceful and very nice rooms”
Great rooms and overall decor, location and helpful staff
Reviewed May 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chen from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
great choice to stay in the old quarter”
staff are friendly, hotel environment is great, rooms are well furnitured.
Reviewed May 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
KWOK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Good environment, price can be cheaper”
clean, trendy room
Everything is good and I experience wonderful stay at this hotel except below 1. As I am advised by comments on Agoda, guest can get one free ticket for 迎賓館. In fact, they claim that it is true only when I make booking directly from their own website. At last, I can only buy the ticket RMB2 cheaper (original price: RMB20) 2. I am requested to pay RMB200 deposit when check-in, even though I have settled it immediately by credit card before arrival. Luckily, I can get full refund on the day of check-out
Reviewed May 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
LAI from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Good value hotel”
Good Value, conveniently located and trendy hotel
It is a trendy boutique hotel and therefore don’t expect 5* amenities. You can picture somewhere in time. Having said that the décor, cleanliness, tidiness and friendly faces really impressed me. I will recommend to my friends.
Reviewed April 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
mengmeng from China
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
cozy place, friendly staff”
clean room, nice staff, perfect design
the interior design of the hotel is a plus, lovely and quiet cozy boutique hotel for a short stay.
Reviewed March 20, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Graeme from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Quiet, pleasant hotel”
Great parkside location
Specially selected because of its location and met all requirements. Friendly, helpful staff, good English skills, arranged travel to next destination.
Reviewed March 08, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Makiko from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Enjoy old times of Qingdao.”
Surroundings and hotel are awesome away from noisy city center
Location: Quiet mountain side ex german's residential area. Beautiful scenery. Building :Cozy cute old german building. No elevator.Well decorated in European taste,Yeah its kinda old, but has some unique atmosphere. Food: No room service. In the room bar, no wine nor wisky, just Quindao beer and some cokes. Breakfast is buffet. Mixed European and Chinese style. If you ask they serve you eggs and stuff in the way as you like just for you.They are all tasty enough. Room:Well furnished with modern german simple furnitures, very comfortable except air conditioner. Bathroom is clean. But some room has just shower as long as I remember. Selection either garden view or city view seems not that important, cause even in the garden view, if you are unlucky, all you can see is just house in front of the hotel. Service; Mostly great, but it depends on the staff. I had very good three night with great food in this hotel...except one problem cause of the oldness of this hotel; Once I was invited the deluxe room which located in the downstairs, big and comfortable with one living room and one bed room. But unfortunately as room was too big for the air conditioner, so room was so so cold that I woke up at five in the morning with its coldness. So I asked stuff to change room, they very kindly change to the standard double room in the ground floor, it was also well cleaned and cozy and nicely decorated, but it was also a bit cherry for me. In the end I settled down in the standard(they called exterior though) room in the third floor. I was so tired of changing room. Then while I stayed the room the manger and a staff came to my room to say sorry with hot ginger tea!! It was so lovely gesture, and I became a fan of this hotel.
Reviewed February 13, 2013
7.3
Very good
Yassen from Bulgaria
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Great location for "German" town”
friendly staff, great view, reasonable price
Room large enough for two people. Nice complimentary fruit basket. Bed extremely large, but mattress very hard and uncomfortable. Only one bedside table? Wallpaper near bed with no bedside table peeling off and damp. Bathroom small. There was no hot water from noon till about 5 o'clock, but management promised to fix it and did. Saturday morning very loud people very early in the hallways as it seems this hotel is popular for wedding parties. Breakfast adequate but nothing special.
Reviewed December 07, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Yingjun from China
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
very good service. excellent location”
location, service, chinese restuarant
impressive chinese restaurant - fresh food, good environment, decent price. beautiful location, tranquil, historical, everything we wanted. very helpful staff
Reviewed October 15, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Shakira from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Lovely Quaint Hotel with great Customer Service”
Good Customer Service, Clean and lovely decorated rooms
I found the Castle Hotel in Qindao to be a very nice hotel. The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. I would recommend this hotel.
Reviewed September 02, 2012
6.3
Good
Junice from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Old charm with great city views”
Heritage feel, clean spacious rooms
It's not exactly 'boutique', nor is it really charming. The hotel is well-maintained inside, but its exterior looks sadly forgotten. The 'avant-garde' touches add some flavour to the place, but may not suit everyone's taste. Service is acceptable, but its location on top of a hill -albeit central - makes it almost impossible to get a taxi quickly. Overall, pleasant for a first timer seeking a taste of Qingdao's old colonial past.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Taona from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 7 nights in August 2012
Lovely location and friendly service”
clean rooms, friendly staff, children's play area and good breakfast
We spent a week at the Castle Hotel. It is set in the grounds of the old German Governor's Mansion, which is a beautiful spot in the old part of Qingdao but also has alot of tourists visiting daily. The staff were all very friendly and nice to our 2.5 year old. There was a small kids play area on the balcony which our daughter liked. The breakfast was pretty good with a mix of chinese and western food. The rooms were kept clean. We speak Chinese so we do not know what their english abilities are. We chose the hotel as it was close to relatives we were visiting, but it is not so close to other nightlife spots, such as western bars and restaurants.
Reviewed August 21, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Jasen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Good feature and location”
Nice decor and polite staff
This is a hotel for peopel who likes to be close to nature as it is just at the foot of the hill. Nice artistic decor and boutique feel. The location is further from the city but still very conveient as taxi is cheap.
Reviewed July 04, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Great experience, will come back!”
location, serene, rooms, service
we wanted to get away for the weekend - and the castle hotel was perfect. surrounded by lovely gardens, we were able just to wander the streets and sit outside - and feel like we escaped the hustle and bustle of the city. rooms were great and service excellent. location was perfect for us because we wanted to get out of the city and be closer to the old town - but if you want to be "in the middle" of things - look somewhere else.
Reviewed June 06, 2012
6.3
Good
TONG from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Good location but service is not up to expectation”
Location
Location is good but there were not enough staff in front desk and cleanup. We needed to wait more than 15 minutes in front desk before we were served. The room was not ready when we checked in at 15:30.
Reviewed May 31, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Philip from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Great place with helpful staff”
Location, garden area, staff, room size
great place to stay in the old town if you're in qingdao for a night or two. good location close to the water (10 min walk) and the tsingtao beer museum. 15 min drive by taxi to the more modern part of the city in the east. close to the train station. the hotel is situated in the same area up on a hill as the old german governor's house, which gives immediate access to a big beautiful garden area. the ratskeller restaurant in the same area is well worth a visit. staff may not be fluent in english, but this was never a problem for us. they were all very polite and managed to help us professionally. the hotel exhibits art and has in itself many different alternative art pieces for decoration. a nice boutique hotel with individually designed rooms (it seems). one minus might be that the bed was quite hard.
Reviewed May 12, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Lilian from China
Solo traveler
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Impressived Bookshelf and Wall Decoration”
I love the sticky artistic wallpaper along the stairway
this hotel is a heartful artistic hotel. staying there is like home. the staff are very friendly and helpful. even though it is not located in the city center, but you can feel and taste the city by the wonderful cityview from the window.
Reviewed April 27, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Lilian from China
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Great Food in all the hotel restaurants”
Governor's House is a bonus
we had a pleasant stay in the hotel, the staff are very helpful and cheerful. we meet a germany before checking-in the hotel, he said this is the best hotel in town!
Reviewed April 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
William from Austria
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
nice rooms”
very nice area
the hotel room is nicely decorated with chinese contemporary paintings. extremly large bed. lots of pillows provided. the room was well heated. stuff was very friendly and helpful. there is chinese restaurant in the base floor, which serves fresh sea food too. for some taxi drivers the place was a little bit hard to find.
Reviewed April 18, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
paul from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Excellent view and location ”
nice decoration
We were aware the hotel we stayed was a cultural heritage during our stay. Many exciting sightseeing spots were within short-distance from the hotel while the hotel located in prime site with excellent view of the beautiful city. The hotel was next to German's governor's house and staying in this hotel could have free admission to visit this beautiful house.
Reviewed April 17, 2012
6.3
Good
Fai from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Comfortable hotel with good services ”
Nice view from balcony
quite location of the hotel at reasonable price and atmosphere. convenient access to local market & down town. recommend if you prefer have your private time with your valuable families. however, some of the furnitures seem old especial the sofa. overall i think this hotel is acceptable at its price range.
Reviewed January 12, 2012
7.3
Very good
Grace from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Unexpected experience”
hotel decoration
i didn't expect this hotel has a wonderful view of qingdao old town. i love it very very much! the hotel decoration is nice. each room has different decoration which is impressive. i did enjoy staying at this hotel. next time when i travel to qingdao again, i must stay in again!!
Reviewed November 08, 2011
7.3
Very good
Grace from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe King Garden View
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Lovely hotel decoration”
location
I didn't expect this hotel has a wonderful view of Qingdao old town. I love it very very much! The hotel decoration is nice. Each room has different decoration which is impressive. I did enjoy staying at this hotel. Next time when I travel to Qingdao again, I must stay in again!!
Reviewed November 08, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Garrett from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Situated in a lovely environment close to town”
Breakfast includd in our stay, English speaking receptionist who was very helpful.
We stayed for three nights as planned. It was easy to walk into much of the town. We appreciated the hotel amenities such as the pool,
Reviewed October 21, 2011
6.0
Sergey from Russia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Over-hyped guesthouse with an artistic touch”
Location in historic part of Qingdao
I've seen many excited reviews about this hotel and I struggle to understand how could someone refer to it as a "higher than 5-star" property. The location is good and very peaceful which in combination with some artistic elements in interior design gives this guesthouse a certain charm. But applying a star rating to it is simply inappropriate! The service is friendly but basic. Be prepared to wait at check-out while the only person on duty handles everything from external calls to room service requests to counting cash. The rooms are reasonably clean but seriously aged. Anyway, this place may be good for one or two-night trial experience but not more.
Reviewed October 19, 2011
5.7
Chan from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
good location but limited facilities”
walking distance to the beach
the location is good but no business center, smell chinese restaurant. I booked double bed room but it was combined by 2 single beds, after 3 nites stay, i got backache. The carpet in the room is old and dirty but luckily no smell. The price is bit expensive compares to the hotel facility.
Reviewed October 08, 2011
4.7
jacob from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
One of the better 2, yes I mean 2, star hotels”
The in-house restaurant
This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in a long time. The air-conditioning did not work, and I tried 2 different rooms, there was mould on the ceiling in the bathroom, service was at best mediocre and the location is so far out of the way it is almost not in Qingdao. This hotel is certainly not 5 star, even in Chinese standards it is not 4 star. The rooms are big, beds typically hard as the floor, and combined bath/shower had hot water. There are also no lifts so you will need to make your way to your room, with your luggage. Good luck if you are in a wheelchair.
Reviewed August 22, 2011
5.7
Xumin from China
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011
Quiet location but incovenient for travel”
Good environment
most taxi drivers do not know this place if you simply tell them the hotel name and address. you should tell them the name is ying bin guan and the place where chairman mao used to stay in. also it is extremely difficult to find a taxi. takes 15 mins in the morning and about 30 mins during peak hours in the afernoon. room facility is very primitive and the breakfast is not very nice. everything, in my opinion, is charged to its quiet location and proximity to the german governor's residence. also the staff keep mixing my payment upon check-out. wasted a lot of time. but overall speaking the staff are very nice and helpful, one of them even bring me an extra mouse pad after finding out that i do not have one. i think the hotel should invest more as it is in such a wonderful place but only positioning themselves as a place for youngsters.
Reviewed August 12, 2011
6.3
Good
leung from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011
Good environment, a bit remote”
quite and nice decor
the hotel is located far from the busy district of qingdao city. however, this is also the strength point of the hotel. nice and helpful staff. however, the food provided by the three restaurants are a bit pricy as compared with local restaurants. we enjoyed to read books in their reading room. we are interested to book the suite of the hotel, but cannot locate information from their website for the rate and photos. hope they would update their website more frequently.
Reviewed August 12, 2011
6.7
Good
Panu from Thailand
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011
Good location, fine decoration but bad food.”
Location, room, service
We stay in this hotel during summer time, but the suggest to stay on spring or autumn, since it located in a middle of mountain, far from the beach. Even the beach in Qingdao isn't the preferable.(Sanya-Hainan is suggested for beach traveller) the mountain location provide you the gfod view and near to few attractions. The Chinese food in the restaurant is not suggested, moderate prices but not good taste and the dinning room was oily... Better go for German or Japanese restaurant located in another building.
Reviewed July 15, 2011
8.7
Excellent
CHAU from China
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
very nice”
classical style of decoration; convenient location; good service
This hotel gave us a very good impression. All are good except the breakfast which can be improved!
Reviewed June 21, 2011
7.7
Very good
Catherine from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
nice surprise”
atmosphere, boutique style, location
This hotel was a nice surprise. It is located near to the train station and up on a hill with nice views and over all a great atmosphere. It is a bit tricky to find as most taxi drivers do not know it and the streets around the area are all jumbled up but once you find it you will be happy. the room was uniquely decorated but clean and modern. the bed was a traditional hard chinese mattress but the sheet were soft and of high quality. the breakfast was traditional Chinese but eggs and toast were available so you certainly won't starve. I was only there over night but I will certainly come back if I find myself in Qingdao again.
Reviewed June 03, 2011
7.3
Very good
Joan from Spain
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
Great location and cozy environment”
Location
Location and environment is great. Rooms are decent but could be improved, staff is acceptable but nothing special. Food & meals are probably the weakest point, breakfast was too simple not according with the hotel grade. Recommend to stay there only because the location and environment but not much more.
Reviewed May 05, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Raj from India
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
very good hotel near night market”
club, gym
hotel stay was very good i been there for fair which again very near i enjoyed a lot my stay shopping mall where near by.. very good stay
Reviewed April 26, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kasmiati from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Extra service”
Location
I travelled with my 90+ year old grandma. Sarah, the owner, happens to be there when we checked in. She was very nice, to accommodate my grandma, putting a chair in the bath room for her. She even speak to our guide to make sure that they have the right itinerary. We request some meals for our grandma and it was done on the dot. Great location, extra service, amazing city, great staff. Thank you all the staff of the Castle Hotel!
Reviewed April 21, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Diana from Australia
Group
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
Luxury with history thrown in ”
Beautiful room with a dormer alcove overlooking the former abode of the German ambassador
We had a great stay. A luxurious bath after a long hike along the shore.Delicious food at breakfast and a welcoming set course of mainly japanese food in the restaurant after we arrived.
Reviewed March 30, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Seema from United States
Couple
Superior Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
Very nice hotel with large, comfortable rooms”
Recently updated, clean, large rooms
The Castle Hotel (currently being rebranded as the ClearSea Arts hotel) was a great place to stay in Qingdao. The rooms were large, modern, and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, though with limited English. The location, near the Governor's mansion, was great for a March trip, as everything we wanted to see was a short cab ride away. During the summer, a location closer to the beach would have been more preferrable.
Reviewed March 22, 2011
5.7
Marc from France
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Hôtel moyen”
Proprete. Des chambres, style, bon petit déjeuner
Reviewed March 04, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Gabrielle from France
Family with young children
Superior Garden View
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
H^tel très agreable”
Hôtel particulièrement charmant
c'était un séjour dans un lieu tout à fait charmant d'une architecture classique allemande avec un design intérieur très moderne. l'hôtel se situe en pleine verdure au sommet d'une petite colline. l'accueil est soigné
Reviewed November 02, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Holger from Germany
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Super Hotel ”
Lage
Super Hotel jedoch mit katastrophaler Taxi-Anbindung
Reviewed March 20, 2015
4.0
Holger from Germany
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Schönes schickes Hotel,”
Sicht, Zimmer, Lage
Reviewed October 29, 2014