Book Now: Redwall Hotel

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (620)Booking.com Reviews (26)
6.9
Good
From 620 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.6
Facilities7.5
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality6.9
Service6.6
Value for money7.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
Bahasa Indonesia
more
Room type
Executive Standard Room
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Business Deluxe
Executive Deluxe Suite
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 616 verified guest comments
4.3
Prakriti from Nepal
Couple
Classic Business
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
Redwall Hotel”
Red wall was a lousy, dirty hotel with the most annoying bell boys who just wouldn't leave us alone. They kept trying to sell us tickets to various Beijing tours and attraction. This got to a point that my husband and I literally had to hide from them so they'd leave us alone. It was extremely annoying. The carpet in the room was extremely dirty and the dim lighting in the room made it feel like they were trying to hide the dirt in the room. In fact we only noticed the stains in the carpet in the morning. The bathroom smelled of urine and the shower didnt work properly. The bed was extremely hard and the air condition didn't work properly too. So basically I was freezing in the room the whole time unless I snuck myself inside the blanket. I hated this hotel to the core and would not recommend it to anybody!
Reviewed October 26, 2014
3.3
ISABELO from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Awful Hotel”
Awful and very disappointing. Bad, bad and very bad.
Reviewed October 24, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Elaine from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Good location, close to Forbidden city”
A little shabby but the room was clean with a comfortable bed. 10 minute walk to the metro
The room was cleaned everyday but no wifi was available, only in reception. Good value for money overall.
Reviewed October 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Group
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Very good deal for a cheap price”
Location, rooms, accessibility
Very good!! Would stay here again if i go back to beijing.
Reviewed September 16, 2014
7.0
Very good
Pennylaine from Philippines
Couple
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Mediocre”
great location since it's near a bus station, walking distance from the forbidden city, wifi at the lobby
the stay was pleasant enough, but the facilities of the rooms need improvement. Most of the outlets in the room do not work and one of the rooms we stayed at had dirty shower room. Otherwise, for a cheap hotel with a satisfactory location, it was ok.
Reviewed September 16, 2014
6.0
manuel from Philippines
Group
Classic Business
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
average stay”
accomodating staff
Average hotel... but it was all in all a good stay
Reviewed September 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Lyon from Australia
Group
Classic Business
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Location location location...”
Staff location confort
Good. Our rooms were not noisy. The staff downstairs were marvelous especially during our bout of flu. Always helpful never off hand.
Reviewed August 30, 2014
5.3
Marlene from Philippines
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
Bad front desk service”
location
not pleasant
Reviewed August 24, 2014
5.7
Budi from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Business Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
It was okay”
quite, very near to bus station, very near to ICBC ATM
It was okay and pleasant stay
Reviewed July 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
maria from Philippines
Couple
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
good”
room & bathroom was very clean, close to food market & wanfujing, close to center of city
good. aircon a little weak but acceptable. staff very accomodating.
Reviewed May 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jozsef from Hungary
Solo traveler
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Good value at a perfect location”
location, room rate, friendly staff
Perfect location close to historical sights, shopping street. Very good value for money. Standard room was a bit small.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
tal from Canada
Couple
Business Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Was nice place to stay. 3 day's in enouth”
Large rooms, good location, Clean.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Jozsef from Hungary
Solo traveler
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014
Good hotel for reasonable price”
location, quality of room, nice lobby
Accomotdaion is one of the best location close to tourist attractions, shopping street and restaurants at the Lake Area (Beihai, Hohai).
Reviewed May 20, 2014
5.7
thiam from Malaysia
Group
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
receptionist not friendly and room no wifi ”
No
Reviewed May 07, 2014
7.3
Very good
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Business Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Perfect location for major tourist sites . ”
Location comfort convenience
Reviewed April 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Bradley from Australia
Couple
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014
Quiet , relaxing and great surrounding area ”
Location. - Walking distance to major attractions. - Public transport bus 2 minute walk away
Comfortable business type international hotel , OK for solo travellers and families. Staff very friendly and willing to help.
Reviewed April 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
shirley from Australia
Solo traveler
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Comfortable,quiet,close to centre of town”
close to Tiananmen square,Forbidden City, and Baihai Park. easy to locate and safe
the first 2 nights on the third floor was poor accomadation room wise March4th and 5th the second 3 nights stay was on the fourth floor the room was four star well kept
Reviewed March 23, 2014
6.0
Kai from Malaysia
Group
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
not in list to visit again ”
consider cheap in town area, normal cleanliness, easy to get this place with taxi
not really like this hotel coz the hotel quite old and even the room also yet to upgrade, the bed set and washroom not really comfort. cleanliness definitely need to improve, the staff not really can speak in English and the water shower even spoiled and no water! the most I hate is we carry huge luggage but the room we stay no lift provided!!! we have to climb the staircase v heavy luggage, this is not what we expect for 4 star hotel. the hotel is close to some attractions but not really close to mrt, need to walk for a distance for take a bus to reach mrt station. overall, disappointed and this is the 1st time the hotel in my black list and I confirm won't visit again.
Reviewed March 17, 2014
7.3
Very good
Kristel from Philippines
Couple
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Had an amazing stay in Beijing”
hot shower, room has heater (went there on winter), clean room
Arrived in the hotel late night. Front desk was helpful. Hotel is beside ICBC bank and has a market nearby. Behind the hotel you can walk to Forbidden City and Jungshui Park.
Reviewed March 06, 2014
3.7
Deby from Indonesia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Nothing special”
Cheap, worth the money, suitable for short stay
Small room, far from subway stations, front office not friendly.
Reviewed March 01, 2014
7.7
Very good
CHEE from Malaysia
Family with teens
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Strategic laocation and clean rooms.”
Rooms are clean, stuff are accommodative and friendly. walking distance to JingSan Park and Forbidden City as well as Subway station.
A presentable and comfortable stay. It would be perfect if there is WIFI access in the room.
Reviewed February 28, 2014
4.0
ChuHui from China
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
BAD”
Nothing
the front office staff is not friendly. hotel is very dirty and house keeping service is bad too. at night is very difficult to find taxi due to location.
Reviewed February 14, 2014
6.3
Good
James from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Good location”
Located close to major attractions, price, comfortable bed
The hotel is located close to the Forbidden City as well as other major landmarks such as Tianamen Square and Wangfujing Shopping Street. However, subway stations are a little far away. The rooms are small and Wifi is only available in the lobby which can be a bit annoying.
Reviewed January 30, 2014
7.3
Very good
erwin from Indonesia
Group
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
no comment”
no comment
its comfortable for sleep. not noisy.. the staff are friendly. the hotel condition is good and clean.
Reviewed January 26, 2014
6.7
Good
christina from Indonesia
Group
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
good service”
clean, centrally located and good service
redwall hotel has a good staff. He help me to do early check in without additional charges.
Reviewed January 11, 2014
5.0
susan from Finland
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Culture and shopping”
the sightseeing-boy
We arrived 10.00 am and no rooms ready. No rooms was those we had payed for. 07.00 is check-in! They showed us a lot of dirthy, filthy rooms . We had asked for 2 rooms near each other. After ca 1/2 an hour we got 2 clean rooms. One was smaller than we had payed for and the madrass was a stone. The breakfast-room was ice-cold, even if it was December. There was a error in our paying the breakfast. The young cleaner was nice. The lavuar was leaking. The carpets very dirthy etc. Cannot recommend this hotel for anybody, even if we have been before in cheap hotels. What the hotel promised was not true. Could be 1 star-hotel
Reviewed January 08, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Alexander from Sweden
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Comfortable”
Location, Price, Staff
For the money we paid, exactly what we were expecting. Good!
Reviewed January 06, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Harriet from Canada
Solo traveler
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Location was fabulous and the travel desk great.”
Location, travel desk
Reviewed January 06, 2014
7.0
Very good
LASMINI from Indonesia
Family with young children
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
easy access public transportation”
great location, money value, near traditional market
near to the interesting objects, easy to catch the public transportation, near to the traditional market
Reviewed January 06, 2014
7.7
Very good
ALEXANDER from Indonesia
Business traveler
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Good enough for those with low budget”
clean, comfortable, city hotel
Reviewed December 30, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Elroy from Philippines
Family with teens
Executive Deluxe Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Good Hotel for families that would Go to Beijing”
The hotel has a good english speaking staff and really caters to the need of the customer quickly. The location of the hotel is great and near to every must see places in the city.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
5.0
bonifacio from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 8 nights in November 2013
our stay in this hotel is fine”
nice and courteous staff, easy access to bus stop and near to parks
we did enjoy in this hotel, the staff are friendly, they clean our room daily
Reviewed December 16, 2013
5.7
bonifacio from Philippines
Family with teens
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 8 nights in November 2013
our stay in this hotel is fair, friendly staff”
check in and check out is fast and prompt, friendly staff, and quiet surrounding
we had a pleasant stay in this hotel, the staff are friendly, room service is fine, they clean our room everyday, but you have to remind and ask for toiletries, the hotel is near to the parks, bus stops, and to wangfuging street.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Dakisse from Burundi
Solo traveler
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Good but no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby”
Clean, close to major attraction centers, good staff
Good, but no wifi service in the rooms, only in the lobby. Internet service is poor
Reviewed December 10, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Sibyl from Taiwan
Couple
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
good hotel”
price, comfort and peace and quiet
Red wall under Agoda offers such competitive price with very great service quality. First , stuffs are very polite and helpful. Also, it is convenient to join tour groups from tour window located on the first floor. However, although food varieties in the area might be its disadvantages, there are still a few vendors and small restaurants offer foods with local tastes, which turn out very yummy. The tip to find good food is pretty easy. Any stores full with people could guarantee surprisingly good food. Lastly, bus system in Beijing is a blessing for independent travelers. $ 1 RMB for each no matter the distance. If you want to explore different food, you can always ask the tour window the bus number. Less than five stops, you can reach famous bar and food zone and then come back to Red Wall for a quite and nice rest at night. I will definitely choose Red Wall again.
Reviewed December 09, 2013
6.7
Good
nehemiah from United States
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 30 nights in November 2013
Good location”
location
Reviewed December 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Yen from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
good location”
staffs, location, price
staffs were very helpful. We came there at 9am and had a room immediately, (our booking in Agoda had been made just 30 mins before checkin) hotel is right behind the forbidden city and very quiet. room facilities were old but acceptable. Internet speed needs more improvement
Reviewed December 04, 2013
6.3
Good
William from Canada
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Close to the Forbidden City ( Palace Museum )”
Location , value for the money , quiet stay
Our stay was comfortable , a good location , just kitty corner to the rear exit of the Forbidden City , great to walk and take a pedaling tour . close to a Metro entrance , best way to get around Beijing is the very affordable Metro , 2 RMB to any destination . Hotel is fine and staff are friendly enough , some english , someone is always willing to try or find someone who speaks english , good value for the price .
Reviewed December 02, 2013
4.7
Chu from Malaysia
Family with young children
Business Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Far away from major subway, food o/side notcheap ”
cheap, clean, soso room,
Family staying with 2 young kid, it too far away from major subway, it you able to under stand the bus system, then it can be consider. Room rate is reasonable, and outside restarent not that cheap althrough it quite far away center town. not recommened for family with younf kid or old people.
Reviewed November 25, 2013
6.0
roy from Indonesia
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Just ok experience.. The room is tiny for beijing”
Location is nearby to attraction places
ust ok experience.. The room is tiny for beijing.. Location is nearby to attraction places
Reviewed November 14, 2013
6.3
Good
roy from Indonesia
Couple
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
Just ok experience.. The room is tiny for beijing ”
Location is nearby to attraction places
Just ok experience.. The room is tiny for beijing
Reviewed November 14, 2013
7.3
Very good
KHOO from Malaysia
Group
Classic Business
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Worth value hotel”
Easy access ,good location,value for money
Near to forbidden city and easy access with public transport,a lot of nice local food nearby
Reviewed November 13, 2013
7.0
Very good
Teong from Malaysia
Group
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 9 nights in November 2013
Value for money”
Near to the major attraction. 10 walking distance to subway station. The room is quite clean.
For the money we paid, no major complain about it. The room is just nicely fit for two person. The hotel staff are quite nice. The bed is clean and quite comfortable, but the pillow is too soft for me. The internet connection is very poor in the room, must go to the lobby to access to internet.
Reviewed November 13, 2013
6.7
Good
ALEXANDER from Indonesia
Business traveler
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Just okay”
clean hotel, strategic area
Some of the receptionist are not friendly. The receptionist at the business center is unfriendly.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
7.0
Very good
Windson from United States
Couple
Classic Business
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Nice location”
Location,value,
Pleasant,I enjoyed my stay there. Location too close to some places so taxis might not want to go there.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ANG from Malaysia
Family with teens
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Worth value hotel”
Valued, good location and easy access
A value worth hotel with good location and easy access. Very near to forbidden city and other tourist spot.
Reviewed November 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Andy from Malaysia
Family with teens
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
very good”
good location, clean and value for money
just at the back of forbidden city, take bus 104, 107, 109 to the tian an meng then to buy entrance ticket, walk in the forbidden city till to the end, pay RMB2 to entry jingsan park, exit to sha tan street back you can get back to the hotel, very convenient, nearby there are convenient store, market and restaurant.
Reviewed November 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Andy from Malaysia
Family with teens
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
very good”
good location, value for money, clean.
good location, just at the back of forbidden city, walking distance to Jingsan Park, near to market, convenient store, restaurant and public transport. best have a map when taking taxi from airport to this hotel, we are lucky 1 of 3 taxi driver knowing the hotel location, 30 minutes drive. many European group traveller staying here. always fully booked.
Reviewed November 07, 2013
6.0
Khai from Malaysia
Business traveler
Executive Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in October 2013
No wifi available in the room and wifi not stable ”
clean , and staff are friendly .
Clean and reasonable price for the hotel . But wifi is not stable even at the lobby area. So is really bad as I need wifi for my email.
Reviewed November 06, 2013
7.3
Very good
Wai-Lan from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Executive Deluxe King or Twin
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013
a nice and resonably comfortable stay”
staff are polite and helpful, impressive with their response to request of service,
I found that staff in general are very helpful and efficient as I was able to communicate with the staff with my limited Mandarin and made my requests to be understood. The hotel is on a side street off the main road, but you can still hear the passers by talking and traffic from outside at night if you have your window open, so we had to close the windows at night. However it is a very good location to get about with the public transport once you get yourself familiarised with the bus service, as it is Only a few bus stops away then you will be connected to the underground system which is excellent.
Reviewed November 06, 2013