Book Now: Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

Very good
From 298 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (298)Booking.com Reviews (233)
7.7
Very good
From 298 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.7
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.8
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Premier
Executive Club
Deluxe Suite
Superior Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 226 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Kwok from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior - Classic
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
good location”
guest can run in the stadium at the morning is a great added value for those who like running.
Reviewed March 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Scott from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
Good hotel”
Convenient for people attending soccer games (or wanting to watch them from your room')
Reviewed March 25, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Scott from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016
Great hotel”
Very convenient for the exhibition we were attending. Easy access to public transport. Nice pool and good restaurant
Reviewed March 25, 2016
6.7
Good
YOUNGCHUL from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior - Classic
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
nice location ”
location location location
the location is super perfect. but there are nothing after 10pm around hotel. i wouldnt say staff are very nice and helpful but there were considered ok.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Kee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior - Classic
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Clean and comfortable.”
Room is spacious as compared to other hotels nearby.
Excellent
Reviewed December 21, 2015
6.0
connie from Hong Kong
Couple
Premier
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
for business trip is ok”
spacious, close to exhibition center
spacious, close to exhibition center
Reviewed November 30, 2015
5.3
Kin from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Staff service is bad”
There are decent restaurants around. Rate acceptable.
The check out staff was terrible. Was a woman wearing glasses. I didn't get her name. Her attitude was terrible. I would never go back to this hotel.
Reviewed October 20, 2015
6.0
Wai from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
quiet but with shops around”
quiet, near metro, many shops nearby
Far from sight seeing areas but good for business travelers, many shops nearby, near metro station, quiet. But there is no cool air condition in March to April. If weather is hot, you feel sick.
Reviewed April 06, 2015
5.7
Siew from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Very average.”
All the rest are average.look elsewhere. Staffs are complaining about other customers in the restaurant. No eye contact when communicating with customer. You won't feel any warmness. Recommended for solo business traveller who stay in most of the time. Surround have decent dining place.
Reviewed March 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
SHENTON from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
will return ”
bed. toilet and service
excellent with comfort..
Reviewed January 17, 2015
7.7
Very good
Sze from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Nice”
Location & Dining
Reviewed November 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ian from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Suite
Stayed 7 nights in November 2014
Great for sports Fans”
Good Location for Sports Events, Great Room and service , Great Food.
Very Enjoyable. The Only problem I found "as a non smoker" is the number of people who smoke in the no smoking areas with out regard or care of us non smokers. Having said that the problem is probably China wide. It would have been good if the staff had enforced these non smoking rules but it appears to be a non issue
Reviewed November 14, 2014
7.3
Very good
qi from China
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
ok but parking is very difficult at concert time”
Generally okay
Reviewed June 30, 2014
7.7
Very good
Nikolaos from Greece
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Pleasant stay in a tidy hotel”
Clean, easy to access, helpful staff
Reviewed April 09, 2014
6.0
Wing from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
nice”
comfortable environment, reasonable price, clean
nice location with cafe, convenient store, supermarket n food court aroubd
Reviewed April 03, 2014
6.7
Good
JUSTIN from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Comfy bed, located in stadium, good location”
Comfy bed, clean room, convenient
Difficult to hail cab from hotel, convent around the city by taking cab, clean room, located in a stadium so irregular configuration but easy to access, close to the center of the city. Wifi was complimentary but quite slow. Very not expensive but the restaurants, shops, lobby are quite run down. Do not get mixed up with the other regal hotels in shanghai.
Reviewed March 21, 2014
6.0
CHEONG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Good location.Near MRT.Nice Breakfast”
Good location.Near MRT.Nice breakfast
Reviewed March 16, 2014
6.0
Wai from China
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
not bad”
not bad
Reviewed February 03, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
yulia from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
cozy and friendly”
many foriegners, english speaking staff
it was nice, not too big, warm, cozy corridors, lobby
Reviewed December 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
yulia from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
cozy and has a good hospitable atmosphere”
many foriegners, nice corridors, service
it was good, more like business hotel, but there are wine glasses and many useful things in a minibar.. cozy lobby and restaurant, pool, gym...
Reviewed December 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Sankie from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Comfortable and relaxing”
Very close to subway station. Quiet environment but convenient to restaurants and shopping outside. Clean and comfortable room.
I had a pleasant stay in this hotel because hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. Clean, big and comfortable room at a very reasonable rate. Since this hotel was very close to subway station, I could access to almost everywhere without having traffic jam. I'll definitely stay at this hotel again when I visit Shanghai in the future.
Reviewed December 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Calvin from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Great location”
Location location location
Because my trip was for business as I need to work at the stadium, so this hotel's location was great. Besides that, it's a comfy hotel and it's great for business.
Reviewed November 06, 2013
7.3
Very good
ben from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Good valued hotel not easily accesible ”
Value clean large room
Clean large room hotel not accessible easily from main road and situated in the middle of shanghai sport stadium! Staffs polite and courteous. Underground station within walking duarance
Reviewed November 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ANTHONY from Bangladesh
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
GOOD”
Airport pick up, Fast Chek-in and Fast Internet
Reviewed October 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Edcon from Canada
Business traveler
Executive Club
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Location is the best advantage ”
Convenient, Clean, Comfort
Since it is exactly locating besides Shanghai Stadium, for people who has to work at the stadium to stay in, and for those who participates in events at the stadiums, it is SUPEr convenient!
Reviewed October 07, 2013
6.0
GEK from Singapore
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Reasonably priced”
Near to Shanghai Stadium
Overall stay is okay. However, things went missing in the room only to realise that hotel staff took it by mistake. Every morning, staff knocked on the door, and came into the room despit the "Do Not Disturb" Sign is on. Usually, my partner and I will sleep in till late morning due to past night activities. So, naturally, we will not respond to the knocking and door bells. And each morning i have to wake up and greet the staffs in my pyjamas. This is very annoying. Air Condition in the room is not at the tip condition, and it was really very hot in Shanghai during my stay in August. Renovation works started as early as 7am in the morning and we had to complain before the renovation works stopped. According to the hotel staffs, the renovation works are only supposed to start after 10am. I feel that the hotel could put in more effort in educating their staffs and ensuring that the occupiers of the hotel has a pleasant stay.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
6.3
Good
Christian from Sweden
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Good location for IKEA employees”
Close to IKEA and IKEA HQ, English speaking staff, Efficient taxi service
Reviewed June 30, 2013
7.7
Very good
HUI from China
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Tidy nice place, good design as in a stadium”
Room is spacious, design is modern and facilities are good, close to MTR statation
Reviewed June 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
SHIH from Canada
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
very good location”
location is very good
Reviewed May 24, 2013
7.7
Very good
Jerrican from Malaysia
Business traveler
Executive Club
Stayed 6 nights in May 2013
very near to the place I work”
I like the location, cleanliness, design, service that this hotel can provide. Best is the accessibility to many subway line
Reviewed May 20, 2013
6.0
sim from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
ok”
hardly any
i have not pay for internet usage in other hotel except east regal. no asst rendered when i have many luggage. poor treadmill and lastly, first time i got rejected for request of checking out 1 hour later.
Reviewed May 16, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Tseng from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Good location, close to subway station”
good location, close to MRI. Many resturants and shops near the hotel. Swimming poor is great.
Reviewed April 30, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Emma from Ireland
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Very good”
The hotel is near to the metro station and Travel Bus Station. Interesting surroundings in the grounds of the stadium. All of the main tourist attractions are within a 20 minute drive.
Overall, a very good experience. On arrival, the gentleman who checked us in was not too friendly. There was no 'welcome,' smile or small talk. However, I stupidly left my bank card in the hotel ATM one day and when I arrived back to the hotel to ask for help, they were extremely helpful. The assistant manager even came out and made some calls. We didn't eat here so I can't comment on food. Our room was nice but the window looked out on another dirty looking window (the stadium I assume). Therefore it was quite dark there. I was disappointed when I found we had to pay for internet in the rooms. There was no wifi available anywhere in the hotel. This was the hotel's biggest failing.
Reviewed April 09, 2013
5.0
SING from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
no free wifi! not bad if they have a good discount”
nice lobby
the beer provided in the fridge and we beer we brought were the same. however, the hotel insisted to charge us!!
Reviewed April 07, 2013
6.0
Ip from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in March 2013
Convenient location”
Good location, Smelly room
The room had smoke smell while I stayed at a non-smoking room. Staff's (front desk) attitude needs to be improved. They don't have eye contact even to answer a simple question.
Reviewed April 06, 2013
6.0
Tam from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
An affordable hotel”
Price, Shops Nearby, MRT Nearby
Reviewed April 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Vanessa from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Great location, attentive staff.”
Great location, attentive staff and very professtional service.
Good and attentive staff made it a great stay. Location is good and room is great.
Reviewed April 06, 2013
6.3
Good
Sovanvisal from Cambodia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Acceptable hotel”
Good location for exhibition
King room is good but they said they do not have my room by the time i arrived so i have to wait for the next day to have a room change.
Reviewed March 09, 2013
6.3
Good
LAI from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
good location ”
free wifi
the location of the hotel is good, which is near the MTR station and there have a shipping mall nearby with supermarket it is very good to offer free WIFI in the room, and we can commumicate with others easily but the service/staff performance is fair and the faciliate in the room is old
Reviewed February 27, 2013
6.3
Good
Seow from Singapore
Family with teens
Executive Club
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good Hotel with good service”
Room is big since is Club Room
Club house facility is close during the 2nd/3rd night stay, is really disappointed Breakfast is always the same for the pass couple of year, and is not value for money if have to pay for it Pricing of the room is always vary, some time you may get good deal with free BF/wifi
Reviewed January 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ZHANG from China
Couple
Executive Club
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
lovely hotel”
very nice room
the room is very romantic, very large, very clean, i like the room so much, but the breakfast is only for one person, rhe locartion is good bur it need to walk a little bit to go inside from the gate
Reviewed December 02, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Randall from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
First Class Hotel, convenient and friendly staff”
Quality accomodations
I had a short stay of only three nights, but the room was very comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the subway and plenty of other shopping and restaurants.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
8.0
Excellent
WEI from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
Good location in the heart of Shanghai”
Tuck nicely close to the Shanghai stadium
The hotel is nice and good facility. Location is good, with easy access to the downtown of Shanghai. My room is facing the football field, during our stay there is a concert going on...very cool to watch for free, but we can't hear thanks to the very good acoustic insulation of the window. That's impressive. The hotel room is nice and comfortable, and service of the staff is good. Overall, it's good value for money.
Reviewed October 07, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Carolyn from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Great Hotel”
Great Location, Friendly Front Desk Staff
The hotel is situated in a great location, but is hard for the taxis to locate since it sounds like a lot of the other hotels in the area. The pool is located in the basement but is much cleanier than any of the other pools I have seen at other Chinese hotels. The room was very comfortable; the maids were very friendly. There is free internet in the lobby, however the password changes everday so you have to keep going back to the front desk.
Reviewed June 30, 2012
8.0
Excellent
chaiyawat from Thailand
Family with young children
Executive Club
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Good location”
Near Subway station
club room is big and clean hotel service is quite good location of hotel is inside of indoor stadium and not so far from subway exit 2 opposite side of hotel has a small department store where has a good chinese food in base 1 i am not comfortable when i brought my kid to club and smell smooking.
Reviewed April 24, 2012
4.3
Ellya from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
bad 4 star hotel ever had”
the hotel is clean and nice
The receptionist was look too proud, no smile and looked down to the customers. I will never visit this hotel again !!.
Reviewed December 06, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Ho from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Nice hotel with good location”
Convenient
it was in general a pleasant stay. nice room, good service and convenient location.
Reviewed October 17, 2011
6.7
Good
Dawood from South Africa
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
lovely hotel in a great spot”
good location
the hotel is in a great and unique location. it is well mentained and experience a very pleasnt feeling when you entre. the service at the hotel is great and transport available easily. i would definitly stay here and was very pleased with my stay. prices was very resonable
Reviewed June 21, 2011
7.0
Very good
Bailey from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in May 2011
Pretty good location; pleasant and helpful staff”
I found the hotel to be nicely located for easy access to most of the city. It's also pretty close to metro and some interesting neighborhood shopping. There were quite a few restaurants within walking distance.
I found the hotel to be reasonably well appointed, especially for the price. However, I was offended at the price they are charging for in-room internet service...Otherwise, the hotel was pleasant enough; good location; comfortable, etc. I'll think twice about staying again, though because of the internet charges.
Reviewed June 01, 2011
6.7
Good
Clint from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011
Location near the subway was a plus”
Spacious room
Overall a good stay. Rooms were spacious, internet was fast and the rain style shower was a nice touch.
Reviewed May 15, 2011