Book Now: Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Excellent
From 392 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 89% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (392)Booking.com Reviews (2021)
8.5
Excellent
From 392 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.3
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.5
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
한국어
日本語
more
Room type
Club Room, Club lounge access, Guest room, City view
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 286 verified guest comments
6.0
chua from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
2night stay at Renaissance apr1-2”
Location: a distance away from cheng huang temple and yu garden street. Located opp a mrt exit is a plus point. Cleanliness: Don't like the free 2x bottle water to be placed inside the toilet Staff: quite friendly Facilities: the central aircon is pretty noisy and is actually a disturbance in the quiet night.
Reviewed April 03, 2017
5.2
arron from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
3 star not 5 star!”
The hotel Lobby cafe and concierge were great, however the rooms at this hotel are not 5 star. We had to move rooms as our original room was grubby, with mound growing around the bath, Dirty shower head, dirt between the cabinet and shower, wallpaper pealing away from the walls, dirty carpets and a unclean smelling bed sheets and pillows. Our new room was ok, but still needed tarting up, however, much better than the previous one. This is not a 5 star hotel! As confirmed by the fury manager that advised us this is an old hotel!
Reviewed March 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lin from Taiwan
Business traveler
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good location & service. ”
Nice place & service. Clean & good for staying.
Reviewed January 21, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Wui-Tek from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Good hotel”
Good hotel with good location
Reviewed December 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sampan from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Excellent location. Walking distance to Yu Yuan and Metro. ”
Great service especially by Tanja who recommended us delicious local restaurants.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
SungMin from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Just the hotel”
There are nothing else around the hotel. If you are focused on just the hotel, then it is good place but if you are looking for some entertainment then you may want to learn some chinese for taxi ride.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
SungMin from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Good value but no where else to go”
As the subject says, the hotel itself is nice but other than the hotel there are nothing around for entertainment. so Think carefully about what you want in Shanghai!
Reviewed October 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
SHUHAN from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Perfect!!”
Location is great! Outstanding lobby! nothing to complain about
Reviewed June 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Lea from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Good facilities”
Great hotel with a pool and nice basic gym. Free wifi in the lobby but you have to pay to get it in the rooms
Reviewed June 27, 2016
7.6
Very good
Victor from Singapore
Business traveler
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Very comfortable stay for 3 nights”
Great gym!
Reviewed May 01, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
ROBERT from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 7 nights in April 2016
Great place to stay”
Very good location with most staff speaking English and very pleased to help whenever possible.
Reviewed April 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Catherine from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Good location ”
Very good location, happy staff !
Reviewed April 21, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jeff from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great hotel, location and food”
Good location for shopping and train
Reviewed April 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jack from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Stay was fine & staff could be better”
Receptionist give me black face.
Reviewed March 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Amanda from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015
Value for money.”
Really close to Yu Garden. Friendly and helpful staff. Close by to train station.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
6.0
Mark from Germany
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Not 5star - no pool no spa”
good location - nice rooms - great breakfast
Good for business and sightseeing
Reviewed January 11, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Ken from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great location between CBD & the bund.”
Good location, no frills and diligent staff
No complains except warm water abit slow. Definite place to stay again when visiting Shanghai. Clean rooms, linen, good lighting and all in-room amenities working well. Metro station, Shanghai old street, the Bund are all nearby. No problems for staff to call for taxi except the main street can be jam and takes about 10mins on average to arrive during peak hours. Should take more of metro if no luggage to carry. Taxi drivers knows the location of the hotel.
Reviewed December 19, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Lin from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Nice Service for Room and also have good manner. ”
Service , location & Room
Reviewed December 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Germany
Business traveler
Club Room, Club lounge access, Guest room, City view
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Nice Hotel”
the area is perfect / close to the Bund / nice room
I like this hotel ! perfect business stay
Reviewed December 08, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Mark from Germany
Business traveler
Club Room, Club lounge access, Guest room, City view
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Nice Hotel”
pool is great / rooms are huge
I like the hotel - just unknown for taxis
Reviewed December 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
quite good”
quite good
Reviewed December 08, 2015
7.0
Very good
Amily from Malaysia
Family with young children
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
good location and comfortable room ”
nice room, good location
the room was spacious and comfortable. hotel location near MRT. breakfast was not impressed. swimming pool and gym are really small.
Reviewed November 11, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
SHIH from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
very nice hotel in centre shanghai”
location, close to shop and close to the bound
Reviewed October 15, 2015
6.7
Good
Roman from Switzerland
Group
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Nice location”
Good location (close to Bund and the MRT), the spacious room, and it was clean
Reviewed October 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Melanie from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Great mini break”
Comfy bed, location and breakfast
We had a great stay here. The staff tried really hard to accomodate our needs, even bringing a DVD player for my son as the TV channels were not suitale for a 6 year old boy. The buffet breakfast was extensive and tasty and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and relaxing in the jacuzzi although the glass stairs were a bit concerning!! The location is fantastic and easy to access everything as the metro is literally 5 minutes away.
Reviewed September 30, 2015
7.3
Very good
Nathan from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Location to YuYuan Gardens FANTASTIC”
The lobby view is fantastic, the location to metro, the view from the roof top bar.
A very comfortable stay with my young family. Nice to walk out into the markets at YuYuan Gardens.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
shibo from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Great location for family outing”
location
Shopping and sight seeing
Reviewed September 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
shibo from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Excellent stay”
location
Great
Reviewed September 19, 2015
4.7
James from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Didn't see much of the Old Shanghai”
1. Proximity to MRT 2. Next to Yu Garden
Other than its proximity to the MRT and the Yu Garden, there's not much going for this Renaissance.
Reviewed September 07, 2015
7.0
Very good
Warinat from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
more like a three star hotel”
location only.
best location, other than that, everything is so-so only.
Reviewed August 17, 2015
7.3
Very good
Nan from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Hotel review ”
The front desk was able to solve my bed type request. the concierge was very helpful in terms of booking taxi. The room was spacious and clean
It was an alright experience, but have got any chance to try the hotel food this time. Wish to try next time
Reviewed July 11, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Kathrin from Germany
Family with teens
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
great hotel”
location, cleanliness, comfort
perfect
Reviewed July 01, 2015
7.7
Very good
Kim from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good location ”
Clean and comfortable, value for money, good location
Reviewed June 08, 2015
7.7
Very good
Kim from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good location ”
Good location, value for money, clean and comfortable
Reviewed June 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Barrett from Singapore
Business traveler
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Reliable Business Hotel”
Consistency of service, near to amenities, proper business hotel facilities.
Great (consistent with all my previous stays, which is very important).
Reviewed April 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Tanya from Taiwan
Family with teens
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
GOOD”
Location,
Reviewed April 08, 2015
7.7
Very good
kenneth from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Downtown Shanghai”
Staff, room comfort, cleanliness
Stay was comfortable
Reviewed April 08, 2015
8.3
Excellent
DaiChin from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Good location, clean and comfy”
Good location, clean and comfy
Reviewed April 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Zach from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Excellent hotel!”
It was SUPER clean! The staff was helpful and friendly, and close to subway.
The customer service was excellent, it was directly beside the subway line 10 stop. It is pricey but super nice. We got a room with 2 double beds and my children and my husband and I slept comfortably. It was perfect. Just a short walk around the corner is some eating places (McDs, Papa Johns, Pizza Hut) A lot of restaurants deliver to the hotel if you are tired. And its a short subway to the Pearl Tower and Bund
Reviewed April 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Gian from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Great Hotel”
Location,Value and Friendly
Near Yu Garden and street shopping, staff are A+, really really friendly. Experienced cramps during my stay and the staff assisted my colleague to the pharmacy to get meds :-)
Reviewed March 29, 2015
6.7
Good
Rosalia from Singapore
Business traveler
Club Room, Club lounge access, Guest room, City view
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Please see my other comment”
Please see my other comment
Please see my other comment
Reviewed March 25, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Khor from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Everything is good”
comfortable, cleanliness, staff are friendly
Everything is good but the aircon very hot during midnight period caused us didn't have a proper sleep and the fridge was not cold at all.
Reviewed March 02, 2015
7.0
Very good
KONG from China
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Disappointed Recommodation”
handy bell boys, good bed,
so far so good . but,transportations is so bad,esp. without taxi . I won't choose it anymore.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jeff from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
good location, modern and comfortable”
locatoon, food, comfort
Excellent rating justified. Only concern I have is the rather unfriendly staff during checking who insisted I speak Chinese just because I am Asian, and demand that I produce my Hong Kong "home return permit" despite me entering China with a foreign passport (even immigration at China did not demand this so I was rather shocked to have a front desk hotel lady asking for this). Other than this hiccup, my stay here has been rather pleasant
Reviewed February 19, 2015
7.3
Very good
Siau from Malaysia
Business traveler
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Value for money”
Good location within walking distance to Yu Garden, very comfortable room, cleanliness
Reviewed February 03, 2015
7.0
Very good
ChungJu from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
GREAT LOCATION”
location, nice staff, and very near yu garden
Reviewed January 29, 2015
7.0
Very good
DaiChin from Taiwan
Couple
Premier Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double, High floor
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good location”
location/location/location
The location is great which allow us to take taxi to every destination we would like to visit with low cost! But the breakfast is not good. better to have your breakfast at near by restaurants.
Reviewed January 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Wimol from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
Hotel”
Good location, nice room, good services
Reviewed January 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Phillip from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Clean and crisp”
Beautiful rooms and views
Hotel staff were super friendly and very welcoming. The hotel interiors are lovely and views from our room overlooking the bund were spectacular. For the price, location and standard would recommend and stay there again.
Reviewed December 25, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Shah from Afghanistan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room, Guest room, 1 King or 2 Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Good hotel and best location for jewelery buyers”
Clean , Good location . nice staff
It was a good stay, very near the Yu Gardens, Fangbang area and walking distance from the metro station. I do like the staff they speaking good English and friendly . this is really one of 5 star hotel, I had expected the staff, most especially the concierge to be well conversed. Nevertheless, the hotel gave a good experience. The hotel itself was new and modern, which i like a lot.
Reviewed December 18, 2014