Book Now: Royal Palm Hotel

Excellent
From 292 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 84% of guests

Reviews of Royal Palm Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (292)Booking.com Reviews (912)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.0
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.4
Value for money8.3
All languages
All guests (292)
All room types
Showing 127 verified guest comments
7.2
Very good
Andrew from South Africa
Business traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Hit and miss”

The executive suites are favourably large and include a balcony. My room was great, while my father's room had many problems with it, including an air conditioner that didn't work, bedside lamps that didn't work, a fridge that sounded like a jack-hammer at 3am and a neither he nor I could get the free wifi to work. We tried the pin codes provided on all available WiFi networks to no avail. The continental breakfast was, however, good. So this hotel was a bit hit or miss for us. I wondered why there was such a big discount on Agoda for the rooms we booked. Will try the City Lodge next time and see how they compare.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Chandi from South Africa
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Exceptional”

Excellent breakfast. Enjoyed the spacious two bedroom suite. Will definitely come back to the Royal Palm Hotel.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
6.0
LAURENE
Business traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Above average”

The staff were very friendly however the cleanliness of this hotel is not great - the lifts were filthy and need maintenance, the room we had was beautiful but cupboard doors were lose and hanging on hinges the carpets were stained and dirty as well as the curtains the showers are not cleaned properly and the TV is dated bad viewing - the breakfast mediocre not to fresh you can see they re-use product in this kitchen

Reviewed May 09, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Thavashani from South Africa
Business traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Love this hotel. Location great. Just a great hotel”

The breakfast is horrible. Fruit flies at fruit station. Quality of fruit not good. Sausages looked like it was a few days old. Not good selection of porridge and and drinks

Reviewed May 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Alina from Russia
Solo traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

I enjoy to stay here”

I like everything in this hotel. Everything just great from pillow till breakfast. Thank you royal palm hotel. I will stay here next time

Reviewed May 01, 2019
8.4
Excellent
nasrin from South Africa
Family with teens
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Convenient location”

Staff was excellent and helpful. Property needs maintenance. First room we were given had a very bad smell and there were cockroaches and bugs. They gave us another room which was much better. Kitchen cupboards are falling apart, no cutlery and crockery in room. Service at hotel was excellent.

Reviewed March 29, 2019
2.8
Valter from Croatia
Couple
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Review score”

Very unprofessional housekeeping staff, issues with magnetic keys at entrance of room / floor, bedding still not done at 4PM, room cleaning done first day just to Impress you and the rest of stay better to choose some other hotel. Breakfast as usual in all hotels in Durban, however, no cover for cheese, crackers etc and flies are sitting on what you are eating. Nobody cares.

Reviewed March 16, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mala from South Africa
Solo traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Great location.”

Its central to all shopping areas

Reviewed May 15, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
richard from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Outstanding”

A very warm welcome from Zawa upon my arrival. Despite me arriving before official checking of 2 PM, she went to every effort in order to get me a room so I could drop off items before disappearing to a business meeting. My room was absolutely outstanding and reminiscent of an opulent country home. I couldn't have been more thrilled with the quality of the furnishings, the size, the attention to detail as well as the level of comfort. There is nothing I would have changed. I would like to thank all of the staff together with the management for your very warm welcome albeit for my 1 night stay only. I look forward to staying with you again in the future.

Reviewed January 17, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Thavashani from South Africa
Business traveler
DOUBLE JUNIOR SUITE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Exceptional”

Zama went the extra mile to help. Her service is 5 star.

Reviewed March 30, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Shenaaz from South Africa
Solo traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Very disappointing ”

I asked for milk sachets. I was asked why how many in my room I paid for one person why do I need more milk. Am very upset to be humiliated like that. I travelled the world never was I degraded like that. Unacceptable

Reviewed October 30, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Zaheer
Solo traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Very good”

Nice and spacious room, very peaceful and relaxing

Reviewed April 25, 2019
5.2
Tholakele from South Africa
Business traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

The carpet is old and dirty. A health hazard for someone who has sinus problems like me and my fam.”

Location perfect. Nobody told me the hotel was being painted. Health hazard!!!!! I have been staying at Royal Palm since 2012. The rooms are run down. Carpet dirty and old. Towels old. In a nutshell there is no room maintenance. They have renovated and remodeled the restaurant and neglected the rooms.

Reviewed April 10, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Vongai from South Africa
Couple
Standard Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Exceptional”

The room id requested wasn’t ready on time though I arrived 1 hour After my estimated arrival time I had to wait fr approx 20 minutes to no avail which resulted in them changing me to a different room I found this to be abit disorganized but overall it was a magnificent stay

Reviewed November 07, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Mulalo from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Excellent”

Perfect location. Located in a quiet area, close to gateway mall. The hotel itself is amazing. The breakfast was to die for. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is not friendly at all. Long faces everyday.

Reviewed October 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Diana from South Africa
Couple
Standard Studio
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Visit”

I really loved the location, it changed my dbn visit for the first time in my life....... facilities was good.... I visited and called the hotel for an early check in which I was advised the hotel was fully booked, which is understandable. ...However the room was still not ready by 2:30..... What i did appreciate was being upgraded to executive room.... Another point to note....i also requested twin beds.....which was noted prior to my visit.....because my visit was so quick......and I had appointments ect.....i had no time to mention this....and my brother had to sleep on the couch........... Apart from that the room i was allocated was awesome in terms of comfort.....The staff was really helpful as well. time is very important if your booking for a day....and details requested(twin beds) I do come to gateway often which a group of people.....who often ask me for recommendations..... Many thanks.

Reviewed August 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Moorosi from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Ideal place to stay for Comrades”

The hotel is central and ideal for those taking on the Comrades ultra marathon. I appreciate the breakfast pack that was prepared for those running the Comrades. The hotel can do a refresh of furniture and furnishings.

Reviewed June 16, 2018
2.0
Leigh
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Review score”

No comment

Reviewed February 23, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Leigh
Business traveler
Executive Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Awesome ”

No cons only pro

Reviewed January 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
venesh from United Kingdom
Group
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Very Good”

Very good service all round. Staff polite and helpful.

Reviewed January 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Leigh
Business traveler
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Excellent ”

Excellent accommodation

Reviewed January 21, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Tasneem from South Africa
Business traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

.”

.

Reviewed January 10, 2019
4.8
Domenico from Italy
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 9 nights in April 2019

Good location,one guy staff very helpful.Tge women not at all.Need to take out carpets of rooms.”

Pros-location Con-Need to get a scrub down the rooms and cushions

Reviewed May 07, 2019
7.6
Very good
Karolyn from South Africa
Family with young children
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Not enough entertainment at the hotel.”

One problem I had is that I indicated that I want an early check in, but that did not happen

Reviewed May 06, 2019
7.6
Very good
Tsepo
Couple
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Very good”

location is super, and the staff was friendly, breakfast was not the best, as some of the fruits were not fresh.

Reviewed April 29, 2019
3.6
Mannie from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

horrible experience”

My dad and mum arrived at Royal Palm on the 4 January 2019. Upon arrival, there was an awful smell that emitted from the bathroom. When my family called reception in my presence, they were advised that a maintenance guy will be in shortly to attend to the issue. The maintenance man then advised my family that the extractor in the toilet was not working. The smell was unbearable. My little sister was playing in the room, until she found a light switch of which, the wires were exposed. After noticing this, I left the hotel room with my little sister. The furniture were old and broken. Utensils were used prior to my parents utilizing the room. The towels were stained and kept to use. Wifi was a hassle to connect in order for my dad to work. Overall, it was a disgusting environment to be accommodated in for two days, of which photographs were taken. It was a rip off for the price I paid. I cannot believe that the hotel management were so negligent in their duties.

Reviewed January 09, 2019
5.6
Judith
Couple
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 14 nights in December 2018

Above average”

Overall my stay was not the best that I had expected. The hotel is closer to the mall, etc but the furniture is outdated. Nobody informed me about low shedding especially that my husband is from America and he had not experienced such previously. The toilet in the rooms appear to leak because they smell of urine even after cleaning. The excess door key kept on not working and needed to be updated all the time. The staff are friendly but it’s difficult to get your room refreshed in the evening due to lack of staff. The restaurant has inexperienced staff. The place needs renovation. Some of the units have outdated AC. Imagine we stayed for 14 days and I thought it will be worth our stay but as yet not.

Reviewed December 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
Marco from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Disappointing ”

3rd stay at this hotel. It was rather disappointing, lacked on service, the standard was definitely below what we previously experienced. No bath mats, only 1 complimentary water , no spoons for tea and coffee, lots of hair in the bed when I lifted back the covers which was a major no no. ( My worst nightmare) I requested extra pillows which weren’t in the room at the time of our arrival. We requested these again and they never came. There was loads of dust along the rails of the sliding doors and behind the coffee tables, I saw this when I wanted to switch the lamp on. The bath hadn’t been clean properly either, I wanted to use it but decided against it. They forgot to open a room account for us so we had to keep on paying for everything we ordered. Overall it left somewhat to be desired. I will not return again in a hurry. The reception staff were pleasant.

Reviewed December 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Seome from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Exellent service”

Very proffessional and caring staff

Reviewed April 23, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Jason
Group
DOUBLE DELUXE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

All good”

All good

Reviewed April 23, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Amiraj
Family with young children
Executive Suite King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Lovely place”

Breakfasts for vegetarians could be improved please.

Reviewed March 27, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Lally from South Africa
Couple
DOUBLE JUNIOR SUITE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Valued customer”

My birthday weekend stay was simply awesome, I would have wanted to see the same consistency in cleaning the room also on the second last day of my stay Many thanks Kind Regards Lally

Reviewed March 14, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ndhuma
Business traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

80”

I enjoyed my stay and I will definitely come back

Reviewed March 11, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Thobekile from South Africa
Solo traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Beautiful ”

Had issues with WiFi The hotel is very beautiful and well located and staff were helpful

Reviewed March 01, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Martha from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Perfect Location”

Spacious rooms, great staff, clean, felt safe.....will be returning for a longer stay :-) thank you!

Reviewed February 27, 2019
7.6
Very good
THOKOZILE from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Excellent service”

Location

Reviewed January 07, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Qasim from South Africa
Group
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Great value hotel in outstanding location ”

Great hotel. Booked a 2-bedroom suite and it was amazing. Suite was large and well-appointed and had all amenities for a perfect “home-away-from-home” stay.

Reviewed November 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Karin from South Africa
Business traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Perfect location”

Even after a day at the office you can still enjoy the buzzing atmosphere of the Gateway Mall and the restaurant choices are amazing. Loved the private balcony and equipped kitchen area.

Reviewed October 07, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Badulla from Mauritius
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

superb location”

superb location room nice but old tiles not too clean

Reviewed July 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Badulla from Mauritius
Couple
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

very good location”

very good location just walking distance to gateway mall but hotel is old

Reviewed July 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Anita from Australia
Business traveler
Executive Suite Twin
Stayed 8 nights in November 2016

Very spacious rooms”

Great location, opposite Gateway Shopping Centre. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops you can just walk too including a cinema and bowling and only a short drive to the beach and other tourist locations. We loved Umhlanga.

Reviewed November 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Lee from South Africa
Business traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Great Hotel ”

While it was a business for my partner it was a weekend away for me. The room was massive an spacious, with a lovely big bathroom and balcony. Everything was almost in walking distance. The staff were wonderful always extremely accommodating and happy to help. When we had a problem with our aircon unit, they wasted no time in making sure they had another room ready and waiting, even breakfast late comers were never an issue.

Reviewed June 06, 2016
7.3
Very good
Benedict from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015

My senses were greatly pleased.”

The unusually designed designed building, from foyer to the apartments. The staff who were happy to please. Great food.

The calm of the environment contrasted with the bustling outside. The hotel was full but that did not disturb the tranquil. Check in was a breeze. Secure rooms with high tech locking. Television was tricky to use but housekeeping sorted it out. Kitchenette could have been better designed, it's a little cramped and awkward. The drop - down wardrobe/organiser was also cumbersome to operate. Lovely breakfast, the manager remembered our names, the Earl Grey tea we had the morning before and was an example of hard but pleasant work. Her name is Vanessa Williams and deserves my praise for her effort.

Reviewed November 22, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Geoff from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Good hotel, great staff and location”

very helpful staff and convenient

arrived late at night and couldnt find parking, staff checked me in an parked my car, they were very helpful. restaurant was closing so front desk notifyed them i was going to be late and they were happy for me to order from the full menue. staff are a credit to the hotel. hotel itself is a little tired but it is very clean and a great location to base yourself

Reviewed March 28, 2012
6.0
Bonginhlanhla from South Africa
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Some sort of Royalty”

This hotel needs to up it's game to stay relevant. The lift was not working properly and so was the magnetic key system which is easily fried by cellphones in the pocket. When I went to reprogram the key, I was told "you put it with your cellphone", I responded "Yes. There's usually a cellphone(s) somewhere in my pocket". The staff forget their posts at night and convene group meetings. The executive room however, was very spacious. The connected beds always feel awkward for me and doesn't really count as "Queen Size" but double 3 quarter as I feel the border between the 2 beds. The pillows gave my neck a hiding so I'm not sure if its a quality issue or the pillows are not changed till they reach that pain inflicting phase. I'd say get another hotel (unless they are fully occupied) - don't come here.

Reviewed October 22, 2018
7.2
Very good
rafique from South Africa
Couple
DOUBLE DELUXE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

terrible service.”

I was checked in to room 602 , I noticed that the door leading to the patio was not locking ,I immediately contacted reception and was told it would be sorted out ,at 10pm door was still the same and called reception again and was told it would be sorted out the next day and there isn't another room available, when I asked for a refund I was given another room. there was a problem with parking as well I was asked to pay R130.00 and yet upon check in it was free as is advertised. Njabulo was the only friendly one.

Reviewed October 08, 2018
6.8
Good
Peter from South Africa
Solo traveler
DOUBLE DELUXE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Good”

Check in starts at 12, which is when I arrived at the hotel, but the room wasn't available until 12:30, which usually isn't a bother for me, but i had a wedding to attend at 13:00, which made the check-in an anxious wait. Housekeeping was unorganised, and walls are thin. I was woken up by rowdy neighbours countless times. Ended up leaving the TV on to drown out the neighbour noise.

Reviewed August 27, 2018
6.8
Good
Anthony from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Okay ...”

Was not really worth the money even though discounted so definitely not worth a full fare! Room was ok but old looking with visibly torn chair, blocked shower drain, square plates that don’t fit in the microwave as well as food and kitchen smells that come from under the gap of the front door. The staff are pleasant but need a bit more awareness in the restaurant. Don’t like to give bad reviews but don’t like to waste money either ...

Reviewed July 05, 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Royal Palm and taking the time to review our Hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Royal Palm Hotel is usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify these shortcomings. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly valuable to us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. With Sincere Apologies, Ashna Rooplal Customer Relations Manager | Royal Palm Hotel

Show more
Royal Palm Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Kim from South Africa
Couple
DOUBLE JUNIOR SUITE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Clean, cheap and helpful”

Close to Gateway Shopping Centre, well air-conditioned and clean. Staff were polite and helpful. A pleasant stay.

Reviewed January 15, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Vuyokazi from South Africa
Solo traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Wonderful stay”

Friendly staff, located in the perfect place . Clean and peaceful. 👏🏿👏🏿👏🏿

Reviewed January 13, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Natalie from South Africa
Couple
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Bliss-Less Hassle-Best Quality”

Thank you we appreciated your professionalism and care

Reviewed November 27, 2018
4.0
Abdul from South Africa
Business traveler
DOUBLE DELUXE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

It’s ok”

Needs Attention

Reviewed October 11, 2018
7.2
Very good
Abdul from South Africa
Business traveler
DOUBLE JUNIOR SUITE - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Nice place”

Needs to upgrade

Reviewed October 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
karen from South Africa
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Very good”

Breakfast needs to change . Same hot dishes everyday . Also staff needs to advise guests that the kitchen can make other items as well such as fried eggs

Reviewed May 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Vusi from South Africa
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

b”

great

Reviewed June 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Vusi from South Africa
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

k”

k

Reviewed April 18, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Enrico from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Good choice!”

Location, Price, Staff
Reviewed March 09, 2015
7.2
Very good
chris from South Africa
Business traveler
Standard Studio
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Very good”

poor breakfast selection and cooked food over cooked dinner - lamb curry, was over cooked (reported to the chef) no writing desk in room, and table in lounge had no chair or reading light

Reviewed February 06, 2019
4.4
Steven from South Africa
Family with teens
Studio
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Review score”

Air conditioner in my room was not working.Broken lamp, door handles,fridge.Staff at the kitchen and bar very slow.The broken items were fixed but very poorly.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jacky
Business traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 7 nights in November 2018

GREAT!”

LOVE THE CONVENIENCE OF THIS HOTEL! STAFF ARE FRIENDLY , HELPFUL AND VERY ACCOMMODATING :) SECOND TIME I HAVE STAYED AT THE ROYAL PALMS AND WILL NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE THANK YOU!

Reviewed November 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kirthida from South Africa
Group
Executive Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Exceptional”

Convienant yo shopping mall. No need transport just walk across to gateway. Restaurant are all very near by.

Reviewed November 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Frances from United States
Group
Executive Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Exceptional”

Impressive hotel, great value, good location. Spacious room, good breakfast.

Reviewed October 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Simon from South Africa
Group
2 Bedroom Executive Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Exceptional”

Impressed with the hotel. Wonderful front desk staff. Pleasant stay.

Reviewed June 28, 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Royal Palm and for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and kind words of appreciation and we do hope to welcome you back to the Royal Palm Hotel in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Ashna Rooplal Customer Relations Manager | Royal Palm Hotel

Responded July 10, 2018
Royal Palm Hotel
4.8
Diann from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

Not up to standard”

There was a party going on in the apartment next door to our room.The hotel porter delivered 4 crates of alcohol to the room. Complaints were made and nothing was done.The people in the party became drunk and disorderly, we were trapped in our room as we shared a common passage way and door.The party goers were coming and going.We were frightened to leave our room in the middle of the night.We checked out the next day and forfeited the money. The room was nicely decorated,some furniture was a little dirty.Great Bath and Shower and amazing soft fluffy towels.Breakfast was good. The Hotel is opposite Gateway Shopping centre so there are many shops and restaurants at your doorstep. Free parking under the hotel is a bonus.

Reviewed May 16, 2018
7.2
Very good
Pranil from South Africa
Couple
Executive Suite King
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Very good”

Hotel was clean & neat. However, the facilities require attention. Service needs to be lifted somewhat (room for improvement). My suggestion is that the facilities should be thoroughly checked once the rooms are booked & prior to the travelers checking in. We had to advise the staff that the facilities were not working - needless to say, it was an inconvenience after travelling for some time you want to rest and refresh. Only to find the facilities not working. Reported the incident on Saturday afternoon & again Sunday morning - was attended to on Sunday midday (was still not working on Monday at time of check-out).

Reviewed April 18, 2018
4.0
Thierry from Mauritius
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

AHA Royal Palm Hotel”

We spent one night at this hotel two days ago in a 2 bedroom apart.To summarise : Very Bad 1 - At the reception upon check in they FIRST asked me to pay the tourism levy which was about Rd 6.00 as if I was not going to pay at all. 2 - In the room,there was no mini bar at all,no complimentary water,no slippers.When asked they told me all those items are on request !!! The directory services book was wet & dirty and had to be replaced.The floor at some places was dirty too.I saw the duty manager who did organise the cleaning.The 2 bedroom apart is of a good size but it is old and need to be refurbished in my point of view. 4 - Breakfast is average 5 - The porter was very nice though 6 - I would not recommend this hotel and I can't understand how it is rated as a 4 star one.... and worst,recommended by you guys from Agoda !!!

Reviewed May 03, 2016
5.7
Junaid from South Africa
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

not impressed”

The restaurant staff were excellent and hospitable

The hotel doesn't deserve a 4 star rating. booking staff are incompetent. I asked for an early check in at booking stage and made a call 3 days prior to ensure that it was done. I was promised a call back but didn't receive it. I called in the morning of check in and was told it couldn't be done. The bathrooms are sun standard The facility needs uplifting Parking is a nightmare No drinking water in the room Insufficient directional signage Shower drainage was blocked bath tub filthy and scratched hand shower damaged Housekeeping needs to be reminded more than once . Lack of a door bell Bathroom walls dirty Staircase damaged Carpets not cleaned regularly I will not make use of this establishment again and will warn my friends and family of the unsatisfactory penthouse suite and carefree attitude of the staff.

Reviewed March 03, 2015
6.3
Good
MRS from South Africa
Family with young children
Executive Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Hotel room above average however management poor ”

Room layout, easy access to shopping pleasant restuarant waitrons

From the onset the receptionist didnt even have any information regarding my booking despite me having called personally the day before.The room layout and decor was beautiful however the upkeep and maintenance poor.The staff at the restuarant are pleasant however the management esp The GM was very rude , patronising and loud..in my opinion very unprofessional.

Reviewed April 07, 2014
7.0
Very good
Paul from South Africa
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

Good location”

Very nice functional suites

Generally stay very good, check in quick and simple, was able to arrange taxi to airport with no fuss. Only complaint was the room service, called and ordered a meal at 8:15pm, was told it would take 20mins. called again at 9:00pm to be told that i had been forgotten, meal arrived at 9:30pm.

Reviewed May 27, 2011
3.6
Abdul from South Africa
Solo traveler
Executive Suite King
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Needs an upgrade ”

Lifts need to be upgrade restaurants and breakfast very poor staff needs to wake up they need a proper reception area

Reviewed September 02, 2017