Book Now: Shanghai 8 Art Hotel

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (163)Booking.com Reviews (96)
7.1
Very good
From 163 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.5
Facilities5.9
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality6.9
Service7.0
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
简体中文
한국어
more
Room type
Art Double
Business Twin
Business King
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 130 verified guest comments
3.6
NAIRAN from China
Solo traveler
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
ROOM WITH NO WINDOW ! EXCUSE ME?”
I CHECKED IN AROUND 1PM AT THAT DAY AND THE COUNTER STAFF GAVE ME THE KEY OF THE ROOM WHEN I CAME TO THE ROOM, THERE WAS NO LIGHT IN THE ROOM ONLY TV WAS ON AND CURTAIN WAS CLOSED,I WAS SO OUT OF RAGE AND ASKED FOR CHANGING ROOM THEN GOT ONE WITH WINDOW!!!!! IT WAS MY LAST TIME SPEND HERE AND ALSO THE LAST TIME!
Reviewed July 02, 2016
6.4
Good
Dovile from Lithuania
Solo traveler
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
t”
Having stayed at this hotel 2years ago and been impressed by it, this time round I did not had this feeling anymore. I felt it has lost its boutiqueness. feelings aside the power in the shower was very low, it did feel quite dirty not only room but public areas and the breakfast quality was ok only. Not too sure I'd visit it again.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jacquelyn from Canada
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
perfect location and great price”
Right in the heart of the Bund. Great value for amount paid. Chinese staff were some what helpful. Click be some improvements there. Art director was extremely helpful in switching our room as we paid for a bigger room than originally given. Manager is from Canada, so had western food and service standards.
Reviewed May 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Camila from Colombia
Solo traveler
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Enjoy an art station ”
Very Nice art decoration, I really enjoy the style and the food was very nice. The staff was very helpful and kindness, the only thing that I don't like a lot was a not nice smell. However is a very nice hotel and the location is very convenient you can walk to different tourists places as well.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
7.2
Very good
Haruehun from Thailand
Solo traveler
Business Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Great location”
The advantage is the location. Staff was not so helpful. Room was great even though it's not very clean.
Reviewed April 03, 2016
7.2
Very good
Clint from Philippines
Solo traveler
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Superb location👍”
The location is really superb the famous bund is right there once u step out of your hotel!.famous shopping center like nanjing is just walking distance from the hotel. Overall i will come back and stay here!
Reviewed April 01, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Mikli from Indonesia
Couple
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Best location near the Bund. Warm Manager. ”
Best location to the Bund. They have great manager who talked to guess one by one. Our colleague was surprised to see inside. Then she advised not going out but to get dinner in hotel.
The manager very welcome. She is greeting everyone at Restaurant. The room is clean and tidy. I would like to advise to change the 8 logos. We can not recognize it from the other side of hotel.
Reviewed March 24, 2016
6.0
Joe from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Convenient”
Food tasty, convenience, cheap
Hot water for bathing very cold.
Reviewed March 14, 2016
6.3
Good
John from China
Couple
Art Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Breakfast was boring”
The location, The Lobby, The roof bar
Besides the hotel being located right at the Bund and a few blocks from Yu garden and Nanjing road... the rest was pretty meh. The Breakfast which came with the room was boring. I should've skipped paying extra for breakfast at the hotel and use that same amount for a decent meal around the hotel's vicinity. There are tons of good places to eat around the hotel. The room was an immediate contrast to the welcome get just by entering the lobby. Judging from the pictures of the superior room I was a little disappointed to see what it actually looked like. Small and beat, they weren't being maintained properly. So i guess it's true, you get what you paid for. Just skip the breakfast.
Reviewed December 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
an from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 8 nights in November 2015
Excellent hotel ”
Great location, Good Size room & Friendly staff
I stayed in this hotel for 8 days. was a little apprehensive but all was good. Hotel tucked between 2 restaurants and hotel lobby was arty. Check in was a breeze. Hotel room was small but well equipped. the hot water shower was abit cold @ times but acceptable. A bit on down side - breakfast variety is limited and same for my 8 days stay. Pricing for drinks a lil on the high. Hotel location was great. 3 mins walk across road to the Bund and 15mins walk to Nanjing east road. 15mins away from yuyuan Mrt. Will be back and hopefully breakfast variety will change.
Reviewed December 14, 2015
6.3
Good
KOH from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
2 days”
Value for money
Reviewed November 26, 2015
7.0
Very good
Sophie from United Kingdom
Couple
Business King
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Great location, funky hotel but average rooms ”
The location is super, right on The Bund and close to so many great areas, streets and attractions. The hotel has a funky vibe and decor but our room was scruffy and in need of maintenance.
Overall our stay was fine, we were out most of the time which made it a great base. On the weekend evenings, the music was loud from nearby bars but didn't go on til too late. The hotel has great potential, just needs the bedroom to feel like the common areas.
Reviewed November 13, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Roger from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Art Double
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Location, Location, Location”
Location right on the Bund, Cheap Price, Funky Atmosphere and Staff
Great, except no laundry service which is a bit of a bummer but otherwise great.
Reviewed October 21, 2015
6.7
Good
LiMing from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
nice”
price , services , location
Reviewed October 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
Agnes from Hong Kong
Couple
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Cozy and nice hotel but management not to the stan”
Local is good, modern decoration and cozy
The hotel is actually nice and have good location. But the hotel management is not up to the standard. Frount desk staff is not helpful. They seems to avoid customer's question. No able to handle request likes taxi, electric plug that is very basic to most of the hotels. Breakfast is cold and limited choices.
Reviewed September 29, 2015
8.0
Excellent
William from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Youth Hostel / B&B on The Bund”
1. Location. 2. Location. 3. Price
I'm a male university professor from Canada, in my mid-70s, traveling alone this time, with absolutely no Chinese 'to speak of'. I came to Shanghai with just 2 days to spend as a tourist, en route to a professional conference and visit with family elsewhere in China. I wanted economy and location near the Bund, and space to do a little emailing and writing on a laptop computer. These I got at The Eight Art. The place is hard to find - a 3 m storefront sandwiched between two more obvious restaurants. The lobby is unpretentious, but paintings on the walls and long counters with wine and wine glasses along the entryway tell you that they want to be a gathering place for social drinkers and artists. The receptionist was pleasant and welcoming, and had enough English to tell me whatever was necessary. My room was TINY - just enough space for a double bed, with a few inches all around. Rustic, not new, but clean. Bathroom the tiniest possible, but still with everything necessary. WiFi in the room and buffet breakfast included in the price. Because there was no desk, I went to find space off the lobby where I could plug into power and do computer work. The manager, Estella, helped me find a suitable place (without my asking) and brought me some lemon-tinged water. The breakfast was nourishing and filling, but nothing special. International fare in the restaurant at evening meal was pricey; after one time there, I went to a few of the many local food shops near by. Leaving for the fast train to Beijing was easy: less than 15 minutes' walk to Yuan'an on Metro line 10, less than 3/4 hr and 5 CNY for the subway ride to Hongqiao Railway Station. The limited space in this room might get to you after a few days, but by the fire escape map in my room, every other room in the place was bigger. I have a taste for such accommodations and would happily book there again.
Reviewed September 19, 2015
7.0
Very good
Tienwen from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Excellent location”
Good location
Reviewed May 18, 2015
5.0
Tong from Singapore
Business traveler
Business Twin
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
Nothing can say ............only ok”
Location only
Location ok .room not that good,sevice ok
Reviewed April 30, 2015
4.7
Nathan from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Dusty, understaffed and unfinished hotel. Avoid. ”
Hotel has a cool atmosphere on the surface but that appeal quickly wears off if you do more than just walk through its corridors once. Staff seemed friendly but poorly trained. The manager seemed kind of brain dead. When asking about food she handed me a menu from New Years Eve (months ago). Then a lunch menu that wasn't available. Then informed me the kitchen was closed. Um...okay. Room was highly insecure. Shared a single balcony with three rooms and balcony door has a flimsy latch only. If I wanted to it would have taken me 10 seconds to open the doors to my neighbors rooms and entered. What looked like the maintenance man pitched in to deliver breakfast to guests. Management should be fired and replaced by him. He's got what it takes. Otherwise this hotel sucks.
Reviewed March 15, 2015
5.3
William from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Good location for this boutique hotel”
location, location, location
the location is about the only good thing about this hotel. the lobby and eating area is charming. there is even a bar but nobody is using it. but the rooms are really very minimal without windows. it's like living in a huge janitor's closet. not a romantic place. so it's an okay value if you want to stay right at the bund. the staff doesn't speak english so bring your chinese along. just an ok value because it's not super pricey but that price matches the quality. so not really a good deal.
Reviewed October 10, 2014
6.0
Rochelle from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Great location but limitations ”
Location, lobby area, air conditioning
Poor wifi connection in some rooms. When I first walked into the bathroom of my room there was a used bloody panty liner on the sink. Cleanliness from then on was questionable. Breakfast served was not very good and over priced. I wouldn't recommend it if it doesn't come with the room price. Everything on menu is overpriced and mediocre. Stay here if location is important to you. Great views of the Bund and the Financial district in the evening. Great feel to the lobby area.
Reviewed July 26, 2014
6.3
Good
Ian from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
It is okay for a night.”
location, lobby, carpet in hallway
I just stayed here one night while I was out at an event on the Bund. It is near the Bund which is cool. There are so many cheap budget hotels in Shanghai and they are all basically the same. Every room is a smoking room. This hotel had non-smoking rooms which is a plus. The lobby is "artistic" and has a cool bar. The carpet upstairs is retro. The room was good but had no view. There is a nightclub nearby with loud music. Not a problem as I was up late anyway. The cleaning maids were talking loudly in the halls in the early morning and the hotel management should understand that people want to sleep in their hotel. Front desk was understaffed and checkin/checkout was slow.
Reviewed May 10, 2014
7.7
Very good
Jiraroj from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Modern, noisy in the morning, next to the bun”
Right next to the bund, Good restaurant right next to hotel, Cozy lobby
I actually had a great time staying at this hotel, except for some noisy neighbour every morning, and our room card always malfunction so we have to get it fixed at the lobby everyday, other than that the hotel is right next to the bund so it's good for strolling around, there are a nice restaurant right next to the hotel which sells some european food and alcohol. The wifi is not that great. The room is comfortable with warm shower and variety of cable tv channels. I think this hotel is good but not great.
Reviewed April 09, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Harlan from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Boutique hotel at a bargain price on the Bund”
Price, location, comfort
What a great deal The Eight Art Hotel is. Located in the heart of the Bund, the Eight Art Hotel grrets its guests with a small art gallery and a bar. It has an industrial artsy feel akin to New York's SoHo or Tribeca but at a bargain price. My room was comfortable with a large bathroom equipped with a nice shower, hardwood floors and a window. At this price, it is difficult to get a window in Shanghai. Cable TV with CNN, BBC and Fashion TV is a bonus. The hotel organizes film nights and dance parties as well, making it a cool place to hang out at night.
Reviewed April 03, 2014
6.0
Sanzhar from Kazakhstan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Nice location & price”
Location and price are great
Location is great, very close to Bund. Near located shop with everything u may need. Rooms are clean but without window on the street. Breakfast is very poor.
Reviewed August 09, 2013
7.3
Very good
zejin
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
good location and clean”
good location and clean
it's good location, the way to bund and port. but the room so small just like tune hotel, the better way is get have different choice around if you travel with kids.
Reviewed August 04, 2012
5.2
Catalina from Colombia
Solo traveler
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Instalaciones muy malos”
Todo olia a humedad Everything smell to moist
Reviewed February 09, 2018
4.8
Yvon from France
Family with teens
Business King
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Acceptable”
Sans commentaires!!!
Reviewed May 05, 2018
5.3
Jorick from France
Solo traveler
Business Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Hotel bien situe”
Localisation
Cet hotel est loin d'etre luxueu. Cependant, les chambres sont plutot spacieuses et le staff de l'acceuil tres accueillant. Un petit hic cependant quant a la decoration qui peut donner le tourni a certains (beaucoup de bleu pour donner un style maritime un peu rate) ; certaines chambres ont vues sur le couloir ce qui est pas genial en matiere d'aeration de la chambre et de vis-a-vis. Il y a aussi un bar assez sympa en sur les toits de l'hotel. Cependant, le barman avait l'air de dire que ca aller bientot fermer... Autre point positif (et pas des moindres): l'hotel se situe a 2 minutes a pieds du Bund! Ce qui est tres tres pratique car beaucoup de choses se passent pas loin du Bund a Shanghai.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
5.3
Jorick from France
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Hotel bien situe”
Localisation
Cet hotel est loin d'etre luxueu. Cependant, les chambres sont plutot spacieuses et le staff de l'acceuil tres accueillant. Un petit hic cependant quant a la decoration qui peut donner le tourni a certains (beaucoup de bleu pour donner un style maritime un peu rate) ; certaines chambres ont vues sur le couloir ce qui est pas genial en matiere d'aeration de la chambre et de vis-a-vis. Il y a aussi un bar assez sympa en sur les toits de l'hotel. Cependant, le barman avait l'air de dire que ca aller bientot fermer... Autre point positif (et pas des moindres): l'hotel se situe a 2 minutes a pieds du Bund! Ce qui est tres tres pratique car beaucoup de choses se passent pas loin du Bund a Shanghai.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
6.8
Good
Sabine from Germany
Couple
Business King
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Lage und Personal gut, Rest bescheiden !!”
Das Hotel wird kaum noch in zwei Jahren zu buchen sein. Es wird nichts mehr investiert. Nur die Lage / Personal ist ein Argument für eine Buchung.
Reviewed May 22, 2018
6.0
Katja from Germany
Solo traveler
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Super Lage, leider ziemlich abgewohnt inzwischen. ”
Da müsste dringend ein Renovierungsteam durch.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
5.6
KATIA from Italy
Couple
Business King
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018
se possibile, evitatelo”
oltre che per la posizione perfetta, questo hotel e' da evitare: lo staff non parla praticamente inglese, l'hotel e' vecchio e mal tenuto. Le stanze sono terribili e ne abbiamo cambiate 3: la prima era cieca e buia, sembrava di essere in una grotta, la seconda aveva il water in stanza ed erano circa 15m2 in tutto, la terza era decente, anche se da rimodernare come tutte, soprattutto il bagno
Reviewed May 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Sybilla from Netherlands
Couple
Business Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Top locatie, mooie entree.”
Locatie, fijne bedden, lekker ontbijt
Het was een prettig verblijf. We hebben heerlijk geslapen en het ontbijt was Westers. De locatie is super, en ligt ook naast het bekende restaurant Lost Heaven (aanrader!). De kamers zijn niet zo mooi als de entrée doet vermoeden. Maar het voldoet wel.
Reviewed September 02, 2015
7.6
Very good
Hironori from Japan
Group
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
場所よし、あとは案内だけ”
上海観光の説明やスタッフに語学能力が高い人がいればさらに良かった。
Reviewed March 21, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
AKIRA from Japan
Business traveler
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
外灘間近く”
立地抜群
Reviewed March 18, 2018
6.8
Good
KEISUKE from Japan
Family with young children
Business Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
観光に便利”
蘇州在住です。日本から家族を呼び寄せ上海観光しましたが、外灘は目の前、豫園は歩いて10分圏内、市内観光バス停留所も近くて便利でした。朝食もお粥が美味しかったです。
Reviewed January 31, 2018
7.6
Very good
Mitsuhiro from Japan
Business traveler
Art Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
悪くはなかった”
価格、立地はOK。フロントも丁寧な対応でした。 wifiは1FはOKだったが、部屋が不安定だったことが残念。 あと、ロビーの雨漏りもかな。
Reviewed March 28, 2017
8.4
Excellent
SEITO from Japan
Business traveler
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
個性的なホテル”
とても個性的なホテルで良かったです。
Reviewed July 05, 2016
6.7
Good
TAKAO from Japan
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
値段相応”
価格安い、ロビー綺麗、従業員対応良い
タオルの交換がなかったのが残念
Reviewed December 25, 2015
8.0
Excellent
KAZUHIRO from Japan
Business traveler
Business Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
良かった”
ロケーション、快適さ、価格
黄浦江まで歩いて3分のところにあり、夜景を撮るには最高のロケーションでした。 また、ホテルのスタッフも親切・丁寧でした。
Reviewed December 24, 2013
4.4
Wan from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
位置普通”
位置普通﹑清潔普通;性價比低
Reviewed March 16, 2017
7.2
Very good
Lu from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
還不錯”
還不錯
Reviewed January 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Yu from Hong Kong
Couple
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
方便”
地點其實都幾方便, 又系黃浦江對面, 可以方便夜晚去散步。
Reviewed November 01, 2016
4.4
Cheung from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Business King
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
5天上海之旅”
就只有位置近外灘這個優點而已 房間太小 行李箱不夠空間打開 整間酒店大部份都在裝修 到處都有灰塵 最誇張是房間的電話鋪了一層灰塵
Reviewed September 27, 2016
6.4
Good
Yu from Hong Kong
Couple
Art Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
地方舊,設備差d”
其實地點唔錯,雖然唔近地鐵但好近外灘。地方比較舊,好多牆灰剝落,窗簾遮唔曬,廁所間隔怪怪的,電視無野睇,附近無咩便利店或者食店。 我去既時候剛好裝修,周圍好亂。我分開兩次去,中間去左杭州,杭州返去o個晚成間房都係油漆味,換左房都有!
Reviewed September 16, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
SZE from Hong Kong
Couple
Art Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
簡便,清潔,交通好”
簡便,清潔,交通好
Reviewed February 02, 2016
6.0
Hiu from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Business Twin
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
充滿藝術氣息的地方”
有藝術氣息和氣質,舒適寫意,近外灘
雖然仍有內部裝修,但整體仍有藝術氣息。櫃檯員工很好,熱情和細心。 近外灘,非常方便,後街地道小食好美味及低錢相宜。但酒店距離地鐵站卻好遠,步行至南京東路站要15分鐘,拖行李就麻煩點。
Reviewed January 01, 2016
6.7
Good
Io from Macau
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
地點方便,大堂裝修有時尚感,房間稍遜”
員工服務態度很好,裝修富設計感,價格合適
Reviewed December 28, 2015
6.0
Kam from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
酒店門口難找,房間大小同相有出入,臨時升級房間價錢貴”
地方好近外灘,環境清靜
地點好,但房間太細,房間裝修太爛
Reviewed November 21, 2015