Book Now: Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel

Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel Reviews

Very good
From 390 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (390)Booking.com Reviews (1902)
7.4
Very good
From 390 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.2
Facilities7.0
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service7.4
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Comfort Single
Twin - Domestic residents only
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 276 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Veronica from Spain
Couple
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Was nice”
There is a good atmosphere in here, you can meet a lot of people. The rooms were nice and clean. The location is close to a subway station so you get anywhere easily.
Reviewed February 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Patrik from Germany
Solo traveler
En Suite Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Great Price performace ratio”
We stayed a 4 person maisonette-room and I'd say the price-/performace ratio is really hard to beat. Very comfortable and comparatively spacious room. Nice bathroom, electric kettle. Furthermore the hostel has a really good location close to Cao-Yang Metro Station Just perfectly located for people looking for budget-friendly food options several local restaurants on the opposite side of the main street, small grocery shop just 50 metres from the hostel (open until 2am), a night market with several food options on the other side of the metro station. If I should come back to Shanghai, I would definitely book here again.
Reviewed January 25, 2018
4.4
Jan-Oliver from Germany
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
A hardcore backpacker place”
I had the dorm, my room wasn’t really clean and the whole place just felt like a little to full. If you looking for drinking buddy’s the. You will find a good home. But if you look for a chinese feeling far from that. Wouldn’t go again
Reviewed January 23, 2018
6.4
Good
Ching from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Comfort Single
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
Good”
Great location, close to Subway, basic facilities.value for what you have paid.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
7.6
Very good
Nai from Malaysia
Group
Duplex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
ok”
no transportation to aiport after 10 pm except taxi and it is very expensive
Reviewed December 19, 2017
2.8
Desmond from Singapore
Family with young children
Duplex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Location surrounding not much activities”
We indicated clearly upon making reservation that we are in 4 adults with 2 children under 12 yrs old for a big family room, but they insisted us to pay for another bed space. Location is not very convenient.
Reviewed December 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Chandra from Indonesia
Family with teens
Private Triple Room Ensuite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Location is okay. others is okay”
5-10 minutes walk to the metro. in front have snack store. But the room was used for smoking, but cleanliness is still acceptable. They have bar and pool game...library. Good atmosphere. I hope they can separate which room used for smokers and non smokers...
Reviewed December 03, 2017
7.6
Very good
Mariel from Philippines
Group
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
You get what you pay for”
It’s good enough for the amount we paid for. The facilities are okay. The room is actually okay (you’re lucky if you land nice and clean room mates). It’s nice ‘cause it’s near the subway. Main concern though. The Internet is not fast. It doesn’t reach other floors (we’re at fifth floor), only in the ground floor. All in all, I’d still recommend this if you’re on a budget travel and if sharing a room with strangers are okay with you.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
7.6
Very good
Jamie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Good location”
Very good location very close to metro station and line 3 that can take you to railway station and southern station. It’s a very big place with a lot of rooms but the dorms are all four bed so they are not crowded and the bed was very comfortable. Generally very clean and staff are ok. Decent WiFi. Bar area nice although perhaps a little pricey.
Reviewed November 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
zhihang from China
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 7 nights in October 2017
Excellent”
the best in Shanghai
Reviewed November 07, 2017
7.6
Very good
Humberto
Group
Duplex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
4 people room was great”
I was a little loft, 2 beds downstairs and a double bed upstairs, it was clean. Close to the tube, shops and food markets/convenience stores. Staff spoke little or no English and were not very welcoming or talkative. We had a nice stay overall.
Reviewed November 06, 2017
3.2
Sue
Group
Duplex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Bad staff attitude, room condition is bad”
Booked duplex room checking in with 4 adults, provided 2 hangers, towels are dirty, tried to use the phone to reach front desk to request more hangers and exchange but not functioning, it seems just decoration. Then we went to front desk to ask for the above, staff asked us to pay for towels and no extra hangers can be provided, attitude is rude, in addition room condition is not well, lamp light is too dark, smelly room, dirty bathroom. Were booked 2 nights but unable to stay all 2 nights, checkout immediately after first night stay
Reviewed November 04, 2017
2.8
Fhui from Indonesia
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Horrible Frontdesk 不可思议的前台”
Exceptionally horrible frontdesk :-) Amazingly questionable, why and how such attitude even exists ?!?! :-))
Reviewed October 08, 2017
6.0
MORITA from Japan
Business traveler
Comfort Single
Stayed 7 nights in September 2017
Above average”
good
Reviewed September 14, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ariel from Israel
Couple
En Suite Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Great Hostel”
Nice chill out bar, many tourists, and foreigners. Many of them just seating staring at their phones, but still good vibe.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
6.8
Good
Ridwan from Indonesia
Family with teens
Duplex Suite
Stayed 6 nights in June 2017
good good”
good cheap
Reviewed August 20, 2017
5.6
Mesfin from South Korea
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Too big for a hostel”
I prefer small family/community oriented hostels and friendlier staff. Not the case here. I met with friendly local roommates though with bad smoking etiquettes. Smoking in room is unacceptable but staff can't definitely manage such cases for the magnitude of their business.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
7.6
Very good
Gerrit from Netherlands
Family with young children
Duplex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
We had a good stay, spacious rooms.”
We arrived early at 7 am, but were able to check in only at 1400 eventhough we were told early check in was possible.
Reviewed July 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Karyn from China
Group
Private Triple Room Ensuite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
100/100”
This youth hostel is the best hostel one can stay at! It was just perfect. The rooms are clean and spacious and the hostel facilities are on point. Their food is amazing ! I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Shanghai . I was already in love with Shanghai but this hotel made me love Shanghai even more.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Brent from Belgium
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Exceptional”
Absolutely cool place to stay. Large bar with Belgian beer selection
Reviewed June 17, 2017
6.8
Good
Silvia from Brazil
Couple
En Suite Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Everything is good, but the staff”
Every time we needed, the reception was or too slow or on a bad mood. There is a particularly person called Cai Cai that is not made for dealing with people. At all. She really made us feel not wanted and sometimes she even laughed at us. Really rude. If you have a hostel in an international city like Shanghai you should select your staff much better than the one this hostel has now.
Reviewed June 01, 2017
6.4
Good
Nowi from Singapore
Family with young children
Duplex Suite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Very convenient”
Very convenient, only 5 minutes walks to Caoyang Road Metro Station and lots of shops, mini marts and small restaurants nearby.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Rhindi from United States
Solo traveler
En Suite Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
im from usa so it was great to find a place that has american food..and a bar thats open late”
tv has no english station..so it was pointless to watch..so cable is terrible and most of the travelers speak english and cant relax and watch tv
Reviewed April 04, 2017
3.6
YI-CHIN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Normal. ”
People are nice.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Eylin from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Nice hostel”
Very nice hostel, the staff were nice and speak English. Only 5 min walking from the metro station. All the premises very clean except the shower that are very dirty. The room is very cosy and the beds very wide. I would recommend it.
Reviewed January 20, 2017
6.4
Good
susana from Spain
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Awful wifi, fine place”
The dorms are clean, and there is a nice common area. But the wifi never works properly. To be able to print a boarding pass ¡, that could have been done in 2 minutes, took me almost one hour! The stuff didn't seem to know how to use the printer or the communal computer, and the wifi was so slow that it was impossible to download the document from my email. And of course you have to pay for the printing, and it's not cheap. Everything in this hostel is overpriced: water, food, toiletries... No free lockers provided in the rooms. But I'll recommend it as one of the cheapest options in town, 5 minutes walk from the metro station. Btw, I wanted to extend my stay one more night, and realised that (at least at that time) it was cheaper to book it online than to book it straight there (no idea why). The receptionist didn't mind me using the (superslow) wifi to book it through agoda.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
6.4
Good
Ching from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Great Location”
Close to metro station, within 5 minute walking distance. However, stay for 4 nights, NO housekeeping come to clean my room. Besides, the attitude the receptionist name "Eric", SUPER rude. Overall, still recommended if you looking for convenience transportation and simple room to stay over night.
Reviewed December 19, 2016
4.0
catherine from Australia
Couple
Duplex Suite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
dirty and smells of cigarette smike”
good location but staff ripped us off in restaurant they didn't bring all the meals we paid for - then didn't speak english when we asked for what we paid for , and again at front desk we bought tokens for washing and as there weren't enough he said to pay now and pick up from him in morning - next morning his response was i didn't work last night you have to buy more
Reviewed November 30, 2016
5.2
catherine from Australia
Family with teens
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
great location”
staff are not helpful or knowledgeable in english about tourist attractions , dinning or much of anything else restaurant and foyer are full of smoke
Reviewed November 30, 2016
2.0
ning from China
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
very bad hostel”
when I store my luggage, the Reception staff didn't tell me it's not free. When I claim my luggage 2 days later, they insist charge me 20 yuan. if the Reception staff told me it's not free, I will collect my luggage on the same day, but they didn't. well, this the way they earn more money from a guest. Strongly recommend you don't choose such a bad service hostel.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Michał from South Korea
Group
6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Great Hostel”
I fully recommend this hostel for all kind of trips!
Reviewed November 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Maryna from Ukraine
Group
Private Triple Room Ensuite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Awesome location”
5 min from subway station. Starbucks, MacDonalds, shopping mall are near. The only thing I would complain about is wi-fi. Really weak signal on the first floor, in our room no signal.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
4.0
Ellen from Indonesia
Group
Private Triple Room Ensuite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
bad experience”
although location is close to metro station..air circulation in the room was not so good that made it not fresh and a bit smelly, the staffs were not so informative and provide misinformation on directions to tourist places, and in night the lobby area where wifi is located is full of smoke from the bar... not convenient for non smoker people..
Reviewed November 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Johan from Sweden
Couple
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Nice hostel with quite good location”
Everything was good here except the wifi which was the worst wifi I've ever experienced.
Reviewed November 07, 2016
7.2
Very good
Dammer from Indonesia
Group
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
bad internet connection”
within walking distance to metro subway station (Caoyang Road). Room is clean, nice common area, spacious bar/restaurant at the back. but internet connection is very bad. No wifi at room. You can only can get better connection while every body is sleeping !!
Reviewed November 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Teppo from Finland
Solo traveler
En Suite Twin
Stayed 7 nights in October 2016
Good budget stay”
Stayed at a all inclusive room with two double beds. Everything as expected for the price. Towels changed daily. Has laundry option with included laundry detergent for the price. Not too far from shopping and train stations. Very near to the city center. Staff was friendly and mostly fluent in english. 24h staff. Wifi quite slow.
Reviewed November 05, 2016
7.2
Very good
annie from Singapore
Business traveler
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
not bad”
not bad
Reviewed October 17, 2016
3.6
BOON from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Comfort Single
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Not very cheap”
located in a strategic location. price is not very cheap
Reviewed September 09, 2016
7.2
Very good
Ramiah from China
Solo traveler
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016
Generally Satisfied”
Great staff. Decent restaurant. However, the internet isn't stable and kept dropping randomly unless you were in the lobby, which is kind of annoying.
Reviewed August 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
SONGJI from South Korea
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed August 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Quoc from Vietnam
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Good place for traveler ”
Good place for traveler
Reviewed June 11, 2016
7.6
Very good
Sy from Malaysia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Nice hostel at good location”
The hostel is quite cozy except my room is near to the railway so it is quite noisy, but when the train stops in the midnight it is ok. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The location of hostel is near to subway station, but it takes some efforts and details to finally find it.
Reviewed May 09, 2016
6.4
Good
Hironori from Japan
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Reasonable price”
It is good hotel to travel Shangai with minimum cost and find people to go sightseeing with.
Reviewed May 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Canada
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
Great”
Friendly help.
Very nice.
Reviewed March 18, 2016
8.0
Excellent
francesca from Italy
Group
Private Triple Room Ensuite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Clean room and easy position ”
Posizione pulizia comfort
You can find everything you need in the room, all is very clean and the hostel is nice and warmly. The position is perfect to reach the city center, as the metro is 2 minutes form the hostel
Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
TAT from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
very close to train stn, nice quiet room”
The location is really nice to access line 11 train. Room is big and quiet for a nice sleep. Rate dropped for extended stay.
Remember to check out the morning market at the back of the hostel and must have the local egg pancake with crunchy biscuit as filling. I'll also remember the cat lazing under the winter sun. They have a really nice cafe with games. Discount given for my stay when returning to Shanghai
Reviewed January 04, 2016
5.3
XIAOLUN from Taiwan
Group
Duplex Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Cheap but not very cozzy”
Cheap
Reviewed December 11, 2015
7.3
Very good
Duc from Vietnam
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Fine Stay”
Quiet, Clean, Good English Speaking Staff
Overall, it is a nice stay. Comfy bed, nice staff. I stayed at a dorm room but no electric socket in bed so very inconvenient if you want to charge your phone.
Reviewed October 30, 2015
6.7
Good
Daniel from Australia
Couple
En Suite Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Decent and comfortable stay”
Comfortable, near the metro, clean
We had a nice stay here and it was great value compared to a lot of hotels in Shanghai. Pros: - comfortable - clean - nice bathroom - fairly good location in terms of the metro - quiet (2nd floor anyway) - let us skip the deposit Cons: - internet. We were fortunate enough to have an outside open network within our room to use which made our stay much more enjoyable but no thanks to the hotel itself - dining is not great in terms of the food and the atmosphere which is more like an empty nightclub with lasers and music that is too loud
Reviewed October 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Martina from Italy
Couple
Double Room Ensuite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Great Place To stay in Shanghai ”
Location comfort food
Reviewed October 21, 2015