Book Now: Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai

Very good
From 271 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (271)Booking.com Reviews (128)
7.6
Very good
From 271 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.6
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.0
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
日本語
more
Room type
1 Bedroom Deluxe
2 Bedroom Deluxe
1 Bedroom Executive
2 Bedroom Executive
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 223 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Florence from Malaysia
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Great stay - will stay again”
Traveling with a baby and thus needed a kitchen to prepare baby's food. Somerset did not disappoint. Kitchen well stock (or could request staff to bring additional supplies)
Reviewed September 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Pui from Hong Kong
Family with young children
3 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Big, modern, good location serviced appartment”
This newly renovated serviced apartment is really good for whole family to stay. It is only 2min walking distance from Jiashan Road subway exit 2. It has a gym, swimming pool and kid playground. The 3 bed rooms apartment we stayed can be fit for 6 adults and 1 kid with near 2000 sq. feet.
Reviewed August 08, 2016
7.2
Very good
Wai from Hong Kong
Family with teens
3 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Friendly. Good location. ”
Suggestion:- 1. Free breakfast provided for all guests instead of only 3 for a 3-bedroom flat. 2. Clock or any electronic device with clock is suggested to add as no such item is provided now. 3. Please provide towel in kitchen areas (no towels is placed in kitchen)
Reviewed February 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Harold from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Executive
Stayed 10 nights in December 2015
Satisfactory in all respects”
Renovated suites, staff attitudes, location, good internet English TV programmes
Newly renovated I B/R Executive Suite 2503, was excellent in all respects. Breakfast buffet was OK, but far short of 5 star standard for example.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
6.3
Good
WONG from Taiwan
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
good location”
good location
my stay got an upgrade to a 3 rooms suite, it is very comfortable and the hotel location is very easy to access to lots of interesting places, I would like to stay here for future trip to Shanghai.
Reviewed November 02, 2015
6.7
Good
WONG from Taiwan
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
good location”
location
due to decoration, I got an upgrade to a 3 bed room with large space, I enjoyed the room very much, and it is very easy to access to lots of places.
Reviewed November 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Shen from Malaysia
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
As Expected of Somerset in China”
Location, staff and room
I have stayed in Ascot elsewhere, and I would like to say, if you go to a different country, you will be greeted with different people. The staffs are not rude, but it is the way they speak that sounds rude, but they really meant no ill-feelings. The staffs are very friendly and helpful but they might sound rude since they talk really loudly and sometimes fast- Just a little note for out foreign friends. The location is superb, located in a working class area, there is a lot of restaurant big or small. Near to a subway station just across the street. There is a starbucks and Costa cafe just outside the hotel. I would definitely stay again if I am back in Shanghai.
Reviewed October 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Lau from Hong Kong
Couple
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
good location, fully equipped, comfortable”
Nice and Spacious Service Appartment
Friendly and efficient Staff, the room was just renovated in modern style, 5mins walk to underground, good local coffee shop right behind hotel, easy catch taxi outside hotel or informing staff for pre-ordering, thanks for the hotel reception in guiding me for train ticket buying to Hangzhou. I will stay there again for next travel.
Reviewed September 16, 2015
7.3
Very good
CHOR from Cambodia
Couple
1 Bedroom Executive
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
my fantastictrip ”
good location.room comfortable.friendly staff
that a great trip during my stay at there
Reviewed August 25, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Tina from Taiwan
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015
good location, fully equipped, comfortable”
good location, fully equipped, comfortable, it is worthy to recommend to friends.
Reviewed July 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Kwok from Hong Kong
Business traveler
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
best value and great hotel”
Always good to stay here, one of my preferred hotel in Shanghai
Always good to stay here, one of my preferred hotel in Shanghai
Reviewed April 21, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
KOON from Hong Kong
Business traveler
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Convenient location. Friendly Staff.”
Location, efficient service.
The property is now under renovation. The manager has provided ear plugs in the bedroom. I did not experienced any noise during the stay except from the horns on the street. Convenient location - Subway Line 9 is just across the street. Efficient service and friendly staff. Will stay again.
Reviewed April 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
YANGHEE from South Korea
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Great apartment hotel”
Location, Many rooms and budget
It was comfortable stay at the Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai. But you'd be better to carry your own map because no one, even taxi driver, didn't know the exact location.
Reviewed April 14, 2015
4.7
sock from Singapore
Couple
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
impossible to stay, apartment under renovation”
location
Bad, breakfast very limited, cafe rundown. Impossible to stay as hotel under renovation very noisy, selling continous, from 8am till 6pm, so if u need a little rest in between, not possible .
Reviewed March 21, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
rajeev from India
Business traveler
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Value for money”
Location,proximity,value for money
Reviewed February 14, 2015
7.0
Very good
Hoi from Hong Kong
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
reasonable price ~ 4 stars hotel”
Convenient, Comfort and Easy to Access
Reviewed January 02, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kian from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Definitely competent, and serviceable”
Large rooms,
Taxi driver had difficulty finding the place; maybe more an issue with the taxi industry than the hotel. Room was fine. Small-ish living space compensated by competent bedrooms. Quiet.
Reviewed December 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Kyle from United States
Business traveler
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Nice and spacious service appartment”
nice location, clean and spacious
pleasant
Reviewed November 26, 2014
6.0
leung from China
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Close to centre”
close to downdown,big,cheap
Room is big but is old, smelly and construstion going on outside noisy!
Reviewed November 18, 2014
7.3
Very good
SIN from Hong Kong
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Wrong address and phone number ”
1) big room 2) clean
The printing provided wrong address and phone number thru the information is consistent as on website. It took 4 hours to get someone direct us to hotel as no one knows how to get there. The place is big and clean. However we were very disappointed with spending 4-hour to look for this hotel. Agoda and hotel said to check what happened. Not sure if they get information corrected. Please be careful when selecting the hotel, better call to double check the information is correct.
Reviewed November 10, 2014
7.7
Very good
sulaiman from Indonesia
Group
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in October 2014
good location , nice and clean rooms, good price,”
good location, good price, easy to find, clean room helpful staff
it was good, its very near to go anywhere,
Reviewed November 04, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Neo from Singapore
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
service apartment, need to manage expectations”
Location, Good for long stays, staff
One night stay not suitable. Good for longer stay as it is apartment. Cleanliness can be better. Staff v gd!
Reviewed October 28, 2014
4.3
YEW from Malaysia
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
poor breakfast”
very poor breakfast, very old hotel, very limited parking area.
it is a very old hotel
Reviewed October 27, 2014
7.3
Very good
Yui from Hong Kong
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Worth for the location”
Location, Price, cleanliness
Just met the renovation, so noise is a bit disturbing in the day time, especially they start work in the early morning at 8am. The breakfast quality is really no good, can be improved.
Reviewed October 15, 2014
7.3
Very good
Keith from United Kingdom
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Executive
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai”
Staff, room space, lon
Friendly and efficient Staff, good facilities and room space I will stay there again if price is reasonable.
Reviewed September 12, 2014
6.3
Good
floyd from Singapore
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
hotel room. ”
rooms OK. to find it was difficult.
Good
Reviewed September 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
JeanTe from Taiwan
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Good location, large and fully equip apartment”
good location, large and fully equip apartment, internaitonal TV show
good location, large and fully equip apartment, internaitonal TV show
Reviewed September 01, 2014
7.3
Very good
Lars from Sweden
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
Nice apartment hotel - good for families”
Enough room for a family
This is a nice apartment hotel in a good location (a nice walk to Xintiandi and Huaihai Road). Good for families as there are plenty of beds. Less than interesting breakfast.
Reviewed August 25, 2014
6.7
Good
Alex from Singapore
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
good for family”
location, size of room, homestay
suitable for families with older children. rooms had a weird smell.
Reviewed August 14, 2014
5.0
Eva from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
So so experience”
location, helpful staff, nice lobby
The rooms were aged, and I was not too happy about being upgraded from one bedroom to a two bedroom. It was kinda freaky as I was a solo traveler. There was simply too many rooms. The rooms are dated, and the AC had a strange smell coming from it. The rooms are not too clean either. he housekeeping staff insisted on cleaning the room even though I was in the living room doing a skype call. It was awkward, as she asked me a couple of times if she could come in and kept asking when I was heading out. In the end, I had to allow her to clean the room whilst I was on my call in the living room. She had wanted to use a vacuum cleaner but I said no as it would be too noisy. Breakfast selection was really limited and boring. Thankful to one of the staff for walking me to my room in the middle of the night as the building was not well lit at night. I was pretty disappointed with the stay and I would not use Somerset again in future.
Reviewed August 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Yang from Singapore
Group
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
good service and comfortable rooms”
good service and comfortable room
everything was great.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Yang from Singapore
Group
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
clean and comfortable rooms”
good service and comfortable room
stay was great. service was very prompt when we needed to unclog the sink.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Cheng-Yi from Taiwan
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
clean and good value for money”
location, room comfort, breakfast
I was very happy while I was staying there. It is near subway station and shopping center. The room is clean and comfortable.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
5.7
Tang from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Good Experience, thou room is not as what Expected”
1)Services, 2)Aircon is cold, 3)easy access to local subway train.
Good Experience, thou room is not as what Expected, the picture shows much more bigger than the actual condition. However, overall still not quite bad. The equipment a in the gym room seem very good thou Haven't got chance to use the GYM facilities, Overall ok. Deserves a 4stars.
Reviewed April 09, 2014
7.7
Very good
Ardiansyah from Indonesia
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Good location and reasonable pricing”
Location, price and helpful staff
Reviewed March 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ardiansyah from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Location and good pricing”
Location, price, helpful staff
Reviewed March 25, 2014
5.3
Hoi from Malaysia
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
it's ok”
big room, close to subway
the room is big and it's close to subway. since it's a apartment, the heating system is not too great and cold air sips in from the 2 bathroom which made the whole room very cold. breakfaST is very standard and lack of choice.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
6.0
Yui from Hong Kong
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Easy to access to MRT station”
reasonable price, big room, and clean
Wish to have more variety for the breakfast, as it is really not much to choose to eat. Friendly staff, good location.
Reviewed February 23, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Clean rooms - friendly staff”
Ease of check-in and out, clean rooms & breakfast was better than we expected.
We enjoyed a worry-free stay. the staff were very helpful throughout and the apartment was perfect for our young family.
Reviewed February 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Juan from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Great for families ”
room size, staff service, bang for buck
The Somerset Xu Hui has come along way since I first stayed there 8 years ago. This is my and my family's preferred hotel when in Shanghai. The amenities have definitely improved with a very spacious breakfast buffet and more attentive staff. Somerset is a great place to stay as it is close to many of Shanghai's tourist attractions and public transportation is easily accessible.
Reviewed January 10, 2014
6.7
Good
Janet from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
clean room, close to public transport”
close to public transport, spacious family room
Reviewed January 01, 2014
6.3
Good
Janet from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
wifi is slow sometimes”
Close to subway station, friendly staff, large size family room and kitchen is well equipped
Reviewed January 01, 2014
7.3
Very good
Wei from Singapore
Group
Stayed 6 nights in September 2013
Large apartments, comfortable”
Size of room, staff
Decent service apartment. Can't really beat its value. A little bit far from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai
Reviewed December 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Lim from Singapore
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
Hotel Like Home !!!”
Room is very clean. Very spacious for the family. Kitchen was well equipped with everything you need just like staying at home.
Our stay at Somerset Xu Hui was great! The entire family loves this place. Made us feel so like being at home. The room was huge with lots of moving around spaces. The kitchen was well equipped with everything that we needed. The bed was so comfortable. Internet (both WiFi and cable) access was available though we need to reset the router/modem a couple of times during our stay but access was still good. Heater in the room is a plus thing to keep the room so warm during winter period. The housekeeper was very friendly. This hotel is walking distant (3 mins) to the metro station so it makes travelling around very easy. Will definitely book this hotel on my next visit.
Reviewed December 09, 2013
6.7
Good
Wing from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 6 nights in November 2013
Reasonable accommodation within 5mins to subway”
Reasonably priced service apartment with generous space and free breakfast
Room was old and cleanliness was average. 5 mins walking distance to Jiashan Subway Station (line 9) and Tesco Supermarket. Very limited food and shopping outlets nearby. Major attractions like the Bund and Yuyuan are 20 - 30 mins Taxi ride away. Breakfast was okay with very limited selections,
Reviewed November 30, 2013
6.0
Yan from China
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
friendly staff. breakfast was poor”
enough space
we arrived before 12 noon, but we got told have to check in at 2pm which is not so nice when we have chidren with. sofa in the living is very old.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
7.0
Very good
TOH from Malaysia
Couple
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Attentive And Friendly Staff”
Attentive And Friendly Staff, walking distance to Metro station and close by shopping malls.
Very helpful staff, easily to amend the check in date for another guest. 5 minutes walking distance to Metro station, easy access to other parts of Shanghai.
Reviewed November 07, 2013
3.7
Andrew from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Uncomfortable but ok location”
Location to meeting places
This was not up to the standards of Somerset and would suggest you avoid it as it is not even up to 3 star Hotel level. I was disappointed with it and the maintenance and upkeep of the place in general. I would not suggest you staying here but the price for a 3 bedroom apartment was ok if you are on a budget. I think there may be better Chinese Hotels to stay at.
Reviewed October 21, 2013
6.3
Good
TAK from Hong Kong
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in September 2013
good for business trip”
good location, good service and good price
Reviewed September 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
TAK from Hong Kong
Business traveler
1 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
good location”
good location, good price and good design
Reviewed September 27, 2013