Book Now: Sunrise on the Bund Hotel

Excellent
From 397 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (397)Booking.com Reviews (186)
8.3
Excellent
From 397 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.4
Location7.3
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.6
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Standard
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Family Room
Executive
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 350 verified guest comments
4.0
MO from China
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Receiptionist was not hospitable.. ”
Cleanness
Not enjoyable, will not come again... I can definitely find a better hotel with this price...
Reviewed September 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Yuk from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
A nice hotel close to city centre”
swimming pool, polite staff, good location
We booked 3 nights in the hotel. The hotel is located in the north side of the Bund. It takes 5 minutes ride by bus (cost 2 yuan) to the Bund and 15 minutes ride by taxi (25 yuan) to Shanghai train station. The check-in is smooth. You have to pay a deposit of 500 yuan per night we paid 1500 yuan deposit for 3 nights' stay. The room is a bit small with only a Queen size bed. However, the bed is comfortable and the room was quiet at night. We had a good sleep every night. The hotel has a gym room with a swimming pool. You need a swim cap to swim in their pool. They have the caps for sale for 20 yuan if you forgot to bring it. There were not many guest using the facilities and we were the only ones swimming in the pool for 2 days. We also used the sauna room and the jacuzzi. They also have a spa room and a salon so you won't get bored if you just stay in the hotel. Overall, the hotel is good value for money because it is just 5 minutes away from the Bund. But the price they charge is just half of those with the same class located in the prime location.
Reviewed September 22, 2015
7.7
Very good
YOUNG from South Korea
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Good room condition.”
Clean room, Good location and Good staffs.
Clean room, Good location and Good staffs.
Reviewed August 11, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Chan from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Hidden Gem on the Bund”
Staff friendliness, comfortability and facilities (gym & swimming pool)
It was a very comfortable and relaxing stay.
Reviewed July 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
daniel from Switzerland
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
perfect place to stay”
rooms were very nice, the staff helpful and very friendly.
We had a great time in this hotel and enjoyed the stay very much. Hotel is recommended and we are looking forward to the next time
Reviewed July 10, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Christophe from France
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Great hotel to stay”
Confort, staff and location
A great hotel with very good value/confort. Friendly english speaking staff, great confort of the rooms and pezrfetctly located by the Bund. To be recommended.
Reviewed July 05, 2015
7.3
Very good
dawson from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
nice room ”
nice room, great spa facilities, nice hotel staff
I had a great time in Shanghai and the hotel is nice and i would call it 'my home'.
Reviewed June 26, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Karen from China
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
good”
very nice ,comfortable,good room hardware
Reviewed June 22, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Take from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Excellent hotel at quiet location ”
Excellent customer service, peaceful surrounding and nice amendities
This is the best customer service i have ever experienced in my travel to Shanghai. The staff never fail to meet my request such as getting the taxi for me despite change in timing and even leave a note in my room to inform the request is done. Moreover, the wifi speed is pretty decent compared to other 5-stars hotel i ever stayed in Pudong. If you venture further in this place, you would find lots of shops of local flavour. Perhaps the hotel could add breakfast to the entire package so that i can try them next time.
Reviewed June 20, 2015
8.7
Excellent
MO from China
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Clean, good facility, like the scent ”
Clean, very clean
Reviewed June 20, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Melissa from Mexico
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Great Hotel to stay! ”
Service, Room and Facilities
I absolutely recommend this hotel, they had English speaking staff. The location is great since you can walk down the bund and if you are up for it go across the bridge. It has an excellent view and also pretty close to business areas and touristic areas. Their facilities were absolutely great! You definitely would not want to leave the hotel.
Reviewed June 19, 2015
6.0
Alexander from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Not bad, but not 5 star Shanghai...”
price, pool, location
Reviewed May 23, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Norman from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Room & location GREAT! But the toilet paper?”
Location, spa and pool, shower
The hotel was great. It was an old hotel on the North Bund. The hotel was immaculate and the rooms were cozy. The work-out center, spa, and pool were wonderful. We ate the Chibese food and the morning buffet at the hotel. Both were pricey, but good. One complaint.........why would a classy hotel like this find the cheapest and most thin toilet paper in the world to give its guests. No sense describing, just use your imagination.
Reviewed May 04, 2015
6.0
Sheerry from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
Comfort and clean”
comfort, clean and value for money
nice and will come back again.
Reviewed April 14, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
amarsanaa from Mongolia
Business traveler
Deluxe Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Beautiful hotel with great staff”
Location, style, cleanliness
beautiful fitness centre, sauna and swimming pool. Havent had a chance to have a dinner but lunch at the lobby room was good. I am definitely coming back here.
Reviewed April 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015
An experience”
Staff friendliness and helpfulness exceptional and room quality more than expected
Fantastic
Reviewed April 05, 2015
6.3
Good
Muzi from China
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
good stay”
convenient location
a good stay, hotel has convenient location
Reviewed March 09, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Dominik from Germany
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015
Great hotel”
service, swimming pool, cleanliness
Great experience, the standard room is just a bit too small for a couple with young children. The pool, gym, sauna area are great. Breakfast is nothing special, but the service and the staff is 6 start.
Reviewed February 17, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
erica from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
very good hotel!”
big room, big bathroom, great staff service
we got to the hotel quite late and they upgraded our room very nice hotel, helpful staff, very big bathroom, clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice gym and pool. walking distance to the subway or you can ask the staff to call you a cab/taxi wanted to stay in the hotel the whole day, will definitely stay here again hope they fix the top floor resto.
Reviewed February 03, 2015
8.7
Excellent
JEONGHO from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Good”
Low price
Reviewed January 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Chih from Taiwan
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
good”
good
Reviewed January 05, 2015
7.0
Very good
Michael from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
nice hotel ”
value
not bad....not outstanding
Reviewed December 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Maria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Relaxing place to stay”
room, location and cleanliness
Reviewed December 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Nice”
Nice clean friendly staff
Value for money, clean room, close to the bund
Reviewed November 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Lim from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Lovely Hotel”
Price, food and room
Reviewed November 27, 2014
6.7
Good
Wan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
general manager ”
cleanliness
pleasant
Reviewed November 17, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Joanne from Singapore
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Nice room, good facilities”
Room is nice, facilities are good. walking distance to the Bund
Great! My room was upgraded. Very nice #315. The pool and gym were awesome! Though quite a distance from The Bund, still walkable. Morning jog to the bund and had coffee there. Last day had brunch at Shanghai Morning. Nice! i will return to Sunrise.
Reviewed November 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Chi-Chuan from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Great staff”
Staff professional, value and location
Black carpet still has room to improve in turns of vacuum cleaness. Location is close the the bund but away from any walking shopping and food. Friendly and professional staff. Good value compare to other name brand 5 star hotels in Shanghai.
Reviewed October 28, 2014
6.7
Good
Lai from Singapore
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
comfortable”
clean n comfortable
The room is small but clean. It is rather far away fm the bund, at least not walking distance. Nearest Mrt exit still under construction. No clear road sign shown. Ard hotel got nothing to eat. tourist attractions not in walking distance. Must take taxi. Pudong airport is very far away 1hr by taxi with no traffic. Hongxiao airport is much nearer.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Chih from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
good”
good
Reviewed October 22, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Cynthia from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Absolutely fantastic”
Nice deco, helpful staff, exceptional bathroom
This was one of the best hotel experience I have had in Shanghai for many years. As business traveller I don't need a vibrant neighborhood for the hotel I stayed, but a nice, comfortable room and easy access to other areas of Shanghai by taxi. Hotel staff are very helpful and with good English speaking skills; both interior and exterior of the hotel is 5-star, especially the bathroom. Shower is very powerful. For the price I paid, great value for money (when a 4-star could charge even more than this hotel if it locates at Nanjing Road). Only downside is it is not on the Bund but already passed the Bund on the north, and if you wanted to be close to the attractions you better take a taxi than walking.
Reviewed October 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
CHAN from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
good location”
good location
good location
Reviewed September 29, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Michael from France
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014
Second Time and as good as it was the first one”
The Hotel, The Staff, The Spa
Very nice stay, Once more the staff is really nice an helpful. You might the location quite far from Center or Bund but since the Taxi are cheap in Shanghai it is no problem. Even now you have 2 metro Line which close the hotel.
Reviewed September 27, 2014
8.7
Excellent
angela from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 7 nights in September 2014
nice hotel”
wifi,cleanliness,helpful friendly staff
We enjoyed our stay. Hotel is close to the subway and a 20 min walk to the Bund.
Reviewed September 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
BengTie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
caught a big fly in the room”
relatively clean
Reviewed September 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ed from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Very good”
Style, cleanliness, bath
Very good, although a confusion with Agoda meant that they thought my reservation had been cancelled, causing me to lose nearly 40 minutes of time while exhausted.
Reviewed September 25, 2014
8.7
Excellent
David from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Beautiful hotel, close to the Bund”
Location, Room condition, Quiet
The room was clean, well appointed, and well maintained. Technically it may be on the Bund, but it's about a 15 minute walk to the HuangPu bridge where most people think the Bund starts. Quality of food was very good (not amazing, but good). The pub next door (owned by the hotel) makes its own beer, much better than standard Chinese beer. The price was amazing though (about $CAD80 a night), and I like walking, so this was not a problem for me. It is less than 3 blocks from the new Metro Line 12, so also convenient by public transport (although train to international airport requires two line changes, three if you take the MagLev rather than staying on the Metro. To domestic airport, only one transfer is required).
Reviewed August 23, 2014
6.7
Good
syin from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
very good:)”
clean
Good
Reviewed July 31, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from France
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
A nice and great hotel with an even better service”
Nice rooms, nice service, nice hotel !
I booked at Sunrise on the bound, because I had to stay some more in shanghai and my hotel was full. Lucky I discovered a great hotel. Quite often in china, Hotels are nice but the service is not as good as you can expect. In Sunrise on the Bound All employees are nice and always want to help you. They do speak english quite well and you really feel comfortable. Now every year I go there !
Reviewed July 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Shannon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Location wise, price wise, room smaller”
Location wise, price wise, room smaller
Room smaller and overall satisfy.
Reviewed July 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Wendy from China
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
A short but good stay”
Clean, big room, and free wifi
A short, but good stay.
Reviewed July 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
A new hotel with excellent facilities ”
Good location close to river and transport links, very clean and convenient
We chose this hotel as we thought it was close to the Bund but in fact it was about 20 mins walk from the main strip but offered excellent views of the river and buildings on the other side especially at night. The hotel was new, clean and efficient with friendly staff. Best of all it was close to the underground which gave great and safe connections to the other parts of the city,
Reviewed July 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Laurent from France
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
really friendly Staffs”
services , comfort , location
had great memories there with my Girlfriend staffs were really helpful and friendly
Reviewed July 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Scott from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Excellent value, great service, comfortable and cl”
Price, service and comfort
Excellent
Reviewed July 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Kamfai from Hong Kong
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
clean n good location”
nice swimming pool
good good good good good good good good good good good good
Reviewed July 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Donovan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Fantastic and will return!”
quality, room and luxury
It was fantastic and will definitely return!
Reviewed June 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Majid from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
Excellent, Superb, comfortable stay”
cleanliness, comfortable rooms, attentive staff.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighborbood, I arrived late at night, where checking was speedy and properly done. Staff speak good English, so communication was not a problem. Staff is extemely helpful and always ready to help. The hotel is very clean and nice decoration. Swimming pool and excercise equipment were also nice to releave the daily stress. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel is two blocks away from the river, where there is a beautiful park you can walk to, and enjoy drinking coffee at a coffee shop. Hotel is fairly close to down town, but you must go by taxi to the otherside of the river. The cost of taxi was minimal. But it is far from the Airport, and takes about one hour and about 200 Yuan. There is no airport Shuttle. All in all, I had a wonderful stay at this hotel and highly recommend it. My only compaint was the speed of internet, where at times, specially in the morning would stop working.
Reviewed June 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Antonio from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
great value for money”
staff, comfort, room service
Our stay in this hotel was simply perfect. I cannot believe we paid so little money for such a great service. The room was beautiful and spacious. Amazing bathroom. The staff is very professional. Internet is free. Daily complimentary water. Beautiful gym and spa. Very quite location, not very central but still in walking distance from the Bund. Very satisfy, indeed.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
YU from China
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
friendly staffs,efficient service”
smile,clean,quiet
good
Reviewed June 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
li from Taiwan
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
comfortable room.”
i am enjoy.
Reviewed June 03, 2014