Book Now: Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel

Very good
From 247 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (247)Booking.com Reviews (73)
7.3
Very good
From 247 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.6
Facilities6.3
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.4
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
繁體中文 (香港)
Русский
more
Room type
Honeymoon Room
Chinese Style Luxury
Family
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 238 verified guest comments
6.7
Good
Joshua from United States
Group
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Unique experience in a Beijing Courtyard setting”
Location to Tiananmen, Value for the location, and helpful staff
I was traveling with a group of friends and we all loved the unique setting of the hotel with it's traditional furniture and style . However, the bathrooms were cramped and not the cleanest. Great wifi. The metro is a a 10 min walk to the hotel and Wangfujing is a 15-20 min walk through the neighborhood alleys.
Reviewed December 30, 2014
5.7
Lynette from Singapore
Solo traveler
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Small Room”
Next to Forbidden City, Primary Location
It's a traditional chinese style hotel. I stayed in the cheapest room, the room and toilet are all very small, but bed is large and comfortable. A bit cold in the toilet, there's no air-con in it. The towels are smelly and NOT clean. The hotel has primary location it's next to the forbidden city, only 10 min walking distance.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
5.3
Mark from Philippines
Group
Family
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Good Location but hard to find”
Staff was good. rooms were spacious and wifi was available.
First of all the hotel was very hard too find, especially at night where almost all the hutongs looked the same. Location was okay, 10 min walk to Tienanmen square and Metro. Half of the days we spent, there was no hot water. Price was decent. I think you could do better.
Reviewed December 03, 2014
7.7
Very good
Joshua from United States
Group
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Unique experience in a Beijing Courtyard setting”
Location to Tiananmen, Value for the location, and helpful staff
The group I was traveling with really enjoyed the setting of the hotel with it's traditional furniture and style. However, the bathrooms were cramped and not the cleanest. Great wifi. The Metro and Tiananmen is a 10-15 min walk, Wangfujing is a 15-20 min walk through the neighborhood alleys.
Reviewed November 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Joshua from United States
Group
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Unique experience in a Beijing Courtyard setting”
Location to Tiananmen, Value for the location, and helpful staff
I was traveling with a group of friends and we all loved the unique setting of the hotel with it's traditional furniture and style . However, the bathrooms were cramped and not the cleanest. Great wifi. The metro is a a 10 min walk to the hotel and Wangfujing is a 15-20 min walk through the neighborhood alleys.
Reviewed November 21, 2014
7.0
Very good
Ming from Singapore
Group
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
Cold in winter”
Basic needs are met.
It was winter and it was quite cold. Heater was not strong enough. Ran out of hot water too.
Reviewed November 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Louise from Canada
Solo traveler
Family
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Great place for price”
Location, the look- lots of red, helpful staff
We really enjoyed our stay would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the hutong area and is budget mined
Reviewed November 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
LEONG from Malaysia
Couple
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Feel the Old Beijing”
Location, Nature of this building, Feel like home
First, it is very near to the tiananmen and the royal palace. Second, you come to Beijing, you wanna feel the old ancient Beijing. Staying here, you have got it.
Reviewed September 13, 2014
7.3
Very good
JIE from Singapore
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
It is a traditional Beijing courtyard hotel”
A very traditional Chinese decoration; Good location; Good courtyard living experience.
This is a good location. You can access many main historical sites in Beijing from the hotel. The experience of living there is very special. Can find some good local food nearby.
Reviewed August 26, 2014
5.0
Hadrian from Indonesia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Not recommended”
Staff, near Tiananmen but hard to find
I will not recommend this Guest House to any family and friends. This is not a hotel
Reviewed August 02, 2014
5.3
Clare from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 8 nights in June 2014
Quiet simple hotel in Central Beijing ”
Quiet location, near tourist sites, near transport links
Fantastic location in quiet area near forbidden city. Short walk to buses and metro. Close to lots of tourist sites and short walk to local restaurants and shops. Rooms certainly not for honeymoon regardless of what it says in their website and big difference in quality of rooms. Try to get one upstairs with own terrace away from noise of courtyard- also some of the downstairs rooms don't have windows!
Reviewed July 13, 2014
6.0
Clare from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
Great location”
Great location, friendly staff, quiet area
A fairly simple family run hotel in superb location near the forbidden city and tiannanmen square. Short walk to metro station and buses to access other areas of the city. Staff helpful and friendly and internet and wifi available. Central under cover courtyard area nice and use of kitchen if required as no restaurant on premises. I'd recommend asking to look at available rooms on arrival as there are big differences in standard.
Reviewed July 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Marc from Netherlands
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Very friendly and English speaking helpful staf.”
Location, good bed, helpful staf
Nice and friendly place and we where happy to stay
Reviewed July 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
LEONG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Localized. Friendly”
Friendliness, Uniqueness and Value For Money
You come to Beijing, and if your purpose is to walk around, then I strongly suggest you to stay here. Firstly, this so call hotel is actually a Si He Yuan (四合院)This kind of houses are the essence of old Beijing. People in those day live in such houses. Then second, it is located very hear to the Palace (故宫)and it is located in a Hu Tong (胡同). You must experience it. Although the toilet is not perfect but you can't expect much.
Reviewed July 05, 2014
6.3
Good
Matthew from United States
Solo traveler
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Historical building in the once forbidden zone”
Historical architecture, quaint, quiet
This hotel occupies a building in a traditional Beijing quadrangle courtyard, which at one time was in an Imperial forbidden zone. The room is small with the basic amenities, adequate for 1 or 2 night stays. The stay was worth the pictures, and the enclosed courtyard was well decorated and fun to see. Very close to Tiananmen gate and the Forbidden City and souvenir shopping. The hotel is not easy to find; located in a side alley off the road. but there are signs in the alley to help one find the front door.
Reviewed July 01, 2014
2.3
Kuan from Malaysia
Group
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Bad quality ”
The accommodation was not well maintained, a lot of the equipment, facilities were broken, not working or very dirty. It was marketed on as a boutique hotel but it is nothing close. Let's start from the front - The entrance is an old dirty alley with rubbish everywhere. I reckon the hotel should at least tidy it up for the pleasure of the residences. The lamp along the alley and even at the hotel front door. It is a problem going back to hotel after dark. Pantry, living hall, balcony, stairs - lots of things were broken, junk and dirty. When it is raining the rain drop from the ceiling. Pantry has rubbish bin that is full of food waste around it. Dirty dishes were left in the basic. Fridge is full of left overs and smells really bad. The beverage they sell were kept in the same fridge!.. Room and bathroom - you will find junk in there like a storeroom for example little fridge very dirty and not working, the table full of dust, some of the lights not working, broken door handle, smelly bathroom, everywhere of the bathroom is very dirty full of dirt and stain, the sandals provided in the room were dirty and old. TV and all the electric cable, extensions were placed very untidy, full of dust. The whole thing was just badly built and maintained. Hotel surrounding - No taxi is allowed to stop there as it is a 'non-stopping' road. You will never catch a taxi there. The restaurant and the shops along the same street are extremely badly maintained, very dirty with big hygiene problems, people spitting, people peeing, rubbish everywhere.........although this is the main road right beside the biggest tourist spot the forbidden city. Staffs - Staffs are relatively not so rude compare with other people you meet on the street. But their services are just not good, simply giving empty promises for the sake of getting you to take the day-trip and tickets for opera, shows.
Reviewed June 25, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ariane from France
Solo traveler
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Local feel to rooms and common room , family,like”
Locally furnished roomsWarm welcome, excellent serviceExcellent location
Excellent , highly recommended to feel like being in China (not your standardized hotel).
Reviewed June 15, 2014
6.7
Good
Andreea from Romania
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Traditional Hutong Coutryard Experience”
comfy beds, nice colourful courtyard, quiet street in busy neighbourhood
We stayed at this hotel twice (in between we went on a trip to Xian). We got two different rooms each time, and they even let us choose from the available rooms, which made us suspect that the type of room we booked (Honeymoon Room) doesn't actually exist. In any case, the rooms were comfortable and relatively clean. The bathrooms were a different story, though. The shower curtains are molded and disgusting, the tiles are cracked (and I even saw a cockroach crawling out of one of them) and in one of the rooms the shower was hanging over the toilet, so you had to basically sit on it to shower. However, the staff was as helpful as they could given the slight language barrier (the female staff spoke better English and was always smiling and trying to help, while the male staff was just playing computer games in the courtyard and not really acknowledging if he understood us or not). What is more, during our trip to Xian, they stored our big suitcase at no extra cost, which enabled us to travel light. It was immensely helpful. The hotel is in a very busy area, but the actual alley it is in is very quiet. The area is safe (as is the whole of China) and there are dozens of policemen stationed on every corner from the hotel to Tiananmen Square. Although the hotel is probably the closest to the main attractions (Tiananmen and Forbidden City), expect lots of walking to there and inside the attractions. The distances are vast to say the least. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we slowly made it our home for the 10 days we spent there. It is good value for money, that's for sure!
Reviewed June 12, 2014
6.7
Good
Andreea from Romania
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Typical Chinese Courtyard Hotel in Hutong”
The beds/sheets were comfy, the A/C worked well, it was centrally located
The hotel isn't easy to find the first time, although, after you find it the first time, it seems easy and obvious. It would help if they put a picture of the real entrance on the website (street view), instead of the inner door. Location was great, within walking distance from Wangfujing street, Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City and metro station. Lots of small local places around to eat good and cheap dumplings and noodles. The staff spoke just about enough English to cater for your accommodation needs, but to to recommend things outside the hotel. The rooms are not exactly clean (although there are two ladies who clean thoroughly every day). There's mold on the walls in the bedrooms and in the bathroom and I even saw a cockroach coming out of one of the cracks in the bathroom wall tiles. The bathroom had no ventilation or outside window, so it was damp and it stank most of the time.
Reviewed June 10, 2014
3.7
Irene from Singapore
Group
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Unbearable”
None
This place is not easily located. The exterior looks slightly shoddy. The room we were supposed to stay in had a power trip earlier so the aircon and the electricity aren't available, which meant that we were stranded without a room to rest in when we arrived. There wasn't much of a choice but to explore the city since the room was waiting to be fixed. When we returned for the night, they gave us the VIP Family room (which is supposedly the most premium room) to stay in since they weren't able to get the room fixed. The VIP room sounded good at first until I stepped in, only to feel bits of debris on the carpet under my feet. The least they could do is provide a room that is clean. The big bottle of shower gel in the bathroom had ran out, towels were not properly provided for, the sink was leaking a bit...very trying experience. I'm glad I only booked 2 nights and scooted off to stay in a nicer hotel after that!
Reviewed June 02, 2014
5.3
Alexander from Canada
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
great staff. but hard to find. ”
price. neat courtyard. staff
staff very helpful good english. but rooms are rather dirty in need of renos. hard to find tucked away in a dark alley. can walk to tiamamen square, forbidden city and the crazy night food market serving all sorts of wacky grub on sticks.
Reviewed June 01, 2014
7.7
Very good
Hai from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Nice, clean and friendly staff”
good location, comfortable, quiet environment
Good. Nice hotel in a Hutong area. By walking distance have restaurant, convenient store, forbidden city and Tiananmen. Wang Fu Jin street also can reach by walking distance. good experience stay in this courtyard type hotel. Although the place a bit difficult to find but still reachable by local taxi. value for money to stay at this hotel.
Reviewed May 28, 2014
7.3
Very good
Hai from Malaysia
Family with young children
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Nice, happy and comfortable.”
Friendly staff, clean, near forbidden city/tiananmen
Good and happy. Although the room a bit small for 5 of us but the environment
Reviewed May 28, 2014
5.3
Sylvia from Singapore
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
not really worth of $$”
allow you to experience Hutong style (antique decoration)
personally feel the honeymoon room quite expensive and small size, need to do clean up on the floor, curtain and bed. Upgrade for the bathroom.
Reviewed May 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
rachel from New Zealand
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
This was a gem of a hotel ”
Atmosphere, lovely staff and central location
Lovely, my visit to Beijing would not have been as good without this hotel experience. Tiananmen Best Year Hotel really gave me a taste of the character of old world Beijing as it was so close to the Forbidden City.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
7.0
Very good
Thanapipat from Thailand
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Good location and chinese traditional stye”
Good place, value money
It is a chinese tradistional stype, It is very good location that you can get it within 10 minute after MRT exit as near Tiananmen area.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Leonard from United States
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Pleasant”
Engslish Speaking staff, Loaction close to Tien An Men Square, close to Subway
Pleasant
Reviewed April 18, 2014
6.3
Good
Jennifer from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Fantastic experience”
Great Location, Helpful Staffs
It's a great place for you to experience the HuTon life. The staffs are capable to communicate in English and are very helpful in providing information needed to go around the interesting places. Need not to worry about there's no breakfast provided because you can get to find fantastic local beijing food easily outside the small HuTon lanes.
Reviewed April 15, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Cinthia from United States
Family with teens
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Perfect Location / Outstanding Staff”
English Speaking Staff, Next to Tiananmen Square, Experience true Chinese living
We stayed at this hotel hoping to experience a unique Chinese traditional living in the Hutongs. It was perfect. I wasn't sure of the Spring weather so we chose this due to the indoor courtyard which was very peaceful. Canopy beds were fun. Bathrooms are very basic. Only two blocks of the Imperial Palace and subway station. Fabulous English Speaking Staff. They are willing to book tours and taxi's for you. I pre-arranged for a transfer at the hotel upon arrival through a tour company so that the driver knew how to get to our hotel with ease. worth the money.
Reviewed April 08, 2014
7.7
Very good
Warren from Australia
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Great atmosphere”
Friendly staff and a very relaxed atmosphere which made meeting other guests easy. Access to everything was great - very central although a little difficult to find initially.
Stay was great. I enjoyed it very much. It did not have all the services that were advertised so I think it was a little overpriced.
Reviewed March 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Australia
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Excellent, amazing location so quiet but right in ”
Price, Location & Atmosphere
Excellent friendly staff beautiful centered courtyard location was amazing.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
6.3
Good
Ricky from Malaysia
Group
Family
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Centrally located Hutong Hotel”
Hutong Design, Next to Tianamen/Forbbidden City and close to Subway
Choose this hotel to experience the courtyard Hutong theme, Had a family room sharing with wife and dad, room average size with 3 single beds. Heater, Air-cond, Hot water, in room TV. Average cleaniness but staff is great for their eagerness to help. Hotel 8 minutes walk to subway, near East gate of Forbidden City, 12 minutes to entrance of Tianamen Square. It is so easy to get around Beijing via subway and its only RMB2 for single trip to any of the subway stop which is one of the cheapest in the world. Taxi starting rate of RMB8 for first 2km is a steal. I would recommend this hotel to adventurer, free and easy traveler or even family with kids.
Reviewed January 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
I Love this place - 3rd stay here!”
Friendly staff, atmosphere, location
I love this hotel, the staff are so friendly and so very helpful. It was the 3rd time I stayed here - I love the atmosphere - much nicer than a big hotel. it is a few minutes walk to tiananmen, the city center, or the metro station. Forbidden city is just over the wall of the main street from which the hotel's road it off. It is great.
Reviewed November 26, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Catherine from Singapore
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Real Chinese experience”
Friendly staff, convenient location
The staff are helpful and fluent in English. Great experience staying in hutong.
Reviewed November 19, 2013
7.3
Very good
Andrea from Canada
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 9 nights in October 2013
amazing staff and location but a little expensive”
the staff were so helpful, the location was perfect, close to train
Our stay was lovely. The staff were the few people that could speak English which was a relief! THey were so kind and helpful and lovely owners who went out of their way to make us comfortable. We were visiting in october and the weather was getting coolor--the chinese govenment does not allow the people to turn on their furnaces until a certain date so we were extremely cold in our hotel. It was, however, not the owners' fault and they tried to make us as comfortable as they could, offering more blankets, a small heater, etc. The hotel is located in a small quiet hutong very close to tianament square, the forbidden city, wangfujing street. It really was a top location. If we wanted to go do a different area of the city, the train was very close--less than 10 minutes walking.
Reviewed November 09, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Anlaug from Norway
Family with young children
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Historical boutique hotel”
close to Forbidden city, chinese style, spectacular
this is a great place to stay if you are visiting the forbidden city, in fact this house used to be part of the forbidden city and wa the house used to make the red lanterns. Don't expect western luxery, but the rooms are nice chinese decorated, they are clean, clean toilets and bath rooms, airconditioned, and walking distance with small children, to the forbidden city. No breakfast.
Reviewed August 15, 2013
6.3
Good
Bertha from Mexico
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
My room was not clean when I got there at midnight”
The staff is friendly
We initially booked for two nights and had to add an extra night at the beginning of the trip for a total of 3 nights. We arrived at Beijing at midnight and it was a shock when we found the hotel in a dark alley with a tiny sign. Our room was dirty, very dirty. The carpet felt like it hadn't been vacumed in months, there were empty plastic bottles under the bed. The sheets, pillows and bathroom were clean, but the room had a very dusty-hasn't gotten a good clean in a long time felling. We had to sleep there because it was midnight and there was no one available to clean-we were exhausted. The next morning, we asked them to deep-clean the room; we came back from walking all day at the Great Wall of China and the cleaning person had only changed the towels and clean on the surface: did not vaccum! We had to wait at the lobby and grabbed a beer while we waited for someone to vaccum the room and they charged us for the beer. I'm happy to pay for what I consume, but I thought it was distasteful to have someone reminding you the price for the beer when you're waiting for your room to be cleaned at 8pm! The lady in charge is very friendly and always has a ready to help smile, she even helped us with some translation at the end of our trip. Won't recommend the hotel, its poorly managed. But it has a lot of potential since the location is very good for sight seeing. But there are other hotels, but in reallity its only very, very dusty. hey told us that the reason the room was not cleaned is because we booked that extra night at the begining of our initial reservation, but I did reserve the extra night with 3 days in advance. Three days is enough time to have a clean room for your guests, don't you think? This hotel does not market it self as a hostel, I thought it was a 3 star hotel with great location, but it was more like a youth
Reviewed July 10, 2013
6.7
Good
Apinya from Thailand
Solo traveler
Family
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great experience ”
Helpful and English speaking staff, serene atmosphere and unique courtyard style, good location.
We enjoy the 2 nights stay at this hotel very much. Makes us feel like home. Breakfast is a mistake though. The gaff are most helpful and fluent in English. Great experience staying in this small traditional courtyard style. A little challenging to locate the place and need to walk and drag suitcase there. Taxi can't access. Not that long walk though.
Reviewed June 16, 2013
6.7
Good
Sophie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
A great guesthouse located on an authentic hutong”
Attentive staff, comfortable bed and a strong, hot shower
Reviewed June 12, 2013
7.3
Very good
Peter from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Real Chinese experience - good hotel and location”
Location, atmosphere, roomsize
For a short stay this hotel is great. It is very close to Forbidden city and tiananmen square. Shower is only cold water (!).
Reviewed May 23, 2013
6.0
Claude from Canada
Solo traveler
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Not worth the money, stay away”
Location, location, location and that all there is about this hotel. It is unclean, dusty, noisy and most of all very very difficult to find
It is a 10 minutes walk to the Forbidden City, the young people where very helpful.
Reviewed May 08, 2013
6.3
Good
Colita from Malaysia
Group
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
Quite an experience”
Friendly staffs, convenient location, lots of small restaurants nearby
It's a small courtyard hotel walking distance to Tianamen and Forbidden City. It is located in an alley not big enough for mpv to enter hence the loading and unloading of luggages will be a problem, taxi drivers doesn't know the place at all very difficult for those who cannot speak Mandarin. The staffs are friendly unfortunately the rooms and bathrooms are not clean , doorknob falling apart, water taps and shower cannot maintain the temperature, you have to be ready for a sudden change of water flow to either freezing cold or scalding hot, so when you are taking a shower be ready to hop out when water temperature changes by itself in split second certainly not funny when Beijing weather is between 0-5 Celsius .
Reviewed April 28, 2013
6.7
Good
YVONNE from China
Couple
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
close to wangfujin”
nice service however horrible toilet
Reviewed April 08, 2013
7.7
Very good
Ariel from United States
Group
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 8 nights in February 2013
Pleasant place to stay, great central location”
Nice sized rooms, helpful staff, very convenient location
I traveled to China with my sister for vacation and we decided to stay here. It was very pleasant. We got there and there were multiple open rooms, the staff let us choose which one we preferred. It was comfortable and with plenty of space. The room was pleasant and the bathroom was Western, which we appreciated. The staff were helpful. One man spoke English fairly well and was helpful in giving directions and writing things out if we were taking a cab. The other staff were very polite and pleasant. Overall, the stay was nice and great for the price.
Reviewed February 27, 2013
7.3
Very good
Budi from Indonesia
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Nice little hotel with traditional Chinese touch”
strategic location, unique environment, nice reception
This hotel is smaller than we had expected. It is located inside a hutong on central Beijing. It's very near to Tiananmen and subway station. The room and hotel interior is decorated like a traditional Chinese courtyard house. It has free wifi access, and there are two desktop PCs located in the central yard. The room is pretty comfortable, although not big. The receptionist was very friendly and kind. A little downside maybe was the price. But if you like the traditional environment, maybe it is not a big deal.
Reviewed January 21, 2013
5.3
Winston from Singapore
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Good location, nice setting ”
Good wifi, near to food amd shopping, easy to hail a cab. Friendly staff that speaks decent english.
Room standard is a bit poor. There is cigarette butts left over under the table. Although LAN was included in the facilities, its not available. I like their initiative of setting up a coffee machine selling a cup for ¥10. Common water dispenser with free tea leaves is a nice touch too.
Reviewed January 09, 2013
6.7
Good
Winston from Singapore
Couple
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good location, nice decor”
Good location, great service staff, nice decor, cosy feeling
Stayed here to wait for my return flight home. Compared to the earlier Spring Garden Hotel, this is a much better location for a lower price. They were overbooked and upgraded us to a bigger room in the attic. It was meant to be a "family room" and has 4 double beds inside. The ceiling was very low, not meant for anyone more than 1.6m tall. Toilet was outside of the room and had no heating. The windows leaked and the room is not warm enough.
Reviewed January 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Wong from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Close to everything”
Walk to the Tinanmen within 10 mins
we were arrived beijing at late night, but the reception is really great because they wait us in front of the door. very nice location and inner decoration is very sophisticate too. but the family isn't too big, and no warmer in the bathroom, hope the hotel can improve it. a very nice hotel you can meet new friends world widely.
Reviewed December 26, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Catherine from Australia
Group
Chinese Style Luxury
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Pretty little place, warm and friendly atmosphere”
Very convenient location near train station, nice communal area.
So warm and friendly inside this hotel. More like a B amd B or guesthouse than a hotel. The location is really great, short walk from train station. Lovely rooms, clean and comfortable.
Reviewed December 22, 2012
7.3
Very good
John from South Africa
Family with young children
Honeymoon Room
Stayed 9 nights in March 2012
fantastic chinese experience”
authentic, close to most attractions, friendly staff
We traveled with a 2 year old. We were most impressed with the hotel, if you expect 5 star luxury, go to a different hotel. If you want old world charm and Chinese authenticity, this is the place. the staff was not that fluent in English, but they were wonderful in trying to assist us in what we wanted. Location of the hotel (huotong)was perfect. We were in the middle of everything, the distance to the "underground" was 5 minutes. There was no "kitchen" facility at the hotel, but there was plenty restaurants at very affordable prices outside.
Reviewed December 18, 2012