Book Now: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On the Bund

Exceptional
From 171 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (171)Booking.com Reviews (400)
9.0
Exceptional
From 171 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.4
Facilities9.1
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality9.3
Service9.0
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
King Deluxe City Room
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Double Queen Deluxe River Room
King Deluxe River Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 132 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
jennifer from Australia
Group
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Very luxurious hotel but could do with some modern”
Great position on the Bund , also very luxurious rooms and lovely swimming pool and gym facilities
Was a great hotel to stay at Very good location on the Bund and lovely swimming pool and gym facilities The restaurant service was not nearly up to scratch My mother and I went to eat at the hotels restaurants at 9 pm at night only to find that not a single one of the hotels restaurants would serve food at that time We resorted to in room dining which was an absolute disgrace We did complain and received a credit and apology from the manager but really this is totally unacceptable from a 5 star hotel Breakfast was ridiculously expensive so we chose to walk to the nearby 5 star western hotel and eat there which had a cafe and numerous restaurants to choose from I feel that a hotel of the standard of the Waldorf needs to modernise its approach to dining especially for westerners travelling to china As more food choices and dining Choices are needed if wanting to compete with other 5 star hotels as it would influence my choice of hotel for future stays
Reviewed December 01, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Cheung from Hong Kong
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
My most favorite hotel in Shanghai”
nice view on the bund, comfortable room, good breakfast.
Overall very satisfactory. This was my second stay and the experience was even better than the previous time as the renovation work of the hotel has now been completed. If you like the bund I would recommend you to stay here.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
luxurious”
i cant think of a single think that you might want in a room that it didn't have and of the best quality
We loved it. The location is fantastic and the staff make you feel like a king
Reviewed October 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ivy from China
Couple
King Deluxe City Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
Best hotel in shanghai in terms of facility”
Environment and setting, room size, breakfast buffet
Second time visit for another 6 nights, reservation staff messed up with the payment and kept messing it up and nobody replied my email for 72 hours until I rang them up. Great recovery from their guest relation team and great service across the hotel. Breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic.
Reviewed September 28, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
De from United Kingdom
Couple
King Deluxe River Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
De Grendel wnes in Shanghai”
old classic charm of yesteryear, location with beautiful view on and over the rive
Reviewed September 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Damien from Singapore
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Outstanding in every way”
Bed, staff and amenities
Best sleep I have ever enjoyed in a hotel. The bed and pillows are simply divine, as of the facilities in the room. Probably the most outstanding hotel I have ever experienced in my travels.
Reviewed September 01, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Thomas from United Kingdom
Couple
King Deluxe City Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Good Stay - Excellent Location”
Location, Staff, Room
Great location on the Bund, friendly and polite staff, clean and relaxing room with an amazing bed and good breakfast.
Reviewed September 01, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ahmed from Saudi Arabia
Couple
King Deluxe River Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Excellent stay. My second stay at this hotel.”
Near Nanjing Road
Reviewed June 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Christopher from Malta
Business traveler
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Good hotel, historic building, great location”
Breakfast, location, style
The hotel was all in all excellent. I have rated the room at "almost poor" when it comes to cleanliness due to a single live cockroach in the bathroom. Common in China but did not expect to find this at the Astoria. I was also upgraded upon arrival to a junior villa but the excitement was short lived as I discovered that the room was not facing "the Bund" as originally paid for. the view was of semi destroyed properties/rooftops from neighboring building
Reviewed May 15, 2014
7.7
Very good
LIM from Singapore
Family with teens
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Awesome hotel”
Big room, good location, friendly staff
This hotel is really nice on the inside and outside. Staff are friendly also. Nice room they have.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Atthachai from Thailand
Business traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Exceptional. The room is big and very luxury. ”
Service, Location and room Luxury
Very good. The staff is very nice. The hotel room is very good. Bed is very comfortable. Howevever, the internet is slow. Will need to reconnect my time.
Reviewed March 05, 2014
5.7
D from Singapore
Couple
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Interesting architecture but cold atmosphere.”
Breakfast.
Superb architecture, structurally interesting. But the coldness of the surroundings was matched only by the cold and efficient service. Save for one person who came to do the evening turn down service, the staff were not impolite but there was no warmth in the service. Huge contrast to another hotel we stayed in the Xintiandi area on the same trip.
Reviewed December 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
hsuan-yi from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
nice and resoneble price”
bed location atmosphere
Reviewed December 06, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from United Kingdom
Group
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Totally outstanding hotel”
Staff, room, decor
I am a seasoned traveller and have stayed in luxury hotels across the world. The Waldorf (we had 3 rooms, was an unique experience. The very epitome of service quality and decor. It is immaculate throughout, part being the old british Club of Shanghai, the other part its modern extension. They are seamless, creating the impression of a grand country house transposed into the heart of Shanghai and a few minutes easy walk to the bund with its iconic skyline. I loved every minute of it
Reviewed August 21, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jing from Singapore
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
It was a fantastic experience!”
Architecture, service, ambience, location
It was my dream hotel! With the colonial design, rich history, stunning view of Puxi, attentive staff and luxurious bathroom, we couldn't ask for more!When the staff realized they took a long time to serve our tea, they served us complememtary desserts (a whole plate of them) as apology. The room design was also suitable for couples who are looking for a more romantic touch. If you want to live like a king in Old Shanghai, I am sure this is it. It's close to a bunch of nice restuarants and bars like Bar Rouge and St Georges too.
Reviewed June 27, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Minjae from South Korea
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
truly luxurious experience”
1. fast check-in 2. location 3. amazing bathroom
Reviewed June 19, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Claudia from United States
Group
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Perfect in every way”
Impeccable service, fantastic location, gorgeous design
Reviewed June 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Selvy from Indonesia
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
A wonderful and very nice hotel”
Room, staff, the location
My stay was great. I really like the room, the size, the layout, the furniture, and the cleanliness. The staff are also very helpful.
Reviewed June 10, 2013
6.7
Good
Peter from Australia
Business traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Alright but was a bit disappointed on staff ”
Very nice room, clean and quiet
Okay but a bit disappointed with the staff at lobby. Didnot see them to show hospitality nor willing to offer much assistance not like other good 5 star hotel that staff members are all showing warm reception.
Reviewed May 15, 2013
6.7
Good
Peter from Australia
Business traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Okay”
Nice, clean & roomy guest room with every good bath & toilet
Reviewed May 13, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
WENG from Malaysia
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Super high end hotel, romantic and cultural.”
Beautiful, cultural and romantic hotel. The Long Bar is cool yet unpretentious.
Reviewed May 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
kasmono from Indonesia
Family with teens
Double Queen Deluxe River Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
EXCELLENT STAY”
great service, great location and great accommodation
one thing that WA differs with other luxury hotels is their service, they offer a very detail and personal oriented service so that we could feel as if we are staying at home. One thing that's regrettable is the wi-fi connection, it's almost useless. You can actually do some browsing via their flat screen TV in the room, but if you wish to connect your gadgets with their wifi I recommend you to do it via cable-plug they provide on the working desk Great location too since it's location right in front of "the bund", Chanel, Rolex and many luxury stores is in your walking distance
Reviewed May 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
TSZ from Hong Kong
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Very nice food, friendly staff”
Food, free internet, complimentary business area
Sunday brunch was gorgeous with wonderful live band music. Staff was friendly and helpful, able to speak in English with fluency. Business area was great with complimentary drinks.
Reviewed May 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Chua from Singapore
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Lovely stay with beautiful rooms”
Design, nice bed and bathroom
The entire hotel is gorgeous and oozes luxury from the moment you step in. Room was spotless and and absolutely beautiful. A blend of old world charm and modern technology. Walk in wardrobe that lights up as you step in, tv in the bathroom mirror and the toto wc. Lots of marble used especially the bathroom which I really liked and I had a bubble bath everyday. Bed was also extremely comfortable. Service was patchy at times. The concierge was really helpful when we arrived at the bund entrance and helped us to lug our luggage to the other end if the hotel to check in. Staff at the check in counter was efficient but I didn't feel the warmth. We had tea and lunch at peacock alley where the female staff were cold and indifferent but we received good service from a male service staff whom I presume to be a manager.
Reviewed May 02, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
SING from Malaysia
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Good location, great design of the Hotel...”
Location, Comfort, and Design...
Reviewed April 16, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Donny from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
A Historical experience with The Bund experience”
Historical, Classy and attentive
Reviewed April 15, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
merran from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Luxury all the way.”
The staff, the room, the location.
From being met at the airport and taken by limo to the hotel the next 3 days were all pleasure. The large staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms clean.
Reviewed April 15, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Justin from United Kingdom
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
An amazing luxury hotel in a brilliant hotel.”
Size of room, quality of restaurants and Sunday brunch.
Reviewed April 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Charles from Philippines
Business traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Class all the way at the Waldorf!”
fantastic rooms, helpful staff, 24 hour gym
Reviewed April 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Charles from Philippines
Business traveler
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
The best hotel in Shanghai!”
Great rooms, free wifi, elegant setting
Reviewed April 04, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Camille from Philippines
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
The room was huge! And close to everything. ”
Room, Location, and Room!
Reviewed April 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Natalie from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Outstanding hotel with boutique rooms”
Service, beautiful rooms
We had an amazing stay at the Warldorf on the Bund, it was truly magical. The feeling of this hotel is grand yet boutique, every last detail has been specifically thought out, the design was beautiful. The rooms were a delight, and had a very boutique feel. The staff were so attentive and helpful, a doorman even walked us to a restaurant over the road, because we didn't know where it was, covering us with an umbrella. The breakfast was wonderful, with a lot of choice and outstanding food. It is in an excellent location to explore The Bund and surrounding areas.
Reviewed March 11, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
Great location and liked everything ”
Position and concierge
I was a first time tourist to shanghai and loved the position as you cold get everywhere easy and enjoyed walking on Bund just outside.
Reviewed March 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Ewen from United Kingdom
Couple
King Deluxe River Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
beautiful hotel - complete luxury”
spacious bathroom, incredible view to bund, excellent leisure facilities.
We stayed for a single night over CNY and absolutely loved it. The hotel itself is of a superb standard - rooms spacious, clean, luxurious, with a great view to the Bund. The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice on offer and top class service. Lovely fresh juices to chose from and well laid out. We also utilized the spa and gym which were fine. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Waldorf and will certainly do it again some time. It was expensive - but for that special occasion its most definitely worth it.
Reviewed March 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Shang-Chuan from Taiwan
Couple
King Deluxe River Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Great Location and Views to die for!!”
Location directly on the Bund
Our room offered a wonderful view of the the Bund river. The decor of the room was very classy and elegant. Every need was attended to by the friendly staff. I was really impressed with everything the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai has to offer.
Reviewed December 22, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Siu from Hong Kong
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
luxurious facilities”
Excellent service
a well decorated and furnished hotel with excellent customer services. all staff welcomes u with friendly smiles and offer help proactively. staff speak fluent english and very professional. the hotel lobby, bars and restaurants are decorated in 1930's style and bring visitors back to old shanghai. toilets are clean. rooms are spacious with stunning view of the bund. they use salvatone ferragamo for toileteries and the bed is super comfortable. highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed December 02, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
WAN from Taiwan
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Good location+ great service”
Great service
The service is great!!the location is also very nice,u can enjoy walking around the river.
Reviewed November 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Prasanna from Singapore
Business traveler
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
fantastic property, beautifully renovated, ”
excellent restaurants and bar, lovely rooms
this was my second time at this hotel and the experience was equally good this time. the service is outstanding especially loved the atmosphere at the longroom. the restaurants serve great fare.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
8.7
Excellent
sophia from Indonesia
Solo traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
One of the top-notch hotels in Shanghai”
elegant hotel with an old Shanghai touch but equipped with hi-tech rooms. thumbs up!
Hotel should print the address guests should be dropped off at. I understand that the official address is different from the driveway entrance for pickup/drop-off. The pick-up/drop-off driveway is completely inconspicuous and many cab drivers aren't familiar with hotel entrance, which is located on different street from the stated address. Pretty frustrating for someone unfamiliar with Shanghai.
Reviewed October 24, 2012
8.3
Excellent
GWOLIANG from Singapore
Business traveler
King Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Great in-room features but disappointing service”
great views of the bund
Booked an junior suite through agoda and upon checked-in and realising that i needed a better bund view, i requested for a "paid' upgrade to another suite. The front-desk lady offered a price that she claimed was very competitive but much later i found out that i could've gotten a much better rate had I directly reserved via hilton's website. This incident apart, the hotel offers top-class service and my suite was excellent, but I do not think I'll get back anytime soon (there's always Peninsula and Hyatt around the corner).
Reviewed October 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Davide from Italy
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Probably the best ever seen in SHanghai”
Central, elegant, amaazing...
Well people. I have been visiting more than 50 hotels in Shanghai along the years and this is, so far, the best I had. It is exactly on the bund, few minutes walking from Nanjing Road and in a magic atmosphere. Rooms a big but mainly extremely elegant. Nothing is out of place. Toilet marble matches the wall color, that matches the paintings that match the pillow tissue... Lobby and all the adjacent saloons are breathtaking and the attitude of people around the hotel is super. It is not cheap, this, of course is the counterpart: but worths every cent you spend. Oh, I was about to forget: don't miss the breakfast!
Reviewed September 03, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Charles from Philippines
Business traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
One of the best hotels ever!”
Luxury Rooms, Friendly Staff!
one of the best hotels i've stayed at. big rooms. each rooms comes with a nespresso machine and the mirror in the bathroom has a tv built in inside the mirror. gym is great (24 hrs). staff are really helpful. breakfast is good, so as the other restaurants in the hotel.
Reviewed August 14, 2012
6.7
Good
Louie from Canada
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
luxuary hotel”
near to the Bund
Hotel is very luxary in terms of price but the service is so so. They dont clean the room properly and dont throw away our rubbish which make me very disappointed.
Reviewed August 10, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Sophie from Australia
Group
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Gorgeous hotel”
Wonderful customer service. Thanks to Elly the concierge!!
Stayed with my mum - hotel staff so lovely and we were upgraded to a river view suite - which was a lovely surprise as I'd booked the sale price and didn't expect anything extra. Magical view across the bund at night. Expensive breakfast but it was sooo yummy.
Reviewed July 17, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
jean from United States
Family with young children
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
fantastic hotel.”
rooms, location and service.
It's a Waldorf, how can you go wrong, service is amazing, all speak english, location is fantastic, 10 minute walk to metro east Nanjing station, rooms are roomy and very elegant, luxury but breakfast is way too expensive.
Reviewed July 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
Lewis from United Kingdom
Business traveler
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Beautful Rooms”
Very high specification rooms, Historic building
I was upgraded on arrival and had a really beautiful room with a great view. The service was good but for a top end hotel the food could have been better.
Reviewed June 21, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
SHUXIAOTIAN from China
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Charming”
Excellence location, historic building, good service with charming view
Excellence location, historic building, good service with charming view.
Reviewed June 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Richard from United States
Family with young children
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Great hotel but not very baby friendly”
Classy, high-end, good service. Staff speak good English.
We stayed at this hotel to attend a friend's wedding reception. Although this hotel is beautiful and very classy, it is not very baby friendly. We ended up carrying the stroller up and down steps, to get to the elevator, to get to reception, to get to the wedding ceremony, etc. I think more consideration should have been put into making it more stroller or wheelchair friendly. I also was not happy with the room service. I purposely called in my room-service order 3 hours early and set the time I would like my food delivered but it was still over 45 minutes late.
Reviewed May 31, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Antero from Philippines
Couple
King Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Great Luxury Hotel and Excellent Location”
Superb service from Waldorf Staff and Luxurious rooms
waldorf astoria on the bund's location cannot be beat. my wife and i loved the location of this hotel. it was near the great shops and restaurants on the bund.the staff's service and attention to detail was also very impressive.
Reviewed May 23, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
HUIXIAO from China
Couple
Double Queen Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Nice Atmosphere at a great location”
clean and grand room
Good service and very nice atmosphere. 1 of the best hotel to stay.
Reviewed May 19, 2012