Book Now: Yalong Bay Mangrove Tree Resort

Excellent
From 313 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (313)Booking.com Reviews (313)
8.3
Excellent
From 313 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities7.9
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.2
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
简体中文
English
繁體中文 (香港)
日本語
more
Room type
Deluxe Garden View
Garden View
Deluxe Sea View
Family Suite Garden View
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 300 verified guest comments
5.3
Yu from China
Couple
Elegant Sea View Mini Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
relaxing trip”
close to beach, big room, close to shopping/dining area in yalong bay
relaxing time, but overall quality is not outstanding for the money you pay there. Room decoration was a bit old fashion, even though it is very big.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
6.3
Good
GOH from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Great but not value for money.... it's over priced”
The Beach, Friendly Staff, Clean Room
Generally, everything was fine, except that we went on a wrong timing. It's the kid's school holiday and hence, it's packed and very noisy all around. When you go to a place like this, you would expect a great time for relaxation, chill out....away from all the noises....but probably it's our own fault for not realizing it's a school holiday session. Other than that, I guess the room rates are really over-priced for it's worth...should have been more like 50% off their published rates!
Reviewed August 16, 2013
3.7
Yann from France
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
Extremely bad experience, very disappointed.”
Location, private beach down the hotel...
I had stayed 2 years ago to the Yalong Bay Mangrove Tree Resort and enjoyed the experience. This time, in all objectivity, I would not recommend the hotel for the following reasons: - Due to the holiday season in China, the hotel was packed with families and kids; - Annoyance from turbulent kids was omnipresent; - Check-in and check-out was very slow; - Staff of the hotel were nice and friendly, but extremely slow to understand even the most basic requirement from an hotel guest; - The condition of the hotel was extremely poor, fading painting, dirty walls, damaged and not replaced fixtures; - The hotel staff entering the guest room, without even wearing shoe protectors or getting off their shoes; - Extremely poor management from the hotel staff to make sure guests are not annoyed by other poorly behaved guests; - The Korean restaurant was another horrible experience. Nothing Korean about it! - The swimming pool was utterly dirty… - As early as 10AM all beach chairs were taken and when you had the chance to secure one, it was only to find it occupied with your stuff aside when coming back from a sea bath; - This is the first time in my life traveling that I have to queue up at 8:30AM in the morning to get my breakfast; - The breakfast buffet was very poor. Most were Chinese dishes and most fruits were not ripe. No fresh juices either…
Reviewed August 14, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Zhaoyang from China
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Nice beach hotel”
location, room size, view
It was a nice hotel with reasonable price. Probably the best value for the bucks in the area.
Reviewed August 12, 2013
7.3
Very good
Joe from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Good price with reasonable quality”
Nice beach, good breakfast. An outdoor shower with privacy. Nice beach.
Reviewed August 10, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Yi from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Confortable to stay”
Enjoy, valueable, best location
Reviewed August 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Yi from China
Couple
Family Suite Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Very good time and value for the money”
Comfortable, Good service, Luxury
Reviewed August 07, 2013
7.7
Very good
PIYUSH from India
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
comfortable but remotely located”
comfortable room, beach and breakfast
Though Yalong bay is one of the most expensive and beautiful area for hotel and resorts but the location is a big disadvantage if you wish to enjoy a city's life and activities, move around and explore different options of eating this may not be right choice at all, this is best hotel for those who just want to spend their time at the beach and then stay indoor the hotel. I realized that hotels at Sanya Beach would have been better choice for us. Of course the best thing about the hotel is the Sea food resturant on the sea side with its music band playing in the night. The main tourist attaraction of Nanshan Buddha Temple is good 70 Kms. away, the airport also at 50 minutes drive makes this hotel very remotely located. The City center is 30 minutes drive and that can provide some comfort to a tourist to experience the city.
Reviewed June 12, 2013
2.0
Tong from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
a very very very bad experience in this hotel , ”
nothing good, pls don't go
Reviewed June 10, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Barbara from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
FANTASTIC HOTEL”
Room size, great beach, wonderful Thai restuarant
This is a fantastic hotel. I would not call it a "luxury" hotel but for the price it is a wonderful deal. We traveled to Sanya for a weekend escape from mainland China. Our garden view room on the first floor was HUGE with a large bed and massive bathroom which included a tub and rain shower. Our bedroom opened to a little deck and had a private entry into the pool. The beach was clean and there were always ample chairs to choose from. We ate at Thai restaurant two nights in a row and were impressed with the quality of the food. Not all staff members are conversant in English, but those of us who don't speak Mandarin very well still got along fine! The breakfast buffet includes Western and Chinese options which kept us satisfied well into the afternoon. If we decide to come back to Sanya we definitely plan to stay at the Mangrove!!
Reviewed May 20, 2013
5.7
Yun from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Ok Hotel, a little expensive”
The Private Beach is the only saving grace
Reviewed April 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Jens from Germany
Family with young children
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Great location and comfortable rooms”
Location, size of room.
Overall we had a great time. The beach, the room and the location close to the center of Yalong Bay... were all great A few things could have been better. The room: We had a big room and a very large bed, but the room faced north. The view was still great but there was no sunshine at all for the entire day. Even though we kept AC running, the room still felt very humid. The clothing also became sticky and wet and there is no chance to dry anything in the room or in the balcony. Luckily we brought lots of clothing and sets of swimming suits. The hotel has decent kids playing facilities and swimming pools. But it does not have a warm water pool and the jacuzi was turned off. The hotel offers towels on the beach and at swimming pool but primarily requires the guests to take the towels from the room. There were very few foreign guests in the hotel.
Reviewed December 30, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Bolormaa from Mongolia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Lovely hotel with nice beach”
Luxury hotel , good service with smile
Hotel has very good location at Yalong bay. Beach is very clean and nice. Hotel food is excellent. Room i clean and service with smiling.
Reviewed November 23, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Bolormaa from Mongolia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Luxury hotel at great beach”
Nice hotel
The hotel has very good facility. Beach is clean and nice. Food is really good. You will feel fresh and test. Room was good and staff has good English. Hotel location also close from food city
Reviewed November 22, 2012
6.7
Good
Craig from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
great beach - small rooms”
attentive staff, nice pools
My only negative is they do not have enough checkin areas, the wait to get any thing done was at least 15 mins or more. They were able to setup a driver to take us to see Monkey Island, that was interesting - if you like monkeys!
Reviewed November 14, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Gorgeous Resort Goes Above and Beyond”
Stunning views of mountains and bay. Every scene is the resort is a delight. Fabulous buffet breakfast. Cool showers on balconies.
Mangrove Tree Resort is a lovely place to stay. Very clean and modern with an elegance that gives a nod to Chinese heritage. we are very pleased with our choice of Mangrove Tree. It's a gem.
Reviewed November 05, 2012
6.7
Good
Chie from Japan
Group
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Nice hotel”
Nice beach
I stayed there with friend during the holidays of Mid Autumn Festival and China National Day. I didn't see too much people inside the hotel or on the beach, which made us feel so private and nice.
Reviewed October 05, 2012
7.3
Very good
Shing from China
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Generally a nice hotel”
Beautiful
A beautiful hotel. The breakfast is not as good as expected. Service is just okay since it is a 5 star and service is expected. One improvement I expect is no locker and no one is keeping your personal belongings for you when you go swimming. They asked us to put on the chair and keep and eye on our belongings
Reviewed September 30, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Josh from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Beautiful hotel with gorgeous private beach”
Hotel cafe overlooking the sea
I stayed here with my wife and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed here instead of at one of the other 5 stars on the same beach to save a little money. Some reviewers say this hotel is more "Chinese" but I did not get that impression. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Our room was upgraded and they gave us a complimentary drink in the cafe before our room was ready. We melted at the sight of the sea after sliding into the big comfy chairs in the hotel cafe. The rest of the stay was on par. The Thai restaurant is the best of the three available restaurants.
Reviewed August 31, 2012
7.7
Very good
LAI from Macau
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Good customer service”
Good location
Good location, it's a relaxing place with nice sea view.
Reviewed August 20, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Shengya from China
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Beautiful Hotel”
good location, nice service
Good location, nice service and reasonable room rate compared with other five star hotels on the Yalong Bay.
Reviewed July 19, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Tran from France
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Will definitely come back!!”
Excellent staff, excellent food, quiet and clean beach
I have travelled in Thailand and Malaysia best beaches so when I booked that resort, I was very skeptical about everything. I booked it for the Balinese style. What a pleasant surprise to see that Hainan can offer such a great place: clean and spacious room, friendly staff, excellent service , nice garden with lots of trees, excellent Thai food, excellent Chinese-style steamed fish, perfect clean beach with turquoise water, comfortable beach chairs, nobody to bother us. We must have gone during the lowest season as there was no crowd, almost nobody on the beach.. that really helped to enjoy our stay. There are 2 main swimming-pools: the long one had lots of leaves as it is surrounded by trees and did not look attractive. But once inside, it was actually nice. We speak Chinese so we faced no issues. We came only for a w-e and did not do sightseeing, 3 nights were enough.
Reviewed June 06, 2012
5.3
Mira from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 6 nights in April 2012
Good hotel, lacking customer service”
In-house restaurants, private beach, swimming pool with slide
Reception: Considering out night/ late arrival in Sanya, the receptionist took a while to get us our room key and take credit from our card (hotel policy as guarantee). Night before we were due to leave we were told to settle our bill which we were surprised about. As regular travellers, we have never been asked to settle the hotel bill night before out check out date! Room: Lakeview room but no lake seen but view was mountainous. Restaurant: Breakfast had a good selection of western and local chinese food. Very good in-house restaurants (Thai, Korean, BBQ grill with a fantastic live band). Amenities: Swimming pool depth was good for our 6-year old and also liked the slide. Pool maintenance was scarce compared to western hotels wherein they cleaned the pool regularly and staff member always visible to assist the guests. Once we asked the pool staff for towels and we were told to get it ourselves!?!?!? We got our towels only after complaining to the reception about this. Very poor customer service indeed.
Reviewed May 15, 2012
7.7
Very good
Elaine from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Unreal view but definitely not relaxing”
the location & view
The Coca Cola rock concert was on the weekend of our stay. It was not on the website that this big event was on. We would not have gone there if we knew. It was incredibly noisy & all the hotel offerred was free coke!!! Coke also took over the whole beach with activites. The hotel was expensive!!
Reviewed May 10, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Deniz from Italy
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
good thai restaurant, nice, new and clean room, pleasant and quiet environment, friendly, corteous and proactive staff
We had a pleasant and relaxing stay, and the hotel properly matched description and expectations. Staff more corteous than average and trying harder upon our requests, good food quality and quantity, relaxing lobby bar and well kept garden. The thai restaurant offers quite good food. General housekeeping and cleaniness standards good,no insects, gardens tidy and well kept; environment elegant and quiet although not glamorous as some neighbouring hotels. The swimming pool was ok but not particularly attractive and we did not try it. Definitely worth a stay.
Reviewed April 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Ling from China
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
kind service with beautiful sightseeing”
beautiful beach, a large swiming pool, wonderful experience
I love staying in Mangroove Tree Resort. the room is comfortable, the serviceman is warm hearted and kind. There are only several steps to the private beach. Not many crowded. Though there is some waste when swimming, the whole situation is not bad. My child like swimming very much. She likes the swimming pool. Walking to Hainan No.5, you can enjoy the traditional food in Hannan.
Reviewed April 10, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Marissa from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Great hotel”
Private beach, great amenities
The service was lacking a bit. The front desk took a long time to check us in and put us into smoking rooms. We are non smokers.
Reviewed October 28, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Jason from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011
Great Location and good service”
Location, comfortable rooms, free upgrade
The Yalong Bay Mangrove Tree Resort is a great hotel and I would highly recommend it. I booked a standard garden view room, but was given a free upgrade upon check-in. The sea view suite was an excellent room for two adults and two small kids. The bathrooms were especially clean and the view was lovely. My only complaints are that the beds were too hard and the breakfast was average. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel especially if you're traveling with kids.
Reviewed September 11, 2011
8.0
Excellent
mathias from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in February 2011
nice hotel, beautiful beach”
nice clean room, different kind of food at the breakfast: both chinese and international
Hotel to recommend. Beautiful beach, clean. Calm water, sutable for swimming. Breakfast is good, there was different kind of food. Wifi at the room and at the lobby free of charge.
Reviewed July 03, 2011
7.7
Very good
Mingyu from China
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
a hotel with nice view and beach ”
good location; nice food; blue sea; very convenient
the hotle is in the central place of Yalong Bay; and do not need to go to other place; just lay down on the bed along the sea side; the kid played sands; very enjoyful; one disatisfied thing is that, we book the garden view at the beginning;only a small grass land; and close to the road; just under construction; very noisy in the day time; we changed to the sea view room; and be good to stay there then.
Reviewed June 18, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
luca from Italy
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011
great”
price, garden, pools, beach, rooms, spa
excellent, better than my expectations...we have been upgraded to seaview, the rooms was perfect the garden and the pools are wonderful, private beach, excellent breakfast...simply go there!
Reviewed June 09, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Yann from France
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011
Excellent hotel right on a private beach!”
Clean, accessibility to the beach, service...
it was the first time that we were staying in yalong bay mangrove tree resort, and we were not disappointed a minute. we have been upgraded upon arrival, the room was on the 1/f facing the swimming pool with a little terrace. the breakfast buffet was simple but good. what we enjoyed the most was the proximity to the beach. very very nice. the service was lovely, we asked for a late check out and got 2pm, not that late but better than 12pm :-) i would certainly recommend and return to the hotel.
Reviewed May 18, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Alexander from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 7 nights in May 2011
Classy beach hotel with very convinient location”
good location at tranquil part Yalong beach, friendly staff, good breakfast
Spacious beach with a lot of beds - really rare for beach hotel. Nice rooms with normal size and all views - sea or mountaints - are really beatiful. Additional shower at terrace is a funny extra thing. Breakfast is vast and delicious with both Asian and European varieties. Swimming pools are a bit shallow (not always a plus). Spa prices would be a bit lower. Overall - comfortable 4-5 starts hotel, one of the best in Yalong beach
Reviewed May 15, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Toorabally from Japan
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
Great Locaton, lovely staff”
on the beach
we were upgraded to elegance room facing the sea upon arrival which was a pleasant surprise. the view of the sea from the lobby is great. it was also very nice from our room. the room is very nice and clean and the pool had a water slide which the kids enjoyed. we also enjoyed riding on segway 2-wheeler at the beach. dinner at the thai restaurant with a very nice thai atmosphere was delicious.
Reviewed May 08, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Hilary from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in April 2011
Ocean Sonic Resort - large hotel and great rooms.”
Very large swimming pool and good facilities
unfortunately the chinese government took over the hotel just before we were due to arrive - only happen in china! agoda found us a vacancy in sanya bay, the ocean sonic resort h otel. very large, grand and with a fantastic swimming pool. would recommend as a alternative if the mangrove tree was not available.
Reviewed May 06, 2011
6.3
Good
LAURA from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Great hotel, with nice rooms but poor service”
Great location, nice room, beautiful beach, quiet
Great location with convenient access to the beach. Nice room; clean and confortable. Poor quality of service, frontdesk or in restaurants.
Reviewed May 06, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Yiming from China
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011
Good 5 Star Resort”
Great location, nice beach
We booked for 4-nights. We missed our flight due to traffic and was only able to arrive one day later. Since it was a long weekend, the hotel was full. In the end the hotel upgraded us to a sea-view suite and it was really nice.
Reviewed May 03, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Charles from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011
Great hotel, great beach, great people”
Layout of hotel with pool to the side and beach directly behind hotel created perfect atmosphere
the hotel is not as glitzy as high end western hotels and that was its main advantage. it was a warm and relaxed stay. there were a minimum number of westerners and very little english spoken by staff and this all contributed to a wonderful stay. we enjoyed the lobby bar, excellent breakfasts and the thai restaurant which was so good, we ate there twice. korean restaurant was also very good. seafood restaurant didn't impress us. rooms were very comfortable. the balcony and outside shower were an important part of our enjoyment. my wife and i would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.
Reviewed May 02, 2011
4.7
Rupert from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in April 2011
Well below expectations”
Extensive breakfast
We where so looking forward to our honeymoon in Sanya and at the hotel. Unfortunately for the hotel and this reviewer they where preparing for a large event. This meant all the gardens where covered in high power cables, there where security and workmen everywhere. Making a lot of noise and shutting off the gardens completely. I imagine the hotel gardens would be lovely without this, shame we couldn't use them, also the beach had a large section shut off due to the same event. No mention of this was ever made when we booked. As for the hotel itself, we found the room we where given was dark and gloomy but did have all amenities that you would expect. I was shocked that a Five Star hotel felt the need to add on a 15% service charge for all food and drink purchased. When I book into a top hotel i expect that I had paid for service already!! I stay in many top hotels around the world and this to me fell well below the Five star standard on service. this was summed up when we where leaving, i asked the concierge to get me a local taxi. He offered me a hotel car at 600 rmb instead. I declined and he just shrugged his shoulders when I said I just wanted a local taxi which cost 78 rmb for the trip to the airport. We left the hotel grounds pulling our own luggage and caught a taxi which was waiting on the roadside. Not what any guest should have to do when leaving a top resort! Not a great advert for the mangrove tree I'm afraid.
Reviewed April 14, 2011
6.7
Good
Mike from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
great location but room is small.”
internet access at the lobby
The room is small and very expensive.
Reviewed April 11, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Ching from China
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011
Lovely hotel with service”
Beautiful beach, good Thai restaurant
Great place to stay with good service. Some of the staffs were quite good at english. Nice restaurants. Good location. It's just next to the Crowne plaza. We could go there for shopping and drinking.
Reviewed April 06, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Chen from China
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in March 2011
Unforgetable experience staying in mangrove!”
Great seaview, friendly staff, comfortable room and delicious breakfast
we've been staying at mangrove for five nights and it's really great experience. we've been free updated to delux seaview suite. the room is comfortable and internet acess is totally free. the swimming pool is nice and it has been heated in the afternoon for guest's convenience to swim in cold weather. we will definitely choose mangrove again next time.
Reviewed April 02, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Franco
Couple
Deluxe Sea View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011
Excelent hotel, Nic eposition”
Hotel structure, position
a great pleace where to be. nearby the beach, a complete structure. excellent panorama, great service.
Reviewed March 21, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Isaac from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in February 2011
Better than Expected”
nice grounds, beautiful beach, friendly staff, tasty Thai Restaurant
We had a very relaxing stay at Mangrove Tree. We were impressed with the grounds; enjoyed the wood construction, it was green everywhere we looked. The beach was clean, quiet, and very relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. During our stay, we walked around nearby resorts and we would choose Mangrove Tree again! The food at the Thai Restaurant was great.
Reviewed March 02, 2011
8.3
Excellent
peter from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2011
Great location but dining at hotel very expensive”
Swimming pools and beach
beach and pools were fantastic. Dining in house was very expensive and quite frankly not worth the money. Rooms were clean. If English is your first language and you don't know any Chinese you may have problems communicationg.
Reviewed February 27, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
DANSONG from China
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in February 2011
very nice experience”
nice private beach, nice room and service
the private beach is really nice, the sand is very soft and much better as if you go further to Horizon Resort, you will find out the sand is pretty rough. Nice and comfortable room, although facilities and equipment is getting a little bit old, just a little bit. Best Chinese brand hotel in tat area.
Reviewed February 25, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
liu from China
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011
Service first class charming hotel bed impress. ”
impress.
it's amazing.amazing beach amazing room.it's the best resort i have lived..i love the place.turst me if u don't go to the resort in ur vacation i bet u will have a gret time..and just enjoy that.
Reviewed February 18, 2011
6.7
Good
guy from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in January 2011
Good hotel not more”
Liked the beach
this hotel is a 5 stars local hotel, service is good,
Reviewed February 04, 2011
7.7
Very good
Ying from China
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2011
good price from Agoda for ocean view”
private beach, cool lobby w bar, heated pool, thai restaurant onsite and nice ocean view
a little bit upset about the side building blocking the ocean view.
Reviewed January 31, 2011
7.3
Very good
Anna from Germany
Group
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
Beautiful resort with private beach”
Large room, shower on balcony, great breakfast buffet, water slide, private beach
Reception staff not well-trained, don't speak much English and almost destroyed my credit card by putting it in wrong machine, had to be rescued with tweezers!, also annoying - lots of cigarette stubs in sand below sunbeds and nicest seats in Thai restaurant only for smokers, ice in cocktails not kosher, don't trust the head concierge - he may rip you off by not calling official taxi but by getting one of his friends to drive you to restaurant etc, at much higher cost, insist on licensed taxit
Will visit again, location, beach and sea all great but some staff incompetent
Reviewed January 03, 2011