Book Now: Yangshuo Huanggong Garden Hotel

Excellent
From 43 reviewsSee what guests said
8.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (43)Booking.com Reviews (71)
8.8
Excellent
From 43 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.5
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service9.5
Value for money9.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Español
Français
more
Room type
Standard
Family Room
Standard Room with Balcony
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 43 verified guest comments
6.7
Good
Clare from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
very cute ”
views, clean staff great
Brilliant views with such a quiet location great for nature walk
Reviewed May 29, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
etienne from Netherlands
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
A beautiful quiet location with extremely helpful ”
Quiet location, lovely scenery, clean and very helpful
We stayed here for 3 nights during the first week of May 2013 but I easily could have spent more time here. This was one of the nicest and friendliest hotels we stayed in while we were in China. The hotel itself is a few kilometers outside Yanshuo in the beautiful countryside. It is a really quiet location but it is not too difficult to get to Yangshuo because it is about 30 Y by taxi or 20 minutes by bicycle. The hotel can organize both for you. It is worth to go for a room with a balcony because the views are absolutely fantastic and it is nice to sit there. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable with very fast free wifi. The bed was very comfortable as well. The shower is hot and the breakfast they serve in the garden downstairs is worth the extra bit of money. The hotel is run by Garry and his wife Sophie. They both speak English and they both work as guides as well so they have good knowledge about the area and can advice you about where to go and what to do. They are EXTREMELY HELPFUL people and try everything to please you. We certainly would stay here again if we came back to this part of China which is actually quite likely. Restaurant tip: The restaurant on the corner of the main road does excellent cheap lunches and dinners so you don’t have to go to town for your meals. There are some little shops nearby as well.
Reviewed May 23, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Karin from Sweden
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
Friendly and peaceful place”
Amazing view, friendly staff, quiet location
The owners are so friendly, they really try to help you the whole time. They also speak good English. It is a peaceful place a bit away from the noisy Yangshuo center. From the balcony we have a amazing view. I really feel I was living on farmland area. Nice with the sounds of frogs. The room is not opulent but OK with a good bed. Near the hotel there is a nice local restaurant.
Reviewed May 08, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
No better hotel in Yangshuo. Family friendly.”
Family freindly, excellent view, and amazing rooms.
It couldn't have been better. I had such a great stay with such great customer service. I'd love to go back soon.
Reviewed May 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Corinne from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Fantastic location and staff”
Beautiful view, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere
Gary and Sophie were excellent hosts. They were very helpful in making my stay in Yangshuo enjoyable. The area is beautiful and quite scenic. The hotel is located just outside of the city in a quiet and comfortable setting. I rented a bike from the hotel and explored the countryside and city with ease.
Reviewed May 04, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Mathieu from France
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Amazing staff and perfect location”
Staff, location, cleanliness
We stayed 3 nights at Huanggong Hotel and we were really happy of our choice. First of all, the kindness of Sophia and Gary really pleased us a lot. They are always doing their best to make you enjoy your experience in Yangshuo by sharing good advice or just talk in a very friendly manner! They are lovely! Then we were happy with the great location of the hotel: only 10 min away from the center of Yangshuo by bike (can be rented directly at the hotel for nothing) + the amazing scenery surrounding the hotel make the Hanggong Hotel the best choice for those looking for a quiet stay in Yangshuo! Advice: book a room with a balcony the view is breathtaking!!
Reviewed April 21, 2013
4.0
Sune from Denmark
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Not comparable to other hotels in Area”
Location, family rooms
Plus: ==== * Amazing view from most rooms. * Family room is split in two separate parts and is fitted with 4 good beds, 2 bathrooms and a big balcony * Friendly owners who speaks good english * On-site bicycles good for families with children age 5 and above * Aircon / heating is working fine * Nice wooden floors, wooden beds. * Good location a bit away from noisy roads etc. Continue down the main road to Yulong Scenic area. Minus ===== * Room doors to the balcony are not properly fitted * the bathroom vent had a big hole to the outside next to it letting many mosqitoes in * absolutely no decoration of the room. * Only 2 side-tables for 4 beds. Especially annoying in at "master bedroom" bed. * No chairs or desk chairs or desk, no TV, no telephone. Nothing except for a much-needed mosqito repellant device. * No baby cots available for families with small children * No bicycles with childrens chairs (but they managed to source some from the nearby "Outside Inn" and from "Tea Cozy" who both have excellent plastic seats for small children). * Internet cable is hanging dangling from the wall not being connected anywhere (but luckily there is WiFi). * Knob for shower missing in one room, although hotel is less than 12 months old?! * On balcony there is an outdoor "closet" for hanging clothes, but bamboo roof above balcony is not tight so when it is raining it gets wet. * The hotel reception area is empty, seating for breakfast is mostly outside on poach, which gets wet due to same issues as mentioned above. * No real room amenities (statement on Agoda.com is totally wrong) * Room cleaning very basic. They had forgotten to close window when we came = we spent hours chasing mosqitos. At our friends they forgot to lock door after cleaning. * No cafe, no restaurant, no place to hang out at night * Garden not there yet - there was a strip of green grass, but most was mud or a poor parking spot. * No
Reviewed April 16, 2013
4.0
Sune from Denmark
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
New, not-quite-ready hotel”
Location, View.
As mentioned by others this is more like a non-cosy homestay than a hotel. Plus: ==== * Amazing view from most rooms. * Family room is split in two separate parts and is fitted with 4 good beds, 2 bathrooms and a big balcony * Friendly owners who speaks good english * On-site bicycles good for families with children age 5 and above * Aircon / heating is working fine * Nice wooden floors, wooden beds. * Good location a bit away from noisy roads etc. Continue down the main road to Yulong Scenic area. Minus ===== * Room doors to the balcony are not properly fitted * the bathroom vent had a big hole to the outside next to it letting many mosqitoes in * absolutely no decoration of the room. * Only 2 side-tables for 4 beds. Especially annoying in at "master bedroom" bed. * No chairs or desk chairs or desk, no TV, no telephone. Nothing except for a much-needed mosqito repellant device. * No baby cots available for families with small children * No bicycles with childrens chairs (but they managed to source some from the nearby. * Internet cable is hanging dangling from the wall not being connected anywhere (but luckily there is WiFi). * Knob for shower missing in one room, although hotel is less than 12 months old?! * On balcony there is an outdoor "closet" for hanging clothes, but bamboo roof above balcony is not tight so when it is raining it gets wet. * The hotel reception area is empty, seating for breakfast is mostly outside on poach, which gets wet due to same issues as mentioned above. * No real room amenities * Room cleaning very basic. They had forgotten to close window when we came = we spent hours chasing mosqitos. At our friends they forgot to lock door after cleaning. * No cafe, no restaurant, no place to hang out at night * Garden not there yet - there was a strip of green grass, but most was mud or a poor parking spot. * No
Reviewed April 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
rachel from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Lovely family run hotel”
Beautiful views, friendly staff, great room with balcony
Excellent stay and even ended up extending our visit as we enjoyed staying here so much. The room was fantastic with a balcony overlooking fields and mountains. Really big room with a massive bathroom and comfortable bed. The owners were so lovely and we felt extremely welcomed. Loved waking to the sound of frogs and wildlife too. Great location as it is a couple of km outside of busy yangshou so easy to cycle there for dinner but away from the mayhem. The hotel is also on a great road so near to villages and other fun places to explore. You can also hire bikes here to help you get around. Loved it here and favourite stay in China so far.
Reviewed April 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Yi from China
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Great stay, just what we needed”
Countryside location, super friendly staff, nice spots within biking distance
The staff and the owner of the hotel are the most friendly people I have ever come across with. They are very knowledgeable about Yangshuo area as well which We certainly benefited from. We had a superb stay and will definitely go back again. If you are looking for a quiet and nice place to stay in Yangshuo, don't look further.
Reviewed April 09, 2013
6.7
Good
Joerg from Germany
Couple
Standard
Stayed 7 nights in March 2013
beautiful quiet if remote base for exploring surro”
quiet, friednly staff, beautiful setting
pick up to/from airpotr, helpful staff, bike rental, quiet locaton,
Reviewed April 09, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Dorian from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Excellent value for money. Super staffs.”
Location, friendly staff, peace and quiet surrsounding
Reviewed April 08, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
macarena from Chile
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Love it! ”
I'ts right in the countryside, quiet, privacy and homestay feeling at the same time!
We absolutely loved the stay. Even we stayed just a couple of nights, I think it was one of the highlights of our travel around Asia. The house and the view is amazing, the room very comfortable and pretty, and the owners... could'nt ask for more. Gary, Sophia and even their three little girls were always with a smile trying to help us in everything! we shared some tea, they took great care of us, and more than a hotel it feels like a homestay! , but at the same time we had great privacy and any noise at all, so we slept perfect and we just regret not staying longer. We definetely will come back and we recommend it to everyone and specially to families!
Reviewed March 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Best bang for your buck! Excellent service!”
The showers are awesome! The rooms are great! Fresh! The view is incredible and the price is unbeatable.
we stayed here for about a week. the family is so friendly and the place is so new and fresh. i love the new sheets and the shower. it's a little out of town but if you rent a scooter then it's perfect. the view and its quiet out there. i've recommended for my family to stay here and i'll definitely be coming back here. it's nice to get out of the busy center of yangshou. definitely give it try. take the balcony view.
Reviewed February 14, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Adrian from Spain
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Acogedora y agradable”
La amabilidad de los dueños, facilidades ofecidas por el hotel y paisaje
Nuestra estancia fue muy agradable gracias a la amabilidad tanto de Gary como Sophie, que estuvieron atentos en todo momento a nuestras necesidades. Alejado del ajetreo del centro de Yangshuo, nos permitió disfrutar de la tranquilidad del entorno. Muy recomendable si se quieren hacer rutas en bici por la zona, las propias bicis son facilitadas en el hotel.
Reviewed July 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jean from France
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
tres bien”
accueil famillial, petit dejeuner continental excellent avec des fruits locaux. Vue et localisation excellente al'ecart du centre, mais rapidement accessible.
Reviewed July 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Soenke from Germany
Family with teens
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013
Gastfreundliches Hotel in schöner Lage”
Tolle Kommunikation und große Hilfsbereitschaft der Eigentümer, ruhige Lage mit schönem Blick,
Reviewed June 17, 2013
4.7
Seul from South Korea
Family with young children
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
정말 저렴하기만한 곳”
저렴 친절함
늦게 도착해서 정말 저렴한 곳을 찾았는데 너무 밤중에 산속에 있는 곳이라 찾기너무어려웠습니다. 걷보기엔 그냥 가정집이고.... 주인들이 친절은 하나 간판하나없고.... 큰 바퀴가 막돌아다니며 발코니라 하여 전망을 기대했건만 옥상나부랭이가 다고 .. 전망하나는 좋지만 오래머물를 곳은 아니라 아침일찍 나왔습니다. 정말 저렴만합디다.
Reviewed September 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
HUAKAI from China
Couple
Standard Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
充满人情味的,像回家的走亲戚的感觉”
服务,用品清洁、环境配套
适合喜欢安静的朋友,有车一族是最好。充满人情味的,像回家的走亲戚的感觉。有空会再次到这里住宿享受好不同喻城市环境的另一种感觉。
Reviewed May 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
yuelin from China
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
环境舒适,风景优美,服务真诚,宾至如归”
首先当然是这个酒店独特的地理位置了,位于十里画廊景区之内,站在阳台往外望去,秀丽的山峰近在咫尺,有一种悠然见山的感觉;其次,老板是一家子在经营这个酒店,人很nice,而且很为我们打算,朴实,还给了我们不少的旅行建议,避免我们多花冤枉钱呢;最后,各个房间的环境都很卫生,舒适。
Reviewed May 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
qin from China
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
服务一流的迷人酒店”
风景优美,安静,环境是全新的。
来到风景如画的阳朔,来到寂静幽美的酒店,一天的游玩累了之后,来到这样的酒店休息是享受,酒店的环境是全新的,一应俱全。清晨的空气更是清馨。老板人也很好,介绍我去哪里玩,有哪里美食,还可以在酒店里自己做美食,厨房的用品也是齐全的,中西餐具,只要你愿意,自己动手丰衣足食。嘻嘻。
Reviewed February 15, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
qin from China
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
服务一流的迷人酒店”
环境优美
风景美,环境美,,,
Reviewed February 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
POCHUN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
老闆人很好,幫了很多忙,風景佳,但這邊地點較偏遠,需要騎腳踏車或出租車,晚上回來最好要有手電筒。”
風景美,價格便宜。
Reviewed June 26, 2014