Book Now: Yangshuo Magnolia Hotel

Excellent
From 220 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (220)Booking.com Reviews (64)
8.2
Excellent
From 220 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities6.1
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.3
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
Français
more
Room type
Standard Twin
Deluxe Double
Family Suite
Imperial Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 213 verified guest comments
7.3
Very good
Per from Norway
Couple
Imperial Suite
Stayed 5 nights in June 2014
A perfekt stay except that there was no warm water”
Central location, Nice rooms and very friendly staff.
We stayed there under the rain period. The staff were very friendly, could speak english well, was helpful with everything.
Reviewed July 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Daryl from United States
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Beautiful mountains and hiking”
Location, staff and resturant
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to families with older children.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jeff from United States
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Good value, Great location”
Best quality hotel in the immediate west street area of Yangshou
I was traveling with my two teenage mandarin-speaking children to see the Li and Yulong River areas. We found the hotel to be in a great location, right in the center of the shopping/dining/nightlife pedestrian mall. Be advised - they give you earplugs to help sleep at night since the music is playing until 1am. We did not find it to be a problem. The vegetarian restaurant was actually fantastic - we are not vegetarians but we found it interesting and tasty. The hotel is well-decorated, pleasant to be inside for a small mainland hotel. Very clean by Chinese standards.
Reviewed April 09, 2014
7.3
Very good
Peter from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Clean, good location ”
Large room, clean, location
Right in the Center of yangshou. Just 5 min walk from the pier. You can walk everywhere in this little town. Room was nice. Although it can get a bit noisy from the bars around there. But i had a room to the back so it was ok. Only the cars can be annoying in the morning. Nice staff and friendly. i Would stay here again.
Reviewed November 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Edward from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
A nice beautiful hotel in the center of the city”
location, service, language skill
The hotel located just around the corner from the famous West Street, entertainment district, yet very quite, and the hotel restaurant serve up wonderful vegetarian food.
Reviewed November 14, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Clem from United States
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
A great hotel in a perfect location.”
Location, staff, quality of room.
A great place and good value. The rooms were clean and bright. Won't disappoint.
Reviewed October 10, 2013
6.7
Good
Lieve from Belgium
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
The street noise is immense.”
It is a excellent hotel if you do not mind heavy noise until 2 or 3 AM
Admittedly we were there in the Golden Week. Karaokes (plural) went on until the early morning in several bars around the hotel. Luckily we are good sleepers, if if you are not, this can be a huge problem.
Reviewed October 07, 2013
7.7
Very good
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Great location, uncomfortable beds.”
Location, helpful staff and service.
Hotel is centrally located in Yangshuo close to the restaurants, bars, markets and river. The downside to this is the noise, nut the hotel thoughtfully provided ear plugs which fixed the problem. Otherwise, expect traffic noise, shouting, general door banging and construction noise until about 1am and starting again at about 7am. Other hotels in the area are probably just the same though. Service was very good - fast checkin and checkout. I emailed hotel after booking through Agoda to confirm and arrange airport pickup and they responded almost straight away. Reliable, friendly and efficient. The biggest criticism was the comfort of the beds. They were hard (which is fine) but you could feel every spring sticking into you which was very uncomfortable. Luckily our room had two beds so we were able to use the duvet from the spare bed as extra padding. The hotel REALLY needs to change the beds though! Our rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Nice hot shower and decent toiletries provided. I would recommend the hotel for the location and service, but you will need the earplugs and be prepared for uncomfortable beds (although maybe other hotels in the area are just the same?)
Reviewed October 02, 2013
7.7
Very good
ruodan from France
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
nice hotel!! clean and chinese traditional style!!”
design, big room and cleaness
Reviewed October 01, 2013
7.3
Very good
Gil from Israel
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
pleseant”
Close to ferry stop, convineint, clean
good,
Reviewed September 22, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Joon from Australia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Clean and speaking staff, ”
clean room, kind staff and close to everything
Good for western tourist. close to all to see the Yangshuo.
Reviewed August 27, 2013
6.7
Good
Thierry from Belgium
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Yangshuo is a really beautiful place”
Clean, well located
Really nicely located in the center of Yangshuo. A little noisy due to the bars nearby. Though they have no breakfast at the Hotel, you have many options in the small restaurant / cafes next to the hotel. The Travel agency in front of Magnolia was helpful too.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Jacques from France
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Very nice hotel, convenient for Yangshuo”
location, decoration, attention to details
Nice staff for this hotel in a very good location to start your exploration of the Yangshuo areas. Lots of restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean with good amenities.
Reviewed July 31, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Clean, comfortable and central”
The room was spacious and clean and in the heart of Yangshou. The bed was also extremely comfy for China.
The Magnolia is a great place to stay if you would like to be centrally located in Yanghsuo. It really is a stone's throw from West street. My room was large, clean and comfortable. For a Chinese hotel, the bed was very comfortable and very soft by Chinese standards. The staff was exceptionally friendly, spoke English and went out of their way to make sure I had information about the hotel and Yangshuo. I also enjoyed the food the hotel had to offer. There is a coffee bar area in the lobby which has great fresh juice and desserts. I highly recommend the carrot cake and the mango orange juice. Both superb! I also ate at the Pure Lotus Vegetarian restaurant, also on site, and the food was delicious. The potatoes stir-fried in vinegar were extremely tasty. The only drawback is that the hotel is a little loud. During the day, there were a lot of people checking in and as all of the rooms face an internal court yard, I could hear more than one shrieking child. There was also a good bit of noise from outside during the day. However, the hotel does provide ear plugs, and the noise at night was markedly less than during the day. This is definitely a wonderful, well priced hotel for central Yangshuo.
Reviewed July 31, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Gil from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Nice botique hotel in the center of Yangshou”
Design, location, service
This was a really nice boutique hotel in the center of Yangshou. Easy access to the center of town. Was upgraded to the imperial suite for free and its design was beautiful. They should improve though on the Ac - the unit was too small to cool the entire room, and on the Wifi which is way too slow.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Jessica from Canada
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Pleasent stay with nicely decorated rooms”
Tasteful design, great location and helpful stafff
Everything was very satisfactory of this hotel. The only negative is the loud music from West street that can be heard late into the night. But they do provide ear plugs!
Reviewed July 02, 2013
7.3
Very good
Harvey from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Great Location”
Centrally located in the West Street area. Clean room but quite noisy
Reviewed July 01, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Carrie from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Best trip ever!”
comfortable bed, location, charm
Great place to stay with Chinese charm.
Reviewed June 15, 2013
4.0
Gilles from France
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Central location but extremely noisy”
Location, design
The Magnolia hotel is well designed and most centrally located. But the noise level at night is unbearable as it is located close to a street with bars that play incredibly loud music. Dont expect to sleep any time before 1am
Reviewed May 20, 2013
6.3
Good
Sai from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
overall is good. but need to improve in the aircon”
great restaurant nearby, clean room and large
Reviewed April 26, 2013
7.7
Very good
Lip from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
A comfortable with nice chinese furnished room”
Friendly staff and comfortable room
Good hotel with nice chinese decorations and clean room. Their staff are friendly and helpful. I truly enjoyed my stays in this hotel and will definitely come back again in the future.
Reviewed April 24, 2013
7.0
Very good
VIEN from Australia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Central hotel but noisy”
Centrally located but noisy
Good central hotel but Yangshuo is very noisy and crowded. The hotel even supplied earplugs.
Reviewed April 14, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
TAN from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
superd experience”
very nice internal decoration, spacious room, helpful staff, located very near west street
Reviewed April 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Chee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Conveniently located to explore the city”
Location, dining next door and good value for money
Reviewed April 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Chuan from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Great we enjoyed the stay in Magnolia.”
Clean, friendly staff, good location
Three of us booked 3 rooms, the rooms was large and clean and the staff were friendly. Beside the hotel is the West Street pedestrian shopping area, you can find fine food and attractive souvenirs. We rent bicycles for a day trip, with a bicycle guide for RMB50 per day.
Reviewed March 20, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Marnie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Quaint hotel, friendly staff”
Balcony to watch the world go by
Budget hotel with old style furniture. Helpful staff and excellent location. Balcony was a lovely feature to be enjoyed in warmer weather. Rooms not always warm but we found all places in Yangshuo to be cold during our winter stay. Rooms had heating but took a long time to heat up the room.
Reviewed January 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
MEDHAT from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Lovely little Gem in Yangshuo”
Friendly staff, offers the basic neccessities
Very near from the western street, quiet most of the day, but noisy at night from nearby Bars and night clubs ( all Yangshuo touristic area is the same), they supply ear plugs if you like. WiFi and basic needs. Limited English TV channels. There's no breakfast onsite; but you buy vouchers (RMB 25/person) for breafast in a nearby cafe (Eggs, bacon, yougurt, tea/coffee and toast+ juice. rooms were very cold, heaters were small for the rooms at this time of the year. they at last agreed to give extra small portable heater; temperature therafter were just enough.
Reviewed December 16, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Wai from Hong Kong
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Convenient location but noisy at night”
Easy walking distance to shopping streets and Friendly reception staff
A wonderful boutique hotel, right around the corner from all the hustle and bustle of West Street. It was an easy walk to restaurants and bars, and views over the river. The room is spacious, clean and nicely decorated; the bed is soft and comfortable! However, It was noisy with all the traffic and people on the streets below. With all windows closed, the noises were very loud at night. And this is the reason why disposable ear plugs are available in room!
Reviewed December 03, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Bob from United States
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Located one block off West Street”
Nice decor and vibe
Nice boutique hotel with pleasing decor, ambiance, etc. A bit noisy at night (inside and outside)...ear plugs provided by hotel. Very helpful front desk staff. One block from the river. Within easy walking distance to bus station.
Reviewed November 11, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Phillipa from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Central hotel, very friendly staff”
Walking distance to everything, helpful English speaking staff, rooms modern and well equipped
magnolia is central to everything in yangshuo, however very close to west street, so it can be loud at night time from all the bars along west street (they nicely give you earplugs). i would suggest to ask for a room facing the other direction, which we did and it was fine. jasmine and the staff there are very nice and helpful, suggesting activities and organising guides. the place was modern and clean and has two computers with internet for free downstairs. i am sure there would be places with better views, but this place was very good value for money and i would stay here again.
Reviewed November 09, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Pei from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Quiet location”
Beautiful Design
-Everything was just fine -the hotel location is near to 阳朔西街
Reviewed October 21, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
ROSARIO from Italy
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
lovely hotel”
great smart rooms
this boutique hotel surely deserves the apitome boutique because everything is well cared for, from the furniture, to the annexed vegetarian restaurant to the kind staff. maybe the rooms on the front can be a bit noisy because there is an trafficked road so expect people's and cars' noises fropm 8 a.m. it is very close to the Li river and downtown.
Reviewed October 21, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
alina from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
nice hotel in very good location”
location
we got upgraded to suite room by the hotel upon arrival. the suite is very big with 4 large bed. the bed is a little bit hard but the pillow was nice. the hotel was just at the end of touristy west street but with no noise from the busy street at all. very recommended for those who want to stay nearby the west street, and with quiet surrounding and the li river was just 50m walk from the hotel.
Reviewed October 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
ilai from Israel
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
the best hotel in china!”
great service, big rooms
the staff was really nice and helpul. the location was great. there is wifi and internet service.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Stuart from New Zealand
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Brilliant hotel in a perfect location”
Walking distance from the ferry, very clean and airconditioned
We had a lovely stay here, although just one night we were made very welcome. The room and bathroom were very clean and fresh smelling. Friendly smiles from all the staff as well as helpful information about the area. We will most definitely be coming back here!
Reviewed October 14, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Benjamin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Nicely renovated hotel”
Location
The hotel have a great Chinese themed flavor and its well renovated. The rooms are basic but nice enough to have a comfortable stay. The location is just by the side of all the main tourist bars and shopping area so its not extremely noisy at night.
Reviewed October 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
george from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Good hotel and good location”
easy walking distance to shopping streets but still far enough away from noise.
Check in was efficient. Staff was helpful. Room was ok for the price. Had to ask for help to turn on television and also get the air conditioner to the tempurature that I wanted since the remotes were in chinese. It was simple after I was shown how. I would probably stay there again. It is not a deluxe hotel but good enough for a few days for the price you are paying.
Reviewed October 03, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Eric from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great hotel with nice old Chinese style decoration”
Interior decoration very nice, staff made you feel at home, close to city center
From beginning to end we enjoyed our stay there. Staff, gave us a very warm welcome, with a nice drink, so felt at home immediately. The interior decoration, old traditional Chinese style but with a modern flavour. One minor, but nothing to do with the hotel, is the juice bar, which you can access from the hotel. Owner first creates an almost " spiritual" healthy environment and breaks that by being rude and cheating on customers. The first day we arrived we tasted the mango, orange use, which tasted absolutely great, than one night, he ran out of mango apparently, and orange skin got blended in. In stead of telling that there was not enough mango, he just served it like that and upon making a remark he on top of it got angry and aggressive which ruined the whole mojo of his place for us.
Reviewed September 22, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Keng from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Great room and location”
Nice room and good location
i'm lucky to book this hotel. it is the best hotel that i stayed during my 1 week travel in guilin, yangshou and longsheng. the staffs are friendly. i booked a family room which have 2 rooms and a living hall. the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. the location is so good. it is located in the most busy street in yangshuo. at night, this place will turn into patong beach in phuket. the restaurant at the hotel serves great chinese foods. in front of the hotel, you can hire a bicycle for 1 day cycling tour around yangshuo. the only problem with this hotel is noise at night but don't worry the hotel will provide ear plug for it guess. overall for the price i paid i'm very satisfied.
Reviewed September 18, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Gavin from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Nice quiet clean bargain”
Free bananas and earplugs in room
The staff at the Magnolia were very professional. The room was clean and well-appointed. Yangshuo is a noisy little town, but the double-paned glass and the earplugs are all you need to get a good night's sleep.
Reviewed September 08, 2012
7.7
Very good
Yeaw from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Lovely hotel with good location”
Location is at the west street of the shopping area
the checkin service was good, with towel and a cup of tea. the hotel room was good with nice beds. however, the wifi signal was too weak to surf internet, and the connection speed was very slow. everything was satisfied except that we can hear the car horn during the night. the good thing is that they also provide ear plugs for the hotel guests.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
7.0
Very good
Gao from China
Group
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Quite comfort with great location”
location, not far away from West Street & not much noise. Very Chinese style, the lobby, vegetarain restaurant.
We couple went with another 5 different nations colleagues. 3 standard Twin rooms & one deluxe double room were booked. The deluxe double room is quite bigger than standard ones, worthy. But the deluxe one at the end of the building is closer to West Street. We felt the noise isolation need to be improved at the night. The other 3 rooms towards to another street were fine. Feel quite good about the service! We came back after 12pm on the last day for rock climbing (it's the MUST to do in Yangshuo) & took shower. Late check out was quite smooth without issue. Turn right coming out of the hotel then left, you'll see Yangshuo Connty government. the Chinese BBQ on that street is GREAT, especially the roast chicken. There's also a nice environment west restaurant there.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Cheang from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Comfortable rooms and well located”
Good location just a short walk from the Lijiang and close to all amenities. The decor is traditional and the rooms are of reasonable size, clean and comfortable.
the hotel blends very well with the traditional layout of yangshuo. being close to the jetty, you can almost check into the hotel after you disembark from your river cruise from guilin. its proximity to the busting xi jie (west street) is fantastic and yet one is never drowned by the noise of the teeming night life. the hotel staff speaks good english and are very helpful and accurate with their assistance.
Reviewed August 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Por from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
"Great place to stay, everything so accessible"”
Clean and spacious room with good service. Best place to stay if you like shopping nearby
Room was huge and comfortable. King size bed very cozy for a couple. Will go back to this hotel if i visit guilin the next time.
Reviewed August 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Richard from New Zealand
Couple
Imperial Suite
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Fantastic room and great balcony”
Large room, balcony, great restaurant downstairs.
The room was great. Really enjoyed being able to sit out on the balcony when it wasn't too hot. The only downside with the central location is the noise from the nearby bars late at night, but I didn't find this too bad.
Reviewed July 30, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
George from Canada
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great little Hotel, good location by the river.”
Friendly staff, close to market, river and restaurant. Walking distance from bus station.
We just loved our stay in this little place. Staff was very helpful, room was clean, modern and spacious.
Reviewed July 27, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great location and excellent staff”
Location, helpful staff,very good air conditioning, superb vegetarian restaurant next door, good laundry opposite
This hotel is perfectly situated for access to the river and the main streets. The air conditioning in the rooms and the main reception were a welcome relief in July and the whole place is very clean. The fresh fruit in the rooms is a lovely touch and the access to a coffee bar and the vegetarian restuarant from the hotel is very convenient. The staff wrote directions in Chinese so that we could use public transport, great fun and very cheap. There were ear plugs in the room which implies some people may find this place noisy, however we did not need them.
Reviewed July 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Great location in a city I could stay for weeks”
two beds, a/c, great location
we were a brother and sister travelling with other family members and this hotel was perfect for us - the bathroom was private and they put all our rooms next to each other. the only downside was the a/c turned off when you took the room key and they only had one at the time. ask for two when you're here and leave one in the room. you can't fool it with other cards like i have been able to in other hotel rooms. close to west street and other shopping. also a carnival up the street at the bottom of the mountain with the pagoda where they had bumper cars!
Reviewed July 23, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Transfixed by this city and this hotel”
in-room robes, patio, beautiful ambiance
we arrived in yangshuo via the li river cruise which was out of this world! it was so amazing - pictures don't do it justice. it reminded me a lot of thailand. to my surprise yangshuo was just as amazing! we walked up west street after leaving the boat - there is fabulous shopping there. i would recommend shopping it during the day (it turns into a night club at night and is crazy) much better during the day. the hotel was in a fabulous location and has a laundry service across the street - pay by weight and they will deliver to hotel when finished. yes, the hotel is close to west street and you can hear some noises and music but it definitely wasn't enough to keep us awake. the inside of the hotel is filled with such character and the whole city is just relaxed and the kind of place you could spend weeks just relaxing and living the carefree local life. staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and spoke great english! be sure to request 2 room keys to keep your a/c on.
Reviewed July 23, 2012
8.7
Excellent
NG
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
in town center, got night market
air cond no in good condition, no power to support the room.
Reviewed July 20, 2012