Book Now: Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat Reviews

Excellent
From 50 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (50)Booking.com Reviews (36)
8.5
Excellent
From 50 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities8.0
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service9.1
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Español
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Backyard Superior
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Family Suite with Balcony
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 44 verified guest comments
9.7
Exceptional
Clara from United States
Couple
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
terrific stay in peaceful, natural surroundings ”
the staff, the natural beauty, the rooms with balconies
the Phoneix Pagoda Founglou Retreat lived up to and exceeded all the positive reviews - we had a terrific time there and like many satisfied travelers, extended our stay by one night (and would've extended even longer had our schedules allowed for it!) By far the best thing about the retreat was the staff and the friendly atmosphere - you get the sense that they are there to take care of you and give you helpful and objective advice. After many experiences in hyper touristy places in China, it was a nice break to never feel like someone was telling you something for ulterior financial motives. From menu recommendations to hiking suggestions - the care of the staff was really satisfying. The retreat itself is about a half hour bike ride or 10 minute (40 rmb) taxi ride from downtown Yangshuo. This means guests should be ready for some quiet evenings or willing to shell out the cash for a return taxi. The rooms were adorably rustic and comfortable - on our last night we were switched to a family room (but they gave us the original, lower price) and both of our rooms had balconies that were absolutely beautiful places to read and write in the mornings and evenings. The food options are pretty standard - Chinese and Western fare - and having breakfast delivered to the room and eaten on the balcony was a serious treat. It was actually tough to decide where to eat because the balcony, the hotel's rooftop, and the dining hall/restaurant area were all appealing and charming. They were also very accommodating in packing lunches to go for hikes and bike rides. We were happy here on both rainy and sunny days - would highly recommend to anyone heading to the area.
Reviewed June 10, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Pavaspri from South Africa
Solo traveler
Backyard Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Stunning location and fantastic staff”
Location, staff, price
Rustic retreat with most amazing staff and manager/owner. Can't recommend more highly team staffs who were always easy with advice and a delight . Unfortunately, I had room on ground floor by reception/bar which got noisy in the afternoons and evenings. staff did his best to assist, but given no other rooms, I completely appreciated the effort he showed and time he took explaining the situation. The rooms do require some tidying and coat of paint, and def the bathroom walls. But despite all this, loved my stay. Close to the caves ( walking distance) and moon hill. Yangshou is 6 km away, so a bike ride (40-50 min if heading to west street) else 30 min cab to west street in Yangshou. If prefer to try local transport, easy to catch minibus to Yangshou. Further away, Xinping about 1,5 hours (minibus to Yangshou, for 3RMB,then bus to Xinping 7RMB). Highly recommend this. If you not sure how to spend your days, def ask staffs for tips. You won't go wrong. To get to this hotel, suggest booking transfer with staff. (Other option is bus to Yangshou, and then taxi else another bused minibus to fenglou, but will take you at least 2,5 hours, and not very easy). Enjoy! One of the most beautiful places I have visited.
Reviewed June 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Relaxing holiday, wonderful staff”
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, very friendly, fantastic scenery
Excellent - lots of locations and activities within reach, all arrangements made quickly and efficiently by the staff, room and meals were all excellent. Just a pity about the weather!
Reviewed May 02, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Nai from Singapore
Couple
Backyard Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou has natural sceneries. ”
1. Nature 2. Friendly English-speaking staff (Lily). 3. Easy access to public transport.
Stay at Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou was comfortable. We enjoyed the scenic and quiet surroundings. The hotel is accessible to public transport. The staff is helpful and friendly and the food was good.
Reviewed April 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Family Suite with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Relaxing. A very welcoming small hotel. ”
Staff helpfulness, location, room cleanliness
Reviewed April 05, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
David from Australia
Couple
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Excellent hotel, great location, friendly staff”
clean, excellent service, great location away from traffic noise
Simple attractive and comfortable room, great views of karsts from balcony, clean, well serviced away from the hustle and bustle of the main town and crowds. Only a small hotel, not 5 star but no need to be. Good food, friendly helpful staff who speak English well. Highly recommended for a quiet, relaxed stay.
Reviewed October 22, 2012
5.3
MUKAI from Japan
Couple
Backyard Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
formar house”
closed to some view point
service is good and they are friendly. there are no tv in the room and 10km from xi jie that is the down town in yangshou city. o it was difficlt to use by rental cycle to come back from the down town after sun down owing to no light on the way from it. bad point was that there were something bad smell, and the pillow is so high and tight, i cound not sleep very well.
Reviewed October 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Andrew from Australia
Family with young children
Backyard Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
A brilliant rural stay - love it!”
Small quiant with very friendly staff
This place was so perfect, small with only 10-rooms a lovely rural feel and stunningly beautiful views across the famous Mountains of Yanshou. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, food was good and service excellent. The rooms are a little small, but was not a problem for us.
Reviewed October 10, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
KIrstie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Backyard Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Lovely hotel gorgeous surroundings”
the location
dont stay in the town of yangshuo - if you can stay outside to get the best feel and experience of the area. Its very easy to get around. Bikes to hire everywhere. The hotel is clean, yummy food but tours are expensive, its easy to arrange stuff yourself
Reviewed October 07, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Edward from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Relaxing hotel with friendly, helpful staff”
Great location near to Moon Hill and the mud caves. Friendly, helpful English speaking staff.
Clean, decent rooms with nice views of the mountains. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Yangshuo so convenient but peaceful. Staff went out of there way to be helpful: arranged airport pickup, taxis and tours at short notice without any hassle. Great spot for a weekend break.
Reviewed September 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Bernardina from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Delightful hotel, beautiful rural location”
good sized rooms, comfy beds, great views, friendly helpful staff
loved my stay here and will most definitely come back. i'm from hong kong, so this area is nice and close for a weekend. hotel is a little way out of yangshuo, which after my visit to yangshuo is a good thing. i found yangshuo to be noisy and hectic. it's a 20 minute bike ride away. i loved how rural the place was, close to the river and a beautiful little village full of rural life. try the dumplings for dinner, yoghurt and fruit breakfasts. hotel is able to arrange transfers, transport, tours, or suggestions for walks, bike rides. i just enjoyed hanging out and chilling!
Reviewed August 12, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Jeremy from United States
Couple
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Wonderful Personalized Service”
Quiet, amazing view, very kind workers that all speak english
the rooms were quaint and very clean. the view from my room was absolutely amazing - karsts in every direction and a lovely garden. the staff was great - probably my favorite experience of the whole trip was interacting with them. the hotel is far away from the hustle and bustle of the city - a 30-40 minute bike ride. this is good because the city is very very loud but there's not much food around the area of the hotel. the kitchen has some decent items. the special fried rice was our favorite.
Reviewed May 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Steven from United Kingdom
Couple
Family Suite with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Amazing Hotel”
Location, View, Friendly and Helpful staff
We travelled throughout China for 4 weeks and of all the locations we stayed in this was the best. The 10 minute drive from Yangshuo town is not an inconvenience and would suggest the location, in conjunction with the views, makes this a far more preferable location to staying in the hustle bustle and associated noise of the town itself. The rooms are modern and clean and each provides a balcony with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. all the staff were incredibly helpful in arranging taxis, trips and tickets to the light show (which is a must see) and cannot say enough about how well they treated us. The food on the on site restaurant (on the rooftop) was excellent and reasonably priced. If you are planning to go to Yangshuo and explore the surrounding area you will not do any better than staying at this location ... a definite 5 out of 5.
Reviewed April 17, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
adrian from Argentina
Couple
Backyard Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Excelente elección ”
La atención del personal y la cocina son notables.
La atención del personal sobresale por sobre todo. Siempre dispuestos y resolutivos. Esta a 7-8 km de las ciudad pero es un detalle que con 40 yuanes y un taxi se resuelve.
Reviewed October 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Sonia from Spain
Couple
Backyard Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
prefecto!!”
inglés, sitio y limpieza
Reviewed August 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
David from France
Couple
Backyard Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Sympa”
Hotel a l'écart du brouhaha de Yangshuo et à deux pas des grottes diverses des lieux , loue des vélos pour mieux circuler selon les différents sites , tres bonne qualité de nourriture à prix raisonnable
Reviewed June 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Sau from Macau
Couple
Family Suite with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
悠閒”
重點是員工很好!
Reviewed August 21, 2016
8.3
Excellent
DeYung from Taiwan
Couple
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
環境很舒適”
環境舒適,安靜,人員素質佳
Reviewed April 10, 2013
8.3
Excellent
jaejun from South Korea
Family with young children
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
좋음”
위치, 가격, 친절
좋음
Reviewed August 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
jun from China
Family with teens
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 5 nights in July 2015
世外桃源”
位置,食物,服务
饭店位置优越, 骑车可以到月亮山, 大榕树, 走路就可以到遇龙河游泳.周围山很多, 望出去景色很美. 老板非常热情, 会带我们爬山, 骑车, 推荐附近好玩, 好吃的地方.饭店整体卫生很好, 服务到位,饭菜也很可口.总的来说, 非常满意!
Reviewed August 17, 2015
7.3
Very good
shi from China
Couple
Superior Double Room with Balcony
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
很有乡土气息”
员工友好,有地方特色,安静
Reviewed October 25, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
li from China
Family with teens
Family Suite with Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
阳朔值得一住的民宿”
值得推荐的理由:1. 景色:闹中取静,周围群山,不远处有小河,安静的体会阳朔风光的好去处;2. 服务:热情大方,充满亲近感;3.硬件:干净整洁,装修自然有新意;
家庭套房尤其值得家庭旅游尝试,值得推荐
Reviewed October 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
lin from China
Family with young children
Family Suite with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
员工服务贴心,超级无敌优美山景”
服务贴心、安静、景色优美
我会推介“凤楼岁月”,点解?除了服务贴心之外,例如:1.我地一到步落车,立马有阿姨过来帮我地将行李搬上房;2.客栈的单车系免费提供的,前台小妹lily会因应我地的身材(矮、粗、胖 )挑选了适合的单车,仲话埋比我地听直行转右、转右、再转右就可以到大榕树景区;3.每日从外面返到客栈,都会听到“你们回来啦,今天玩得好吗?”的问候......重点来喇,“凤楼岁月”的皇牌,就系:开!门!见!山!
Reviewed October 09, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
kai from China
Family with young children
Backyard Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
十里画廊中的休憩地”
优美,充满了家的感觉
我们住的是一层大床房,刚进房间就被后面的小花园感动了,孩子喜欢得不得了,一直在外面玩。整个旅馆不大,但是细节很有味道,竹子和石头购成了装饰的主体,听店里的小妹讲怎样的房间配着不同颜色石头的洗手盆,怎样去市场淘回便宜的头罩,却花了大功夫讲电线缠进麻绳中,的确是费了一番心思,这样的装饰正和四周秀美的山融为一体。 这里正好的十里画廊风景区路线中,安静、优美,骑单车很舒服,店里的单车是捷安特的,很好骑,也有很好的童椅。 旅店小妹的服务很让人有家的感觉,谢谢你们,在我走之后还跑到阳朔去帮我寄了一大包快递!
Reviewed August 26, 2012