Book Now: Zhaolong Hotel

Very good
From 562 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (562)Booking.com Reviews (275)
7.5
Very good
From 562 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities7.1
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.2
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Standard Twin
King Bed
Business Room
Deluxe Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 511 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
Wai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
A warm stay on winter days”
1. Convenient location 2. Helpful and polite staff 3. Comfortable room
Reviewed December 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
sutai from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Location foods and location ”
Location food bar
Reviewed November 16, 2015
5.7
Terry from United States
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Disappointed Business Traveler”
Location, Location, ease of checkin/checkout
Cold, cold and more cold. Room had little to zero heat, dining area cold to point of almost having to wear gloves during breakfast while rest of hotel area not much better. Once one of these nicest in embassy district now becoming rundown badly in need of facelift along with better management.
Reviewed October 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Christian from Sweden
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
ok”
staff, location, food
Good location. nice staff. not so clean carpets in hotel room
Reviewed September 28, 2015
6.0
Natalie from China
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 6 nights in April 2015
Good location for business trip”
Convnient, clean and satisfied service.
Reviewed September 05, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Gregory from Australia
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 14 nights in August 2015
Recommended”
Location, Service, Quality
Reviewed August 29, 2015
5.0
John from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
Awful - no way near a 5 star (or 3 star)”
The lobby is quite nice. The location is good.
We booked one of the most expensive rooms available on the executive floor and it was awful. The room was dark, smelly with stains on the floor and upholstery. The view from the window was (for what it was -hidden by dirt and grime). The bathroom smelled terribly. We asked to be moved but there was no availabilty. Also to add further insult the pool was closed until the 30th april as was the sauna. We paid for one night and checked out immediately. The only redeming feature was the staff - who did what they could. Also this review isn't intended to criticise the housekeeping staff - they are probably doing the best they can with a room that hasn't been renovated in 20 years. This is not 4 or 5 star (i think 3 star is even pushing it) you can get very much better for the same price or cheaper in Beijing.
Reviewed April 27, 2015
7.7
Very good
Bat-Itgel from Mongolia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
nice”
location location and location
good location
Reviewed April 15, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Giulio from Italy
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Great location, good value for money”
Location, Room comfort, Value for money
Reviewed March 19, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Pin from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Hotel closest to famous Peking Duck Restaurant”
1. Closeness to two Da Dong Peking Duck and Duck de Chine reastaurant 2. Closeness to Takoo and Yasiu shopping and closeness Metro and airport
Very satisfactory
Reviewed January 07, 2015
5.3
zaher from Egypt
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
nice days ”
location- shoping- food
Reviewed January 04, 2015
6.3
Good
Warwick from New Zealand
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
OK Location”
Location, room temperature, room comfort
4 days
Reviewed November 24, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Danwei from China
Couple
Business Room
Stayed 8 nights in October 2014
Definitely Would Stay Again”
The Sanlitun location. The helpfulness of the staff. The room itself.
This was our second time in Beijing. Our first time at Zhaolong. The hotel worked hard to secure our request for a king size bed and no smoking room. When none were available they gave us the Executive Suite. It worked out perfectly, since we were visiting our daughter and used the extra living space to catch up on each days activities. We spent most of our time visiting the city sites and did not use the hotel's dining facilities. We were more than satisfied with our stay and would definitely use this hotel again if the need arises.
Reviewed October 30, 2014
7.7
Very good
Giulio from Italy
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Great location, good value for money”
Location, Room comfort, Overall value for money
Reviewed October 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 7 nights in September 2014
Beijing”
Location, Cleanliness.
good hotel indeed, good location, untoubled but helpful staff (limited English evn from Assnt Managers). Coffee in the 'lounge bar' £7.00! Breakfast £10.00! Sandwich £8.00! Eat outside!
Reviewed October 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
jacob from Israel
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Location next to soho of Beijing”
Next to yashow market and very fun area
I keep on going to this hotel . I'm in Beijing 6-7 times a year And this hotel is my first choose
Reviewed October 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
jacob from Israel
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Very good hotel in Beijing ”
Value for money
I keep on going to this hotel . I'm in Beijing 6-7 times a year And this hotel is my first choose
Reviewed October 04, 2014
5.7
Colin from United Kingdom
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in September 2014
Never been a 5 star”
Location, Power of the shower and the bell boys helping with taxis at front door
OK, happy enough. Shouldn't be rated as a 5-star hotel. Close to Sanlitun for shopping and restaurants. Also close to subway station for trips to Forbidden City etc.
Reviewed September 22, 2014
8.3
Excellent
ALLIBERT from France
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
great location”
location comfort space
i did appreciate the location of this hotel, spacious room, a bit noisy (on the main street), a few minutes walk form salitum, bar street
Reviewed September 13, 2014
7.3
Very good
Bat-Itgel from Mongolia
Business traveler
Business Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Hotel”
location, location and location
Nice location, that is all
Reviewed September 10, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Hsiting from Taiwan
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
perfect location”
location, location, price
Reviewed August 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
timoyhy from Sweden
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Best in Class”
Location, Value for Money, Friendliness
Excellant stay, have been here several times before. Improved each time
Reviewed August 08, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
timoyhy from Sweden
Couple
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Just the right hotel”
Location, standard & price
Good service, even if we did arrive a day earlier than our booking. Reception helped us to add another day to our booking via Agoda, with free access to their business centre. Generally very helpful. Room standard above what can be expected for the price paid. Have stayed here before, the hotel continues to impress.
Reviewed July 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
JUAN from Spain
Solo traveler
King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in July 2014
Nice hotel in Sanlitun”
near subway station, shopping and night life
Reviewed July 25, 2014
6.7
Good
Douglas from Australia
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Service and wifi from a bygone era”
Location
Slow check in and check out, antiquated systems. appalling and often non-existent wifi in rooms despite the advertising, minimal business centre, limited English facility amongst staff
Reviewed July 03, 2014
7.3
Very good
Susana from Singapore
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Nice stay - always a pleasure”
english, staff, friendly
Reviewed July 02, 2014
7.3
Very good
Thomas from Canada
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Comfort and convenient, but a little disappointed”
Indian restaurant, convenient location, comfortable stay
I've stayed at the Zhaolong hotel many times over a period of approximately 20 years. I've always thought of it as one of the golden oldies of Chinese modernization. However, on this particular visit and in this particular room (519), I was disappointed with deferred room maintenance issues: first and foremost, the carpet is long overdue for a good cleaning or change, the ceiling AC vent in the vestibule was loose and in danger of falling, the small auxiliary mirror in the bathroom had left a permanent stain on wall as a result of unstable fixture mounts and one large ceramic tile in the shower was in danger of falling off the wall. There was also a water stain on the bathroom ceiling above the tub and the bathroom area in general was in need a fresh coat of paint. Apart from my observations on this visit, the rooms at the Zhaolong are always delightfully cozy and the furnishings quite comfortable.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
7.3
Very good
David from Canada
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Great hotel for San li tun area”
Location, price and subway access
Love this hotel, I always pick this hotel to stay when I come to Beijing, nothing beats the price and how it's right next to a subway. I think because the hotel is a little dated, the price is considerably lower than all the newer hotels around the area.
Reviewed June 22, 2014
7.7
Very good
Will from Australia
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Great”
Location, convenience, service
Great all round really
Reviewed June 21, 2014
6.3
Good
Celso from Brazil
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
it was just okay !”
Location, the staff can speak in english
It was just okay, the decoration of the rooms are clearly outdated, should take the carpet out of the rooms...that's just good for hide the dirty on it, the painting was peeling off the wall and etc...
Reviewed June 12, 2014
6.3
Good
simone from Italy
Business traveler
Business Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Comfortable”
Location close to Sanlitun bar street, clean, close to the subway
The Hotel is comfortable and it's in a very good position; rooms are clean, well kept and recently renewed (business and deluxe rooms). The receptionists are very slow and poor in english, housekeepers don't speak english, although the hotel should be at international level.
Reviewed June 06, 2014
7.3
Very good
Benjamin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Attentive staff, good night life”
Attentive Staff, close to Sanlitun bar area, value for money.
The stay was very pleasant, the staff were helpful and friendly.
Reviewed June 06, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Colin from United Kingdom
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Very enjoyable stay.”
Warm welcome, great language skills, good value.
Very enjoyable. I will stay here again next time I visit beijing. Close to subway and only a five minute walk from sanlitun's shopping and nightlife. Also great discount on the room through agoda!
Reviewed May 30, 2014
6.3
Good
Roshe from Singapore
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Satisfactory stay but disappointing service”
room, location, price
Reception staff was slow, no smile, no warmth.
Reviewed May 28, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
zaher from Egypt
Couple
Business Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
nice”
big room , clean and nice staff
Reviewed May 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
BEN from United States
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
a one-night business stay”
location,location, location
No serious problem. Just normal. The check in and out are very slow, the efficiency is not like other 5-stars hotel which need to be improved.
Reviewed May 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Danfeng from China
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Enjoy”
Restaurants, staff, clean
Great location with reasonable price. Few minutes from tube station, very close to Sanlitun.
Reviewed May 23, 2014
5.7
Timothy from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Young”
Location, location and location.
Reasonable priced but the rooms are really old.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Anuwat from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Best service , clean and comfortable”
Night light, Moden and Best services
I' impasse for exceptional services room stay in the hotel and close to shopping in area
Reviewed April 23, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Antoine from Mauritius
Business traveler
Business Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Good location. Rooms too hot during spring.”
location, good value for money, reasonable standard rooms
As mentioned it was very convenient to Agricultural Exhibition Centre, Sanlitun area. Good value for money a good 4/5 star hotel. Rooms are a bit chinese looking with the colors (red carpets) but modern. Aircondition/heating system not so good, during April, had to open windows to keep cool as room was too hot. Then it was rather noisy as room gave on Third ring road. Otherwise standard us fairly good for the price.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
5.7
Leanne from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
NOT GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY IN THE SLIGHTEST! ”
Old style hotel, no lighting in the bedrooms except for 2 small lamps, iron burn on carpet.
I like this hotel in a general sense but it's an absolute rip off! £70/700yuan per night for an Iron burn in the carpet, a stain on the carpet covered up by a chair. Ha. Severe Delay in house cleaning, like 7pm on the second night stay, The hotel also kept Ringing the bathroom telephone and cutting off, even if you answer it!! There are No lights in the bedroom so at night time you can't see very well, it can be very dimly lit by two bedside lamps! Pfft. The shower has no in attachable feature to wash lower regions well. No aircon available at this time of year so as foreigners we were roasting and even with the windows open the small fraction that they allow them to it still wasn't enough and they said they couldn't turn it on when we asked them. Don't change bedding for second nights stay! Disgraceful! Toilet didn't flush properly lack of power.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
7.3
Very good
Xuan from China
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Good, convenient but room is too dark”
Good convenient and friendly
Reviewed April 17, 2014
7.7
Very good
HONGLING from China
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
The hotel managing system is not organized ”
Clean, close to ghost street food.easy to get a taxi
Reviewed April 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
HONGLING from China
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
The hotel managing system is Not very organized ”
Cleanliness , easy to get taxi, close to ghost street
Reviewed April 08, 2014
6.7
Good
Oded from Israel
Business traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
An OK hotel, doesn't feel like luxury”
Clean, central, good room service
The hotel was nice and clean. For a 5 star hotel, I expected to see great rooms and facilities but they were just OK. Few things to watch out for: business center small, smoky, inconvenient and pricey. Lobby coffee costs like gold.
Reviewed April 06, 2014
5.0
Paul from Australia
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Needs upgrading”
well located close to subway station. international restaurants and bars
Internet connection was exceptionally poor. My room was very old and needed some major upgrades. Unfortunately I will not to be staying here again
Reviewed March 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Xinmin from China
Solo traveler
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
well-deserved reputation.”
central location, friendly staff, real 5-star service
Reviewed March 17, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
ZHENG from China
Couple
Business Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
good location”
good location
Close to shopping area&bars. Swimming pool is small and water is very cold.It's not free parking.Hotel room is old design but clean. Staff are friendly.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Elyn from Singapore
Business traveler
King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Good location, it was near to my office”
great indian & chinese restuarant, lounge was comfortable
plesant. Wifi was quite choppy and not great for work use.
Reviewed January 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
Gordon from Canada
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Does What You Want It To Do”
Location, Room, Location
This is a good hotel and I would recommend it. Its location is quite excellent as it is right beside the subway, walking distance to the bar area, Starbucks, some excellent restaurants including the best Duck in the city, easy access to taxis and is quite clean. The internet is fast, the bed is comfortable, the staff are 'ok' and their English is not the greatest, but when it came to booking a car to and from the Great Wall the price was reasonable, the driver they booked spoke enough english and all went well. The price was reasonable and I would say all in all a worthy stay.
Reviewed January 28, 2014