Book Now: APA Hotel Shibuya-Dogenzaka-Ue

APA Hotel Shibuya-Dogenzaka-Ue Reviews

Very good
From 617 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
Recommended by 83% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (617)Booking.com Reviews (2118)
7.5
Very good
From 617 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities6.9
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service7.7
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Single - Non-Smoking
Single - Smoking
Double - Smoking
Double - Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 432 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Derrick from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2017
Great hotel great location great value for money ”
The room i had was a bit small but still great. I would recommend you book a bigger room. But that is all. Everything else is totally great. There a great places to go and fabulous places to go eat too. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.!!
Reviewed September 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Gilbert from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
Good value for your money”
Close enough to Shibuya station. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Good value for money.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jose from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2017
Walking distance to Shibuya square”
Close to important spots.
Reviewed August 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Bernice from Singapore
Couple
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Very good”
The room was abit dusty.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Steffen from Norway
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 11 nights in July, 2017
A clean and functional room in a small space”
Good location. Price is on the high side but reasonable for the location and Tokyo. Rooms are small but functional - you do have everything you need. Would chose again.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
4.4
Dennis from United States
Family with young children
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 8 nights in July, 2017
Acceptable”
Far from the Shibuya train station about 20 mins walk after long day tooo tired to walk back to hotel.Room are too small for two.I wont recommend
Reviewed July 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
NGAN from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
The room is very comfortable ”
The hotel is located at around 15 mins walk from Shibuya station, but it's surrounded by restaurants. What's more it's close to Donkihote and 109, at around 7 minutes walk. The hotel room is neat and tidy, small but comfortable for two people! The bed is a bit soft but I definitely love the big TV there!
Reviewed July 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from Philippines
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2017
Great hotel. Small at first seen but it out grows onto you after sometime. ”
Good hotel. Great for people/couples or solo travelers who has a nice simple budget. Rooms are small but it is complete in all necessities that you need. Bed was comfortable, room is cozy, bathroom is complete, neat and decent. I did not add a breakfast buffet to go along with my reservation that is why i could not comment about their food. All in all, I'll stay here again next time i get to visit Japan.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Matthew from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
Great experience!”
We had a great time and the area was excellent. Plenty of great restaurants. We had sushi and ramen and there were plenty of options for different qualities and prices. The staff was great and held our bags after we checked out so we could spend the time wandering the city. Walking distance to the temple and beautiful park. We aren't big shoppers but there are also a bunch of oppurtunutes for that!
Reviewed June 22, 2017
7.2
Very good
thu from Vietnam
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
Very good”
room quite small but good equipment
Reviewed June 16, 2017
7.6
Very good
PO from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2017
Great location near to metro Shibuya station and Shibuya center by 10 mins walking”
Oppose to airport express bus stop in Excel Hotel
Reviewed June 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Favian from United States
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2017
Amazing stay!”
I came for a weekend escape to Tokyo and with high hotel prices, I came across this hotel. It was super elegant from the moment I walked in. Check in was a simple and quick process. My hotel room, although small, had everything I needed for a weekend stay. Bed was super soft and comfortable, but the pillows can use some work. I will always stay here when I come to Tokyo. The location, although in a busy neighborhood is a short distance from the chaos, making it quiet, which was much appreciated!
Reviewed June 02, 2017
5.6
Hamdan from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in May, 2017
First time in Tokyo”
We enjoyed our stay there , it's close to many restaurants and convenient stores. Walking around the area.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Alana from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in May, 2017
Exceptional”
Perfect location!!!
Reviewed May 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Robbie from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Good”
It's what's expected of APA, it's a great chain.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Weich from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2017
Convenient but small”
A lot smaller than we expected in the double room. Just enough space to put our bags without tripping over them, with the bathroom having a very sheer frosty glass. Very convenient with a 5 min walk into the heart of Shibuya, JR lines and Tokyo metro. It is far enough away so you do not get the noise of hassle of drunken revellers, but close enough to get home quickly after a night out.
Reviewed May 04, 2017
7.2
Very good
Kok from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2017
Very good”
The staff are so helpful and offered telephone call directly to Agoda to settled my cancelled booking on the spot.
Reviewed May 02, 2017
3.6
Kate from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2017
Acceptable”
When there was a mix up with the agoda booking and we needed to pay an extra night, the staff were incredibly rude and treated us like criminals and stood outside the room when we needed to charge the phone and check payment. We were always willing to make payment but there was no reason have Thur behavior
Reviewed April 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Great hotel”
Great hotel, right in the center of shibuya! We only needed a place to sleep so it was perfect. Great location, great price! Would definitely recommend!
Reviewed April 19, 2017
5.2
IRENE from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2016
Location”
The room and bed are small.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
6.4
Good
Qasim from Bahrain
Solo traveler
Single - Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2017
Good location .. lot of Resturant's around . ”
Location is good ...clean room but too small bathroom was small too .. I could not use the path tube half of me in the other half is out 😂😂😂, u can hear any one pass by or talk out side ...tv Chanel's all Japanese u can't read the remote or the tv menu , staff were help full they tray there best to help ,English not that bad .
Reviewed April 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
tai from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2017
Hotel close to Shibuya JR train station”
Hotel is closed to Shibuya JR train station , about 10minute walk away. Hotel room is very small. Bed is very small for 2 pax even though 2 person type room is chosen. Facilities is ok. Toilet & shower is good. Hot water is good as well. Overall recommended for stay for traveller for adult is more suitable. With children will be a bit squeezy for the room & Shibuya itself is more suitable for teenager & adult shopping. Nothing much for kids. Overall stay is recommendable for couples without children going.
Reviewed March 31, 2017
8.4
Excellent
derrick from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in December, 2016
very good location but a very small room”
the location is superb. but the room size is really small though understandable since it is located in a busy district. staff are okay and facility and room is always clean
Reviewed March 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
yumi from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 7 nights in March, 2017
Exceptional”
small room/ space than another hotel
Reviewed March 21, 2017
7.6
Very good
tai from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2017
small hotel with good location”
location is good. not really a good place for family with children. you do not see small child in shibuya. but overall on hotel is good. size of room is small, really small but facilities are all equipped.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
6.0
Jeremie from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2017
Room is too small for two”
Room is tight but generally ok for a solo traveler.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
6.0
deborah from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2016
Above average”
the room is too small for two.it is recommendable for a single person only.no space to put our luggages...only one is available.too tight to move around.
Reviewed March 05, 2017
6.8
Good
Michael from Philippines
Business traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in January, 2017
Decent Hotel and Good Location”
This is a Decent Hotel which is located in the Heart of the City. Walking distance to the Famous Shibuya Scramble where they also have Hachiko statue and the Train Stations.
Reviewed March 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
NALEN from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2016
Excellent”
Value for money. Room not that big. Plenty of food restaurant surrounding the area. Heaven for the shopper. Walking distance to Shinsen train station (5min) & Shibuya station (10 min).
Reviewed February 20, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Pataratorn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Excellent”
love
Reviewed February 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
NATHAN from Australia
Business traveler
Single - Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in January, 2017
Good”
Great location
Reviewed February 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
abbas from Bahrain
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2017
Nice hotle ”
Beautiful hotel ... and the staff are friendly
Reviewed January 28, 2017
6.8
Good
Clarissa from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in December, 2016
Good location (and that's the only thing good about this hotel)”
The location of the hotel is good, around 10mins walk to Shibuya station. Convenience stores and restaurants nearby. Rooms are really tiny for the price paid, and single room have no view (window opens up to face the wall of the next building). But with that said, it's Tokyo, hotel rooms are always tiny. The service from front counter reception staff is really lacking. Given that it's Japan, I am expecting a higher level of customer service. The staff have no smile on their face, and are not welcoming at all. And at times, even rude when I requested for their help. Really disappointed in the service provided by the front counter staff.
Reviewed January 08, 2017
2.4
Mah from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2016
Not worth the price . ”
Rooms are just to small even for one person . Very pricey . Not very near to 109 mall .
Reviewed December 31, 2016
7.6
Very good
Li from Taiwan
Business traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2016
Clean”
OK
Reviewed December 26, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Garam from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
Clean”
Clean and well located. 5 minutes walking from Shibuya station.
Reviewed December 24, 2016
7.2
Very good
Eke from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
Good Location”
10 minute walk from Shibuya Station, small sized room but location is great
Reviewed December 19, 2016
6.8
Good
Yean from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Good Location”
It's quite a walk from the train station to the hotel but there are a lot of shops to occupy the journey. There are loads of convenience stalls and food choices around the hotel. The room is small and trash will only be taken out when asked.
Reviewed December 03, 2016
8.4
Excellent
BUSTAMI from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in November, 2016
Hotel ”
The room we stayed is very dirty especially the wall where the recycle bins is and under the TV. Hotel gave us a dirty stained face towel. Room was super hot because they already switch over to heating. Apart from that, the reception staff is helpful. Location is walking distance to center Shibuya.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
7.6
Very good
Emma from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Good location, Small but nice room, AC didn't work”
If the AC worked it would have been just fine.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
7.2
Very good
Michael from United States
Business traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Poor for business ”
Left my watch in the room when I checked out but it "wasn't found". Wifi really slow, rooms too hot and ac didn't help. No irons just trouser presses which are useless for ironing shirts. Not good for business.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Michael from United States
Business traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Good and bad”
Great location. Unfortunately, I left my watch in the room when I checked out and it wasn't found.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
6.8
Good
Catrin from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Late booking”
There wasn't all that much to choose from booking a few days ahead, so I guess that's why we payed an unusually high price for a very ordinary hotel with absolutely no extras.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
7.2
Very good
Mazlina from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Simple, no-frills accomodation”
Being my first time in Japan, I didn't expect the room to be THAT small. The description is a small double room that can accommodate for 2 people. I was surprised to see the bed to somehow a super single size instead. So take note. Otherwise the hotel is clean and simple. No gym. Just a 10 minute stroll into the heart of Shibuya. Couple of convenient stores around it a 3 mins walking to this famous sushi bar called KaiKaya. I would recommend if you're looking for something comfortably close to Shibuya.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Vincent from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Great service”
Need more bi-lingual channels on TV
Reviewed November 16, 2016
7.6
Very good
chang from United States
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2016
good location”
it requirs some walk to the hotel from where we usually hang out, still we think this hotel has a easy to find, quiet convenient location.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Joyce from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Great stay”
The hotel is 3 traffic lights away from the Shibuya crossing...thus a very convenient location. Staffs are friendly and polite. The premise is very clean and well equipped too. Will definitely consider coming back here for our next trip.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
5.2
Shi from Singapore
Group
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2016
first and the last”
Stayed here for 4 nights and it will be my first & the last stay. Room was small, typical for a japanese hotel room rize. Had to place luggages standing at the end of the bed. Toiletries were complete and wide range. Pillow was super duper flat, requested for 2 additional pillow and had to collect myself at the front desk, 'wonderful'. Walking distance around 10-15mins, upslope. Beware of the housekeeping rules. Usually, make up room sign will be placed outside to indicate to make up the room. But, not for this hotel. It's totally the opposite. If you do not put up the make up room sign, housekeeper WILL MAKE UP YOUR ROOM. 1st day: Both our room placed magnet outside the room but only one room was done. 2nd day: One room put up the blue magnet but room was not done. Asking on the double standards, Duty Manager Mr Yoshi says that if we place the blue magnet outside the room, it means the room will not be make up, just toiletries replenishment and clearing of trash. Only then I know their rules are opposite of the usual hotel process. Mr Yoshi claims that both room did not put up the magnet on 2nd day, so shouldnt it be that both room will be clean up in this case? He then said because there were clothings on the bed thus the housekeeper did not make up. We were very sure that there was nothing on the bed for both rooms. Excuses. Mr Yoshi keep insisting that the housekeeper did check and its according to records, which further implies that I am lying. Given him one day to check and he needs more time to check, checking forever. Poor attitude, bad listener and impatient. This will be my last stay here.
Reviewed November 05, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jane from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2016
Great location- easy to ealk yo the trains and subway, lots of local dining and shopping options”
Location and comfort. Rooms are small, though usual Japanese standard, and a 'double' bed is a UK large single rather than a UK double so rather squashed for 2 grown ups!
Reviewed October 26, 2016
5.2
Martina from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
very small room”
the room and bed is too small
Reviewed October 25, 2016