Book Now: Backpackers Hotel Toyo

Excellent
From 1111 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1112)Booking.com Reviews (1385)
8.0
Excellent
From 1112 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.7
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service8.5
Value for money8.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
한국어
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Twin - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 875 verified guest comments
3.6
Lemukani from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in February, 2018
This hostel was an absolute JOKE!”
This business frustrated me. They didn't give value for money at all! Room was hella cold. When i asked for a solution, they offered a blanket or for me to upgrade my room but i'm a backpacker and travelling on a budget. If the room was warm, i would've ignored how smelly and musty the room was how my things had mold after 4 nights of staying there. I didn't even complain about the mold because they wouldn't care. And i just wanted to have a positive experience in Osaka. It was an absolute joke. In 4 years of travelling, I've never had a hostel tell me they can't provide a solution for my problem (warming up room). And worst of all, have a stuff member grin in my face. The stuff member told to leave a negative review. There you have it Sir. I know my little 1 negative review won't harm the business. But I hope someone who wishes to support a beautiful business will see this and choose to take their money elsewhere.
Reviewed February 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Sri from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in February, 2018
A very good hotel and near JR station ”
Cheap hotel but very good hotel. Need to rent a towel ¥100. Good location near JR station shin-immamiya
Reviewed February 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
MUHAMMAD from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2018
Nice stay”
Near to subway station..friendly staff..u got what u pay
Reviewed February 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
HO from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2018
inexpensive hostel .Budget traveller first choice”
inexpensive hostel .Budget traveller first choice close to JR / Metro station . The Spa and mega supermarket just 5-10 mins walk
Reviewed February 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
JIN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2017
Value for money stay”
Good location with comfortable stay at affordable price.
Reviewed February 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Chih from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in January, 2018
budget choice easy quality”
2 mins walk to subway station and convenience store. Old fashion hotel transformed into backpacker hostel with tiny space for single room. It was so cold and freeze in the midnight inside the room so make sure you have great jacket wear on.
Reviewed February 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jester from Thailand
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in January, 2018
Friendly staff , Clean , Comfortable and convenience”
Friendly staff , Clean , Comfortable and convenience
Reviewed January 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Wong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2017
Location, price, supermarket, transport = excelent.”
A good price for single room.
Reviewed December 21, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Chase from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 8 nights in November, 2017
Very good”
It was nice that all of the rooms were private. They were small and very basic but it was adequate, although in winter staying in a room without a heater got stuffy and cold. The common area was a bit strange and too small in a room without any windows. The area is in is known for being a bit shady, being a few minutes walk from Shinsekai, but it was fine even at night. It’s conveniently located to Shinimamiya and Dobutsuen-made stations as well as a few convenience stores. Staff was nice and helpful. It was inconvenient to have to walk from the fourth floor to the first for showers. Also free coffee was only instant and available at a very limited time.
Reviewed December 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Pik from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2017
Good service”
Many shower rooms~~
Reviewed December 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
Great place with good value of money”
Good for solo traveler who want a bit of peace. Instead of staying at dorminotory, the single bed room is quite and peace.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
8.4
Excellent
WAN from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2017
ironing facilities”
Nice stay with great savings!maybe the common room is a bit small because at one time it is stranded with people. Perhaps this hotel should reconsider to provide ironing facilities to the guest who is on business trip...other than that,i'm loving it!
Reviewed November 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Cho from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 9 nights in November, 2017
Great”
This is budget, but clean and tidy. You have everything you need. I stayed for nine nights in November, and it was overall very pleasant. It is an non-smoking hostel which is good for me. It was no problem without air conditioning in November, but I don’t know about summer. However the blanket was too short for me and the pillow was quite cold (made up of small pieces of rocks?). I put a towel on the pillow to make it warmer. Bathrooms were clean too. There were enough bathrooms, and I did not need to wait every time I wanted to use it. I used earplugs to avoid the noise from the corridor.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Fang from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Budget Japanese-Style Room Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2017
Single room”
If you would like to have a private single room then this should be your choice. The facilities are okay but still have space for improvement. Just few minutes walking from the Red-line subway station and near to Shinsekai.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Phoebe from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
Rooms smell a bit off. But still good Value for your money”
You get your own room so it's great value, but there is a strange smell in the room and no ventilation. The location is not too far either from Namba.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
4.8
SO from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2016
soso”
not bad for traveler
Reviewed October 31, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Apiwat from Thailand
Business traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2017
Exceptional”
1min walk from subway station. Staff can speak English well. Bath room and Toilet is clean. I selected to go there again.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Anna from Philippines
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
Good location, accommodating staff, and clean rooms”
The overall hostel, room and facilities like the shower rooms, bathroom, and laundry room are clean, and the staff are very accommodating. The shower rooms have the essentials like shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, and you could rent a towel from the hostel if you do need one. The place, itself, is easy to find — with a short walk from the station, convenience store, and discount store (Don Quijote). There are nearby places to eat at as well. The neighborhood is peaceful at night; I've walked around freely and safely from DonQ shopping in the evening. The single room is on the small side so it's a watch-out for those who have more than 1 big luggage as you might have some trouble laying out your baggages. Staff was kind and was also willing to accommodate my luggages for a few hours after my check-out. I had some time in the morning and early afternoon to check out a few more places around the area before moving on to my next destination. I recommend this place for any solo traveler. It's a good value for money. Would stay again in my next visit.
Reviewed October 29, 2017
8.4
Excellent
saijai from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2017
Excellent”
Very close from subway station. Clean
Reviewed October 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hoi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in September, 2017
Nice backpackers hostel”
Many backpackers hostels nearby. This is gave me a cozy, clean and budget stay.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ayu from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
worth it”
Its easy to reach toyo, the location is in the middle of JR station and subway station. If you get bored, you can also go to daiso and donQ which are only 5mins walk from toyo. Nice thing here you get affordable price for a private room. My room was really clean and compact. Really lovely for 4 nights stay. They also had laundry machine which is cheaper than any other hostel (washing, detergent = 1.50yen, drying machine = 1yen). You'll get your stuffs really dry and ready to wear again! Lovely. The shower room is only on the 1st floor, I dont mind tho since they had very perfumed shower gel, conditioner, shampoo. The staffs also very friendly. I'd recommend and will stay here again if I visit Osaka.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Irwan from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2017
Solo traveler”
....
Reviewed September 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
jiacheng from China
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2017
good location, worthy of value, kind staff and separated space”
Would highly recommand this hotel as a worthy choice for single backpacker seeking for quiet separated room. This hotel is just 1 mins away from the Zoo Station or JR 新金宫 Station with a lot of local 居酒屋 around and family mart within foot reach. Despite of poor and old environment and shared bathroom and toilet, at least you could enjoy an individual room with fan and TV and not being disturbed or spied upon by other guests. The most impressive stuff is the price——with only no more than 30 USD for 2 nights in a fan room is quite fantastic in OSAKA——though there is a lot of similar hotel nearby in this area. All in all, highly recommand this hotel or this area in OSAKA.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
matthew from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2017
Good”
Good
Reviewed September 05, 2017
5.6
Chai from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2017
overall okay”
overall is okay for the stay. just the room a lot of insects crawling around.
Reviewed September 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
JIRAYU from Thailand
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
very good”
very good
Reviewed July 31, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
noli from Philippines
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
Exceptional”
great place to stay when you're in Osaka!
Reviewed July 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
AZRIN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 6 nights in July, 2017
Best Backpackers Hotel in Town!!!”
Even what they provided are very basic... I would still consider Hotel TOYO one of the best backpackers hotel in town. Don't think about the area located in the homeless area... it is basically very safe as I have experienced. The bonus point is the location which is only a few steps walking to the subway & just across the road is the JR Line definitely makes your travel so much easier. Even if the hotel don't provide meals ( Only free coffee & tea in the common room in the morning until 11.00am ) there are so many nearby eating places or you can get your rations from Donquijote or Temako supermarkets which local Osakian would buy their groceries... they even have discounted food products later in the evening to finish off the food products... which is really awesome!!! The front desk staffs speak fluent English... you can really ask for anything either sightseeings places or things that you need to buy etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel & I would stay there if I come back.
Reviewed July 15, 2017
7.2
Very good
Mei from Malaysia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 5 nights in July, 2017
budget hotel with great location”
walking distance to train station, hotel facilities and cleanliness can be improved. but since this is budget hotel, so nothing much
Reviewed July 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Miema from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Awesome”
Nice ambience, very clean, strategic place, very near to subway, awesome hospitality, unique
Reviewed July 07, 2017
6.4
Good
Leila from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Good location ”
Be careful, they will charge you to leave to baggage there
Reviewed June 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Thi from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
Great location and service ”
Room is tiny and neat. But you have private. It's near subway station. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again
Reviewed June 26, 2017
7.6
Very good
Hwee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2017
Value for money”
the toilet isnt clean. i dont think they clean the toilet every day. but for the price you pay and the location you get, cant complain. there is no elevator, the shower rooms are on first floor. I was staying on level 4 so there was a lot of climbing to do.but it was really value for money. the staffs are friendly.
Reviewed June 20, 2017
6.4
Good
Dmitri from Canada
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2017
Great setup”
Great setup and value for money. However cockroaches and bed bugs have been caught in my room at night. Not an infestation, but squashed a few during my stay. Also the smell of a 1000 decomposing hippies every time you enter the room. Other than that great setup. I would consider returning.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
REBECCA from Australia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2017
Exceptional”
Single traveller, the staff were super friendly, the location makes everything easily accessible, the facilities of laundry and bike hire makes this hotel the best and they upgrade their facilities regularly so everything is pristine and clean
Reviewed June 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Maria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2017
hospitable”
overall it was a good catch the location is good. Kind staff
Reviewed June 05, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Marcus from Singapore
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Pretty ok”
Located near JR station Staff is friendly
Reviewed May 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
JIN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Cheap and good!”
Located near JR Shinimamiya station and Dobutsuenmae subway, its very convenient. The rooms are clean and tidy with futon and tatami mat. Staffs are friendly, the common place is good place to meet other travellers.
Reviewed May 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hiroyuki from Japan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 5 nights in April, 2017
Exceptional”
The environmental atmosphere isn't like other parts of Japan but it's not due of this hotel. I could stay several nights without any problem. Their bed sheets are clean and I had a pair of earplug. Their kitchen for guests is limited in size and capacity. So I usually had to wait others and sometimes start washing dirty dishes and utensils some other guests had left before starting mine. Their Wi-Fi works most of the time but sometimes it was disconnected every a few minutes. In short, it's value for money.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
7.6
Very good
JO-AN from Taiwan
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Good”
It's an interesting and comfortable place to stay!
Reviewed March 24, 2017
2.0
Satyanarayana from India
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Acceptable”
this hotel is at the central location and very easily accessible to JR station. The hotel is clean and neat. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is worth of staying in this hotel. I would this is the best budget hotel and I would strongly recommend the stay in this hotel. Value for money Satya
Reviewed March 07, 2017
7.6
Very good
Lenny from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
cheap room”
friendly english speaking staff nice kitchen and tv hall very cheap room and comfortable but no heater inside the room but i sleep well clean bathroom location nearest the train station
Reviewed March 06, 2017
7.6
Very good
Lenny from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
cheap hostel”
value for your money
Reviewed March 06, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jennifer from Australia
Group
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2017
Cute place”
Loved our stay at Toyo! Really cool individual rooms with tatami and futons. Beautifully painted murals on the wall! The only unfortunate thing was that there was no lift- and I had a super duper giant suitcase. They were so lovely in letting us leave our luggage when we went to the mountains.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
MUHD from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2017
Clean . Best budget hotel ever”
Close to subway station and JR station . Can easily walk to tennoji zoo and Shinsekai , Tsutenkaku tower . There's a Mega Donki nearby to shop . Best budget hotel ever
Reviewed February 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Angelina from Germany
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Budget stay in Osaka”
I only stayed in this hostel for one night. I had one simple room withouth air con or heater. But I was all to myself and enjoyed the privacy. The staff was very friendly and helpful in giving direcions. The rooms very simple but clean and I did not get a bad impression from the stay there. As I was only there for one night I could not say more about this place. But I wouldn't mind staying there again.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sze from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2017
Goid”
Good
Reviewed January 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Thomas from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 6 nights in January, 2017
Best common room ever. ”
After being a number of Japanese hostels, can easily say this has the best common room. Visitors from all over the world leaving messages on the walls, and various game consoles for free use. Had a few good smash bro nights with others coming in and out of the place.
Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
JIA-WEI from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Without Air Conditioning
Stayed 7 nights in January, 2017
good good”
single room you know , cheap and single room VERY GOOD
Reviewed January 20, 2017
7.2
Very good
ChengYin from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single With Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
If having a hot spring pool is better”
If having a hot spring pool is better
Reviewed January 18, 2017