Book Now: BJ Family House

Very good
From 215 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1
Recommended by 83% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (215)Booking.com Reviews (19)
7.1
Very good
From 215 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities6.8
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality6.8
Service7.4
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Japanese Style with Bath B
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Japanese Style with Bath A
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 201 verified guest comments
6.7
Good
hyesang from South Korea
Family with young children
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in February, 2015
tour with baby ”
dadami with bath room is to safe for baby.
Clean and safe but little noisy. I heard people speaking and toilet sound at dawn.
Reviewed February 12, 2015
6.7
Good
Chi from China
Group
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Location is great”
location
staffs are friendly
Reviewed December 20, 2014
2.0
mak from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Bad home stay in Kyoto ”
Don't stay here! Bad service n small room.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
3.7
mak from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Bad service ever in Kyoto ”
This hotel not even a good point! Nothing good.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
4.0
Yick from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Far walk from the station, price not reasonable”
free wifi
Price not reasonable, not cheap if it just a room with a bathroom only, nothing else, such as TV.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
4.7
Jihan from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in August, 2014
Don't wanna visit again”
Small, stuffy, far from the details on H/P
Totally sucks
Reviewed August 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
srinivasan from India
Business traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Quiet place, clean and nicely maintained property”
Clean, quiet, Inexpensive
Comfortable and clean place. Front desk was very helpful. Has a common kitchen with microwave. Great place for a budget traveller. Overall stay was nice and comfortable.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
4.7
LAM from China
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in December, 2013
conveniently located and close to Kyoto Station”
close to Kyoto Station, cheap price, ease assessible
i think this is quite a nice hotel with the following advantages: 1. conveniently located quite close to the Kyoto Station; 2. this hotel provides shower heater facilities which make customers more relaxing and enjoyable; 3. bedroom is clean and tidy with newly decorated environment.
Reviewed December 11, 2013
4.3
Ann from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 6 nights in November, 2013
Poor noise inslation and owner is not professional”
Easy access to bus, lady to communicate in Mandarin
Poor noice insulaions and the owner is not professional, calcualtive and most of therooms have to share public restrooms
Reviewed December 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
CHUN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2013
Convenient and Cheap”
Friendly staff and good location
Well everythind is ok, suggest this hostle. They are friendly, walk in 10 mins from Kyoto staion.
Reviewed November 26, 2013
6.7
Good
Shyuanwei from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 1 night in November, 2013
Small but is clean, nothing to shout about.”
Central located and cheaper compare to other hotel.
Just fine, we just sleep for a night and sightseeing until at night.
Reviewed November 25, 2013
6.0
Christopher from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2013
Okay stay.”
Clean rooms.
The room was large and clean, but very bare. Just a mattress + pilllow + blankets, a small table and hooks on the wall for hanging clothes. For this level of furnishing/facilities, the value isn't very good. Location is average, about 500m walk to the train/bus station. The owner is a Chinese immigrant, so she speaks Mandarin as well.
Reviewed October 20, 2013
6.7
Good
Chean from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in September, 2013
Cozy guesthouse in the heart of Kyoto”
Cozy room, mandarin speaking desk manager & bus stop in front of guest house
Guest house was not easy to locate. It is more than 10 minutes walk from Kyoto station. The pleasent & mandarin speaking desk manager made us feel welcome. A point to note, the staircase to the 2nd floor is very narrow, take care going up & down. Bus stop in front of guest house makes getting around easy.
Reviewed October 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
KWONG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2013
Very Good Experience/accomodating staff”
Clean, Simple importantly, Near Kyoto Station and Bus Stop!
This hotel is very good. The staff in charge was very friendly an i would like to retrn for stay again in near future. The room is clean and all the time. its right in front of bus stp and 10 minutes walk to Kyoto station. I love this place and definitely will recommnd to my family and friends..!
Reviewed May 22, 2013
4.3
Hui from Indonesia
Group
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2013
Traditional japanese room, few facilities”
The rooms are traditional (with tatami), very nearby there's a bus stop
If all you need is a roof over your head to sleep, this could be it. You can use the kitchen. But practically, no other facilities available.
Reviewed April 04, 2013
5.0
Kiki from Indonesia
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2013
Unique Japanese room with quiet policy”
Clean room and bathroom, quite near from Kyoto station only 10 minutes walk. Very good surrounding, beside the park sight.
Nice at the first time, it has self standard locking key so we can go back anytime with secure. But one minus thing is the ridiculous quiet policy and shower time schedule.
Reviewed April 04, 2013
6.7
Good
won from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
Convenient location, just a place to sleep”
Near train station
Friendly staff. Great atmosphere and very clean. Relatively Cheap and just across the street from the Kyoto train station. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are many restaurants nearby.Free WiFi is available and easy to connect.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
7.0
Very good
won from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
Good location but small rooms”
Near train stations
The hotel was in a good location. The Kyoto station and Schijijo Keihan Ralway station are within walking distance The room is small and sound insulation not that good. The staff was really nice as well, and there is free wifi available for guests at the hostel.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
7.0
Very good
won from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
Great place, in central location”
Well located family style guesthouse
I have stayed in this guesthouse twice. It's in a great location though, central to Ktoto and walkable distance to many tourist attractions and transport options, such as the train and bus. I viewed this guesthouse as a place to sleep, and that's about it. Overall, i recommend this as a good budget accommodation option in kyoto.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
6.0
Samuel from Australia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2013
Simple, small, friendly and a great location”
5 mins from station, clean and easy to get around
Room was small but there was enough room to spread out a bit. Easy to access walking tours and public transport from. If you are after somewhere that is basic and the main thing u want is a bed BJ is great.
Reviewed January 22, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Edward from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
Convenient location,walking dist. to Kyoto Station”
easy check in
I rented the bicycle for ¥500 per day and enjoyed sightseeing in Kyoto.
Reviewed December 05, 2012
7.0
Very good
Kay from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
Convenient Location near Train station”
Friendly service, Japanese style room, walking distance to Kyoto train station for quick entry and exit to other cities
Good location near train station, and the staff is very helpful and can speak Chinese language. The price is also very reasonable. The room is rather small, and the shower room is just next to the hotel entrance. Overall, it is good value for money.
Reviewed December 03, 2012
3.7
TINA from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
Disappointment”
Too small
We felt cheated. It should not be advertised as Japanese style to gain attention, this is misleading. The place is so crowded that we have to leave our luggage at the check in counter. The room is extremely small for two, about 4feet x9 feet. It was very noisy at night because this place is actually a shop lot in front of a busy main road. Not only we complained, the other family with children told me he felt the information provided is not true and misleading. The only good thing is that it is quite close to Kyoto Station. There are many other good accomodation nearby.
Reviewed December 01, 2012
7.7
Very good
Sing from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
accessible at mainroad & near to kyoto station”
10 mins walk to kyoto station
one-woman operation homestay with about 5 or more rooms. situated at the mainroad so not difficult to locate. walking distance to kyoto station and easy to find convenience stalls and food too.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
6.7
Good
Viji from India
Family with young children
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
good room but poor location”
ensuite bathroom, clean space
very far away from station. no restaraunts nearby. slightly smelly room. no common space. However, the room was clean and had good AC to maintain temperature.
Reviewed November 26, 2012
6.7
Good
Kwang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 11 nights in November, 2012
Convenient and clean”
Helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms.
The location was not as diificult as I expected. Very basic and no frills. The lady boss was very helpful.
Reviewed November 26, 2012
7.0
Very good
won from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
“fantastic””
staff are friendly and helpful
i stayed at the guest house with my partner recently and found it to be a very nice and pleasant place to stay. the receptionist was helpful, polite and professional. the hotel was lovely and our room was clean and beautiful. it is located nearby several historical attractions, including the famous nijo castle. can't wait to return. thank you.
Reviewed November 20, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Kai from Australia
Family with teens
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
Receptionist had a nice smile”
Very convenient location for our needs
A pleasant stay and the staff was helpful. For a small fee our washing was done for us too.
Reviewed November 09, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Lim from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in October, 2012
simple hotel with great service”
a lot of restaurant around
That is a great stay in tokyo with this amount of money. the hotel is simple but great, they provide all the basic thing that you needed. the staff is friendly and helpfull, one thing i really like about japan is their service attitute. the room is clean, and guest can try their public bath, very fun. Guest can find a lot of restaurant nearby.
Reviewed November 06, 2012
6.0
Attapol from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in October, 2012
Not far from Kyoto station and good service”
Private room and free wifi
The guesthouse offers private room and not far from Kyoto station ( 1 bus stop ) room is tiny but clean. Reasonable amenity. And free 14 Mbps in room wifi .
Reviewed October 31, 2012
7.0
Very good
Yee from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2012
Good location but small rooms”
Clean, walking distance to Kyoto station
When we first arrived at Kyoto Station, we thought the hotel is right next or nearby to the station but soon we found out it's not although the hotel address stated that it's at Kyoto station. so we spent some time to find out from the bus information centre at outside of the station, and luckily the staff can understand and speak very simple english and taught us to take a bus to reach the hotel. it takes about 3 stops and we arrived the opposite of the hotel. the signboard of BJ House is not obvious so we asked the local for help and we finally found it! The ladyboss quickly greeted us and she could speak mandarin! this is good as we could ask her for recommendations for food/ sight-seeing places nearby and she gave us clear directions on which side to take bus,etc. Comes to talk about the rooms, we stayed in Japanese style room and it's small indeed as i saw in other travellers' review. but if you are a solo traveller, then it's perfectly fine for you. just a bit squeezy for 2 persons with big luggages. but we are actually fine with it, as we usually don't stay in hotel rooms for long when we go travel, isn't it? the room has water-boiler, towel is provided and changed everyday. toiletries are provided in the bathroom. though the place is really small (which is not recommended for older people) but it's really clean. when we found the actual location of the hotel, we can walk to Kyoto station on our own. it takes about 7 mins for walking which is quite near and convenient. there's also a bus stop just right in front of the hotel. what's not so good about the hotel is we are forbid to talk too loud after 10pm as the place is small and can easily hear people's talking or laughter. so we have to control a bit. and the toilet and bathroom is shared by everyone. so sometimes have to wait for other people's turns before you can get shower. Overall, i am happy with its location and cleanliness though it's a bit small.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
6.7
Good
Ying-Ha from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in August, 2012
cozy and family style guest house”
experience Japanese Tatami style room
The room is small but clean. The manager in this hotel can speak Chinese. The living room with sofa posted in the internet is only for reference as the manager uses this space for her to fold and pack towels. However, this guest house is near to the river, shopping streets and many others attractive areas. A bit of walking is needed. If you don't want to walk you can rent a bicycle from this guest house with 500 yen per day.
Reviewed August 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Taraneh from United States
Group
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2012
Nice hotel with good service”
Friendly service
The hotel was in a good location near Kyoto station (about 10-15 minutes walking distance), and the room was comfortable and the service was good. The staff was really nice as well, and there is free wifi available for guests at the hostel. Overall, good experience and very convenient for traveling in Kyoto!
Reviewed August 22, 2012
6.0
Alexandra from United States
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2012
Clean hotel, small rooms,”
very clean rooms
The location was ok. The price was good, but the walls are very thin and it is very loud at night
Reviewed August 15, 2012
7.7
Very good
Esther from Australia
Group
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2012
Nice accomodation in central location”
Free internet access
We had an enjoyable 3 night stay at BJ Family House. Although not particularly close to any key attractions, apart from the Kyoto Tower, it is only a short walk from a major train and bus station. The accommodation was clean and tidy. Our bedding configuration was incorrect on arrival, but staff very happy to change our room. Free internet access
Reviewed June 10, 2012
5.3
LAI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 1 night in May, 2012
tidy little room but comfortable”
a bit far from Kyoto Station
i need to ask a local japanese who told me the direction to the inn. it didn't require to take a taxi or subway to the inn, it could take a walk around 15 minues to the inn. it is not recommend to stay long for the traffice noice from the main road.
Reviewed May 28, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Wallis from Australia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2012
Convient, free access 24 hours.”
Clean and comfy. Simple 5 mat room.
Welcoming environment and respects privacy of each traveller.
Reviewed April 07, 2012
5.0
Shong from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 1 night in March, 2012
Mini rooms”
wifi
this house really provided mini room and clean enviroment. staff is friendly know to speak chinese and also english. if i got budget definately will not stay here. location not so good. only got 1 bus stop. to save money we walked to kyoto station. it takes about (8-10)minutes.
Reviewed April 06, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Wooi from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 6 nights in March, 2012
Great location but small rooms”
Near train stations
The hotel is samall with very clean room and toilet. It is a quiet place to relax and there are friendly staff who can speak Chinese to assist. I am allowed to check in early in the morning without additional charges. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are many restaurants nearby.Free WiFi is available and easy to connect. The Kyoto station and Schijijo Keihan Ralway station are within walking distance. Keihan railway provides cheaper transport to Osaka, Kobe, Nara and Lake Biwa as compared to JR West. The JR West Haruka line from Kansai Airport stops at Kyoto station. There is a underground mall extending from the Kyoto Station to Schijijo. When we exit from the Schijijo exit, BJ Family House is just a short distance away.
Reviewed March 19, 2012
7.7
Very good
Sarah from New Zealand
Group
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in July, 2011
Simple accommodation in a convenient location.”
clean, friendly staff, location
we enjoyed our stay at bj family house. the room was small, with its own bathroom, and tatami mats. the sleeping arrangements were futon. the hostel was in a convenient location, and we were able to come and go as we pleased. the staff were friendly, and it was quiet so we were able to sleep well. i recommend this as a good budget accommodation option in kyoto.
Reviewed July 23, 2011
2.0
Mario from United States
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2011
Probably would not stay here again”
There's a neat bar around the corner.
Staying here was like staying at the Winchester Mystery House. There were 3 windows in our room, but 2 of them opened to a wall and one of them opened to another room in the house. So odd! Our room didn't have a clock or even a lamp, it was like sleeping in a cave. Also, if you don't get a room w/ it's own bathroom, be warned, to get to the communal shower you have to walk past the reception booth right by the front door.
Reviewed May 04, 2011
7.0
Very good
cyrus from Switzerland
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2011
cute establishment”
family athmosphere
well located family style guesthouse - charming lady in charge - the price is relatively expensve for what is being offered .... which is very basic! walking distance to the central station and the shopping/restaurant area of kyoto. recommendable to students and "calm" travellors - the japanes style room (sleeping on the floor) is ....
Reviewed February 04, 2011
5.2
JOSEFINA from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 4 nights in March, 2016
No me volveré a quedar aqui”
La impresión que da al entrar es nefasta ,no me gusta dormir en el suelo, el futón era durísimo, las almohadas altísimas menos mal que llevamos las nuestras,los servicios mínimos. le salva la ubicación y la limpieza pero nada más
Reviewed April 05, 2016
3.3
Jose from Spain
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 8 nights in December, 2011
Cutre, servicio poco cordial e incomodo”
cerca de la estacion, tiene wifi
Excesivamente caro para la habitación que ofrece. Aunque el horario para no hacer ruido era de 22:00 a 10:00, la dueña se ponía a las 3 de la mañana a hacer limpieza de la cocina sin cortarse un pelo. Las ventanas de la habitación no dan a ninguna parte porque es una casa particular reformada de mala manera. La cortina de la ducha tenia 10 años como mínimo, poca limpieza en general. No lo recomiendo.
Reviewed January 04, 2012
4.7
Lorelein from France
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in July, 2013
Vraiment très petit”
Proximité de la gare. Pas d'horaire de fermeture.
Petit hall, chambre et salle de bain commune minuscules. Par contre personnel serviable. Pas si près que ça de la gare a pied.
Reviewed July 24, 2013
6.0
Laurent from Switzerland
Couple
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 6 nights in April, 2013
Emplacement super mais chambre de hobbit..”
Emplacement / proximité / vélos
L'emplacement est extra. à 1 km de la gare et 2 km du centre ville. Possibilité de louer des vélos ( 1000 Yen / jour) Très pratique pour visiter Kyoto qui est une ville plate. Taille de la chambre.... 3x3 mètres. Il faut être un hobbit pour y vivre. Hôtel pour routard ou juste pour dormir. Possibilité de faire une machine de linge sale.
Reviewed April 22, 2013
7.3
Very good
Marco from Switzerland
Couple
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2013
zentral gelegene Unterkunft für Besichtigungen in ”
zentral,sauber,wifi
unproblematisch-das Hotel ist nichts besonderes aber feundlich und sauber
Reviewed May 03, 2013
7.0
Very good
Alessandro from Italy
Solo traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet B
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Ottimo”
Posizione, wifi, economia
Nelle aspettative
Reviewed April 22, 2014
6.0
yasuhiko from Japan
Business traveler
Japanese Style shared bath and toilet A
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
バックパッカーが宿泊する様な簡素な宿です。ホテルとは呼び難い。”
部屋の掃除は行き届いていました。後は,
Reviewed April 30, 2013
3.3
YOKO from Japan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Bath A
Stayed 1 night in November, 2011
ロケーションはいいが、宿泊料の割には設備もサービスも悪い。”
なし
BJファミリーハウスは、その前に泊まったどのホテルよりもみすぼらしく、バスマットもなく、歯ブラシもなく、シャンプーはあったがリンスはなく、テレビも部屋になく、部屋も狭く荷物は畳の上にビニールカバーが敷かれていてその上に置くように言われた。椅子もなく、それでいて和室なのに座布団もなかった。タオルは古くてすり切れて薄くなっていたし、洋服掛けもなく、寝間着は糊もついてなくアイロンかけもされてなかった。夜は管理人はいなくて、何か用事があれば、管理人の家に電話するようになっていた。駅から近いという理由だけで、このホテルを選んだことをとても後悔した。
Reviewed November 30, 2011