Book Now: Eco and Tec Kyoto Hotel

Excellent
From 136 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 95% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (136)Booking.com Reviews (513)
8.5
Excellent
From 136 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.7
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.9
Value for money8.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
简体中文
more
Room type
Double Room
Single - Non-Smoking
Twin - Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 115 verified guest comments
9.3
Exceptional
Michi from Canada
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2015
Great location, good room”
Location, massage chairs, keyless entry
The hotel is very well located, the light breakfast was perfect, the room size and cleanliness is what you would want and the massage chairs are awesome after a long day.
Reviewed December 13, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Brent from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2015
Great stay! Totally recommend! ”
Location, communal amenities (i.e. laundry, drinks, communal space), comfortable bed
Reviewed November 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2015
Great location”
Location, service, price
Great hotel, I would stay here again.
Reviewed October 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Travis from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in September, 2015
A Great Price, A Great Location, I Would Recommend”
Cleanliness, Location, & Room Size
My wife and I stayed in Kyoto for 5 days. My only regret is that we didn't stay here the first time around. The location is a 5 minute walk from the Higashiyama Subway stop (either Exit One or Two). The area is quiet and very lovely with a stream running close by. There are a few places to eat around (including a quaint little Okayama Restaurant, McDonalds, or a Lawton). There are also a few bars as well. Additionally one of the big shrines is literally down the street. The hotel isn't too difficult to locate, there are two ways to get to it. The best way being along the stream, take a left and follow it around to the front (you actually hit the underground parking area first). The hotel is clean and quiet, almost dormitory style. The room is quite spacious and well kept. The bathroom is good as well, though small as usual. There is even a small balcony. My wife and I did find the breakfast wanting. You get two to four small pastries in a bag, but there is unlimited coffee and tea. There is also a microwave, dishes, and vending machine in the dining area. The breakfast is sooo small, but I guess that is ok. The other issue was the public computer which was top of the line back in the 90s along with the Internet connection. The Wifi is good, but sometimes goes out later at night for unknown reasons. Aside from these two small things, I would recommend this hotel to others in full confidence. I was very affordable (much more than the first one we stayed at MyStays) and everything was great for couples or even a small family.
Reviewed October 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Elliot from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2015
Excellent place”
Location, bedroom size, staff
Very very good,lots of space lots of information around and very close to temples. Can't fault it. Maybe a food vending machine would be nice but there are plenty of places to get food around. Wish I had booked more than three nights in Kyoto.
Reviewed September 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Lai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2015
Nice view nearby sightseeing area!”
Excellent service, cosy and nice location
Feel relaxed and comfortable in living there!
Reviewed July 23, 2015
5.7
Nir from Israel
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in March, 2015
good value for money”
location, value for money
Overall comfortable hotel in a decent location
Reviewed March 21, 2015
7.7
Very good
jantra from Thailand
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2014
Helpful staff with free simple breakfast”
Everything was good for this price. The cons for this hotel is only it does not has elevator and location that is hard to find in the first day.
Reviewed December 26, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Justin from United States
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2014
The 9th Age of Reclamation ”
Top 3 qualities: cost, location, and two beds.
For the price, I am very haooy with my stay at the hotel. The hotel is in a nice part of Kyoto, the front door is open 24/7 for night owls, the rooms use electronically coded locks so keeping track of a room key is uncessary, there is free WiFi, and my room had 2 beds which was a must for my friend and me. Overall, this is probably the cheapest hotel ive ever stayed that still offered decent amenities and a solid location. I brought my own pillow and slept through the complimentary breakfast so i cannot comment about those.
Reviewed December 18, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Deborah from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2014
Nice quiet location”
Comfortable rooms ; free coffee, tea and water; free use of laundry room ; walking distance to interesting places; walking distance to bus and metro
Reviewed November 01, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Vanessa from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2014
Better than expected!”
Cleanliness, spacious, close to subway
The hotel was great! It was super clean and the room was spacious for Japanese standards. The beds were super comfy and there was a lot of natural light that came into the room. This is a no frills standard hotel, but has high standards of cleanliness and order. The hotel is about a 4 minute walk from the subway. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. I would def recommend this hotel for people that want a great hotel for a great price!
Reviewed October 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Marion from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in October, 2014
Fab”
location, massage chairs, free coffee
Picked this as a cheap stay in Kyoto and so we weren't expecting much from it. But the token breakfast, free filter coffee and filtered water, massage chairs and free wifi were all a huge bonus. The only problem was that they don't have a lift, so it was a bit of a walk up to our room.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Amanda from Canada
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2014
Great place to stay!”
Location. close to everything but far enough you find tranquility. Staff. incredible helpful and very easy to deal with. Breakfast. fresh baked goods and coffee daily, very yummy!
Great stay! Wonderful facilities and staff. Highly recommend.
Reviewed July 25, 2014
3.0
Daniel from Canada
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2014
Do not stay at the hotel ”
The stay was horrible. The staff were not nice and in fact if u stay less then three nights they do not even clean your room, give u new sheets or make ur bed. Not to mention they will not give u a clean towel. In their lobby they do have massage chairs and tea and coffee for free which is a bonus but this hotel is over rated for the price u pay. And the beds are not comfy at all!!!!
Reviewed July 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
SUT from Macau
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2014
satisfied enough”
clean good location quiet
Reviewed July 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Amanda from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2014
We loved Eco + Tec!”
Spotlessly clean, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff
Great little hotel! Off the main street a bit, so very quiet and relaxing. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly - the gentleman working there when we arrived (about 9:30 pm on a Friday night) recommended a restaurant around the corner for dinner, and it was absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. The hotel was immaculately clean and though it would be considered a "budget" hotel for the area, it's certainly one of the nicest, more well-kept budget hotels I've stayed in. There are free pastries and coffee for breakfast every morning, too, which was perfect for us. We loved it and we'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
6.3
Good
Wing from Malaysia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
Hotel room was small and uncomfortable. ”
Cheap room rate. Budget Hotel. Near tourist spots.
The room was small and uncomfortable. However, with such room rate, I can't expect more from the provider. It is a good hotel for those tourists have budget for a short stays.
Reviewed June 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
Bryan from Australia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2014
Pleasant eco friendly”
Good price for affordable basic accommodation
Reviewed May 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
Bryan from Australia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2014
Affordable”
Price and close to public transport
Reviewed May 01, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
ING from Malaysia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2014
Very comfortable, relaxed and real enjoyment ”
Clean, adequately equipped, friendly staff, and best is the common lounge and free coffee
Excellent, very satisfied with everything. Keep up the excellent standards!! Will definitely stay here again
Reviewed April 04, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
the from Indonesia
Family with young children
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2013
great stay in kyoto”
efficient, tidy, close to public transportation & temples/shrine
we loved staying in eco & tec, the receptionists are kindly & helpful, the room is very clean. there's no elevator in this hotel & we stayed in 4th floor, the hotel's staff is very kindly helped us lifting our baggages. higashiyama station is about 5 minutes walk.
Reviewed January 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Kristian from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2013
Relaxing and Culturally Dense”
Clean, Comfortable, Great Location
The hotel itself was in a quiet location yet centrally located just a couple blocks from the thick of the Gion District. It was always clean, the staff was friendly, there was wifi in the rooms as well as a very convenient communal room downstairs. It is difficult to beat this hotel for the price and comfort one gets. Amazing stay and I highly recommend it for anyone not looking for an upscale place to stay but still wants affordably clean comforts.
Reviewed January 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Chan from Macau
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2013
Cozy, friendly, definitely recommend”
Location, Quiet, Free coffee and tea bar
The best thing my travel party (family and friends) like about the hotel was the self-serve coffee and tea bar. It's available around the clock, not just during the breakfast hours. The location of the hotel is good, in a sense that it's not in the city center yet it's close enough by metro to downtown. The hotel is inside a residential neighborhood. So you get to experience a little of the quiet side of Kyoto while walking to the hotel from the metro station. Downsides of the hotel include not having a elevator (despite it being a 3-story building) and wifi only available in the lobby.
Reviewed November 26, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Kiyoe from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2013
The Hotel was celan.”
You could use the internet in your room. Clean. Good price.
Clean, and pleasant hotel. Easy access to the transportation and sightseeing spots.
Reviewed November 22, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Laddie from Philippines
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2013
Highly Recommended!Great budget hotel”
price, location, staff
One of the best hotels we've stayed in. Staff very helpful and friendly, and speaks good English too. The router in our room was defective and the night staff quickly replaced it with a new one. The light breakfast was good, although if you plan to sight-see you need to eat more than what is provided, energy for all the walking to be done. :) You can walk to the Gion district from the hotel, walk to the metro station, walking distance to McDonald's (if you ever miss western food), and there's a Lawson outlet nearby (equivalent to 7-11). Coffee is free-flowing and the best part is you can use one of the two massage chairs for free! Take note there's no elevator in this hotel though, which is not really that bad considering you'll be doing a lot of exercising while sightseeing anyway.
Reviewed November 03, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Johanna from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in September, 2013
Exceeded my expectations”
The hotel was informative, helpful, and exceptionally clean.
The front desk staff were SO helpful with assistance in navigating the city, the language, food, etc. They went above and beyond to make our stay more relaxed and enjoyable.
Reviewed September 23, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Dorian from Poland
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2013
Great place to stay and visit surroudings of Kyoto”
Massage chair!! Light breakfast and river next to the hotel
If I would have to go to Kyoto one more time for sure I will choose Eco and Tec to stay as it is close to Gion district, which is full of attractions. Public transport also is close from the hotel and together with my friends we didn't have any problems with getting to the surrounding areas of Kyoto such as Arashiyama or Kurama/Kibune. I recommend it to everyone with no exceptions :)
Reviewed September 17, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Annette from United States
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2013
Friendly, efficient, comfortable”
location, clean, friendly staff
Our stay at Eco and Tec was a pleasant and safe one. Rooms were small but comfortable with sufficient amenities. I would most certainly recommend this to travelers to Kyoto.
Reviewed August 08, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Jean from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2013
Comfortable stay”
good location, cheap for japan, clean
Eco and Tec was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very simple (a few baked goods), but the free massage chairs and very helpful collection of maps and brochures in the common room made up for it. The location is awesome - it's anywhere between a 5 to 20 minute walk to Heian Jingu, Chion-in, Shoren-in, etc.
Reviewed July 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2013
Excellent location for exploring Gion”
Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room.
Eco and Tec is a short walk from the train station and fairly easy to find. It's located in a quiet street so noise is minimal. From the hotel it's only a short walk to numerous temples and Gion. Staff were friendly and spoke English. The light breakfast provided was nothing special - usually just some packaged sweet bread. However free tea and coffee anytime was appreciated. As was the free massage chairs. The hotel was very clean and well maintained (however there was some uneven areas in the stairwells, but they were clearly marked). The room was fairly small, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was on the small side but perfectly functional. I'd definitely recommend Eco and Tec as a good budget option due to it's peaceful and convenient location, comfortable rooms, and friendly staff.
Reviewed July 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Richard from United Kingdom
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2013
Great lounge area. Professional staff. Very clean.”
Cleanliness, good lounge, cheap.
Reviewed June 14, 2013
7.3
Very good
Annie from Malaysia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2013
decent hotel but more of a buget hotel”
room cleaniness, staff friendliness, quiet area
This is a budget hotel. No lift which means that you have to carry your heavy luggage up the stairs! They have a nice breakfast area with massage chair. Breakfast was too basic which basically consist of a packet of bread for each guest. It is too plain for me and definitely not appetizing. Well, can't oomplain much with the price we paid for the hotel. The room is basic but very clean. Bathroom is small but ok. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, it can be hard to find. it is a good 30-40 mins walk from Gion. Alternatively you can take a bus. It is near to a local market which is great for getting some food. Just take note that the restaurants nearby close quite early which means that you better get your dinner before come back to the hotel. Overall it was a very basic hotel, but ok for budget traveller.
Reviewed June 05, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Colin from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in May, 2013
A gem of a little hotel near Gion”
Friendly staff, free massage chairs, great value
It was fantastic! The common area has coffee/tea, laundry, travel info and even free massage chairs. It's right in the middle of Hiyagashima, but quiet, clean and a great price. Hard to find for those not familiar with Japanese cities.
Reviewed June 01, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
James from Singapore
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2013
Great service”
complimentary breakfast, free coffee/tea, free lan internet, plenty of space in room
1. Great service throughout. 2. Umbrellas available. 3. Internet in room. 4. Very quiet. 5. Coffee and tea available at lounge. 6. Complimentary breakfast (daily) mainly bread.
Reviewed February 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Yun from Malaysia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
Lovely hotel, large room and low density”
There are two message chairs for usage FOC.
This hotel gave a very homey feel to it. Located in housing area so its peaceful and quiet. The instruction to get to the hotel via bus from Kyoto station was not very clear. Bus 100, 5 & 46 stops nearer to the hotel at Jingu-michi stop.
Reviewed November 22, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Luz from Colombia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
Agradable y bien ubicado”
Staff, limpieza y ubicación
Muy agradable. El personal muy atento y amable. Las habitaciones son limpias, el baño es muy muy pequeño (tipo avión), el desayuno son unos panecillos ligeros, hay sillas masajeadoras gratis y está muy bien ubicado en un barrio residencial.
Reviewed May 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Dani from Spain
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in September, 2013
Estancia tranquila y agradable en hotel moderno”
Zona tranquila, buenas comunicaciones y cerca de zona de templos
Hotel muy comodo, moderno y tranquilo aunque un poco retirado del centro de Kyoto. Personal muy atento y amable. Buen detalle para desayunar. Curiosa cerradura para entrar a la habitacion. Zona comun muy comoda con internet y sofa-masaje libre. Mucha informacion turistica y servicio de cafe y te gratis para los huespedes.
Reviewed September 28, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
maryane from France
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in March, 2014
Superbe experience”
Prix-qualité-emplacement
Reviewed March 21, 2014
7.7
Very good
Kenji from Japan
Business traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2013
豪華ではないけど機能的で快適なホテル”
意外と広い部屋、十分な収納スペース、大きめの冷蔵庫
以前泊まったことのあるJR奈良駅前のスーパーホテルと似ていました。 基本的な機能は確保しつつ、タオル・シーツは数日おきの交換、ドアは数字を入力する方式などが共通です。 今回のEco and Tecは長期滞在も謳っているだけあって、部屋、冷蔵庫、収納スペースがゆったりとしています。加湿器とポットも無料貸し出しできますが、頼みませんでした。 朝食はなしとなっていますが、1階のコミュニティスペースに行くと、小さめの菓子パン3個が入ったビニール袋が置いてあります。 過剰なサービスはありませんが、フロントの人も皆フレンドリーでした。
Reviewed February 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
krit from Thailand
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2016
Good”
พนักงานบริการดีให้ความช่วยเหลือเรื่องติดต่อสื่อสารดีมาก ห้องเหมาะสำหรับสองคนนอน
Reviewed February 19, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
PONGTAM from Thailand
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2014
สะดวก​ สงบ”
ใกล้สถานีรถไฟ​ ใกล้ๆโรงแรมมีแม่น้ำสวยและสงบดี​
คุ้มค่ากับราคาที่จ่าย​ พนักงานน่ารักคอยช่วยเหลือ​ ห้องพักกว้างสบาย
Reviewed February 06, 2015
7.2
Very good
Ip from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2016
設備齊全,環境舒適的酒店”
酒店環境寧靜,房間的大小適中,兩床房空間都足夠打開2隻25寸喼!空調夠涼,而且每間房都有小露台,可以晾乾衣服!大堂還有自助洗衣機跟休憩空間,有按摩椅可以享用! 一班朋友可以到大堂喝茶聊天,感覺悠閒。 整體酒店的服務都好好,會推薦入住!
Reviewed May 16, 2016
8.7
Excellent
SHUK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2015
舒適整潔”
離地鐵東山站,巴士站非常近,可快捷地去到各個景點。而且走大約15分鐘便可以到平安神宮參觀。酒店有露台,附近風景優美!
整體感覺良好,交通方便,酒店職員非常有禮貌,願意解答任何問題。環境優美且安靜。房間門口用密碼鎖,不用害怕不見房卡。唯一不便的是油店沒有升降機,需要搬行李到自己的房間。
Reviewed November 09, 2015
7.7
Very good
ROY from China
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
酒店環境不錯”
酒店環境好,提供物品足夠,員工表現友善
這間酒店好,環境清優舒服,員工表現友善,座落地點就近數個知名景點,如果再去京都,都會選擇這間酒店
Reviewed December 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
YAT from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in November, 2014
性價比極佳”
1. 位置方便, 附近有不少寺廟. 步行到清水寺40分鐘也可以接受.
Reviewed December 02, 2014
8.7
Excellent
TSZFUNG from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2014
舒適方便”
房間內有無線上網,週邊環境安靜
Reviewed November 07, 2014
3.7
hau from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2014
語言不通”
整潔但無電梯
Reviewed October 25, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Wai from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2014
平,地點佳,配套佳”
價錢平,地點佳(近旅遊點、巴士及地鐵站),配套佳(有咖啡機等、按摩機全日使用)
Pros : 價錢平,地點佳(近旅遊點、巴士及地鐵站),配套佳(有咖啡機等、按摩機全日使用) Cons : 第一次去酒店較難找,晚上較靜
Reviewed August 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
HSIU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2013
周圍景觀綠意,漫步好地方”
地理環境好,交通方便,房間乾淨明亮
離捷運站很近,交通方便,且周圍綠意盎然,古色古香,去景點也很近,慢慢走,散步就到,明亮寬敞的房間空間,乾淨的浴廁,很棒!!!!超值首選!!!
Reviewed August 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
YALAN from Taiwan
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2013
工作人員很貼心,我們上午就提早到了,也很友善的安排房間先讓我們入住休息”
位置在住宅區中很安靜,附近就有地鐵及巴士站,交誼廳還有按摩椅可免費使用
位置在住宅區中很安靜,附近就有地鐵及巴士站,交誼廳還有按摩椅可免費使用,工作人員英文溝通良好,附有自助洗衣的設備,適合自助旅行且長時間居住的旅客.
Reviewed July 18, 2013