Book Now: Econo Inn Kyoto

Excellent
From 179 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (179)Booking.com Reviews (702)
8.0
Excellent
From 179 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.2
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.6
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
한국어
more
Room type
Single - Non-Smoking
Twin - Non-Smoking
Single economy non-smoking room
Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 153 verified guest comments
8.7
Excellent
WenTing from Taiwan
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2015
Good in general, but the quilt is too short”
1. Good location 2. Front desk's English is good 3. Cheap
The quilt is too short for someone above 170 cm. (If you want to cover your neck, your feet would be out of the quilt.) Their webpage is vague about not providing toothbrush and toothpaste. (We do not prepare "amenities" for you except shampoo, conditioner, body soap.)
Reviewed December 25, 2015
8.7
Excellent
LIN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2015
I will stay here again”
Location, Service.
It was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful
Reviewed December 16, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Shiqin from Singapore
Couple
Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2015
Good value of money for a clean hotel”
Clean, Comfortable bed, Not expensive
Very good experience if you are under budget for Kyoto trip (the hotels in maple season are super expensive). Although the room is not Japanese style, it was clean and comfortable. There were two twin beds in the room. I had great sleep on the simple bed.
Reviewed November 30, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Alessandra from Italy
Solo traveler
Single economy non-smoking room
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2015
Good value for the money”
Convenience, room size and staff
The hotel is about 10 to 15min walk from Kyoto Station. When I first came I got lost but it's pretty simple to get there. First, follow the central exit, then the Porta Dining and the "Kyoto tower exit". Once you see the tower in front of you, turn right and keep going. You're going to walk about 3 blocks, pass a Chinese restaurant on your left and will turn left and keep walking until you see the hotel on your right. The front desk was very attentive and even though is not 24 hours, they give you a key to open the front door if you arrive after 11PM. The hotel room is big, especially if you compare among the hotels in this price range. The hotel itself is not new, and neither the room but it didn't bother me. They offer a simple breakfast (different types of bread, coffee and tea) and there is a microwave and refrigerator at the lobby so you can buy things and eat at the hotel.There is no refrigerator inside the room, but you can use the one at the lobby. So far, I would recommend it because it is pretty cheap, not so far from the JR station (if you're using a bus, there's a bus stop close by), and the staff is pleasant.
Reviewed November 07, 2015
8.0
Excellent
KAM from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2013
Ok”
Good
Good
Reviewed June 21, 2015
8.7
Excellent
PO from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single economy non-smoking room
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2015
good location and nice services ”
the staffs are nice
Reviewed June 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
KAI from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2015
good”
good location,attentive staff,buget hostel
The econo inn located nearby downtown 10 mins by walk.The staff was friendly and attentive ,they are also provide bicycle rental service and simple breakfast.Overall we have few days nice moments at here.
Reviewed April 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
david from Australia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2015
Kyoto”
It's location, service and value.
Reviewed March 12, 2015
7.3
Very good
Liao from Taiwan
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2013
nice hotel”
lovely owner, comfortable bed, kind people
Reviewed January 26, 2015
4.7
KOK from Malaysia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2014
Good breakfast, good windows view but small toilet”
Simple yet delicious breakfast, good view and near shopping area
The windows has mountain view and the room is big if compared to other in Kyoto. The self-service breakfast is very simple. Just few types of small bread/bun but very delicious, with coffee and tea. Location is good as it is very near to bus station and just few stops away from the shopping area (Karawamachi). However the toilet is very small and pretty hard to have a good bath.
Reviewed January 25, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Arie from Indonesia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2014
Nice and Functional Hotel”
Location, price, cleanliness
Econo Inn is a no-nonsense little hostel located just 15 minutes walk away from Kyoto Station. The price is just right for the facilities you get. It's a bit basic, (hot shower, wifi, aircon, heater, very clean room) but if you're a backpacker and/or spend most of the day out and about, this will be more than enough for you.
Reviewed December 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jade from Malaysia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in August, 2014
Nice and comfort”
Breakfast, little pantry, nice staff
Reviewed November 09, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Ashley from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2014
excellent hotel and cheap”
staff were lovely. very helpful and spoke some english ....even booked a restaraunt for us! the hotel was very clean and the rooms actually very big compared to normal japan hotels elsewhere.
Excellent. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location 15min walk from station ish and loads of great food nearby. Short walk from geisha streets and everything else just Bus!!! It is very easy. 1 fair to get anywhere. Ask hotel if not sure where to get what bus.
Reviewed October 10, 2014
5.7
YA from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2014
Econo Inn Kyoto”
good
Reviewed October 06, 2014
8.7
Excellent
NG from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June, 2014
good location”
staff,clean,location
location near the bus stop and convenience store within five mins walk
Reviewed September 17, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Canada
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June, 2014
This is an amazing hotel in a great location”
Price, value, location
What can I say about this place. I was absolutely amazed to walk into my room and see such a large clean modern room. Everything was so clean and I even had a balcony with an amazing view of Kyoto. Bathrooms were a bit small but this is Japan so you cannot expect a large bathroom. The building is rather old but it has been maintained a very well. Overall, if you can get a good price on this Hotel I would strongly recommend that you stay here. Big rooms, soft beds, fast Internet. You get it all.
Reviewed July 19, 2014
7.7
Very good
YAT from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2014
Comfortable”
Clean, wifi available in rooms, reasonable room rate
I felt good and relax when staying in Econo Inn Kyoto.
Reviewed June 10, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Germany
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2014
Very friendly hotel for unbeatable price”
low price, friendly staff, great service
Reviewed May 12, 2014
7.7
Very good
Aniszawati from Malaysia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2014
Nice stay”
Location, clean and cozy
Very simple and nice place to stay. Public transport near the hotel. Easy access to most of the area. Room very clean, nice place to stay for the night. Good food for breakfast eventhough just a simple bread. Good internet coverage. Friendly staff. Near to family mart .
Reviewed April 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
LEUNG from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in March, 2014
Pretty nice”
Cheap, good location, nice staff
Good location, nice staff. The room is comfortable. The bathroom is small but acceptable, probably can't take a bath but a quick shower is enough.
Reviewed March 17, 2014
7.7
Very good
CM from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2014
Good.”
Nice staff. Quiet surrounding.
Reviewed February 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Megan from United States
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2014
Clean, comfortable and in a good location”
It was easy to walk to public transit, there were many restaurants near by, and the front desk staff were friendly.
I would recommend the econo inn. I had a single room for three nights, and the room was pretty big and clean. The bathroom was small, but that is to be expected in a large city in Asia. It is easy to walk to the Gion neighborhood where there are many restaurants, and there are several buses that run near the hotel. You can also walk to Kyoto train station in about 15 minutes. The only negative thing I have to say is that it was easy to hear the neighbors.
Reviewed February 07, 2014
7.7
Very good
PREETI from India
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2014
Comfort for less”
Good location, friendly staff and free internet
Close to main train station and easily reachable with in 5 mins bus ride. The same bus also takes you to other major sights in the city. Friendly staff. Free tea - coffee in the lobby. However no breakfast. But one can dine in at the Thai restaurant adjacent to the hotel or pick something cheap from the near-by shop 'Familymart'
Reviewed January 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Bryan from Philippines
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in January, 2014
I will be back.”
Great value for money, big rooms, very warm and attentive staff.
Great hotel. The elderly woman in the front desk even gave us cakes. She is so sweet. There are only 5 rooms oer floor, very exclusive.
Reviewed January 24, 2014
5.7
GRAHAM from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2013
Budget hotel. good location, rooms clean.”
location, price
stay was ok. Dont go if you want a full breakfast and luxury surroundings but if you are on a budget then this is fine. reception is ok but its very scruffy on the landings with old mattress stacked up.The doors to the rooms are metal and dirty and you wonder what is on the other side but we were pleasantly surprised. We had a large room for three people but there was only two of us. However talking to other guests they said they were very small. Overall good location good price we would stop there again but would want the larger room again.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
gagan from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2013
good room with balcony, clean, decent bed”
good location + value for money.
good location + value for money. good room with balcony, clean, decent bed. very nice staff, limited english, 7-11 near by. very close to main station/bus
Reviewed November 30, 2013
7.7
Very good
Wong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2013
convenient, worth the price”
convenient, spacious room, good breakfast
Convenient, few stops from Kyoto station and another few stops to central district. Spacious room, clean and comfortable though it's a little old. Friendly staff, with free coffee/tea all day long, the breads provided for breakfast were good! Worth for money.
Reviewed November 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Gertruda from Canada
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2013
Small but clean and comfortabel room”
Clean, big windows that could be opened, AC and heating
The hotel is very nice, it is small and simple but the stuff was very freiendly and helpfull. Every day we had free coffee and tea and in the mornings free bread buns (with vanilla etc.) The room was not too big but bigger then all other rooms we stayed in in Japan. It was clean, we had a little balcony and could open the door to air out. We had an AC and it could be set to heat. The toilet was nice but very very small. That was not too bad though.
Reviewed November 04, 2013
6.7
Good
Erika from United States
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2013
Value for Money”
Economical, location, friendly staff
It was comfortable and convenient, attentive staff and good location.
Reviewed October 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kelly from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2013
cozy ”
It is just like its name: econo , travelers like us need a comfortable bed and a private shower room. They do provide it. People are very friendly and try their best to make us feel like home.
People work in the Econo Inn are very friendly. During out stay, they always make us feel comfortable. The location is near the shopping district, and it is very convenient to get to those famous spots, no matter by bus, subway or on foot.
Reviewed July 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Wai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2013
Good for staying for a few days”
Bike rental, clean and tidy room, relatively low price
A bit far away from Kyoto station (about 15 mins walk), better go from 清水五条 or 五条 station, or take a bus. Wifi is only available at lobby and the connection occasionally fails. Room is clean, tidy and spacious, with a little balcony. There is no room cleaning service, but still acceptable if stay for a few days. The best thing about this hotel is that you can rent a bike for 500yen. As the tourist spots in Kyoto are scattered, cycling become the most convenient and economic way to travel around Kyoto.
Reviewed July 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
su from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2013
ride a bicycle in kyoto is very conience”
good location and good service even their english is not profession but good passion.
there is a breakfast and first floor provide free wife, if you book hotel, maybe you can choice second floor.
Reviewed June 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Reika from Singapore
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2013
Nice homely stay”
very friendly staff, quite a good location, free flow drinks
The staffs were very warm and welcoming. The stay was very nice. The lobby had wifi and free flow coffee and green tea. No daily cleaning. The room was ok, but the tv was very old, so i had problems watching it properly. The inn was quite a distance from Kyoto Station actually. All in all, it was a good budget place. Long but Walkable to a few major attractions.
Reviewed June 18, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Mun from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2013
Worth staying”
Staff, location & cleanliness
Good, i like this place because its very cozy & staffs r very friendly.
Reviewed June 02, 2013
7.3
Very good
Daniel from Sweden
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2013
Value for money”
Good location, decent rooms and nice staff
It was a quite small hotel but pretty nice. It served its purpose. Staff spoke very little English and unfortunately my reservation was not finished when we arrived. Had to wait for 15 min to check in with a taxi waiting outside.. Apart from that, nice and clean.
Reviewed May 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
Hsiu-Hui from Taiwan
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Cheap and convenient”
It is flößend
Reviewed April 28, 2013
7.0
Very good
erlene from Philippines
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2013
Stay was ok, rooms are clean staff are freindly”
Freindly Staff, cheap & clean
Reviewed April 20, 2013
5.7
Chui from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Budget hotel with medium size room”
Price is cheap, room is quite big (can even open 2 big suitcase)
This was the third time I stayed in this hotel, I will only choose this if I can't find any other budget hotel during the peak season. The old lady reception is very friendly and nice, she is very helpful and can speak English. Room is rather big and clean, but the bed is quite hard so I can't sleep well during our stay. One bad thing that I don't like is the cleaning staff was trying to open our door with their key. We felt angry as he even didn't knock the door before he enter. We felt "lucky" that we already lock the door. They should checked carefully if room guest are check out or not. They cannot open our door even we have already locked. (this was happened before on the same staff 4 years ago, I was sick and stay in room that time, the same staff opened the door and enter the room with his key, he didn't explain the reason just keep saying sorry. I will not consider this hotel any more!
Reviewed April 20, 2013
7.7
Very good
Sarah from Malaysia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2013
Safe, Convenience and Comfortable.”
Safe, Convenience and Comfortable.
Safe, Convenience and Comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi at the lobby is fast. Always have warm tea and coffee available.
Reviewed April 12, 2013
6.3
Good
Marc from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2013
Cheap stay in Kyoto”
Bicycle hire available at hotel
Our stay at the Econo Inn was okay - it was one of the cheapest hotels we could find in Kyoto without going capsule, and for the price it was fine. Your room will only be cleaned once a week which is fine if you have a short stay, and towels are also changed once a week. You can pay 100 JPY to have your towel changed if you wish. It's about a twenty minute walk from Kyoto centre, but it very easy to locate. There is wifi/internet in the lobby which is good. There is also a vending machine for drinks. The best thing about the hotel was the bicycle rental for 500 JPY per day. We would definitely recommend seeing Kyoto by bike as it's much easier to get around.
Reviewed April 11, 2013
6.7
Good
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2013
Good value for a clean and comfortable room”
Cheap, Clean, Decent Location
Very good value. I couldn't imagine finding anything nicer for the price I paid (\]Book early to get a good price. The place is clean, has a nice common room/dining room. They offer tea/coffee and bread in the morning for free and have free high speed internet in the common room. Bed was a little hard, the comforter a little short (I'm 6'2"), and the shower a bit small, but otherwise very comfortable for one person.
Reviewed March 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
SANTIAGO from Argentina
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2017
Buen Hotel!”
Habitacion amplia para ser japón, baño chico. El resto perfecto
Reviewed April 16, 2017
8.0
Excellent
mathieu from Canada
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2013
Hôtel très bien”
personnel gentil, chambre grande, bien situé
Pas d'internet dans la chambre, il faut aller dans le lobby. Tout était ok, le personnel est sympa
Reviewed June 23, 2013
7.0
Very good
mathieu from Canada
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2013
Hôtel très bien”
Personnel sympa, chambre bien, bien situé
Internet dans le lobby seulement, tapis un peu bizarre, mais sinon c'est bien, car le personnel est serviable. On est près de tout. En gros, on a aimé notre séjour.
Reviewed June 23, 2013
7.2
Very good
Simon from Germany
Group
Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2017
Very good”
Generell veraltete Zimmer.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
7.7
Very good
Michael from Austria
Solo traveler
Single economy non-smoking room
Stayed 16 nights in September, 2015
Econo Inn Kyoto Bewertung”
Lage, Preis/Leistung, Personal
Reviewed October 16, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Benjamin from Germany
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2015
perfect”
fr
Reviewed March 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Mirko from Italy
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2013
raccomando assolutamente questo hotel!”
cordialità, stanze grandi, comfort.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
6.7
Good
Mijndert from Netherlands
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2013
redelijke prijs- kwaliteit; vriendelijk personeel”
vrij koffie en thee; vriendlijk personeel
voldoende voor budgethotel. Vriendelijk en hulpvaardig personeel.
Reviewed April 26, 2013
7.6
Very good
inoue from Japan
Solo traveler
Single economy non-smoking room
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2018
立地場所が最高”
便利な場所にありますよ。京都駅、三条河原町、五条坂などに歩いて行けます。
Reviewed June 09, 2018