Book Now: Fujiya Hotel

Excellent
From 271 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (271)
8.3
Excellent
From 271 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.9
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.9
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Double
Deluxe Twin
Standard Twin
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 217 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Carol from United States
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Wonderful hotel with an amazing history and even better location”
We visited here 10 years ago and always wanted to return. It didn't disappoint - was even better then we remembered.. The rooms are a bit dated but the hotel and grounds are stunning. The staff were gracious and helpful even though we spoke little Japanese. Overall a great experience and we will return.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
5.2
Raymond from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Great hotel with great history. However, for the price charged the rooms need renovations.”
Beds are old and uncomfortable. Rooms need to be nicer and renovated given the price being charged.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kieran from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2017
Beautiful”
A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was a good size and the facilities were excellent (I'd particularly recommend the public Japanese baths). Overall a truly superb experience!
Reviewed April 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
Michael from Australia
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2017
Nostalgic classic”
Great historic hotel well situated in the Hakone area. Easy access by bus and/or train to all the tourist hotspots. Rooms surprisingly large which is unusual for Japanese hotels. Recommend the Japanese breakfast.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
albert from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Exceptional”
The French restaurant is simply beautiful... from architecture to the utensils used
Reviewed April 01, 2017
7.2
Very good
Pingshun from China
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Public onsen too small”
Japanese breakfast excellent
Reviewed December 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
minesh from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Nice stay”
Nice old world charm. Could use some refurbishing.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Carol from United States
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
One of the highlights of my trip!”
Stayed 2 nights at the Fujiya and it was wonderful. Yes, it is a bit worn, but oh what charm! We were fortunate to stay in the old main building of the hotel. We had a very lovely, large--huge by Japan's modern hotel standards--room with a view of the back garden. We booked 3 months ahead for the foliage season and am I glad! The place was fully booked. The hot water in the hotel draws from a hot spring, so you can bathe in a luxurious old tub in your room! I've seen some mixed reviews and can't speak to the quality of rooms in the newer sections, but if you enjoy the old world charm of a European style colonial hotel, this is it!
Reviewed November 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Erik from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Awesome, but needs some love and investment”
Hotel needs renevation in some areas. Seemed old and dated
Reviewed November 17, 2016
4.0
Anita from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Disappointing”
Recommend you do the tour as building in great but stay and eat else where. Needs cleaning and upgrade in bathroom. Never thought I would say this about Japanese hotel
Reviewed November 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Anna from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Absolutely magical”
My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate my birthday. The hotels architecture is amazing- the gardens beautiful, and the room was vintage classic. The food at Fujiya hotel was excellent and the hotel staff extremely polite and helpful. We LOVED our stay here!!
Reviewed October 26, 2016
6.8
Good
Liat from Israel
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Cool hotel structure, dead at night though ”
Hotel structure is beautiful and the staff is very nice. Kind of dead at night and the inside restaurant are too expensive.
Reviewed October 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Corbette from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Wonderful getaway”
Very nice hotel with a beautiful gardens and excellent breakfast.
Reviewed October 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
ZHENG from China
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
nice hotel”
good location. the buildings stand out for the traditional style. staff are very nice and helpful.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Howard from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2016
Very grand old style hotel”
Large well kept gardens; swimming pool and onsen a bit small but good as an extra facility. Trains and buses are convenient with nearby shops and cafes. Would recommend for old fashioned grandeur.
Reviewed October 09, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Alex from Australia
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in September, 2016
The staff is very kind”
This is a historic place, it had very large rooms and beautiful garden. It's a little bit old for the facilities within the room. The staff is extremely kind.
Reviewed September 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Mazhar from United States
Group
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2016
Beautiful property.”
The location, and the look and feel of Fujiya Hotel was fantastic. The staff, and the rooms were perfect.
Reviewed July 31, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
emmanuel from France
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
A nice stay”
But maybe due to very interesting price we were in a room on the back of newest building this facing trees and train
Reviewed July 27, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ken from United States
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2016
Get old world classic charm for a good price.”
This is a good Old Hotel. Don't stay here if you want a new, High Tech, Brand New Hotel. You won't get it here. The hotel started in 1878. The hotel is not cutting edge in everything that is painted and brand new. As anything that is over 100 year there are flaws.If you want to classic place then stay here. It would cost the hotel Millions in order to bring it to it's original standards. But they are in competition with other hotels charging less. So they have to keep their cost down and have to compete .So if you want a good price and a classic place; then stay here. High ceiling, big baths, OLD charm. The garden is beautiful. The Staff have the proper attire and charm. The breakfast are excellent. White table clothes, classic silver serving. If this hotel was perfect then expect to pay $1000 a night. So it is a bargain for what you get. Do you think John Lennon would stay at a low class hotel. For real seasoned traveler you will love it; I took my 18 year old nephew and he loved and appreciate the quality. He is a traveler in training. I'm 63 and stay about 90 days a year in hotels so I kind of know what is out there of hotel quality.
Reviewed July 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
Robin from United States
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Good for booking with Agoda”
The Fujiya hotel is a beautiful historic place to stay in the Hakone area. However, when booking with Agoda, we received one of the back rooms near the train. The room was a nice size and clean. It was sufficient.
Reviewed July 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tara from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2016
Fujiya”
Great location, awesome historical hotel, indoor pool a winner. Loved it
Reviewed July 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Grand old beauty!”
We stayed at the Flower Palace in a huge and lovely older historic room, but with modern amenities. The mountain view was really nice. This is building is also very well placed in the Fujiya Hotel complex. Upgraded from the Forest building for only ¥3200 and glad we did. Wonderful stay in a beautiful grand hotel!
Reviewed June 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Kian from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Dinner early”
Location is so so and have dinner early or else everything closed and pay hefty price for dinner at hotel
Reviewed June 13, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Kee from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2016
OK Location, Good Service”
Location is ok. Right in front of Bus Station "Hotel Mae". Few mins walk uphill to train station. Service is excellent, staffs has been helpful and always with smile. The hotel itself however is bit wear off. But still enjoying it as the hotel itself is a history.
Reviewed May 23, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
shani from Israel
Family with young children
Standard Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
gg”
sss
Reviewed May 22, 2016
7.2
Very good
Ned from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
Disappointing”
food and wine horribly over-priced,thought we were staying in a historic hotel but. the Forest Lodge felt like 60's motel
Reviewed May 02, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
CHAN from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Large room with well-equipped bathroom. Nice environment. ”
Good
Reviewed April 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Justin from United States
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Beautiful hotel”
My fiance and I recent stayed at the Fujiya Hotel. The staff was incredibly polite, attentive, friendly, and helpful throughout our stay. The resort is beautiful and the rooms are great.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
SIR from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
HIstorical hotel, Good staff & location”
This is a very old hotel full of historical but maintenance very well. Staff can speak very well english and introduce us the places inside the hotel (example : garden, dining room, museum and public bath) when we on the way walk from lobby to our room. The room they provided to us very large and face to a nice mountain. Just need to notice is a short distance walk to train station a bit slanting, if you bring along with parent maybe hard for them. Or you can take public buses at bus stop outside the hotel.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
7.6
Very good
JUIYI from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
nice!!!”
nice
Reviewed April 10, 2016
7.6
Very good
Lori from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Historic Fujiya Hotel needs repair”
The Fujiya Hotel is an historic hotel that needs some repair. It has a museum that features old artifacts and photos. The room we had was spacious and quiet. The prices for meals is very high so we asked a taxi driver to take us to a yakiniku (grilled meat) restaurant not far from the Venetian Glass museum. It was really good!
Reviewed April 06, 2016
7.6
Very good
ben from Australia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in February, 2016
Stay”
Was not as pictures in photos
Reviewed February 26, 2016
7.7
Very good
Sok from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
clean”
clean, comfortable, good condition
Reviewed January 21, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Sok from Hong Kong
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
good environment”
large room, clean and good environment
Reviewed January 21, 2016
7.3
Very good
Detlef from Germany
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2015
Nice old Hotel needing a renovation”
charme, breakfast, location
Nice area to be. Impressive musea and nice setting. Charming old Hotel
Reviewed January 11, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
James from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Good base of operations”
Location, Service was excellent, Friendly staff
Reviewed November 02, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Ravi from India
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2015
Fujiya Stay”
The location, heritage property preserved and accomodation
Very enjoyable and comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful. Dining menu was limited I felt. Beautiful property and location.
Reviewed October 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Nick from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Quirky Mountain hotel”
Helpful staff, beautiful gardens and convenient location to the train station
Although it's an old rather dated hotel it is a rather quirky stay. My wife loved it as the staff are dressed like something out of the Grand Budapest Hotel movie. Because the hotel is old with lots of history this isn't a modern hotel; it was a comfortable clean stay. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel as there is a cover charge at the bar that I wasn't prepared to pay but all in all a pleasant stay.
Reviewed October 20, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wolf-Dieter from Austria
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2015
an old gem”
enchanting, sofisticated, dreamy
fantatstic
Reviewed October 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
steven from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2015
historical hotel with very nice staff”
Staff, room, history
It was great to stay at this roomie hotel. Gora has more convenient location but there are two very nice restaurants around Fujiya hotel, highly recommended.
Reviewed September 22, 2015
6.7
Good
anne-marie from France
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
Very good looking hotel but old comfort and below ”
the architecture, the view, its history
No breakfast serve after 10:00. We had to pay for it even though we could not take on because we got at the restaurant at 10:10. Just not a good experience
Reviewed May 04, 2015
7.7
Very good
Helen from Australia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
Majestic”
Japanese restaurant, staff friendliness and helpfulness and hotel history
A relaxing time after 2 weeks of extensive travel, well positioned to take advantage of train, cable car and rope way activities, loved the old world charm. Food prices high relative to accommodation
Reviewed April 13, 2015
6.3
Good
Emily from United States
Family with young children
Double
Stayed 1 night in March, 2015
bring your own pillow!”
the exterior architecture, location, history of the hotel
this was our second time staying at the Fujiya, and will probably be our last. the age and history of the hotel are what gives it so much charm. however, I feel that those things can be maintained without sacrificing basic upkeep. the paint was chipping all over our bathroom, the tub was grimy, and there was a bug in our bed. and the pillows are soooo hard! seriously, if you are going to stay here, bring your own pillow!
Reviewed March 21, 2015
6.3
Good
Gillian from Australia
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2015
Good location, friendly staff”
Location, staff, history
We were disappointed with our room. The furniture was very dated and lots of peeling paint on the windows and doors. The bathroom was old and it was difficult getting hot water. I feel we were put in this room as we had booked through a discount site like yourselves. Having said that we booked 5 other hotels through a competitor and had superb rooms at very reasonable cost. Maybe you need to negotiate
Reviewed March 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Eddy from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Fujiya, Hotel will great traditional achictecture ”
Architecture style, staffs and the hot spring water
Pleasant experience.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
han from China
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2014
amazing stay”
5 mins walk from rail station; nice staffs. Over 100 years history.
Reviewed October 31, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Osanna from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2014
review”
atmospheric, friendly, traditional
Reviewed October 27, 2014
6.0
Attakrit from Thailand
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
It's s novelty hotel”
The history, access to transportation, quiet
It's really just a novelty hotel at this point. Remote from where the main attractions are but easily accessed with the local rail system. If you've got an extra day then you should stay here but otherwise stay closer into the city for convenience. Sleepy and quaint town surrounding hotel sleeps at about 8pm.
Reviewed October 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United States
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
Romantic, Traditional, easy for English Speakers!”
English Speaking, Romantic, easy access from train
The hotel was easy to get to from the train, about a 7 minute walk from the nearest station. It is a really romantic hotel, full of history, red carpets, nice cozy bars, etc... Dinner at the nice hotel restaurant was $115 dollars per person, but they have some cheaper options that aren't really that romantic. I got the 10 course $115 meal and it was very good and served in a traditional tatami mat restaurant and everything. I'd reccomend it if you are adventurous with your appetite, lots of unique Japanese foods that some Westerners may not enjoy but I certainly did!
Reviewed May 27, 2014
3.0
frida from Israel
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
We haven't enjoy this hotel.”
Honestly- Nothing ! It was really bad hotel for us
As you can see, we didt't like this hotel at all & certainly not reccomend it to anyone. It was difficult to arrive this hotel from the train. The hotel itself was very old The meals wasn't good.
Reviewed May 23, 2014