Book Now: Hakone Suimeisou Hotel

Excellent
From 959 reviewsSee what guests said
8.8
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (962)Booking.com Reviews (1049)
8.8
Excellent
From 962 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.7
Location9.5
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service9.0
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Japanese Style Room
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Japanese Western Style with Open-Air Bath
Japanese Western Style Room for 4 People with Open-Air Bath
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 715 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Kit from United States
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
Perfect in everything ”
Location perfect, room perfect, facilities perfect, dining perfect, staff perfect. An A+ resort!!
Reviewed November 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
WENG from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
good location & well maintained hotel”
Just 5 minutes from the Hakone Yumoto station. Dinner & Breakfast not as expected. Satisfaction rate of 65% Food already cold when brought to the room.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kristina from Australia
Family with young children
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
Private dining and Onsen ”
Really enjoyed the whole experience of private dining room with delicious Japanese food and also Onsen in the room. Slept so well.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Nian from Singapore
Group
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
Great”
Friendly and helpful staff! The hot spring facilities in the hotel are clean, and well maintained.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
bo from China
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
valuable”
Breakfast and dinner are great. Private hot springs are great. Although expensive, it's absolutely good value for money, and the service is very good.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Kedwadee from Thailand
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
Great location & nice open air onsen bath”
The location is super easily to walk from Yumoto train station that you can rent the Yukata in the cheap price. Near the hotel has a cute souvenir oil paper shop :) Open Air room with the river view is beautiful. Futon is comfy but there is the little green light from the machine on that annoy a bit when u want a deep sleep! Dinner and breakfast are ok if you want new experience :) you can also do public onsen which so beautiful on the 6th floor with seperate time for men and female.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
VIVIAN from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
Nice & convenient ”
It’s located just opposite to Hakone-Yumoto station, within 5 mins walk, no problem even with big luggage. Staffs are very friendly & helpful. The public & the open-air onsen are very nice. Dinner is delicious & each dish are presented very beautifully. However, it’s truly too huge for one person. Breakfast is equally awesome.
Reviewed November 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Nattha from Australia
Family with teens
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
Great Location”
Our room had a nice view facing the river side. Beautiful cleaned room and the food was good also. Really good location as it was near Yumato-Hakone Station.
Reviewed October 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Li from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Lovely ambience”
The kaiseki dinner we had was so good! and we thoroughly enjoyed the private onsen tub right outside the balcony in our room.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Chau from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
Amazing Onsen”
Great location - extremely near Hakone station. Dinner was prepared with great sophistication. There are a range of onsen to choose from.
Reviewed October 09, 2017
6.0
Nattakarn from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in September, 2017
Hotel is too old”
The hotel is too old., but the onsen is good. The price is not reasonable.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jason from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in September, 2017
Great location!”
Hotel is right beside the train station! Very convenient! Room was awesome and onsen was splendid. Will definitely visit again!
Reviewed September 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
meien from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Love it!”
If you are someone shy and need a personal onsen, this is the excellent choice! Love the service and everything. Super recommend.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chan from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath - Breakfast + Dinner Included
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
My 2nd visit”
It is the 2nd visit of this hotel. There are actually many similar kinds of hotel ard and I pick this one again because of the convenient and walkable location. The staff is very friendly and polite. My family and I stayed in a room with an open-air bath. The room was fantastic. We enjoyed the open-air bath the most. I highly recommended this to you all.
Reviewed August 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
MOU from China
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
Japanese style room”
We ordered the Japanese style room and the price was 254$. The hotel is near 箱根汤本station, about 5 minutes walk. The staff are nice grandma and grandpa, they can speak english well. The room have a wonderful outdoor bathtub, and I can see landscapes when I was in the bath~enjoys openair hot spring BTW, the breakfast fish smalls too fishy, it's too bad~ Anyway, recommend!
Reviewed August 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Wing from United States
Group
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
Good first time experience”
We arrived prior to check in so they held our luggage and put in the room when it became available. We booked traditional tatami room, it was very spacious, and had all the usual hotel amenities. Dinner and breakfast was served in traditional Japanese cuisine, some tastes not accustomed to but appreciate that they had provided it. There was a lot of food and it was served in-room so the room smells like food. The service was great, put the food and beds together, had clear instructions regarding bath house, amenities, check in and check out, cleaned up and taught us how to wear kimono. Cleanliness could be better. I would recommend checking the sleeping mats, I did find one bug so I asked for additional sheets and didn't get bitten. The public bath is small but we didn't find any other guests when we used it. The hotel is really close to the station and beautiful river for nice hike/nature gazing. Overall, great first time ryokan experience.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Nhi from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Excellent”
great location ,very close to subway ,staffs are little old cant talk much English but very nice and friendly specially the house keeping lady was very nice with beautiful skin at her age .Dinner and breakfast was good .the private air bath was amazing .good stay I will stay here again next time
Reviewed July 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Hei from Hong Kong
Group
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
Very good ”
The location is near the station, and the environment is soothing
Reviewed June 09, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Chotika from Thailand
Group
Standard Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
Great location, nice staff and good private onsen”
If you need to have traditional dinner in room pls book directly with hotel in advance at least 3-5 day.
Reviewed June 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
SUH from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Exceptional”
Convenience cos it just few steps from station. Well communication cos staff can speak and understand english
Reviewed June 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Suk from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Great Hotel”
Good location, terrific view, quiet ambiance..
Reviewed June 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Yue from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Great ryokan experience”
We booked for half boarding at this hotel. Room was big, spacious and facing the river. Hotel staffs from front desk to the lady who setup our dinner and breakfast in room are warm and attentive. Overall we enjoyed our stay there especially the exquisite in-room dining and onsen experience.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Chou from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Japanese Style room with open air bath”
Love the room with the open air bath. We can have the privacy of not having to use the public bath / save the hassle to book for the private bath. The location is good - near to the station, easy access to the tourist attractions for hakone.
Reviewed April 19, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Hoe from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Exceptional”
Staff are very nice and very helpful. Location excellent
Reviewed April 02, 2017
6.0
Bervyn from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed March 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ifan from Indonesia
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Thank You”
Hakone Suimesou for me is the best in my trip just now, the location is the best around hakone (in front of train station and close to bus station), even we can go to find restaurant at 10 pm, and seven eleven is also near this hotel. Perfect location combine with their facilities and warm welcome always make me want to come back
Reviewed March 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Janet
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Excellent service and food. ”
Staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Food amazing, hot baths really good, room lovely, and the bed very cosy. Just a few minutes from the station down an alley that backed onto the river , great location.
Reviewed March 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Chin from Singapore
Group
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Good food and comfortable room”
Dinner and breakfast were served in the room, they were good. Room is big and spacious, Onsens are good too! Location wise, its approximately 5mins from Hakone Yumoto station. its in a back lane, but do not have problems finding it.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Dezmond from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
Book the room with private Onsen”
Relaxing in the bathtub filled with hotspring water and the sound of the river flowing just outside of the hotel is bliss~~
Reviewed March 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Koo from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Japanese Style Room for 4 People with Open-Air Spa Bath
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
excellent”
very satisfy
Reviewed February 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
wai from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Good hotel”
The only complaint is the hot spring too small
Reviewed February 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yvonne from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Good location and good service”
We enjoyed the stay very much. The private spring bath was superb. The food was superlicious.
Reviewed January 31, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jessica from Hong Kong
Couple
Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath - Breakfast + Dinner Included
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Good”
The staff are nice
Reviewed January 19, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sathana from Thailand
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Private onsen in Japanese style room and easy access ”
We stayed in Japanese style room with private onsen and breakfast option. We like all aspects of it from room quality, staff service, and private onsen which was great if you don't want to use normal onsen. Hotel is also very short distance from the train station. Price is on the high side but we was there during the peak weekend.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Novita from Indonesia
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Best Ryokan in Hakone”
I tried many ryokan in Japan. This place has the best and friendly and good breakfast and dinner. Location is excellent. Definately will come back !
Reviewed January 14, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Kimberly from China
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Our favourite hotel in Japan”
Definitely come back and stay longer
Reviewed January 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ko from Taiwan
Group
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
cozy room with river view, but the staff served for the dishes are a bit rush for us.”
good location, clean and cozy room. both 2 kind of tea in the room are good.dinner and breakfast were just fine. Staffs are friendly but a bit rush to check if we finish our dishes or not. The private hot spring is also clean and with view, but too cold to take off the clothes at the beginning.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Chatwit from Thailand
Family with young children
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Hakone retreat”
Great locations and facilities. Nice staffs with great services mind.
Reviewed December 23, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Chachawal from Thailand
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Nice onsen hotel”
Very convenience to walk from station. Public Onsen and Private Onsen are excellent.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Hin from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
The private open air onsen bath is great”
The hotel is so convenient that only two minutes walk from Hakone Yumoto station, the staff is so nice and responsive, the private onsen is good and the dinner and breakfast are just so value for the money because it gives you very good experience.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
MEI-LING from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Best Value For Money”
Hotel is very close to station, and bus stops to travel around Hakone. All rooms facing the river, great view and the breakfast is fantastic. Is really value for money.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
YASUSHI from Japan
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Room with bath on balcony”
Private bath with great river view is amazing. Location is very close to the station and bus stops. Meals are no bad.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Heiman from China
Couple
Room with Tatami Area and Open-Air Bath - Breakfast + Dinner Included
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Excellent ”
The staff very nice and professional.
Reviewed December 18, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from Singapore
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
An overall good experience”
Overall an awesome stay in Hakone. Everything was great.. Highly recommended.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yung from Australia
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Nice and convenient”
Good
Reviewed December 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Wonderful Ryokan & Keiseki Experience”
The hotel is conveniently located minutes away from the Hakone-Yumoto Train Station and surrounded by shops selling food and souvenirs with 7-11 located just further up. We booked the Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath and Keiseki dining (breakfast and dinner) - best decision ever! It is a wonderful experience from the room to the food to the bath (both in our room and the public one). 2 nights is still not enough!
Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Samsul from Singapore
Group
Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Great stay at this wonderful traditional hotel”
We stayed at Hakone Suimeiso in early December 2016. It was our second time to Hakone and we had fond memories of our last stay as we had stayed Hakone Yumoto Hotel and we enjoyed it. It is not difficult to find the hotel as it is about 5mins walk from the Hakone-Yumoto Station. The staff are very friendly and welcome you with traditional Japanese hospitality. We stayed at the Japanese-Style Room with Open-Air Bath. The rooms are beautiful with simple zen style decor. However, the tub in the balcony was one of the highlight of the stay. Overlooking the flowing river with waterfall and beautiful autumn leaves you will enjoy a relaxing time listening to the sound of the waterfall. The tub comes with piped hot spring water. If you prefer an outdoor onsen it is available on the top floor of the hotel. Dinner and breakfast was served in the private dining room on the same floor as our room and it was a wonderful spread of Japanese dining which even includes desert. The staff are very friendly and showed great hospitality. While eating your dinner the staff will lay down the futons in your room and while you are having breakfast they will keep them. The hotel is so close to the shops around Hakone-Yumoto station and here you can find souvenirs and many wonderful local delights such as dried plums, Hakone rusk, rice cracker and even a nice cafe to sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee and some cheese cake. You can purchase the Hakone Freepass which covers most of the transportation (train, bus, cable car, cruise) in the Hakone-Odawara area so that you can enjoy exploring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hakone Suimeiso and it has further left a wonderful deep lasting memory of Hakone.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Zhimin from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Great service”
Hotel provides great service with good meals for dinner and breakfast. Onsen was good too. Great customer service
Reviewed December 10, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Siew from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Convenient location”
Pro: It is about 5min walk from the hakone-yumoto station, and there is a row of shops along the way. The room is quite nice with window overlooking the river. Con: The exterior of hotel looks old. It is far from many of the hakone attractions. The dinner and breakfast quality is average. There are 2 onsen. One of them is quite small and there is. no shampoo and soap provided. Have to bath in the other onsen before that.
Reviewed December 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
ong from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style Room
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
Good”
Get in touch with real Japan living here. The food served was so delicious & unique.
Reviewed December 08, 2016