Book Now: Hostel Asakusa Smile

Good
From 186 reviewsSee what guests said
6.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (186)Booking.com Reviews (171)
6.2
Good
From 186 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness5.4
Facilities5.1
Location7.2
Room comfort and quality5.8
Service6.6
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
한국어
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Twin - Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 177 verified guest comments
7.7
Very good
Oriane from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2015
Good enough”
Location. Friendly atmospher. Cheap
We stayed for few nights with my friend to visit Toyko and it was really good. We only stayed for shower and sleep. Even if the entrance is a bar, it's not a bother at all, since we don't hear anything from the room and males it easier to meet other travelers ^^ Recommand for young adults who are gonna spend most of the day outside. It's dormitories afterall
Reviewed November 24, 2015
4.7
Guat from Malaysia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Just cheap”
Near subway, budget stay, easy to locate
Poor maintainence, no shampoo,hand soap, dish washing liquid, run out of toilet paper,
Reviewed November 17, 2015
6.0
soon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2015
great location”
location, food and price
good value for money
Reviewed November 13, 2015
7.3
Very good
Ching-chih from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Good location, good price!”
1.location 2.cheap 3.nice lobby to hang out 4.receptionist is nice and elegant.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
2.7
PEI from China
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
Very bad, a nightmare”
this hotel is the most dirty that i have stayed。very bad!i am very hope that I have not choose this hotel!if I have next time trip,i will never choose this hotel,i am sure!
Reviewed September 16, 2015
5.0
natwarittha from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2015
Just Cheap ”
Location
Well this is the second time i was at asakusa smile the only reason i went back there is the price
Reviewed September 07, 2015
2.7
Sittinut from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in March, 2015
wrost hostel/hotel ever”
hostel asakusa smile
horrible night. it was enough for me. frankly, i did not expect much but, at least, they better let us sleep rather than blowing a speaker up all night long. we want to take a rest!
Reviewed August 08, 2015
5.3
suhyeon from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2015
Dirty..very dirty...cockaroach..”
Easy to find place only
I killed cockroach on my bed. and just killed..and kitchen is only one table..
Reviewed July 21, 2015
8.3
Excellent
ying from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2015
nice. clean. good location ”
clean. location
Yes. If come to Tokyo. Stay again.
Reviewed June 09, 2015
7.7
Very good
Kevin from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2015
First time solo in Japan”
location, price, relatively quiet
Postives: location is really close to a subway stations (two or three?) and a train station. It is also really close to the famous Senso Ji and Kappabashi. Ueno Park is within walking distance, but a little further west. The hostel is next to a big street, so it doesn't go quiet until 22:00 ish (I keep my window open cause it gets hot). The streets also start getting busy around 5:30 and 6:00 in the morning. But I had earbuds some it blocks out the sound. I wouldn't say the staffs are bad, but they give that attitude where, "we've been around for awhile, so we run things certain ways, and if you have questions, help yourself." They won't automatically greet you, but they will be helpful when you ask them question is what I am trying to say. First floor is a bar. For me that's something new, but nothing against it. The only issue I have is that since smoking is allowed on the first floor and the first floor is connected to the stairway, the whole stairway will have smoke smell. Negatives: I have slept on some pretty hard beds. However, as a side sleeper myself, these beds are indeed pretty hard. I am also pretty skinny, so overtime my pelvic bone starts hurting. If you're a back sleeper I think you'll be okay. The door knob for the room I stayed in takes some effort to lock. Sometimes I will spend 15-20 seconds trying to make sure the door is locked. The male shower room have some kind of stench to it, and have some black lint on the corners (not in the shower itself, but the room when you first step in).
Reviewed May 10, 2015
7.0
Very good
Stefanus from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2015
quite good”
reasonable price for backpacker
the bed was creaky as hell, it make a noise when you move or sleep. reasonable price, though
Reviewed March 14, 2015
2.7
Nipoon from Thailand
Family with teens
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March, 2015
Dirty, noisy and horrible”
cheap
The hostel is very dirty. bathroom and toilet is never clean up for ages. No elevator in hostel. it's very noisy at night, since the first floor is a bar. Very careful about staying here.
Reviewed March 10, 2015
2.0
Chia from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2015
just sleep”
people from other country
downstairs pub. People who do not smoke will be mad, because the exhaust smoke is bad upstairs. Allergic asthma friends, we must take medicine to live. Someone else's message is all true. Advantages only bed could put me to sleep quite and cheap.
Reviewed March 09, 2015
6.3
Good
Boyke from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in January, 2015
Staff isn't kind, Dirty Kitchen, poor design”
location, roomates,
not good enough.. there some bad thing about ths hotel
Reviewed February 04, 2015
7.0
Very good
Ismail from Indonesia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2014
great budged hotel”
great location, comfort enough, great staff
Reviewed January 07, 2015
6.3
Good
Ismail from Indonesia
Group
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2014
you get what you pay”
comfort enough, great location, cheap
Reviewed January 07, 2015
7.7
Very good
MD from Bangladesh
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2014
Good hotel ”
Location, price, comfort
Reviewed December 08, 2014
3.7
Venus from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
Cheap Hostel”
Cheap, near Asakusa Station, near Sensoji Temple
There are better hostels with the same price as this Hotel Asakusa Smile. It is located just above the Pub with the same entrance as the hostel. Around midnight, the aisle outside the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor get really suffocating with cigarette smoke. The major let down of this hostel is the poorly maintained toilet and bathroom, really stinky.
Reviewed December 02, 2014
4.3
Satu from Finland
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
For party people”
Location, location, location
Hostel Asakusa Smile didn't give me the best impression. There is a bar next to reception filled with tobacco smoke. The room wasn't cleaned properly and the toilets were really dirty, showers weren't much cleaner. The location is great, since Asakusa station isn't far, and stay for one night is quite cheap, but I had a lot better experience with a Capsule Hotel, not far from Asakusa station either and a better price. Since the Hostel is quite western style, it's suitable for someone who isn't that interested in getting acquaintanced with japanese culture and wants to get to know other travelers.
Reviewed October 06, 2014
7.7
Very good
DIRAKERIT from Thailand
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2014
Good Location”
Near Tokyo Metro and JR line
Good location for you for transportation by train
Reviewed October 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
CheeWoon from Malaysia
Family with teens
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September, 2014
A short pleasant stay. Helpful english speaking st”
Price, Service and Hospitality
A pleasant one. Tx.
Reviewed September 25, 2014
4.7
Midori from Indonesia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September, 2014
Worst hostel I've been to in Japan ”
location, nothing and nothing
I have been to quite a lot of hostels in Japan as I believe you can enjoy a relaxing and friendly atmosphere at the hostels and they are usually clean and cheap (at least all hostels I have been to), but it does not work that way in Asakusa smile. The lobby/ common area/ pub of this hostel was very dark, smoky and shady. The room was alright, nothing special really. The bathroom and toilet smell bad and it looks like they never clean the bathroom. I could not sleep at night because it's too noisy. It was 1 am but people next door are singing, yelling and laughing loudly. The price is affordable, but I didn't get my money's worth with this hostel. I 'd rather pay more and get to sleep peacefully and enjoy the hostel.
Reviewed September 24, 2014
8.0
Excellent
SRAS from Cambodia
Group
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2014
Very reasonable price”
Price, Location, and Room
This hotel is located in very good location especially near Asakusa temple with reasonable price for limited budget.
Reviewed August 27, 2014
7.3
Very good
kamonnan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February, 2014
Good to be here. You should try ”
Close Clean Comfortable
Reviewed August 27, 2014
2.0
ananda from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2014
its so bad ”
nothing good at all
no good
Reviewed August 03, 2014
3.3
CHIA from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2014
Terrible experience! dark moist ”
only 4 bathroom & 2 toilet FOR 109 beds!! Broken Bed, dangerous Dark, very noise, moist: There is a pub on the first floor, Slightly bright in the afternoon The door of our room is broken, very very very noise until 3 AM Our bed was broken!! very dangerous!!! Remember to put the key at the front counter when you go to I forgot!! AND ....LOST my deposit!!
Reviewed June 17, 2014
7.7
Very good
LIANGSHUN from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June, 2014
This hostel is best cheap in agora,But very nice.”
1.International 2.Cleaner 3.Friendly
It's nice. I meet a Japanese people. He is very nice. And there has Chinese staff.
Reviewed June 10, 2014
6.0
KWOK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2014
shopping place, nice people, meal is expensive”
small hotel, budget hotel, room is clean
small hotel, budget hotel, room is clean, price is good
Reviewed May 16, 2014
6.0
ngan from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October, 2013
15mins to metro, not easy to find,hostel with bar”
15mins to metro, not easy to find,hostel with bar
15mins to metro, not easy to find, better go at daytime, i went there at night by taxi, but go to other hotel with same name...hostel with bar, enjoy a drink
Reviewed April 16, 2014
6.0
ngan from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in October, 2013
15mins to metro, not easy to find, hostel with bar”
15mins to metro, not easy to find, hostel with bar
15mins to metro, not easy to find, better go at daytime, i went there at night by taxi, but go to other hotel with same name...hostel with bar, enjoy a drink
Reviewed April 16, 2014
3.0
ananda from Indonesia
Couple
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2014
BAD HOSTEL”
NOTHING, NOTHING, AND NOTHING
not good, really, so noisy, staff not so welcome i think, just a few toilet...
Reviewed April 10, 2014
5.7
Heny from Indonesia
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2014
Small rooms, friendly staffs”
cheap, close to train station, clean
The hostel is near Asakusa station, but the room is so small and the bathrooms are even smaller. Staffs are friendly, and the hotel price is cheap. There's nothing around, i can't find any mini market but you can walk to Matsuya, near station, about 10mins
Reviewed March 25, 2014
7.0
Very good
David from Colombia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in March, 2014
Nothing spectacular but good value for money”
Location. Price. Free wifi
Reviewed March 19, 2014
5.7
NOOR from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2014
Value for money”
Location, price, fast wifi
The hostel is suitable for backpacker stay. It is located near to most of the attractions. Fast internet wi in the room and bar.
Reviewed February 28, 2014
6.7
Good
Zainal from Fiji
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in February, 2014
Good”
Cheap Price..Freindly staff.....Great bar
Reviewed February 18, 2014
7.0
Very good
Billy from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Budget, good enough to stay in, but is kinda noisy”
Cheap, near subway station, staffs are multilingual
It is a relatively cheap accommodation in Tokyo and it is within 5 mins walk from subway station. It is within walkable distance to Kaminarimon and sennoji. It is around 30 minutes from Shibuya. Staffs are multilingual. They can speak English, Japanese and mandarin. However, they may not be as warm as the staffs u will expect in other youth hostels. She/he will only talk to u when he/she is talked to and won't self- initiate conversation with you. They have a mini room to lock your huge luggage at night if you are staying in a dorm and the room will be locked after 9 or 10pm. I wasn't aware of this and as a result, I couldn't get my soap and toothbrush from my suitcase. Then, regarding the cleanliness of the place, the lobby area is quite messy. It will be fine if you don't stay at the lobby for long. However, as the hotel has a bar, it can get quite noisy at night.
Reviewed January 24, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Barry from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2014
Cozy and comfortable!”
Quiet, clean, convenient location
Wonderful in every way possible. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Fast Internet, hot showers, kitchen area on 4th floor. Perfect location in Oshiage, near Sky Tree and Asakusa.
Reviewed January 23, 2014
6.0
Sidharth from India
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2013
ok ok”
near vicinity, walkable and helpful staff
good. worth the money .. staff was helpful and communicating in english was not a problem
Reviewed January 07, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Barry from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December, 2013
A friendly and clean hostel near Sky Tree!”
Great location, clean and cozy, friendly staff
Ideally located in Oshiage, this hostel is not only closest to Sky Tree, but in a quiet neighborhood a short 15 minute walk to Sky Tree and 5 minutes to Asakusa. Friendly staff, clean bunkrooms, bathrooms and common areas. Friendly pub on main floor. Fast wi-fi on every floor. A great hostel in a great spot!
Reviewed December 28, 2013
6.0
Scott from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2013
Really cheap hostel, not bad but bugs kinda gross.”
Price, staff, price
Stay was fine, exceptional price especially for Tokyo. Only concern was there were a couple of gross brown bugs in our room. Front desk had bug spray and my buddies didn't seem to care at all but I guess I'm a bit more bugged by that kinda thing. Stay was in August so that may not be a problem anymore. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good area to meet fellow travelers. Great restaurant just down the street and close to Sky Tower.
Reviewed December 26, 2013
6.7
Good
Wasukan from Thailand
Group
Stayed 5 nights in December, 2013
Easy for transport, food, shoping and etc. ”
Staff good english skill and friendly
This is a rael backpacker hostel. You can make many friend. Staff team good english skill and friendly. Lobby is a smokeing area. I don't like it. Good internet access.
Reviewed December 13, 2013
5.3
Chun from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November, 2013
It is far from station”
It is cheap, convenient and comfortable
Reviewed November 25, 2013
7.7
Very good
CHAN from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2012
it is closed to some spots. with walking distance.”
the host is very nice!
Reviewed October 31, 2013
6.7
Good
Pei from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2013
Good value hostel ”
Close to major attractions around Asakusa, easy access from metro, friendly staff
Overall my stay here was satisfactory for the price, though it could be cleaner (I saw cockroaches on the kitchen stovetop). The dormitory room was big enough to fit my big luggage and still have some space to walk around. Best thing would be the windows in the room. Remember to bring your own shampoo and body soap as they do not provide it.
Reviewed October 31, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Chaowalit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2013
Moderate , Valued For Money”
Loaction , Services , Comfortable
Reviewed October 29, 2013
5.3
Shoko from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2013
Dirty”
Cheap, Close to Station and International
I found some insects in my room and rest room. I had no hair dryer and shower room is tiny. The price is appropriate I think. Night Japanese staff was very kind but morning staff wasn't.
Reviewed October 02, 2013
4.0
Gabriela from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2013
if u need to”
bedcover, public bath is close
they dont have 24h check in, staff speaks bad english, the rooms are polluted by the people inside, no sofas, no food served, no internet, one computer which some guest use for hours
Reviewed April 25, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Rafal from Poland
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2013
nice bacpakers friendly place in good price”
location, people, helpful staff
Reviewed April 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
ADAM from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in March, 2013
Great value accomodation ”
Traditional location, value for money & friendly informative staff
We got a twin bunk bed room for four nights and had a comfortable stay for excellent value for money. Asakusa is a great place to base yourself with easy transport links. The staff spoke good English and helped plan our stay. The room was very, very basic with no furnishings.
Reviewed April 12, 2013
6.0
Christopher from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in January, 2013
great location, annoying guests, very loud”
ok location way too loud
this place was in an ok location but it was way too loud.
Reviewed January 23, 2013