Book Now: Hotel Alten

Excellent
From 486 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (486)Booking.com Reviews (254)
8.4
Excellent
From 486 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.8
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.9
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Superior Room
Superior Family
Deluxe Family
Deluxe Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 336 verified guest comments
7.2
Very good
Norman from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Family
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2017
5 mins walk to train station”
The hotel is near to the train station and also near to the Kuronmon Seafood market. However, the area is not so suitable for young children as you there are a lot of M18 shops nearby.
Reviewed December 07, 2017
7.6
Very good
Elizabeth from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2017
A good place near Dotonbori ”
Hard to find but once found, fun began
Reviewed December 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Katemanee from Thailand
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in November, 2017
The room very large ”
The room very large but the design looks strangely , good location and staff.
Reviewed December 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
paul from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
an experience you should definitely have”
when I booked this hotel I didn't realise it was a love hotel but do not let the stigma of that put you off. it's a somewhat surreal experience. I was greeted by a very nice host with tea and cake, she then showed me to the enormous room equipped with TV, kareoke setup and even a slot machine as well as a very large bathroom with a TV and jaccuzi, what madman wouldn't want a private jaccuzi after a day trekking around the madness of shinsaibashi. it was a bizzare yet incredibly pleasant experience that I cannot recommend highly enough
Reviewed November 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Wen from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2017
location is very good~ ”
just at the middle of koromon market and dotonbori! very convinience.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Trung from Vietnam
Group
Deluxe Family
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
Good location, friendly staff”
We spent 1 night at Alten hotel. Old style but good location and friendly staffs. In general, it's recommended.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Gavin from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2017
Friendly and welcoming on the edge of Osaka's fun districts ”
From the moment I arrived until I left I was made to feel welcome at this hotel, with staff who went out of their way to ensure that I enjoyed my stay. The hotel itself is exceptionally well-located within an easy walk of the famous Dotonbori Street on one side and Kuro-mon market on another. It's also a non-challenging stroll from Namba Nankai Station. The rooms are large, especially by Japan standards and are quire well appointed. My room had a large bathroom with a spa bath. The one downside was that there was no natural light in the room - but it was quiet and I felt secure the while time I was there. While there was no restaurant, there was the option to order food via the reception desk. But there is no shortage of restaurants within an easy walk. All in all, a great value small hotel well worth a look.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Yen-Min from Taiwan
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2017
Good location and value of price ”
Very close to subway and shopping area. Huge room! Really surprised. Price is reasonable and it also has two foot massage machines! Nice staff! The only thing to complain is that the smell of the corridor is a bit unpleasant...maybe too humid?!
Reviewed October 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Adrian from Switzerland
Family with teens
Deluxe Family
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2017
Basic hotel in excellent location with huge family rooms”
Huge family room with two super king beds, sofa set and ample space for 4 large suitcases, large shower/bathroom, separate toilet. Decor is from the 70th or 80th but the room was kept in a very clean condition. The room was very quiet at night (despite of some or all rooms having Karaoke sets); we did not hear any noises from other rooms and just slight noises from the outside. A small grocery store is located just beside the hotel. The pillows were very hard but we never asked if they would be able to provide softer ones. We would not hesitate staying at this hotel again.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
JAE from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2017
Was not expecting such a friendly staff”
It was my first time in Japan and I actually had a very good time, thanks to the lovely staff. Did not regret getting this place at all.
Reviewed July 07, 2017
3.2
Chen from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Family
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
It's a convert of a love hotel”
Way too expensive
Reviewed June 19, 2017
6.4
Good
Hyun from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2017
Good”
This hotel is designed for people who needs a room per hour instead of per night...
Reviewed June 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lau from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2017
good view, very nice hotel”
good view, very nice hotel
Reviewed June 05, 2017
7.6
Very good
yew from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2017
Very good”
Value for money,Hotel located nearby subway and beside have most convenience store around.
Reviewed June 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Swanto from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Family
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2017
Exceptional”
nice hotel and good location
Reviewed May 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jeremy from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2017
A very nice hotel!”
It's a very nice hotel, location is perfect, near to Dotonburi Market and Shishabashi Market.. Good for shoppers!
Reviewed May 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Sue from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2017
Great location love motel”
We read the reviews before chosing this place. Since we are a young married couple we didnt mind that it was a love motel. The place was really spacious and clean. There are so many love motels in Dotonbori area with various options this had a jacuzzi bath which was great after a long day. This place is abit dated but it was clean. Very close to Namba, dotonbori and the We read the reviews before chosing this place. Since we are a young married couple we didnt mind that it was a love motel. The place was really spacious and clean. There are so many love motels in Dotonbori area with various options this had a jacuzzi bath which was great after a long day. This place is abit dated but it was clean. Very close to Namba, dotonbori and the market. Price was also reasonable for a spacious room which you dont need to cramp up. The bath and toilet were separated. Price was also reasonable for a spacious room which you dont need to cramp up.
Reviewed May 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
chuli from Taiwan
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2016
Great location ”
The room is very big, and the location is great!
Reviewed April 23, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Malin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2017
Good service, cleanliness, close to subway”
Nearby Numba's night market. Good service and hospitality staffs, clean, near by subway. Checking served with welcome drink and snack, very impressed. Recommended for traveller and happy to return again!!!
Reviewed April 01, 2017
8.8
Excellent
DAEHEE from South Korea
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2017
Nice hotel with huge space”
It was very clean little bit old though. Nice location. Very big room compared to normal Japanese hotel. All the staffs are very kind and helpful.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
4.0
Christine from Japan
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Had to wait over 2 hours to get room even though I booked the hotel . ”
Price from Agoda and receive from hotel is slightly difference .
Reviewed March 21, 2017
6.8
Good
Wei from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
Very good”
The staff were friendly.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
LIU from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2016
nice”
good location
Reviewed January 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Orathai from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed January 12, 2017
7.6
Very good
kittipong from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2016
Big room easy to go to shopping to eat”
Convenient hotel big room and nearly market Kurumon and shinshibashi street
Reviewed December 27, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Lincoln from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Helpful staff, relatively good location ”
Relatively good location close to Shinsaibashi. Only downside being that it's located in a red light district which may not be suitable for family with kids. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Lincoln from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Great staff, great location”
The location is great, close to Sinsaibashi. But in some sort of red light district and might not be best for families.
Reviewed November 21, 2016
4.0
mei from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in November, 2016
Poor tidiness”
We found blood stain on the bed after we checked in. We requested the staff to change the sheets for us, they assume we don't speak Japanese and keep saying that why we requested to change the sheets for a little blood stain. I am really disappointed with the room tidiness. Even it is a love hotel, I don't expect to have blood stain on the bed.
Reviewed November 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Chan from Hong Kong
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2016
Have surprise for the hotel ”
The staff are nice but not good in English. The room is big and the bathroom is huge. Room is tidy and clean. Good bed. The location is really good.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
7.6
Very good
Sui from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Good location, quiet neighborhood.”
This is a love hotel and the room decoration is kind of odd. I suspected that it previously was a karaoke place because the setting looks like it. It even has a dart machine inside the room. If you prefer bigger room, convenient location and not mind to stay in a love hotel, then this one will do
Reviewed October 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Clarisse from France
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2016
Very good stay ^-^”
Soon from Namba station (10 min) and Dotombori street (2 min). The hotel is very clean, spacious room, and in a quiet street. The staff is very friendly.
Reviewed October 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
SHouChe from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2016
Good”
relatively cheap compared to the hotel in some district. If you are non-smoker and can't stand the smell, don't come here. Otherwise, this is a good hotel.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yanny from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2016
Great location.”
5 minute walk to Dotonbori area. Near subway station and Namba walk. Staffs are helpful and friendly. Could not ask for a better service here. Room is huge for 4 of us. Love it and will come back.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
6.8
Good
VICTORIA from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 5 nights in July, 2016
We're aunt and niece so I categorized as solo travelers, we are not a couple (husband and wife). I said Disappointing in Facilities”
because we were already several nights and the console control (for lights, radio, and aircon) at the top of the bed's long table couldn't function efficiently. We were thinking the wirings could be loose already. When we pressed the lights at the toilet, it wouldn't light. At times when we returned, the switch was working after we pressed the same buttons on the console control.. The aircon when we tried to increase the temperature because it was freezing, it couldn't be regulated to a desired temperature. As for the bed, it was so hard on my back considering I have a back problem. Though the hotel offers complimentary toiletries, and available shampoo and conditioner at the bathroom likewise bottled water for guests' use.
Reviewed July 18, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Erik from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2016
OK”
OK
Reviewed July 14, 2016
7.6
Very good
Warangkana from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
Renovated Love Hotel”
Near Subway Station, Shopping Area
Reviewed May 30, 2016
6.0
Ma. from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2016
The location was great but the staff were not so accomplish and the hotel room was ordinary, although clean”
It was an ok place.
Reviewed May 22, 2016
6.4
Good
Melanie from France
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
good stay”
good stay but it is located in a street where there are hotel where you cn rent a room for few hours. Our room had mirrors and karaoke facilities. Interesting decoration. but staff are very friendly and very helpful !
Reviewed May 19, 2016
7.6
Very good
Alfian from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2016
nice place, easy to find and great room ”
nice place, easy to find and great room
Reviewed May 19, 2016
6.0
Mei from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2016
Good location, friendly staffs”
The hotel is very near to the famous attractions of Osaka such as Dotonburi, Kuromon market & Shinsaibashi. Very near to the Kintetsu-Nipponbashi station exit No.7. The room & the bathroom is big. The staffs are friendly also. Will consider to live here next time if bound to Osaka again.
Reviewed May 14, 2016
6.4
Good
Clifford from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in March, 2016
Internet only in lobby of Hotel Alten”
For somewhat expensive cost per night, one would expect internet access in room. Inconvenience of Internet only in lobby area- would be easy & cost effective to provide internet access in rooms upstairs! Staff hardly speaks English although they are very nice & friendly. Weird color schemes (pink sink with green wall tiles, orange hued tiles in toilet room) with retro decorations (juke box, sofa, red & green walls) in bedroom. Shower (not inside tub but taken while standing on tiled floor) and bathtub in separate room. Strangely, no hooks or racks for clothing or towels! Small elevator fits about 4 only. Walking distance to area where u can eat to ur heart's content - crowded & rowdy at night - ramen shops, octopus dumplings, Osaka pancake, etc.
Reviewed May 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Wing from China
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2016
very nice, can communication with staff by English”
good location and big room
Reviewed May 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
FERRY from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2016
Wonderful & amazing stay @ Hotel Alten”
Great location & very strategic. Nice room & friendly staff..
Reviewed May 10, 2016
6.8
Good
Mary from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 6 nights in April, 2016
Perfect location”
Perfect location near dotonbori and other exciting places.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
6.8
Good
Adeline from Singapore
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2016
The group's favorite hotel”
The group didn't like the rooms when checked-in. After staying 3 nights, this hotel became their favorite. The location is good, walking 5-10 mins to Kuromon market/dotonburi/shinsaibashi. Love the big bath room and long bath. Bed is comfortable.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
6.8
Good
Adeline from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2016
Our group's favorite hotel”
We didn't like the rooms when we checked-in. After staying for 3 nights, this hotel became their favorite. The location is good, easy accessible to Kuromon market/Dotonburi/Shinsaibashi, walking within 5-10 minutes. Love the big bath room.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
4.4
Kelly from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Service is not good”
So many love hotel around. The good point is the room is big and not far to to to Kuromon market.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
4.8
Kelly from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
The service is not good ”
The location is not good because so many love hotel around. The good point is not far to go to " Kuromon market" .
Reviewed April 23, 2016
8.0
Excellent
CHERRIELINE from Philippines
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 6 nights in April, 2016
Great”
Nice and good location
Reviewed April 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
Excellent hotel”
Huge room, great facilities, very clean, lovely staff, great location.
Reviewed April 19, 2016