Book Now: Hotel Bougainvillea Akebonobashi

Hotel Bougainvillea Akebonobashi Reviews

Very good
From 456 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
Recommended by 86% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (456)Booking.com Reviews (88)
7.7
Very good
From 456 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities7.1
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service8.2
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
繁體中文 (台灣)
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Single Room A
Small Double Room
Double Room
Twin Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 301 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Mohd from Malaysia
Family with young children
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2017
Great location”
Nearest station is just 2 minutes walk.
Reviewed December 25, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Wira from Indonesia
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2017
Good place to stay”
Cheap, small & convenient
Reviewed December 23, 2017
6.8
Good
Soni from India
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2017
Good”
Nice Clean Room. Staff was supportive, however, language was a bit of a problem. This is walking 3 minutes from A3 exit of Akebonobashi station(S03) which is well connected from Shinjuku station(S01). please make sure that you have Map directions handy as soon as you step out of the metro. Thankfully for me there was no smoking smell in the room. This is also walking for those who are looking to visit SGI facilities & want to stay at an average hotel.
Reviewed December 05, 2017
3.6
Ricky from Singapore
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November, 2017
Quite old hotel”
Room not very bright. Generally looks quite old although there seems to be maintained. Not recommended for smoker as area around hotel is non smoking zone, including hotel itself and do not provide smoking area.
Reviewed November 19, 2017
6.0
AHMAD from Malaysia
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2017
Cosy room with a limited room area”
Quite a distance from main city and major attraction area. Convenient in view of near train station No dinning area for breakfast, meal, etc. Andy from Malaysia
Reviewed November 09, 2017
7.6
Very good
Yoke
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2017
Very good”
It's a nice stay at this hotel. The room size is spacious compared to some of the tokyo hotels at this amount. Just a short walk to Metro station, overall a good experience.
Reviewed November 08, 2017
7.6
Very good
YOUSUF from India
Business traveler
Single Room A
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2017
Nice but isolated ”
Nice hotel and friendly staff but a bit isolated location
Reviewed October 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ronald from United States
Solo traveler
Small Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2017
Okay economy hotel”
A little out of the way but okay economy hotel with great staff
Reviewed October 15, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Evelyn from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2017
Surprised ”
Whilst reading past reviews we were unsure how this hotel was going to turn out, to our surprise the hotel was clean, comfortable, spacious, the staff are extra friendly and try their best to speak English to you. The hotel is situated 200 metres from the subway stop which is 2 stops from Shinjuku main station, and tokyos subways are pretty good, make sure to download the Tokyo metro app. There is a 7/11 shop about 50 metres away and several restaurants. We found the wifi in our room to be decent despite reading some reviews stating they could only get it in the lobby, however we were situated on the 2nd floor. The hotel is nice and quiet, the only negative I have was that the hotel did have a slight cigarette smell, however they do provide air freshener. Overall we were very satisfied and enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed October 06, 2017
6.8
Good
Teoh from Malaysia
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September, 2017
Good”
The room is quite old, some of the wallpaper has come off. The bed is not comfortable to sleep. The staff is very helpful to help us keep our luggage but need to collect on the same day. The location is great, just need less than 5mins walk from the train station.
Reviewed October 01, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Vin from Indonesia
Group
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in August, 2017
Very near Akebonobashi Station Subway (non JR)”
The hotel is very near with akebonobashi station just only around 5 mins walking. There is one seven eleven store only 2 mins walk. You can also drop your luggage there if you are going to other place (e.g. : hakone & mt. fuji, osaka, kyoto) and they will put your luggages in the room while you check-in again. The hotel is not passed by JR train but you can go to the nearest JR Shinjuku station only 180 yen. Overall I am recommend this hotel with great deal price.
Reviewed August 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rachel from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2017
Great Location and Excellent Staff”
The location was a 4 minute walk to the subway and even closer to multiple bus stops. Our staff were great! We dropped bags off early and they put them in our room for us. The room was spacious with everything we needed!
Reviewed August 20, 2017
2.4
Melinda from Australia
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2017
Meh... disappointing ”
Price was cheap but the room was terrible, wall paper peeling from the walls, mattresses and pillows were terrible... told to hail a taxi ourselves as if they called it, it would incur a fee, so was a climb from the quiet side street to the main road in a town we didn't know to try and hail our own taxi with luggage in tow... Just a very run down little hotel that needs a lot of work. Staff were very pleasant on a good note, but so is everyone in Japan!
Reviewed July 14, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Wei from Taiwan
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2015
Nice and clean room.”
Nice and clean room, friendly staff but a bit far away from the station. Still good.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
6.0
Sylvia from Canada
Solo traveler
Single Room A
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Above average”
not a 3 stars or worst 3 stars I ever stayed. very basic condition but close to station. free coffee at reception is good.
Reviewed July 05, 2017
7.2
Very good
Ki from Hong Kong
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in June, 2017
Convenient but poor wifi service”
Close to subway station with a convenient store nearby. Located on a small slope, might need to drag the luggage a bit if it's a big one. Wifi is only available at the lobby. There are only two decks and a sofa at the lobby. It's more like a business hotel.
Reviewed July 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Vincent from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in May, 2017
Friendly staff, great service”
Only thing they need is wifi in the entire building (currently just the lobby has wifi)
Reviewed May 11, 2017
7.6
Very good
Naomi from Canada
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2017
Decent budget hotel near Shinjuku”
While this hotel is nothing fancy, it was clean and well-maintained. Make sure you get a non-smoking room, as these seem to go quickly and the smoking rooms are pretty gross. The facilities are basic but there's a bathtub and shower in the en suite bathroom. Everything was clean. The staff speak basic English and are helpful. And it's about a 20 minute walk to the heart of Shinjuku and Nichome.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
8.0
Excellent
SWAN from Malaysia
Group
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Good location”
Near by railway station, friendly staff, clean room
Reviewed April 24, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Arif from Turkey
Solo traveler
Small Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2017
Nice”
staff friendly, location good! Room is ok
Reviewed April 17, 2017
6.0
wong from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in March, 2017
Above average”
Old hotel, near railway station.
Reviewed April 14, 2017
4.8
Johan from Netherlands
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Tired looking hotel”
It all looked a bit tired and smelled musty. E.g. the window blind was ready for replacement. I could not stand upright entirely in the shower. I paid $116 dollars and that was about €$40 more than I would have liked.
Reviewed April 08, 2017
4.8
Johan from Indonesia
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2017
Just okay, not ideal”
It is not convenient to go out, especially if you are on JR pass. I recommend hotels near nakano station or asagaya. Great surrounding with shopping street nearby.
Reviewed April 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Connor from United States
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in March, 2017
Perfect!”
The hotel was perfect, service friendly and very helpful. Room was spotless every day and comfortable. Only draw back as a 6'2" man, I had to duck down a half foot to fit in the shower LOL. Would still recommend this hotel 100%!
Reviewed April 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Marianne from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2017
Very close to Akabonibashi train station. Friendly staff. ”
Very small bathroom. Room smelt of smoke. Fresh towels every day. Very clean. Heater didn't work properly.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Scott from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2017
Clean and Tidy”
Room was very clean and tidy. Room was an ok size but a very handy location to train station.
Reviewed February 27, 2017
7.6
Very good
A'Wood from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Convenient but small”
It's Juz take 3 mins from subway. Convenient store is nearby. The front desk service is good. But the room is old and not clean at all. And the ventilation is not good.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
3.6
Rianne from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Awful hotel! Avoid! ”
Firstly, we asked for a non smoking room and the room stank of smoke! Secondly, there's no wifi anywhere apart from the ground floor which is not convinient at all! Lastly, some directions from the station (eg what exit to take and where to go after) would of been so helpful as we were carrying heavy rucksacks! Overall a bad experience and definitely would recommend this place!
Reviewed June 20, 2016
7.2
Very good
Kwok from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single Room A
Stayed 5 nights in March, 2016
Above average”
Above average
Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Dwi from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
nice hotel”
place, atmosfer, price
cozy place, kind staff, very helpfull
Reviewed January 15, 2016
6.7
Good
AI from Taiwan
Business traveler
Single Room A
Stayed 1 night in July, 2015
Good location”
It don't look like the picture. Much older
Reviewed July 11, 2015
6.7
Good
AI from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Single Room A
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2015
Good location but very old hotel”
The hotel is near the subway staion. There is a stair by side of the bridge. Only need 3 mins from A4 entrance to hotel.
There is very heavy smoky smell whole of hotel. The hotel is very old but bathroom is clean. Kind staff, can't speak English. It's a good choice for business trip but not family travel.
Reviewed July 06, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Ebish from Philippines
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in April, 2015
A Home Away from Home!”
Very comfortable, Clean, Convenient, and the staff are just so helpful, very polite, informative, friendly and concerned not only to customers but also to just anybody who comes into the reception
This is one of the best places I have stayed away from home. It is not a five stare hotel, but its comfortable clean convinient and the staff are just superb. This hotel did not make me feel that I was staying in a hotel but rather, they made me feel that I was home. If you want to experience a warm heart felt hospitality of Japan, you have to stay in this hotel.
Reviewed April 16, 2015
5.3
Man from Hong Kong
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in March, 2015
Cheap, but the guestroom is a bit too old”
Cheap, near metro, clean
Reviewed March 28, 2015
8.3
Excellent
CHAN from Hong Kong
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2015
RE: Convenient Place”
Close to subway, Clean, Nice Staff
it's very close to subway station and convenient store so we can buy something in store and take back to hotel. The room is clean and warm. The staff is professional to guide me how to reach the airport by train. Good English.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
5.7
Shuna from Singapore
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2015
Average hotel in a remote place ”
Near to subway, easy to locate and comfortable room
Not really near to shinjuku, have to take a 10mins subway from akebonobashi station. Not food nearby, only have 1 convenience store 5mins away from hotel.
Reviewed January 19, 2015
6.0
Samuel from Indonesia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2014
A memorable trip”
Cheap, cheap, nice
It’s pretty clear that the Sony Pictures hack was neither an act of war or particularly belligerent. As Marc Rogers of CloudFlare and DEF CON notes, finding out who performed a hack, even one as ham-handed as this one, is difficult. Hackers with any sense use proxies and attack soft targets. But once they’ve attacked and dumped their goods, it becomes nearly impossible to follow them back to their dens, whether that is in Atlanta or Pyongyang.
Reviewed December 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Pakaporn from Thailand
Family with teens
Small Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2014
clean”
nice
Reviewed December 15, 2014
7.3
Very good
DAYANG from Malaysia
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
GOOD HOTEL”
Near to subway, clean and affordable
Stay for 1 night, cant comment much. Room are big, but no mineral water and WIFI. can buy drinks at machine and need to pay for Wifi service.
Reviewed November 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
KAM from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single Room A
Stayed 5 nights in July, 2014
Good stay”
good location to town, cleanliness & staff hospitality
Had a good and memorable stay in this hotel. Perfect location, just few steps away from subway to hot spots Shinjuku. Friendly and helpful staffs with basic understandable English. Clean and tidy room. The imperfection are: small room and no free wifi service inside room.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
6.0
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in August, 2014
Hotel Bougainville ”
Location, smirking room, price
Hotel was good but no wifi in the room. In general good value for money.
Reviewed August 23, 2014
4.7
John from Canada
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in August, 2014
Old, moldy, smelly. Needs bleach or napalm.”
Location
Awful hotel for the price--they were nice enough to let us check in an hour earlier than the time listed on their website, but the carpet all through the hotel is moldy and filthy. It's been vacuumed, but probably never cleaned in the last ten years. Years of cigarette smoke have filthied up the aircon, which also needed a massive cleaning because it stunk to high-heaven. The bathtub when drained also drained onto the bathroom floor, which is a health hazard. The water was hot, but perhaps dangerously so the average person who's not careful. Wifi was only available in the lobby (which also stunk) yet routers were placed on our floor. Why? In short, stay in a capsule hotel for a 1/4 of the price and don't waste your money with this place.
Reviewed August 22, 2014
7.3
Very good
Siu from United Kingdom
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 7 nights in August, 2014
Near the Metro, inexpensive”
Near the metro, inexpensive, friendly staff
The hotel is very near the metro Akebonobashi. The room is not very small consider the inexpensive rate. The room is clean but not very clean on Japan hotel standard. The bed is facing the opening of the air conditioner and the cold air blow right on your face when sleeping. We had to move the bed to the other end in order to get a good night sleep. The bed matress is a bit sag and needs replacing. Hotel staffs are friendly. If you do not leave the room before 11:30am, they will not clean your room. Check out time is 10:00am.
Reviewed August 14, 2014
6.3
Good
Christopher from Canada
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2014
Average”
price, close to subway
Reviewed August 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in June, 2014
Good price and location”
Location, Price and Service
Fantastic staff service delivered but no internet
Reviewed June 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
ma from China
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2014
Nice location”
Good attitute
Reviewed June 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Natthee from Thailand
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2014
Good Service.”
Location is so good.
Reviewed June 12, 2014
5.3
Maitree from Thailand
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
good”
1) 5 min from subway to hotel. 2) comfortable3) serene
I reserved non smoking room but my room have cigarettes smell.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
5.7
Diarra from United States
Family with young children
Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in April, 2014
A very budget friendly hotel”
budget friendly, quiet, close to transportation
We were not too impressed by this hotel, but then again, you pay for what you get. It was generally not a good start for us when we had to pay an extra $30/night for our 2nd child. It stated on the website that children ages 0-12 stay for free while using existing bedding. We didn't know that it was only meant for 1 child. (We had 2 small children with us.) So they said that 2 children counted as 1 adult. If we had known that rule, we would've stay at another hotel for the amount of money we paid extra and at a nicer hotel. (We stayed 7 nights.) Well, we made the most out of it, since we only slept there and were out most of the day and were hardly at the hotel. But other than that, the staff was friendly, they cleaned the room every day and check out was fast. It is conveniently located close to the Akebonobashi station, so that's a plus. And the location is very quiet. I would recommend this hotel for budget travelers without children.
Reviewed May 01, 2014
6.7
Good
Ma. from Philippines
Couple
Small Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2014
Okay - not bad”
free coffee and tea, friendly staff
* JR station was a good 15 min walk away from the hotel. Good to note if you're trying to maximize JR pass. Subway station is nearer * Relatively few restaurants near the hotel. No restaurant in the hotel (well, I did not see one). Coffee and tea are free though. * Staff was generally friendly. Out of the three front desk personnel we encountered, only one can speak in English. * Room is clean but old. * If you are staying in Tokyo to sightsee and not really planning to stay in the hotel, then this hotel is a good place to crash / sleep in.
Reviewed April 24, 2014